T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Stephon. » October 24th, 2012, 12:19 pm

LOL I love how you changed your tongue from "She couldn't have paid more for a fully loaded" to "She paid more because she's an idiot" LOL

Ya tried and ya tried hard tho..

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » October 24th, 2012, 5:18 pm

honda hoe wrote:
cinco wrote:reply to what?
its easy to oversell a car to stupid ppl in the states i know ppl who paid in excess of 45k for camrys
btw i have nothing to prove to u
anyone who wants real facts about car sales in the US can contact me :lol:

IS CHUPID U SAY D MAN SISTER CHUPID DEY?

ohhhhh nooooooooo he didn'tttt

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » October 24th, 2012, 5:20 pm

preciate the responses to the i30 v veloster debate just thjought it would be interesting to get ppl's views, i think the velster but of course w some turbo in there for fun :):)

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » October 24th, 2012, 6:43 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Ok people say they would pay for style but why pay so much for style? It really costs Hyundai that much extra to re-sculpt an elantra?

guess they took a page out of VW's book with that one :lol:

Postby cinco » October 24th, 2012, 7:06 pm

Renaldo25 wrote:preciate the responses to the i30 v veloster debate just thjought it would be interesting to get ppl's views, i think the velster but of course w some turbo in there for fun :):)

def the i30
much more practical

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 24th, 2012, 10:28 pm

tourniquet wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Ok people say they would pay for style but why pay so much for style? It really costs Hyundai that much extra to re-sculpt an elantra?

Which models of VW you talking about?

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 25th, 2012, 12:24 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
tourniquet wrote:

Jetta and passat? IMO the passat just looks like a big jetta. With a bigger engine.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 25th, 2012, 7:17 am

scotty_buttons wrote:
tourniquet wrote:

Jetta and passat? IMO the passat just looks like a big jetta. With a bigger engine.

That's totally different. Passat and jetta don't share the same engines or features or performance. Also the passat is larger. Styling cues aside they are different classes of cars.

The i30 and Velostar are the same in terms of size, engine, tranny and even feature set as well as performance. Velostar is even a step back in terms of practicality compared to the i30 so hence my questioning of whether restyling an i30 costs so much more.

Postby Stephon. » October 25th, 2012, 10:24 am

When your work requires a pick up truck, you shouldn't have to trade in luxury for a van tray, you should enjoy your work. When you want a vehicle that can transport goods, with the toughness of a lion but the luxury of a top class sedan, you have found the next gen BT-50.

Safety & Security:
-Six Airbags - Driver/Passenger/Side/Curtain
-Anti Lock Breaking System (ABS)
-Electronic Break Assist (EDB)
-Dynamic Stability Control (DSC)
-Steel Reinforcement Rigid Cabin
-Hill Descent Control (HDC)
-Reverse Sensors with Monitor
-Seat Belt Warning Indicator
-Bluetooth Handsfree Device
-Engine Immobilizer

Performance
-2.2 / 3.2 Turbo Charged Diesel Engine with Inter-cooler
-16-Valve Double Overhead Cam (SHC)
-4 Cylinder
-Common Rail Direct Injection
-Turbo Charger
-6 Speed Automatic

Comfort
-Tilt, Leather wrapped multi functional steering wheel
-17" Aluminum Wheels
-265/70/R17 Tyres
-Air Condition (Factory from Mazda)
-Auto Climate Control
-Fully Powered Mirrors
-Fully Powered Windows
-Fully Powered Door Locks
-Power Fold in Mirrors
-Chrome Mirrors
-Audio System: AM/FM, MP3 player, Six Speaker Surround Sound System
-Digital Clock
-Glove Box (with lock) and Sliding Tray in Dash
-iPod Connection (in glove-box)
-Leather Interior
-Height Adjustable Driver Seat
-Mud Flaps (4 wheel)
-Interior Rope Hooks
-Side Steps
-Chrome Door Handles (Interior and Exterior)
-Center Armrest with Dual Compartments for Driver and Passenger
-Anti Pinch Windows
-6 Cup Holders (four in the front and two in the back)
-Cig Lighter and Extra Power Outlet
-Removable Ashtray
-Internal Lid Opener
-Rear View Dimmers (light sensitive rear view)
-Auto Intelligent Lighting System

This isn't another big pick up truck, this is a Mazda.

Postby Stephon. » October 25th, 2012, 10:29 am

Automatic Models
2.2 - $282,000
3.2 - $312,000

Both Fully Loaded
Commercial, Luxury, Affordability

Postby zoom rader » October 25th, 2012, 10:35 am

^^^ Stephon what is it with you and mazda? U have shares with them?
I like mazdas but dont like the sales rep, they kind of snobbish and have a take it or leave it attidute. Plus the after sales sevice is very poor, a bit like ford.

Postby Stephon. » October 25th, 2012, 10:37 am

Who do you deal with in the showroom?
You can PM me the name if you're not feeling to post it in this thread.

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 25th, 2012, 12:31 pm

So what does the new bt50 have that can lure me away from buying a hilux?

Im looking specifically at the most basic one with 4x4 and power windows as its a work vehicle.

Postby cinco » October 25th, 2012, 12:46 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:So what does the new bt50 have that can lure me away from buying a hilux?

Im looking specifically at the most basic one with 4x4 and power windows as its a work vehicle.

Horrible after sales support
and "eh d container comin wid dah part in chee monts dan"

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 25th, 2012, 12:53 pm

ranger 4x4 double cab loaded is $329k. All booked until March 2013. have fun.

Postby Stephon. » October 25th, 2012, 12:56 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:So what does the new bt50 have that can lure me away from buying a hilux?

If you're looking for a BASIC vehicle then I don't see why Mazda would be an option in the first place.

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 25th, 2012, 1:16 pm

Stephon. wrote:

If you're looking for a BASIC vehicle then I don't see why Mazda would be an option in the first place.

Wow, ok so they are not catering to the work fleets by that statement then?

Afaik it's the work fleets that made up most of the last couple bt50's sales because of their low price and fairly reliable reputation.

Postby Stephon. » October 25th, 2012, 1:25 pm

You wanted power windows tho, the lower spec BT-50s comes with manual windows. The ones with power windows are far from basic.

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 25th, 2012, 1:41 pm

Oh yay!

so you can't answer my initial question?

Postby Stephon. » October 25th, 2012, 1:50 pm

Yes they are catering for the work fleets, but remember that this is another generation of the vehicle, a whole new van and not just a facelift like the Mazda 3, so the price is obviously going to increase.

I dunno what exactly comes with the base model so I can't exactly comment on it, I'm guessing all the comfort features are stripped away, I know the steering mounted controls aren't there and the blue-tooth isn't there, you get steel rims and no flare kit or side steps + fabric interior with a basic radio with a less than exciting stereo system/manual etc. If you need the van for rugged work the base model is there for around the Hilux price range, but if power windows are what makes or breaks the deal for you then I would suggest just going for the best and going for the fully loaded model instead at 282

Thing is a Navara is 260+ For a fully loaded model, the BT-50 is 282 for a fully loaded model, if you wanna compare what you get vs the price you're getting it at, it is clear than the BT-50 is worth the extra buck.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » October 25th, 2012, 2:51 pm

looking at buying a mid size SUV/ grocery getter/ everyday run about vehicle

was looking at the kia sportage (because diesel)
and the mitsubishi ASX

should I wait for 2013? any new vehicles?
or buy now?

Postby noshownogo » October 25th, 2012, 3:23 pm

Nissan Qashqai should also be considered. Price vs features is very competitive. If you can live with CVT is rides well for everyday use and is listed as using Super gasoline so it won't hurt the wallet too much when visiting the gas stations.

Postby zoom rader » October 25th, 2012, 3:28 pm

acesinghit wrote:ranger 4x4 double cab loaded is $329k. All booked until March 2013. have fun.

This is a lie, ford sales reps does this trick all the time they lure you into a down payment so that they will bring in the exact amount of 4x4s to sell

Postby Stephon. » October 25th, 2012, 3:32 pm

Naturally I'm supposed to suggest the Sportage but it is overrated imo. The after sales service we had with our ASX was great tho, I don't get the hate that Diamond Motors get wrt service.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » October 25th, 2012, 3:39 pm

noshownogo wrote:Nissan Qashqai should also be considered. Price vs features is very competitive. If you can live with CVT is rides well for everyday use and is listed as using Super gasoline so it won't hurt the wallet too much when visiting the gas stations.

sorry the Qashqai is an option too, but to me its has sort of a basic look to it...
its on the bottom of the list

so anybody know about any new models that would be in stock early next yr?
should I wait?

Postby Stephon. » October 25th, 2012, 3:43 pm

Yeah the Sportage would get a new model next year (mid next year) most likely with like ONE new feature, nothing to talk about. Let's hope that Kia doesn't pull a Mazda and take out some features tho.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » October 25th, 2012, 5:23 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:
tourniquet wrote:

That's totally different. Passat and jetta don't share the same engines or features or performance. Also the passat is larger. Styling cues aside they are different classes of cars.

The i30 and Velostar are the same in terms of size, engine, tranny and even feature set as well as performance. Velostar is even a step back in terms of practicality compared to the i30 so hence my questioning of whether restyling an i30 costs so much more.

Passat and passat CC
Scirocco and golf

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » October 25th, 2012, 5:40 pm

copper_shot wrote:looking at buying a mid size SUV/ grocery getter/ everyday run about vehicle

and the mitsubishi ASX

or buy now?

this seems to be one of the more competitive segments in the market (btw I believe these vehicles are considered compact rather than mid sized). Beyond those you have the old in the tooth but proven rav 4, vitara, and x-trail, but you could also check out the ubiquitous tucson (those come in diesel too), the vw tiguan, and don't forget the new subaru XV. We also supposedly have the skoda yeti down here, but I don't think I've seen one on the road yet.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » October 25th, 2012, 5:48 pm

zoom rader wrote:^^^ Stephon what is it with you and mazda? U have shares with them?
I like mazdas but dont like the sales rep, they kind of snobbish and have a take it or leave it attidute. Plus the after sales sevice is very poor, a bit like ford.

Try buying a Volvo and then say that.

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » October 25th, 2012, 6:41 pm

tourniquet wrote:
copper_shot wrote:looking at buying a mid size SUV/ grocery getter/ everyday run about vehicle

and the mitsubishi ASX

or buy now?

this seems to be one of the more competitive segments in the market (btw I believe these vehicles are considered compact rather than mid sized). Beyond those you have the old in the tooth but proven rav 4, vitara, and x-trail, but you could also check out the ubiquitous tucson (those come in diesel too), the vw tiguan, and don't forget the new subaru XV. We also supposedly have the skoda yeti down here, but I don't think I've seen one on the road yet.

The yeti is also "old in the tooth". Not proven down here though but I guess people can use the Octavia as a guide