Project S14.5 Spec R, Part II VE-T In the Making Page 26!!!

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » December 11th, 2009, 12:22 pm

The CA from the black 180sx, the car is not there just the engine, we spoke a couple times. Looking for a t25 as well as the exhaust pipe from the turbo to the cat back system, you have anything lying by chance?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » December 11th, 2009, 12:33 pm

Oh the black 180sx? Might be easier to get a T28 now than the T25 but will look around for you. Are you speaking of the collector pipe to the back of the turbine housing or the downpipe that bolts to the cat? I have an old megan racing down pipe tha tis perfect but the flex pipe is totally grated of on the underside. I may use it if I decide to change my turbo and I can use it to make up the back pipe to attach to the down pipe. But nevertheless I will check the stash and see what lies beneath as once this project and my other car is complete everything will be up for grabs and others dumped or with the scrap metal man :lol: .

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » December 11th, 2009, 12:41 pm

The car currently has a kakimoto cat back. I am looking to replace the stock piping so i need a 2 1/2 or 3" turbo outlet, downpipe and cat delete pipe to replace my stock leaking resonator.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » December 11th, 2009, 12:46 pm

Will check if D&D has anything and get back to you. they getting container this week so I'll let you know.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » December 11th, 2009, 1:17 pm

Hmmm everyone got a project boi.. Hey I need some ideas from you concerning mounting this chupid turbo I have and keeping my A/C.. I would like to do this b4 Xmas :oops: . Also I am thinking of running a 3 1/2" exaust straight through with just put a muffler tip at the end :lol: :lol:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » December 11th, 2009, 1:21 pm

Damn!!!! 3 1/2" exhaust from back of turbo? Where compressor going, yuh relocating it? May need to fabricate the manifold to have the turbo shifted to the right with enough room to allow the dump pipe to clear the AC compressor. You may need to wrok form the dumpipe and design the manifold around that to get clearances proper.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » December 11th, 2009, 1:35 pm

Damn!!!! 3 1/2" exhaust from back of turbo?

V-Band with a custom 3 1/2" downpipe.. Thinking of twin wastgates but that is for a next setup that is on the drawing board.

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » December 11th, 2009, 4:53 pm

TriniGT, in terms of cost, I would assume this conversion cost an arm and a leg.
Was it worth it as opposed to buying a S15 outright?

Postby Monk BANzai » December 11th, 2009, 5:33 pm

^^ good ques. But i'd do it out of sheer "one offness"....

good stuff boy Jason.. I got an Aeromotive external pump..but it whines like a Banshee!!!

too loud for my application..so i stil lsearching...

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » December 11th, 2009, 5:44 pm

BANzai Rastafarai, most externals makes too much noise... source a good internal.. bosch or walboro

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » December 11th, 2009, 9:36 pm

TriniGT, in terms of cost, I would assume this conversion cost an arm and a leg.
Was it worth it as opposed to buying a S15 outright?

Well I got the crash for small money but the amount I spent it is up there but I am glad I did it because it was quite the learning experience in all aspects. Don't tihnk I will try to do it again though, once in a lifetime thing.

Banzai, if yuh hear my internal walbro it whines like an external. I think for an external it needs to be mounted proper with supports otherwise the vibration adds hella a lot of noise. I gonna run twin 044 externals and a walbro for pickup with a swirl pot setup. May be overkill but I don't wanna skimp in this area, full braided setup as well front to back. Most people just clip a walbro into the stock wiring but when you check the voltage being supplied to the walbro from the battery it is really 11-12V. At that voltage it is not supplying say a 255lph enough to output the 255lph so it may be more like a 190lph instead. The lower voltage too may cause premature failue of the pump. My 255lph walbro sings throughout and everyone thinks it is an external, I have hard wired the pump with a relay using the stock power wire to power the relay and run an 8gauge wire to the pump directly. It works wonders and no need to worry. Voltage is around 14-14.7V all the time from the Oddessey.

legoRB

Postby legoRB » December 12th, 2009, 10:22 pm

why d pics not showin tho...... :evil: :evil: :evil:

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » December 12th, 2009, 11:09 pm

TriniGT, if u wha some motivation to never give up that project, messege me on msn dey, i go show u something why you should never give up if it seems like its not going your way :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: Plus a new project being built :mrgreen:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » December 13th, 2009, 10:57 pm

Got some work done today on the car, installed some reinforcing brackets, installed two rear speakers (6"), reinstalled the back dash upholstery, installed the rear plastics, installed the door molding and installed the top half of the dashboard as most of the wiring is underneath and whatever on the top has been finished already. I just need to sodler one of two connections below and most everything interiorwise is complete. Just need to get on with the splicing of the RB26 harness to the S15 harness and transfering over the ABs and wiper harness. Decided as well to reoute the washer bottle to the trunk area and rerun the water lines and extend the wiring, should be an easy fix but I may use a pulsar bottle as it is flatter and may be easier and swap the S14 water injectors on ti it as it has the right connectors. I need to get a good trunk/gas lid cable, mine is thrashed and broken so add that to the list.

Got some wheels to test fit to the front and the back to see what can work so this week I will be tackling putting the car on jackstands and dropping the rear subframe and installing the das tank and installing the walbro pickup pump and installing the relay for it same time to get proper power feeding to it. Once the tank is up I can check my full rear subframe fitment and then install solid bushings and all the Driftwork arms and suspension and check wheel fitment and see what needs flaring or pulling and get that done. Engine be built this week hopefully, just waiting on my connecting rod bolts :mrgreen: . Still need to mockup up block and sump and head fitment with gearbox for starter clearance and oil return from head to sump mod fitting with the firewall. That's it for now.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » January 12th, 2010, 10:27 pm

Okay I got some pics, not much but just to show how the exterior came out as well as how the interior.
Engine Bay Shot,
Side Shot,
My Favourite, the Booty!!!
Front Suspension - Driftworks Tension Rod, SPL LCA and Driftworks Coilovers
Rear suspension - Driftworks RUCAS, LCAs, Traction Rods, Toe Arms, Aluminum Collars, Reinforced Subframe and Driftworks Coilovers
Cusco Rear Strut Bar,
Interior
Recaros and Front Bumper
Harness Nightmare
Last edited by TriniGT on January 12th, 2010, 11:09 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Monk BANzai » January 12th, 2010, 10:51 pm

wheh de pics?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » January 12th, 2010, 10:56 pm

Yuh not seeing the pics?

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » January 12th, 2010, 10:59 pm

^nope

Postby Rooki3 » January 12th, 2010, 11:03 pm

swift gti funatic wrote:^nope

x2 :(

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » January 12th, 2010, 11:11 pm

Should work now :wink: .

Postby Rooki3 » January 12th, 2010, 11:18 pm

TriniGT wrote:Should work now :wink: .

Yea, looking good meng

Postby Monk BANzai » January 12th, 2010, 11:21 pm

gawd boi J..... this shot sweet...

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » January 12th, 2010, 11:27 pm

Minus the spacer though, use it to clear the wheel. I ain't no phototakerouter.

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » January 12th, 2010, 11:40 pm

nice! lovin the process.. so the 14 has turned into a 15 :lol: :lol:
Btw you found a place to reupholster those recaros?
evo 3 recaros??

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » January 12th, 2010, 11:47 pm

One is an EVO3 Recaro but I am selling that one as I have got a second black recaro now. Just need a passenger side rail. As for upholstering haven't got any time yedt but will do in time. You can see the driver side door is missing interior as I ripped it off to ge tthe dimensions so that it can be cut and glued on. Might go Bride interior or just plain black.

SPEC S

Postby SPEC S » January 12th, 2010, 11:47 pm

Jason.........you made a deal with the devil..........s14 to s15 to insane s15, have mercy, this is going to be one of the most unique and maybe the best Japanese projects to be done in this paradise of ours. Best of luck to completion bro.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » January 12th, 2010, 11:54 pm

Thanks Spec S, lots of money went down the drain with different ideas but I like the outcome. The paintjob is not the greatest but that can be neatened up later on.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » January 13th, 2010, 12:39 am

YUM!

Loving the suspension bits and Recaros.

TechArt

Postby TechArt » January 13th, 2010, 1:41 am

My god you are a determined FAWKER, yuh bounce ure head on the wall so much you destroyed the wall yesh. Props to you and your build, hope to see it rollin on the streets soon.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 13th, 2010, 5:06 am

lookin rel good