T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Stephon. » September 2nd, 2012, 9:22 am

The 2010 - 2012 Mazda 3s are RWD

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » September 2nd, 2012, 9:29 am

Stephon. wrote:The 2010 - 2012 Mazda 3s are RWD

tntgolf

Postby tntgolf » September 2nd, 2012, 9:39 am

Thanks Stephon..What about the SUV's?

Postby Stephon. » September 2nd, 2012, 9:58 am

tntgolf wrote:Thanks Stephon..What about the SUV's?

Sorry I thought that the CC I had said rwd but when I just looked at it it really said rhd :oops:

Wrt suvs though. Don't they all come with either fwd or awd?

The captiva only comes in one trim which is awd

The Santa fe comes in either 2WD or AWD (front or rare isn't specified on the quote I have here)

Same goes for the Tucson. That's all the info I got on me at the moment. I actually have specs from the company for most of the suv vehicles in work but I've never actually noticed any of them saying that they were rwd.

tntgolf

Postby tntgolf » September 2nd, 2012, 11:37 am

thank you stephon...very insightful.

Yday I went to LSM and the rep said GV 2wd is rear wheel drive which is a big plus...so just wondering which other vehicles come with rwd...frankly I never gave thought to this aspect before..thanks fr more insights.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » September 2nd, 2012, 11:45 am

Stephon. wrote:
tntgolf wrote:Thanks Stephon..What about the SUV's?

Sorry I thought that the CC I had said rwd but when I just looked at it it really said rhd :oops:

Wrt suvs though. Don't they all come with either fwd or awd?

The captiva only comes in one trim which is awd

The Santa fe comes in either 2WD or AWD (front or rare isn't specified on the quote I have here)

Same goes for the Tucson. That's all the info I got on me at the moment. I actually have specs from the company for most of the suv vehicles in work but I've never actually noticed any of them saying that they were rwd.

sorry for laughing before, I thought you were just tooling around :lol:
As for the Santa Fe, Tucson, sportage, cr-v, and I want to believe even your CX-5, they all come with either front wheel drive, or all wheel drive variants. Note however, even in AWD spec, these vehicles tend to be front wheel drive biased during normal conditions, and only truly engage its AWD functionality in the event the vehicle begins to sense that traction is needed.
Regarding the rwd only SUVs, I want to believe that only certain trims of the grand vitara comes with RWD.
**edit** I didn't realize that tntgolf, responded after you, I guess he knows about some GV trims being RWD already :oops: :lol: .
Last edited by tourniquet on September 2nd, 2012, 12:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

tntgolf

Postby tntgolf » September 2nd, 2012, 12:22 pm

thanks...can u give some comparison btw grand vitara, rav4 and tucson? also evaluating new ford focus..appreciate ur time and help.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » September 2nd, 2012, 12:58 pm

Gran vitara vs rav4. Rav4 better interior quality and better ride. More power, more airbags, 2012 model is bigger and roomier, and handles better in my opinion. It isn't a full 4wd although there is a 4wd that you can activate manually (4wd lock button) under 45km/hr. other than that there a computer that detects when there's slippage and delivers power to the relevant wheels.. Something like automatic 4wd over speeds of 45km/hr.

The gran vitara however has a full 4wd system that works full time I think. However it burns quite a lot more gas as a result.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » September 2nd, 2012, 1:02 pm

tntgolf wrote:thanks...can u give some comparison btw grand vitara, rav4 and tucson? also evaluating new ford focus..appreciate ur time and help.

how about this first, could you tell me (us) what exactly are you looking for with your new vehicle :?:
you see, your first question was on RWD cars, and then RWD SUVs, then based on your statement above, it appeared as though that your mind was set on small SUVs, but then you mentioned the focus, so you're not averse to having a FWD compact car (or maybe it's because ford's warranty and insurance package looks so appealing? :lol:)

tntgolf

Postby tntgolf » September 2nd, 2012, 1:32 pm

tourniquet - u r right on all counts!

evaluating focus and a small SUV.

namrehs

Postby namrehs » September 2nd, 2012, 6:40 pm

Are the prices up-to-date for all models of vehicles on this forum (page 1)?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 2nd, 2012, 6:49 pm

Namrehs not all the prices up to date. For example the BMW 1 series prices aren't up to date. Most are though. Take the pricelist as a guide for now till you get to the showroom.

Postby Stephon. » September 3rd, 2012, 10:50 am

For a limited time only. The Mazda 6 would be available for a down payment of 17,000 dollars.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » September 3rd, 2012, 11:26 am

Stephon. wrote:For a limited time only. The Mazda 6 would be available for a down payment of 17,000 dollars.

And a monthly installment of?

Postby Stephon. » September 3rd, 2012, 11:39 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
Stephon. wrote:For a limited time only. The Mazda 6 would be available for a down payment of 17,000 dollars.

5400 - 6000

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » September 3rd, 2012, 2:42 pm

Stephon. wrote:
christopherwilliams2 wrote:

5400 - 6000

Ouch!

Forza_Milano

Postby Forza_Milano » September 3rd, 2012, 7:35 pm

Subaru Forester - 2.5XT - 475,000?? Is this price for real?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » September 3rd, 2012, 8:33 pm

^^Correct price is correct.

Postby Stephon. » September 3rd, 2012, 9:59 pm

Dunno what direction NM is trying to take with their Subaru line up.

tntgolf

Postby tntgolf » September 3rd, 2012, 10:28 pm

no comments abt ford focus? ne idea abt specs..

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » September 4th, 2012, 1:19 am

Forza_Milano wrote:Subaru Forester - 2.5XT - 475,000?? Is this price for real?

Yes it is, I think NM needs to but some sales reps on Trini Tuner to defends their increases lol :wink:

The last rep when I asked about increases, these were the reasons I was given.
1. The Japanese Yen, interesting but, the prices have remained relatively stable in both the US and UK markets.
2. The rise in the price in steal, certainly should affect all markets and all companies but, it hasn't.
3. Ahh the MVT, hmmm how long are they gonna continue to use that one. 2.5 Old MVT = $52,479, 2.5 New MVT = $62, 000 (so an increase of $9521 increase + 20% duty + 15% VAT)
4. Something about more features than before, (all new cars come with more standard features)

Then I stopped listening lol

And GREAT NEWS!!! He also continued to say with the Forester model change coming in late 2013/2014 we should expect even more increases!! He was very proud of that.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 4th, 2012, 7:39 am

In an economy that is promoting the rich and making the middle class poor, Subaru, Toyota and Honda are fast becoming 'luxury' brand alternatives to Audi etc...After listening to how some people characterize their new 2-airbag Honda Civic or their $315k Subaru XV you would swear those things are premium automobiles.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » September 4th, 2012, 7:45 am

Again and again I'll say it. They will continue to get customers; mainly the ones who doh know better; until people take a friggin stand n dont buy them, it'll just get worse and other dealerships would follow suit. Just now Hyundai wouldnt be the affordable alternative.

Postby cinco » September 4th, 2012, 8:03 am

i would love to know how d frack people affording insurance on these >300k vehicles
sigh
sucks to be poor like me

Postby Stephon. » September 4th, 2012, 10:29 am

Scotty that is not true wrt Hyundai vehicles. Hyundai and Kia are both Korean brands and their vehicles will always be a bit less than their jap cousins.

Postby Stephon. » September 4th, 2012, 10:37 am

cinco wrote:i would love to know how d frack people affording insurance on these >300k vehicles
sigh
sucks to be poor like me

A lot of people think that insurance on a new vehicle is 10% of the value but that isn't true. My cousin who HAD a VW earlier this year paid only 12 grand for his insurance and the VW was around 230 or more (can't exactly remember) he's in the market for a new vehicle and his insurance company gave him a quote on a Mazda 6 (which is priced close to 300k) for 11 grand.

The cx5 insurance cost 22 grand and that is about 5 % the cost of the vehicle. Also there are some loans officers that give their clients the options to include the first years insurance in the loan. I'd imagine the insurance on a 200k - 300k vehicle would be anywhere from 8k to 12k which isn't much when you consider it on a yearly decreasing basis.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » September 4th, 2012, 10:46 am

well, this is Trinidad. We'll see what happens..not saying it will but I definitely wont be surprised if it does.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 4th, 2012, 11:30 am

Stephon. wrote:
cinco wrote:i would love to know how d frack people affording insurance on these >300k vehicles
sigh
sucks to be poor like me

A lot of people think that insurance on a new vehicle is 10% of the value but that isn't true. My cousin who HAD a VW earlier this year paid only 12 grand for his insurance and the VW was around 230 or more (can't exactly remember) he's in the market for a new vehicle and his insurance company gave him a quote on a Mazda 6 (which is priced close to 300k) for 11 grand.

The cx5 insurance cost 22 grand and that is about 5 % the cost of the vehicle. Also there are some loans officers that give their clients the options to include the first years insurance in the loan. I'd imagine the insurance on a 200k - 300k vehicle would be anywhere from 8k to 12k which isn't much when you consider it on a yearly decreasing basis.

Generally the initial cost to insure is approximately 10% of the cost of the vehicle. Afterwards insurers start lumping off percentages via no claim discounts. So each year no claim discount could be $1500 to $2000 so after applying 4 to 5 years no claim ($6000-$10000 off) you end up with figures like your cousin and others pay for a new vehicle.

This figure isn't set in stone. Some companies start at 8% of initial cost others may start higher.

1st time owners are the ones who usually get hit hardest as they have zero no claim.

Postby cinco » September 4th, 2012, 11:59 am

also please make sure your fully comp has windshield and flood damage premiums tacked on
they are NOT part of standard coverage so dont take it for granted
windshield coverage and flood on an a4 added 12k to an insurance premium after discounts :|
apparently the windshield replacement cost was expected to be ~25k

Postby MG Man » September 4th, 2012, 12:03 pm

3rd party ftw