The Official Car Care Thread

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby cinco » October 4th, 2014, 6:49 pm

1412462937431.jpg

Mek she sparkle

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » October 4th, 2014, 7:08 pm

Good info in here

aidan

Postby aidan » October 5th, 2014, 7:58 pm

cinco wrote:
purple_heart77 wrote:I like collinite 476 for long lasting. Secret, do a good prep on paint.

Cant beat collinite for longevity imo
Black wax doesnt last that long with me at all a month and a half max was the best ive gotten

Which collinite should I go with?

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » October 9th, 2014, 9:31 pm

Collinite 845 (liquid wax), easy to apply and last long.

Collinite 476 (paste wax), takes more time and last longer.

Again, clean paint properly before applying wax.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 9th, 2014, 10:30 pm

I honestly hate it and think it doesn't last that long especially if the vehicle sleep in the driveway a couple times a month

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » October 9th, 2014, 11:26 pm

Truthfully, not even AG HD wax shows any durability on a car that sleep out in the open.

The mixture of rain/dew mixed with dust will pull down any layers. I use a car cover when vehicle is not being used for extended periods.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 10th, 2014, 2:35 am

The meguiars and ag last

Postby M_2NR » October 27th, 2014, 6:08 pm

Went Carplus today and used my 25off200 coupon. Got the Surf City Garage Wash and Wax and Mothers Glass Water Spot remover. Will try soon as soon as this pesky flu goes.

Postby cinco » October 27th, 2014, 6:40 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:The meguiars and ag last

Are u applying it properly? I get minimum 2 months on cars that sleep out all day and night. The ag srp doesnt last a month.
I get 6 months if the car sleeps inside.

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » November 5th, 2014, 8:40 pm

What polish could I use to polish these rims.

Auto gylm
Mothers alloy rim polish
Meguires
Compound

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » November 7th, 2014, 9:39 pm

↑↑↑↑
ANYONE.??

aidan

Postby aidan » November 8th, 2014, 12:01 am

^^I'd say give them a good wash and polish/wax since I assume they are clear coated. Mothers/Megs should work good. I does use mothers liquid carnuba wax on my rims.

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » November 12th, 2014, 8:40 pm

If my rims get stained, SRP for it. Cleans that brake dust out.

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » November 12th, 2014, 8:54 pm

cinco wrote:
1412462937431.jpg

Mek she sparkle

Looks good cinco

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » November 12th, 2014, 9:31 pm

purple_heart77 wrote:If my rims get stained, SRP for it. Cleans that brake dust out.

Whats srp?

Postby cinco » November 12th, 2014, 9:42 pm

Mercenary wrote:
cinco wrote:
1412462937431.jpg

Mek she sparkle

Thanks

Looks good cinco

R.P.J wrote:
purple_heart77 wrote:If my rims get stained, SRP for it. Cleans that brake dust out.

Whats srp?

Autoglym super resin polish
I would use that also on the wheel as it lasts a little longer. I use collinite 845 on wheels tho cuz it lasts real long

delly

Postby delly » November 13th, 2014, 6:10 pm

Anybody kno where in trinidad I can get steel wool OOO???

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » November 13th, 2014, 8:15 pm

cinco wrote:
Mercenary wrote:
cinco wrote:
1412462937431.jpg

Mek she sparkle

Thanks

Looks good cinco

R.P.J wrote:

Whats srp?

Autoglym super resin polish
I would use that also on the wheel as it lasts a little longer. I use collinite 845 on wheels tho cuz it lasts real long

845 on the rims too:shock:.... Hmm have to give that a try.

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » November 18th, 2014, 5:00 pm

Has anyone of you ever used purple tuff degreaser

Postby nervewrecker » November 18th, 2014, 5:04 pm

R.P.J wrote:Has anyone of you ever used purple tuff degreaser

Simple green crystal or nothing bro.

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » November 19th, 2014, 8:42 pm

Ok thanks. If using it an a lil get on ur paint will it harm it in anyway?

Postby nervewrecker » November 19th, 2014, 10:23 pm

R.P.J wrote:Ok thanks. If using it an a lil get on ur paint will it harm it in anyway?

I does wash my hands and face with that stuff when Im done in the engine bay.
Bought it at interchem.

My mom does clean the stove with it too.

Used it on the vehicle body already too. No problems whatsoever. Never damaged paint or anything like that and its scented too.

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 22nd, 2014, 4:39 pm

Decided to try a new auto spa I saw located in south. On driving in the place wasn't too bad and the location was great. I will not be posting the name of the company but it's and lessons learnt.
I'd admit they had some water issues so the pressure washer wasn't performing at its best. First point to note, foam washing should never replace a traditional bucket and wash mitt.
So the vehicle was not prepared properly by doing a pre wash and simply foam applied.
I'd also admit the car was dirty from driving o the highway but this is not the root flaw
The attendant then used a wash pad and started rubbing down the car without rinsing it. Also under the fenders were not washed, the same mitt was used without rising in a bucket after each panel. Also the rims were not properly washed. Just pressure washed.
Advice: chemicals are there to assist and not replace traditional al fundamentals of washing a car...
At this point I stopped them and asked them to just do the inside alone as I will get the car washed over somewhere else. The owner insist I give them another chance but I choose not to. I paid them and he insisted I do not but I left the money with his attendant.

these are the pics post wash

the owner's response was, we just wipe off what we missed after during drying :|

i rewashed the vehicle myself this evening...

the proper way to clean wheels

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » November 22nd, 2014, 6:45 pm

is the place name starting with w?
Last edited by R.P.J on November 22nd, 2014, 7:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 22nd, 2014, 6:55 pm

No it doesn't. .

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » November 22nd, 2014, 7:04 pm

Ok no problem. .

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » November 23rd, 2014, 9:36 am

Now this is passionate car wash boys
bubble boyz of hinckley new snow foam system givi…:

http://youtu.be/q7cUiEQ3J6o

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » December 21st, 2014, 10:30 am

Autoglym High Definition Cleanser or P21S Paintwork Cleanser?
Which ya'll feel is better?

After using any of the the above any benefit in a paint sealant (12hrs curing time) then wax on the car?

Jet

Postby Jet » December 21st, 2014, 9:35 pm

I need something to remove wiper blade scratches

aidan

Postby aidan » December 22nd, 2014, 4:24 am

Got me some collinite #845. I'm amazed by how easy it is to apply and how little it uses. Really nice gloss, used it after a foam wash with chem guys honey dew, clay bar and shining monkey clean and repair polish. Will have to see how long it lasts.