Honda's firebreathing Type R-R has arrived

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 1st, 2007, 10:27 am

yup, BTCC pushed them to the limit taking it to ~300hp NA, but those engines DO NOT last or pass emissions or have any decent drivability on the road or any kinda decent gas millage

this is the about the limit of a street tuned NA engine running pump gas..

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 1st, 2007, 7:03 pm

whats with the fugly looking front and the damn hoodscoop

EvoDraZ

Postby EvoDraZ » June 20th, 2007, 5:12 pm

interesting.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 21st, 2007, 9:04 am

its got better cams, prob lightened forged pistons and rods, with better rings and ring lands, knife edged crank all balanced and blueprinted beyond usual Type R specs and as mentioned radical cam tuning and ECU remapping to work with the new cam profiles and engine specs..

there really isnt anything stock about a Type r in the first place, its all raceing inspired. and this is tuned beyond the regular "Stock"Type R

I fedup try to explain this to people.. Thanks for saying it for them :x

Postby honda hoe » June 21st, 2007, 9:30 am

Polydor wrote:
kes_vtec wrote:260bhp NA from 2 liters... i hope you guys know how hard that is... with "stock" parts...

what the hell go happen if honda went boost...

HONDA RUN TINGS!!! :twisted:

Postby honda hoe » June 21st, 2007, 9:32 am

Picasso wrote:
its got better cams, prob lightened forged pistons and rods, with better rings and ring lands, knife edged crank all balanced and blueprinted beyond usual Type R specs and as mentioned radical cam tuning and ECU remapping to work with the new cam profiles and engine specs..

there really isnt anything stock about a Type r in the first place, its all raceing inspired. and this is tuned beyond the regular "Stock"Type R

I fedup try to explain this to people.. Thanks for saying it for them :x

look d nissan camp start to make excuse already :roll: :roll: :lol:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 21st, 2007, 10:21 am

d nissan camp start to make excuse

it's not an excuse it is a fact. Image

Postby honda hoe » June 21st, 2007, 10:23 am

what is a fact? dat honda better?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 21st, 2007, 10:36 am

what is a fact? dat honda better?

It's a fact that your sig is going to get deleted :lol: :lol: :lol: It's also a fact that Jason last name should be Copper field.. ( yuh will understand joke after I send you a PM ) :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Honda is good but not that great. I say Mitsubishi prove many times how great they are :twisted: ( avoids Honda VS Nissan battle ) :mrgreen:

Postby honda hoe » June 21st, 2007, 10:41 am

Picasso wrote:It's a fact that your sig is going to get deleted

yeah boy :cry:

buh it 'bess' :lol:

Postby honda hoe » June 21st, 2007, 11:10 am

sigh... it get delete :cry:

anyway, is dis type r-r goin to be a europe model only? like d accord type r?

Zim

Postby Zim » August 29th, 2007, 10:04 am

adri 2nr wrote:nice but...it's still front wheel drive

again thought pretty impressive
Wah wrong wit FWD :?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 29th, 2007, 10:35 am

i prefer front wheel drive to rear wheel drive overall..

i would only choose rear wheel drive to have fun and waste tires.. frotn wheel more predictable..

4wheel is even better lol

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » August 29th, 2007, 12:58 pm

R-R, Dual Pirate power

Postby Razkal » August 29th, 2007, 4:03 pm

rear wheel is more 'enthusiast driver friendly' imo...
throttle steering, correcting, oversteer on tap most times, much more involved than any other drive type...
good to get experience on, a driver who can control and race an irate rearwheel drive car can prob adapt easier to other modes i guess...
that and i realllllllly hate understeer :|

Postby X2 » August 29th, 2007, 4:39 pm

nah.... I find it harder to pilot a powerful FWD than a RWD.... just easier to lose control in a RWD.

Postby noshownogo » August 30th, 2007, 1:54 pm

personally i rather understeer than over in an all out track race. Oversteer in wet conditions isn't fun and can make the most experienced driver look like Eddie Griffin

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » August 30th, 2007, 4:19 pm

top gear explains the difference between oversteer and understeer, and why oversteer is best :lol: :lol: :

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/oZ8j4X20uvI" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed>

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » August 31st, 2007, 12:52 am

X2 wrote:nah.... I find it harder to pilot a powerful FWD than a RWD.... just easier to lose control in a RWD.

and harder to find traction in a powerful FWD.... :lol: looking back at your civic in dex....the on car footage showed how much stress it was for grip on that gravel...you could only imagine 260 bhp?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » August 31st, 2007, 7:39 am

you could only imagine 260 bhp?

That is just wheel spin especially on 17" street tyres... :cry:

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » August 31st, 2007, 10:48 am

"over steer is better because you don't see the tree that kills you"

Zim

Postby Zim » September 5th, 2007, 1:28 pm

Wah wrong wit fwd :?

Wah website go sell it?

Postby Maserati » September 5th, 2007, 1:39 pm

top gear explains the difference between oversteer and understeer, and why oversteer is best :

:lol: :lol: for real

sirbill

Postby sirbill » September 10th, 2007, 8:21 am

Takes time to master RWD. A RWD in the hands of a pro/experienced rwd driver will scare you sh1tless! Even in the wet, the pro's can make them sing. FWD + understeer gives drivers more confidence and thus ppl. can usually drive them faster than a similar rwd; this is why all road cars tend to have an understeer bias - it is easier to live with than a 180 spin, even though the result would be the same - off road excursion.

Postby honda hoe » September 12th, 2007, 8:20 am

i want dat engine :!:

i wonder how much it go sell 4

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » September 25th, 2007, 12:53 pm

That engine on our swill will not even smell 260hp.

further more at that level of tuning it really is very close to the physical limit for the possible refinements that can be made on an inline 4. Increasing V.E. above what the RR is at right now is very difficult, even with the best aftermarket parts and tuning.

Still........ I don't see Nissan or Toyota doing anything interesting...

Postby honda hoe » September 25th, 2007, 1:37 pm

^^ not surprised :|

RAV

Postby RAV » September 25th, 2007, 7:52 pm

Now that is what we talkin bout ! :mrgreen:

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » September 26th, 2007, 9:30 am

I am no great driver but I am a hell of alot more comfortable with a RWD spin than a FWD spin...

And I do think that the Type R-R is a real class work...

:oops: :oops: