Who makes better cars??

Postby honda hoe » April 25th, 2008, 9:49 am

i'll go wit japanese

QM

Postby QM » April 25th, 2008, 11:18 am

japppppppppppp

Postby MG Man » April 25th, 2008, 7:15 pm

all down to preference
I would buy a Pontiac G8 over any Acura
or any Alfa Romeo over an Infinity

Postby cinco » April 25th, 2008, 7:25 pm

originally i would say ze germans
the vw bug and microbus
now its der injuns
case in point tata nano
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tata_Nano

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » April 26th, 2008, 7:59 am

x2floor wrote:
And BTW a 6.0l vette V8 and a3.0L Acura V6 gets around d same gas mileage...

2008 Chevrolet Corvette 6.2 V8 EPA city/highway 15-16/25-26 mpg
Curb Weight 3250lbs
price $54,450.

2008 Acura TL 3.2 V6 EPA city/highway 17-18/26-27 mpg
Curb weight 3700lbs
price $34,440.

2008 Acura RL 3.5 V6 AWD EPA city/highway 16/24 mpg
Curb Weight 4050lbs
price $46,995.

Which Acura are you referring too that has a 3.0 V6? Also, if you don't see well, both Acura's above weigh significantly more than your Corvette and cost significantly less. They're also larger, more fuel efficient, more reliable, more resale value, more luxurious, can actually take your family out and buy groceries and still have no cause to use Onstar for mechanical/electronic assistance.

how about we compare the entire GM range of shitvehicles against Honda's wrt mpg?

case in point-lemme highlite it this time AROUND THE SAME MPG
And u tryna compare apples with grapes...one is a sports car and one is a FAMILY SEDAN. Now load up yuh family in dat acura along with some groceries and d a/c pumping and see wat kina mpg yuh will get now.

6.2L V8(SPORTS CAR)
3.5L V6(FAMILY SEDAN)
And as for reliability bad comparison one is meant to be abused around d track and still drive yuh home...the other is lucky 2 even see a race track.
So if yuh goin to work every day and doin yuh normal routine (sit dong in traffic,pick up kids.go home) AND only 17-18mpg while i do d same ting in a vette and return 15-16mpg...i would have felt as if acura robbed me :?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 26th, 2008, 8:37 am

trini mk5 wrote:6.2L V8(SPORTS CAR)
3.5L V6(FAMILY SEDAN)
And as for reliability bad comparison one is meant to be abused around d track and still drive yuh home...the other is lucky 2 even see a race track.
So if yuh goin to work every day and doin yuh normal routine (sit dong in traffic,pick up kids.go home) AND only 17-18mpg while i do d same ting in a vette and return 15-16mpg...i would have felt as if acura robbed me :?

I think what may be lost on alot of people in this comparison is that the American V8 in the Corvette is an overhead valve design, whereas the Acura's V6 is an overhead camshaft design. The ohv design is a very old and somewhat inefficient design, and I don't know why GM and Chrysler still use that type of engine in some of their cars (cost effective perhaps from their standpoint??). But give Jack his jacket, what the Americans have done with the ohv design over these decades to improve the efficiency deserves some form of respect.

The Cadillac V8 in the STS is on ohc design, and it is, in all fairness, quite a respectable engine when compared to the Japanese and German designs. That engine could run for 50 miles (80km) without any coolant (it alternately shuts down one bank of cylinders to let the others cool off). Could any of the Japanese engine designs do that?

Conrad

Postby Conrad » April 26th, 2008, 8:39 am

Stay on track people:

Daily/Work: German

Weekend warrior: JDM

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 26th, 2008, 2:42 pm

trini mk5 and rory phoulorie, im glad we are sticking to a non emotional discussion wrt topic......so no disrespect intended in my contribution.

I take your points but remember this is a country preference going on here and let us not forget the inroads makers like Toyota, Honda, Nissan, Mazda, Mitsubishi, Suzuki, Subaru and Hyundai are taking them......they are advancing very much in technology, reliability, resale value and market share etc....

So it is impressive for the STS V8 to strategically shut off cylinders as coolant lessens and it is impressive to achieve according to mordern SAE standards of 505HP from a OHV 16V V8 but this is primarily so due to its large displacement.

Lastly, I will not even to begin comparing the Northstar V8 to the likes found in the Infiniti M45 and Lexus GS460..........American cars are good but their sales says it all. GM, Ford and Chrylser are paddling water. Ford's compact cars and crossovers have a future thanks to Mazda (a Jap company) and Volvo (a euro company) and GM's Saturn line and the Pontiac's etc....have roots from Germany and Australia respectively, ie. companies like Opel/Vauxhall and Holden.

Have a nice day folks and for those who think I'm anti-american, think again......a Chevrolet Tahoe, Chevrolet Corvette ZO6, Dodge RAM SRT-10 etc.....are vehicles I would surely have in my parking lot.

Lastly, the Dodge Caliber SRT4's engine is a joint venture between themselves and Hyundai/Mitsubishi and the turbo is a Mitsubishi one too :mrgreen:

Laterz for now........

Notice I did not mention the 08' Cadillac CTS V6 DI yet eh :mrgreen:

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » April 26th, 2008, 3:26 pm

^^ I understand and agree wit wat u sayin...d sales speak 4 themselves and americans are slacking off big time. So i will give jack his jacket. And i am not anti-japs in any way their cars appeal to me too(EVO7, R34, WRX.etc) But i am upset on how the americans r not building cars like they used 2 i.e Rugged, tough, RELIABLE, some what attractive..INSTEAD they leave it up to "others" to show them how its done and give themselves a bad name. :(
So congrats to toyota for being the worlds numero uno car manufacture and also a purely japanese car company :)

CBharath

Postby CBharath » May 1st, 2008, 7:42 pm

each car has a certain something at some point or the other . i would go with japs and germs (personal preferance)