T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 11th, 2012, 9:54 am

Mr. Go Slow wrote:A very close friend has a Tiguan ... 200hp model ... Nothing but issues with that car. Not to mention every time we are at the dealership, someone else is usually there ranting.

I will NEVER buy a VW ... NEVER!

worksux101 wrote:
marc.27 wrote:
worksux101 wrote:
acesinghit wrote:Hyundai Tucson is $310k worksux, nobody tiefin.

not a fan...any other suggestions?

the mazda cx-5 is pretty nice.. or mayb Grand vitara

I like the SGV but dont see the point of getting a car whose design is 10yrs old and soon due for change.
Apart from SSL's horrible track record, i cant quite see why the CX-5 costs so much and really dont think its worth the price. That said, i still need to go check it out and test drive for myself.

So far the Tiguan and XV are at the top of my list...only issue with the Tiguan is the size..seems really small...

I'm waiting for confirmation that Ford is bringing the Kuga and Lifestyle the new SGV next year also...

Would you mind posting the issues experienced?

Postby cinco » September 11th, 2012, 9:57 am

noshownogo wrote:The 280k Turbo Diesel Tucson 4x4 is a good buy. Certain colours give the vehicle a masculine look as well.

but the santafe is alot bigger inside and 7 seater if im not mistaken

Postby Stephon. » September 11th, 2012, 10:11 am

Going to check out the sonata today.

Postby noshownogo » September 11th, 2012, 10:30 am

I wouldn't buy the Santa Fe now as a new model is going to be shipped in a few months. I do agree that it is a good price though.

Postby Stephon. » September 11th, 2012, 10:49 am

The Santa fe is ugly. Ain't nobody got time for that!

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 11th, 2012, 11:03 am

Stephon. wrote:The Santa fe is ugly. Ain't nobody got time for that!

If possible and you have the time, I'd like to hear your views of the quashqai.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » September 11th, 2012, 11:04 am

Better looking than a cx5 :lol:
But the 2013 Santa fe should be here soon.. It more or less looks like a big Tucson

Postby Stephon. » September 11th, 2012, 11:12 am

Well im going to Neal and Massey later today so I would check it out.

Postby cinco » September 11th, 2012, 11:26 am

the squashy is small inside it offers less USABLE room than a sylphy internally

for the price and features at 300-400k it is hard to beat that santa fe

Postby gastly369 » September 11th, 2012, 12:06 pm

the new mazda 6 reach showroom floors yet?

gfbl

Postby gfbl » September 11th, 2012, 1:37 pm

how much is the murano?

unga

Postby unga » September 11th, 2012, 1:56 pm

gfbl wrote:how much is the murano?

>500k

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » September 11th, 2012, 11:17 pm

NorStar2K wrote:
worksux101 wrote:10 was really just an arbitrary exaggeration tbh...didn't know exact time frame, but i do stand corrected thank you.
You or someone else posted that Lifestyle were bringing an updated SGV next year...any timeframe?
Would there be any interior changes? i'm not too big on exterior but the actual cabin to me is more important, hence leaning to the tiguan...
scotty_buttons, why would you say the XV isnt worth the tag?

What I posted was the final face-lift for the current 3G model. The face-lift is mainly external.

The Tiguan is very powerful but small, especially in the boot. Great features. Very high service costs. 2 yr warranty. Read the VW complaints b4 you 'invest'.

The more i hear about the Tiguan, the less it seems viable.
I imagine the new SantaFe would get a price hike as seems to be the norm these days. If worth it though would definitely be open.
The Q5 seemed an option until SSL decided to raise unnecessarily. Certainly not worth the tag now. Would have a look at the Q3 also, but like the cx-5 doesnt seem worth the price or service.
kurpal, SSL kept my car for more than 5 months awaiting a part. Kept getting alot of runaround and delays.

The new Captiva looks interesting...clueless about it though...any reviews/issues with reliability etc?

The Qashqai is decent for the price i must say. Has a nice glass roof which is certainly sumn i'd like, but otherwise its too small and basic for me.

Stephon, what about the optima?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 12th, 2012, 2:39 pm

worksux101 wrote:
NorStar2K wrote:
worksux101 wrote:10 was really just an arbitrary exaggeration tbh...didn't know exact time frame, but i do stand corrected thank you.
You or someone else posted that Lifestyle were bringing an updated SGV next year...any timeframe?
Would there be any interior changes? i'm not too big on exterior but the actual cabin to me is more important, hence leaning to the tiguan...
scotty_buttons, why would you say the XV isnt worth the tag?

What I posted was the final face-lift for the current 3G model. The face-lift is mainly external.

The Tiguan is very powerful but small, especially in the boot. Great features. Very high service costs. 2 yr warranty. Read the VW complaints b4 you 'invest'.

The more i hear about the Tiguan, the less it seems viable.
I imagine the new SantaFe would get a price hike as seems to be the norm these days. If worth it though would definitely be open.
The Q5 seemed an option until SSL decided to raise unnecessarily. Certainly not worth the tag now. Would have a look at the Q3 also, but like the cx-5 doesnt seem worth the price or service.
kurpal, SSL kept my car for more than 5 months awaiting a part. Kept getting alot of runaround and delays.

The new Captiva looks interesting...clueless about it though...any reviews/issues with reliability etc?

The Qashqai is decent for the price i must say. Has a nice glass roof which is certainly sumn i'd like, but otherwise its too small and basic for me.

Stephon, what about the optima?

Isn't the Optima SSSL too? Different vehicle same headache.

Qashqai CVT tranny, small, lazy.

The current price$ of 'mid/large' cars enters SUV territory.

See my post here on the 2013 Chevy Captiva

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » September 12th, 2012, 4:22 pm

I dont want the Optima..was suggesting it for Stephon's friend...forgot his grouse with SSL as well...

I saw the post thanks...meant if anyone who actually has any experience with one has any positive/negative reviews...

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 12th, 2012, 5:45 pm

I was looking but not sure, is there a 4wd 2.0 version of the qashqai?

I experienced the uk spec 1.6cdi and personally for 90% of the time the engine was adequate but there were times when I wanted more (overtaking, from stop on hills)

Norstar, no links to tiguan complaints?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 12th, 2012, 6:28 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:I was looking but not sure, is there a 4wd 2.0 version of the qashqai?

I experienced the uk spec 1.6cdi and personally for 90% of the time the engine was adequate but there were times when I wanted more (overtaking, from stop on hills)

Norstar, no links to tiguan complaints?

No specific post, just saw comments in this and other threads. Also my cousin had one. She said she had more shop time than road time. The DSG plague affects the Tig too.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 12th, 2012, 6:31 pm

worksux101 wrote:I dont want the Optima..was suggesting it for Stephon's friend...forgot his grouse with SSL as well...

I saw the post thanks...meant if anyone who actually has any experience with one has any positive/negative reviews...

I know you won't interested in the Optima, the post was actually for Stephon ( Stephon's friend). lol

Postby Stephon. » September 12th, 2012, 7:06 pm

He's my cousin lol and he hates SSS with a passion, I mean, I would be mad too if the parts department never answered my calls and when you go over there to find out what is wrong with the phones they respond "sometimes we just doh answer it" lol

That's not all, when you inquire about the part you want to get, they tell you that the model kinda new inno, check back in 2012 na we might have that part in stock, (this is when he didnt have a vehicle and was waiting on his jetta from n&m, he was driving a friend's cerato, even though the new cerato vehicles have been out for few years now)

THEN when he explained that he needed to return the car to the owner before 2012, the guy said, "well I go give yuh d part number to order it yuhself"

Then quickly changed his tongue and said "sorry company policy say we cyah give out part number"

So yeah, I honestly can't blame him for his hate for southern sales and his decision to stay away from them I guess is justified.

NorStar2k - I think he would get more out of an SUV within his price range but he said that SUVs are for families and old women :lol: :lol:

We saw the Sonata the other day and my oh my, it's a really beautiful vehicle, the interior screams executive and it definitely giving the Honda accord some competition wrt/ features and comfort. Didn't be to test drive any though, he still has to set up a date for it but damn, Hyundai have really come a long way. Didn't get a full tour of the vehicle with him because I was on the phone most of the time, but hopefully I'd be there for the test drive. I wish we could compare the sonata to the optima seeing that they're both a part of the korean family, but seeing that SSSCo sells the Optima, I don't think that it would be an option to even see.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » September 12th, 2012, 7:13 pm

Stephon, I could just waltz in SS n test drive the cx5 or I'll have to make an appointment?

Postby Stephon. » September 12th, 2012, 7:58 pm

You have to call them first, how yuh go just waltz in and drive the best SUV in the world just so?

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » September 12th, 2012, 8:06 pm

Hahaha.. We'll see bout that.
well did it in N&M for tr Subaru legacy last year and TTTL up north so just making sure. Thanks

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 12th, 2012, 11:13 pm

Stephon. wrote:NorStar2k - I think he would get more out of an SUV within his price range but he said that SUVs are for families and old women :lol: :lol:

Really??!! Let him drive a Hyundai Santa Fe 2.2L CRDi eVGT 2WD/4WD with 16 Valve 2.2 Litre 4 cylinder engine, rated at 197hp / 3800rpm; 436Nm @ 1800-2500rpm!

He'll be pleasantly surprised. Ain't no granny driving that!!

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » September 13th, 2012, 8:27 pm

Really? That thing produces about 200hp?? Daz more hp than our 2.4 petrol Camry :lol: but those are the R line engines and not sure if N&M sells those here..normal 2.2 produces around 150-155hp.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » September 13th, 2012, 9:38 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
Mr. Go Slow wrote:A very close friend has a Tiguan ... 200hp model ... Nothing but issues with that car. Not to mention every time we are at the dealership, someone else is usually there ranting.

I will NEVER buy a VW ... NEVER!

Would you mind posting the issues experienced?

Let's see .... typical euro, lights are always blowing ... One time the left from headlight stopped working and an examination revealed the freaking harness melted into the fuse box and had to be replaced.

The Intake manifold (plastic) recently had to be replaced due to some valve not opening / closing correctly. Because it's rubbish plastic, they change them vs repair ... All the 2.0 TSi motors are prone to this every 30000K or so ... Lots of reports on the gti forums (same engine). Google for more info.

The electronic parking brake module had to be replaced after it stopped working.

The gas gauge reader stopped working and had to be replaced.

I forget the rest ... thank God it's not my vehicle. I would have crashed it for the insurance.

Keep in mind this is a PCM vehicle not driven every day ... By comparison my TCM Ranger has had zero issues has twice the mileage and is used daily.

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 13th, 2012, 10:13 pm

^^o_o

I'm in the market for a vehicle for mom and right now she is pretty settled on the quashqai, dunno why I just not settled with that doh.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 13th, 2012, 10:40 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:Really? That thing produces about 200hp?? Daz more hp than our 2.4 petrol Camry :lol: but those are the R line engines and not sure if N&M sells those here..normal 2.2 produces around 150-155hp.

Oh hell just drive one and see for yourself. lol

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 13th, 2012, 11:28 pm

i need to know where some of u guys work as i feel 'little' driving my 217k almost 3 year old mexico assembled previous generation jetta and i older than most of u.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » September 14th, 2012, 11:11 am

acesinghit wrote:i need to know where some of u guys work as i feel 'little' driving my 217k almost 3 year old mexico assembled previous generation jetta and i older than most of u.

I'm 38 ... Doubt u are much older.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » September 14th, 2012, 11:14 am

Any news on when Mitsubishi would be redesigning the Lancers