SR20ve vs K20a...

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » May 7th, 2007, 9:23 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:ok..ok....so it is that most "performing" hondas use this K24/K20 frank style of engine building?....what advantages does that hold?....and if the K20 is SUCH a strong base, why frankie it?

i personally wont frank a k20, i dont want a 6500rev limit and cant use my 1st gear. LOL.......

i would just put couple boltons and look for 200whp na and i good to go.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » May 7th, 2007, 9:36 am

i glad u know this, so why men is want to compare a 2.0litre, or sr20 to a 1.6 b16a?

again I will say it fwd SR20DE is a super Saloon engine firetruck!! There are other versions available where the ECU mapping and very few mechanical changes were made to increase response but nothing like what honda puts in there B and K series engines.

Doom

Postby Doom » May 7th, 2007, 10:25 am

the sr20ve 20v makes 204hp
u wanna talk about head on block combo, sr16ve head on a sr20ve block

Picasso

Postby Picasso » May 7th, 2007, 11:10 am

We not talking head and block combo here I we are speaking about bone stock motor from the factory. Check out the specs ( mechanical specs and not Hp specs ) on the SR20VE from the 20v Primera P12 then start typing Jeez!! Plus did you read anything properly in this thread ? :?

Postby Maserati » May 7th, 2007, 12:46 pm

You are comparing a super Saloon engine vs something with alot of work done with reguards to serious performance.

good point :!:

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » May 7th, 2007, 1:14 pm

Picasso wrote:

We not talking head and block combo here I we are speaking about bone stock motor from the factory. Check out the specs ( mechanical specs and not Hp specs ) on the SR20VE from the 20v Primera P12 then start typing Jeez!! Plus did you read anything properly in this thread ? :?

I agree...The chances of getting an N1 are near 0 in reality. And SR16VE makes no sense since you'll change out the cams for more aggressive ones anyway (more on this in a sec). Makes more sense to just use a P12 Primera SR20VE and do bolt ons like exhaust manifold, intake, and cams. You get the best i/m of the bunch and the 70mm t/b.

There was some Australian company coming out with after market cams for the VE but I never heard anything since then. Some real aggressive profiles and big $ but supposed to give impressive gains. Anyone got the dl on these?

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » May 7th, 2007, 1:16 pm

Urbanracer would be a good person to give his opinion...I'm sure he's run a few K20 boys. :lol:

Postby Monk BANzai » May 7th, 2007, 1:25 pm

R. Mutt wrote:
Picasso wrote:

I agree...The chances of getting an N1 are near 0 in reality. And SR16VE makes no sense since you'll change out the cams for more aggressive ones anyway (more on this in a sec). Makes more sense to just use a P12 Primera SR20VE and do bolt ons like exhaust manifold, intake, and cams. You get the best i/m of the bunch and the 70mm t/b.

There was some Australian company coming out with after market cams for the VE but I never heard anything since then. Some real aggressive profiles and big $ but supposed to give impressive gains. Anyone got the dl on these?

so what about this combo?...Sr16ve head and block (crank changed to Sr20Ve crank with sr20 DE rods...makes it a 2 ltire) with the throttle body system from a Sr20DET (with out without trumpets) and some management (piggy bakc off of a flashed Sr16ve ecu) on Sr16ve Viscous LSD box?

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » May 7th, 2007, 1:25 pm

Ahh...found it. New Zealand...not Australia.

Franklin Cams (Stage 4)

Postby Monk BANzai » May 7th, 2007, 1:30 pm

^^yeh but arent those cams liek $1200US for the set?....mighty pricey upgrade...

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » May 7th, 2007, 1:35 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
R. Mutt wrote:
Picasso wrote:

so what about this combo?...Sr16ve head and block (crank changed to Sr20Ve crank with sr20 DE rods...makes it a 2 ltire) with the throttle body system from a Sr20DET (with out without trumpets) and some management (piggy bakc off of a flashed Sr16ve ecu) on Sr16ve Viscous LSD box?

To me it makes more sense to go straight 20V than buy a normal 16VE and do all that work. Remember their is no advantage to the 16VE over the 20V. IMO why do all that work to convert it to more modern specs (IE...better intake manifold, cams, more stroke c/o crankshaft)

In the end we saying the same thing though a 2.0 with VVT. I agree with ITBs, Fujitsubo exhaust manifold, Franklin 'Extreme' Cams and a good tune....would have some nice numbers for a VE.

But I think if you do the same with a K20A and it'll make more power in the end. It's simply a better engineering engine and incorporates more modern technology.

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » May 7th, 2007, 1:41 pm

URBANRACER wrote:
Picasso wrote:^^^ who posted that jed Not me.. The N1 is a true gem, I wish I could get one for real.. Tell us more on what you have done or what can be done on the VVL motor to make it a serious N/A power house URBANRACER... 8)

Hers the mod list in my VE,
-sr16ve N1 cams
-sr16ve N1 valve springs/retainers
-sr16ve tranny
-tomie cam gears
-sr16ve N1 throttle body
-Custom built 4-1 race Header from Header Tech
-UR lightened Underdrive Pulley
-JUN cromoly flywheel
-Electric water pump
-greddy emanage
-msd rmp switches
maybe more, but thats all i can think of as of right now. The cam gears gave us 9whp, after tuning them on the dyno, i prefer the sr16ve tranny because its a shorter gear ratio tranny, Whhich is better for drag. In the point of your setup being N/A. Also i run No PS & No A/C just 1 belt from alternator to crank. The N1 intake manifold would be a nice up grade because the runners are shorter & seems like it would make more power, but im going the full race route with a custom race intake manifold like my b13.

To my recollection he made 223 whp with that setup. If you factor in something like ITB's and S4 Cams I would guestimate in the 240-250 whp range. Apparently K20's making all kinda 260+ whp I hearing...I never really read up or seen dyno graphs to confirm this. If anyone knows this to be true then u have your answer.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » May 7th, 2007, 1:49 pm

It's simply a better engineering engine and incorporates more modern technology.

Thank you jed... If you look at the kind of stuff they got in the B series and K series engines compared to what a bone stock FWD SR20DE and SR20VE comes with from the factory. These Type-R engines were made so that you can run on the track and have loads of fun. It's no regular econo box. There was a site where they were doing a build comparing both engines and they were building an SR20DE fwd engine carrying specs close to the K20A motor to run in against the K20a.The outcome proved that and SR20DE fwd modded with internals similar to the K20a did indeed have more hp and tq figures.

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » May 7th, 2007, 4:01 pm

Does ne1 know if Singh(blue civic hatch with k20) ever dynoed that car? And if so what whp was he producing?

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » May 7th, 2007, 4:30 pm

Picasso wrote:
It's simply a better engineering engine and incorporates more modern technology.

The outcome proved that and SR20DE fwd modded with internals similar to the K20a did indeed have more hp and tq figures.

really? I'd be interested in seeing this

blue_toothbrush

Postby blue_toothbrush » May 7th, 2007, 5:09 pm

Rodney T

What is not 2.0L the k20a motor is a 2.0L engine not those nissan engines you posted.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 7th, 2007, 6:14 pm

How bout a modded N/A SR to a modded K20, hmmmm.....the story might change because it will be much less expensive to mod an SR to make the power than mod a K20........food for thought.

katurbobeast

Postby katurbobeast » May 7th, 2007, 6:42 pm

is the sr20ve the NEO, like this one
http://www.nissanperformancemag.com/installs/sr20ve/
Last edited by katurbobeast on May 7th, 2007, 6:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » May 7th, 2007, 6:53 pm

whats ur best time at the track urbanracer?....correct me if im wrong but i think a while back you said 13's or a high 12?? n/a

How bout a modded N/A SR to a modded K20, hmmmm.....the story might change because it will be much less expensive to mod an SR to make the power than mod a K20........food for thought.

........after the k20 in stock form is about 30K vs a 5k engine...i'd love to see a nissan man with a deep pocket go full out on a n/a sr
its only a matter of time....

Postby Monk BANzai » May 7th, 2007, 7:05 pm

TriniGT wrote:How bout a modded N/A SR to a modded K20, hmmmm.....the story might change because it will be much less expensive to mod an SR to make the power than mod a K20........food for thought.

this is what im thinkiing...im thinking that with a budget build you can rasie teh bar ot meet a k20's performance level....

another question.....to URBANRACER really.....what tuning you did to your set up?...standalone management?....S20 or S16 ECU?.....thats an interesting build right there.....

Postby Monk BANzai » May 7th, 2007, 7:09 pm

Picasso wrote:

Thank you jed... If you look at the kind of stuff they got in the B series and K series engines compared to what a bone stock FWD SR20DE and SR20VE comes with from the factory. These Type-R engines were made so that you can run on the track and have loads of fun. It's no regular econo box. There was a site where they were doing a build comparing both engines and they were building an SR20DE fwd engine carrying specs close to the K20A motor to run in against the K20a.The outcome proved that and SR20DE fwd modded with internals similar to the K20a did indeed have more hp and tq figures.

wiud love to see that ....my thing is this....trini is "turbo boost" whippped...the Na fratereinty is small and VERY polarized...with the majority thining that Honda is it...this may be true....btu for those of you who used to go to old schoo ldrags...of the days of fish van...Fish van was doign 13's with a 1600 engine eh!! (yeh it was prolly very massagedand tuned).....but that made aHUGE impact on my impressions of na/a tunued....even the White Cortina ..Bill i think was his nick name....was riuninng neck and neck with Zolo and the fish vna...and zol was running i think a 1800 pushrod ford....Zolo was Datsun power.....so thay can do it..once th right combination is felt..

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » May 7th, 2007, 7:14 pm

impossible to compare ....one comes cvt one comes manual .....but i have videos of a stock stock VZR N1 VS ep3 Type R and the type r collect sone lix

katurbobeast

Postby katurbobeast » May 7th, 2007, 7:22 pm

^^^ totally........

NA can make big power, raw-tid screamers......NA anyday..... :mrgreen:
i posted up a vid of a NA miata, with a 99' 1.8BP engine, Management, ITBs, Extractors, on stock internals, 9:5:1CR.......doing 13.8 now.....

what cars in trini have the sr16ve?

the primera too heavy for the sr20ve, i run 1 already on a shitty clutch and give him some licks.......my engine only rated @ 130hp/135ft.lbs....in a 850kg chasis :D .......he still waiting on a re-match but he frighten.....men doh like to get licks from a laser hahah :D

Postby cinco » May 7th, 2007, 9:31 pm

these kinda threads useless unless someone builds both engines and puts them to race

i agree wid picasso SR20 is a supersaloon engine the only stock sr20de "fast car" was the b13 ser in the us and that engine is 135 hp due to emissions restrictions
the k20a is built as a race engine
you dont see anyone running down the stock k20a from a crv......

kezay

Postby kezay » May 7th, 2007, 10:40 pm

Well anytime that someone builds a NA SR20 I will step up to the plate. Also I have started "project 300whp" which I will be done with kinda really soon, so if there are any all out SR's then we'll see. Currently I'm at 200 WHP and 175lbs oh and yes BTW my redline will be 9000RPM just needed to say that for the haters. :lol:

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » May 7th, 2007, 10:41 pm

good cuz hondas are supposed to rev high!

kezay

Postby kezay » May 7th, 2007, 10:42 pm

^^ :lol: Exactly

Postby Monk BANzai » May 8th, 2007, 1:45 am

kezay wrote:Well anytime that someone builds a NA SR20 I will step up to the plate. Also I have started "project 300whp" which I will be done with kinda really soon, so if there are any all out SR's then we'll see. Currently I'm at 200 WHP and 175lbs oh and yes BTW my redline will be 9000RPM just needed to say that for the haters. :lol:

hmmm.....keep in mind that in a race... teh more horspower wont necessarily win eh....in N/a world you know is who cud put th power down to the ground effectively wins...

300whp is going to be a challenge to put to the ground....hmm...any Sr men out there?

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » May 8th, 2007, 1:47 am

wat happens if 300whp is put to the ground? :twisted:

Postby Monk BANzai » May 8th, 2007, 1:49 am

^^uh.....light chassis?...with out traction control programmed in......WHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEL SPIN!!!!