T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Stephon. » September 4th, 2012, 1:03 pm

cinco wrote:also please make sure your fully comp has windshield and flood damage premiums tacked on
they are NOT part of standard coverage so dont take it for granted
windshield coverage and flood on an a4 added 12k to an insurance premium after discounts :|
apparently the windshield replacement cost was expected to be ~25k

I have windshield coverage on all vehicles. Nothing for flood though. I'm considering it whenever I go back in to renew. WTF @ an Audi windshield being 25k though what the actual fcuk!

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » September 5th, 2012, 8:39 am

Sterling Service (Battoo Bros) Ltd

Skoda Yeti 1.8TSI
$285,000

Southern Sales

Audi Q7 3.0TSI
$785,000

Audi Q7 3.0TDI
$798,000
Skoda Yeti Interior .jpg
Skoda Yeti Interior .jpg (8.13 KiB) Viewed 3798 times
Skoda-Yeti_4x4_2011_thumbnail_08.jpg
Skoda-Yeti_4x4_2011_thumbnail_08.jpg (4.51 KiB) Viewed 3798 times
Skoda-Yeti_4x4_2011_thumbnail_04.jpg
Skoda-Yeti_4x4_2011_thumbnail_04.jpg (5.06 KiB) Viewed 3798 times

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » September 5th, 2012, 8:03 pm

Hey the Yeti! I was interested in this as 4x4 suv/ cuv. Has good ratings in the UK (not for its looks though). Price more expensive than I thought especially given that this generation of the yeti out for at least 5 years....

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » September 5th, 2012, 8:08 pm

Hey the Yeti! I was interested in this as 4x4 suv/ cuv. Has good ratings in the UK (not for its looks though). Price more expensive than I thought especially given that this generation of the yeti out for at least 5 years, now being introduced locally and wouldn't be the most attractive option out there at first glance.

Postby SUPAstarr » September 5th, 2012, 9:06 pm

Visited the TTTL today got two quotes
Hilux 3.0 A/T Leather - 297,000 On the road
Corolla LX 1.5 A/T Sunroof - 212,000 On the road

Postby equipped2ripp » September 5th, 2012, 9:17 pm

Stephon. wrote:
cinco wrote:i would love to know how d frack people affording insurance on these >300k vehicles
sigh
sucks to be poor like me

A lot of people think that insurance on a new vehicle is 10% of the value but that isn't true. My cousin who HAD a VW earlier this year paid only 12 grand for his insurance and the VW was around 230 or more (can't exactly remember) he's in the market for a new vehicle and his insurance company gave him a quote on a Mazda 6 (which is priced close to 300k) for 11 grand.

The cx5 insurance cost 22 grand and that is about 5 % the cost of the vehicle. Also there are some loans officers that give their clients the options to include the first years insurance in the loan. I'd imagine the insurance on a 200k - 300k vehicle would be anywhere from 8k to 12k which isn't much when you consider it on a yearly decreasing basis.

apparently you never heard about No Claim Discounts.

Postby Stephon. » September 5th, 2012, 9:28 pm

SUPAstarr wrote:Visited the TTTL today got two quotes
Hilux 3.0 A/T Leather - 297,000 On the road
Corolla LX 1.5 A/T Sunroof - 212,000 On the road

I always thought that the corollas were 1.6

Postby cinco » September 5th, 2012, 9:38 pm

local corollas are 1.5 using usdm yaris engines :lol:

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » September 5th, 2012, 10:01 pm

and yarises come with 1.0 or 1.3 engines here no?

Postby M_2NR » September 6th, 2012, 1:23 am

scotty_buttons wrote:and yarises come with 1.0 or 1.3 engines here no?

1.3 and 1.5 if I remember right.
The rollas are 1.5 and 1.8 for our market.
The price stamina quote there for the LX was the price for a 1.8 about 4 years ago!

Postby Stephon. » September 6th, 2012, 1:33 am

Afaik the 1.8 with steering wheel controls sunroof and spoiler is about 260+ now. Welp!

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 6th, 2012, 7:53 am

the yaris we get has the 2NZ-FE engine but without VVT-i. cinco is correct, the corolla's we get has the 1NZ-FE engine which is also found in the USDM Yaris.

The reason why the 1.8 Corolla is $263k (more expensive than a 2.0 GT Lancer @ 260k) is primarily due to the fact that it has a beams yamaha tuned dual vvti engine according to the salesrep so it have the fyarrrrrzzz. :lol: :|

and ROFL @ the loaded 1.5 Corolla for $212k.
a chevy cruze 1.8 loaded is $215k

stealership TTTL FTL

Postby cinco » September 6th, 2012, 8:06 am

acesinghit wrote:the yaris we get has the 2NZ-FE engine but without VVT-i. cinco is correct, the corolla's we get has the 1NZ-FE engine which is also found in the USDM Yaris.

The reason why the 1.8 Corolla is $263k (more expensive than a 2.0 GT Lancer @ 260k) is primarily due to the fact that it has a beams yamaha tuned dual vvti engine according to the salesrep so it have the fyarrrrrzzz. :lol: :|

stealership TTTL FTL

the 1.8 corollas we get are 1zzfe, 2zrfe or 2zzge?
unless its 2zzge (which was never put into that series corolla its bull)
the 2zrfe is the replacement for the 1zz which is dual vvt-i
the 2zzge is dual vvtl-i (lift is what makes it beams powarrrrr)

Postby M_2NR » September 6th, 2012, 9:36 am

The stealership is just full of hot air. Unless something changed it was the 1zz. The only time corollas come with the 2zz if I'm not mistaken is in the fielders and d runx (where scott!?) via foreign used. I can't remember if there was a sedan also with a 2zz version stock. (I eh check any of this since about 4 years too :oops: )

Postby Stephon. » September 6th, 2012, 10:29 am

Wow all this technical wording and engine talk is giving me a headache.

Lets talk about car features na?

ABS and sunroof and thing.

Postby Stephon. » September 6th, 2012, 10:47 am

By the way my cousin is in the market for a new vehicle. He had a VW Jetta that he bought in January and looking to get something else now (he doesn't have the Jetta anymore) - he is leaning more toward a big car. Want some opinions on what you think gives you more value for money in this segment to kinda help in this purchase. The Mazda 6 is out of the question because he doesn't like southern sales in general lol

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » September 6th, 2012, 11:07 am

I agree..i would not go back to SSSL either...in the market for an SUV..originally was leaning strongly to the Sportage but not anymore...

boxy

Postby boxy » September 6th, 2012, 11:48 am

worksux101 wrote:I agree..i would not go back to SSSL either...in the market for an SUV..originally was leaning strongly to the Sportage but not anymore...

Why is that?

boxy

Postby boxy » September 6th, 2012, 12:03 pm

Havent seen ppl discussing the wingle is it that bad or the after sales service sucks?

Postby Stephon. » September 6th, 2012, 12:09 pm

What even is a wingle?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 6th, 2012, 12:24 pm

cinco, the 1.8 Corolla is a 2ZR-FE.....basically it is a 1ZZ-FE with VVT-i on the exhaust cam. Same narrow angle valves, no valvetronic or lift and all that mounted to a dated 4-speed auto. These people have the nerve to price it like a 2.0 Lancer GT. What a shame.

Postby cinco » September 6th, 2012, 12:49 pm

which is what i said above
it isnt the legendary vvtl-i beams 2zzge
its a new 1zz good for about 120 crank hp

Postby Stephon. » September 6th, 2012, 1:03 pm

Stephon. wrote:By the way my cousin is in the market for a new vehicle. He had a VW Jetta that he bought in January and looking to get something else now (he doesn't have the Jetta anymore) - he is leaning more toward a big car. Want some opinions on what you think gives you more value for money in this segment to kinda help in this purchase. The Mazda 6 is out of the question because he doesn't like southern sales in general lol

nes123

Postby nes123 » September 6th, 2012, 4:56 pm

cinco wrote:
acesinghit wrote:the yaris we get has the 2NZ-FE engine but without VVT-i. cinco is correct, the corolla's we get has the 1NZ-FE engine which is also found in the USDM Yaris.

stealership TTTL FTL

actually the US market has the 2zzge in their version of the corolla sedan in addition to the toyota matrix, but rated at 180hp instead of JDM 190hp

tntgolf

Postby tntgolf » September 6th, 2012, 11:02 pm

stephon..tuners not helpful these days when u ask fr advice...lol

imo...sonata or passant cc to answer ur q.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 6th, 2012, 11:33 pm

Stephon. wrote:By the way my cousin is in the market for a new vehicle. He had a VW Jetta that he bought in January and looking to get something else now (he doesn't have the Jetta anymore) - he is leaning more toward a big car. Want some opinions on what you think gives you more value for money in this segment to kinda help in this purchase. The Mazda 6 is out of the question because he doesn't like southern sales in general lol

What's his price range??

Stephon. wrote:What even is a wingle?

A Chinese pickup with a terrible crash safety record that ppl buy without first researching the brand/model. http://www.ancap.com.au/crashtestrecord?Id=338

Postby cinco » September 7th, 2012, 6:49 am

nes123 wrote:
cinco wrote:

stealership TTTL FTL

actually the US market has the 2zzge in their version of the corolla sedan in addition to the toyota matrix, but rated at 180hp instead of JDM 190hp

not in the new corollas
the new corollas the XRs is the 2.4 2az same in the camry and scion tc

Postby Stephon. » September 7th, 2012, 8:26 am

300 - 400 is the price range the closer to 300 the better I guess. We are going to check out the passat next week.

lenzomaru

Postby lenzomaru » September 7th, 2012, 2:27 pm

300-400 whey allyuh ppl wokkin boi?..damn!

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » September 7th, 2012, 2:32 pm

Stephon. wrote:300 - 400 is the price range the closer to 300 the better I guess. We are going to check out the passat next week.

looking for an SUV in that same price range..