T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

agent007

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby agent007 » August 29th, 2012, 9:57 pm

$365,000.00 2.4L

$700,000.00 3.7L

Postby S_2NR » August 29th, 2012, 10:01 pm

2013 Mazda 3 with Skyactiv engine here yet? Any prices?
Interested in one.

agent007

Postby agent007 » August 29th, 2012, 10:22 pm

2013 Mazda 6 coming soon....

Postby S_2NR » August 29th, 2012, 10:34 pm

Dam. The new 6 is hot!

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » August 29th, 2012, 11:56 pm

Looks a bit more reserved from outgoing model. From looks like an Infiniti. Backlights look like a Sonata.

aidan

Postby aidan » August 30th, 2012, 1:26 am

The new 6 looking good. Not looking like it smiling dotish again.

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 30th, 2012, 6:01 am

Everything looks like a jag rip off to me :|

Postby Stephon. » August 30th, 2012, 7:02 am

The new Mazda 6 shares a lot of features with the Mazda CX-5 wrt tech features. Not sure the EXACT trim that would be coming in Trinidad tho so I guess we're going to have to wait and see, also it's going to be about 350 grand.

Postby noshownogo » August 30th, 2012, 8:35 am

The Skyactive 2.0 Mazda 6 will surely be priced closer to the 2.4 Sonata. Southern Sales seems to think the badging (Skyactiv) equates to turbo charged. Despite the fact that displacement-wise it is no where near class leading.

Postby noshownogo » August 30th, 2012, 8:59 am

agent007 wrote:Image
$365,000.00 2.4L

Track Test Results
Acceleration, 0-30 mph (sec.) 3.3
0-45 mph (sec.) 5.5
0-60 mph (sec.) 8.3
0-60 with 1 foot of rollout (sec.) 8.0
0-75 mph (sec.) 12.3
1/4-mile (sec. @ mph) 16.2 @ 88.0
0-30 mph, trac ON (sec.) 3.3
0-45 mph, trac ON (sec.) 5.6
0-60 mph, trac ON (sec.) 8.5
0-60, trac ON with 1 foot of rollout (sec.) 8.1
0-75 mph, trac ON (sec.) 12.6
1/4-mile, trac ON (sec. @ mph) 16.3 @ 87.2
Braking, 30-0 mph (ft.) 32
60-0 mph (ft.) 127
Slalom, 6 x 100 ft. (mph) 61.6
Slalom, 6 x 100 ft. (mph) ESC ON 60.3
Skid pad, 200-ft. diameter (lateral g) 0.77
Skid pad, 200-ft. diameter (lateral g) ESC ON 0.75
Sound level @ idle (dB) 37.8
@ Full throttle (dB) 78.9
@ 70 mph cruise (dB) 67.6
Engine speed @ 70 mph (rpm) 2,000

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 30th, 2012, 9:40 am

ROFL....which would u buy a Volvo S60 Turbo or a Sonata? How could they price the Sonata next to a Volvo who so happens to make the safest cars in the world? In addition the Sonata is a mere $15k cheaper than the Mercedes Benz C180 Turbo. Get this, the Sonata cost more than a VW Passat TSI Highline? LOL

aidan

Postby aidan » August 30th, 2012, 1:09 pm

Hey guys, just an update. Toyota currently has no Daihatsu vehicles, they said it's because of the tsunami.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » August 30th, 2012, 3:09 pm

acesinghit wrote:ROFL....which would u buy a Volvo S60 Turbo or a Sonata? How could they price the Sonata next to a Volvo who so happens to make the safest cars in the world? In addition the Sonata is a mere $15k cheaper than the Mercedes Benz C180 Turbo. Get this, the Sonata cost more than a VW Passat TSI Highline? LOL

This.

Postby cinco » August 30th, 2012, 4:00 pm

sad part is the hyundai gonna be more reliable than the c class

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » August 30th, 2012, 4:46 pm

acesinghit wrote:ROFL....which would u buy a Volvo S60 Turbo or a Sonata? How could they price the Sonata next to a Volvo who so happens to make the safest cars in the world? In addition the Sonata is a mere $15k cheaper than the Mercedes Benz C180 Turbo. Get this, the Sonata cost more than a VW Passat TSI Highline? LOL

you appear to know a lot about these cars down here, so just playing devil's advocate:
1) volvo still around? :lol:
2) does volvo still play on that "safest cars in the world" thing? cause as far as I can tell many of today's cars, including the sonata, have high rankings.
3) wrt to the benz, feature wise, do you get same level of features with the sonata vs the 15k more c-class:?:
4) as far as the passat is concerned, I would like to think that with its 1.8L engine, vs the hyundai's larger 2.4L engine, that it would cost less.

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 30th, 2012, 6:52 pm

cinco wrote:sad part is the hyundai gonna be more reliable than the c class

This.

Postby Stephon. » August 30th, 2012, 7:56 pm

noshownogo wrote:The Skyactive 2.0 Mazda 6 will surely be priced closer to the 2.4 Sonata. Southern Sales seems to think the badging (Skyactiv) equates to turbo charged. Despite the fact that displacement-wise it is no where near class leading.

Yeah but why people make it sound like engine = price in ALL vehicles tho?
The new Mazda 6 has features similar to that of vehicles with more "luxury" behind their brands.

Paying for comfort > paying for speed to die in a 5 car smashup imo

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 30th, 2012, 8:20 pm

Stephon it seems this legendary CX-5 is doing well in comparison tests:

Motor Trend September 2012 issue:

1st Ford Escape
2nd Mazda CX-5
3rd Honda CR-V
4th Kia Sportage
5th Volkswagen Tiguan

Car and Driver September 2012 issue:

1st Mazda CX-5
2nd Honda CR-V
3rd Ford Escape
4th Toyota RAV4
5th Kia Sportage
6th Hyundai Tucson

Be it as it may, the Mazda posted the most lethargic acceleration numbers of all SUV's mentioned above.

nes123

Postby nes123 » August 30th, 2012, 9:47 pm

So we all here to learn,but ya care to elaborate further on that statement bro?never seen an SR20/4g93T et al conversion in any modern aged C180...and I know from previous hyundai vehicles electricals weren't exactly the most reliable either if ya want to bring in this argument

IMO it's too soon to say what the new hyundai lines hold in the future with regard to their electricals as they never really had any of these features before...open to correction

Postby Stephon. » August 30th, 2012, 10:53 pm

acesinghit wrote:Stephon it seems this legendary CX-5 is doing well in comparison tests:

Motor Trend September 2012 issue:

1st Ford Escape
2nd Mazda CX-5
3rd Honda CR-V
4th Kia Sportage
5th Volkswagen Tiguan

Car and Driver September 2012 issue:

1st Mazda CX-5
2nd Honda CR-V
3rd Ford Escape
4th Toyota RAV4
5th Kia Sportage
6th Hyundai Tucson

Be it as it may, the Mazda posted the most lethargic acceleration numbers of all SUV's mentioned above.

I have the Car + Driver issue, it's funny because what I have been saying about the CX-5 all along is what they basically said in the article, fun to drive, comfortable/comfort featuers etc. and it ain't really for people that are looking to see how fast they can break the speed limit.

Didn't see the Tiguan anywhere on that list though, which IMO is the closest vehicle you could compare to the CX-5 along with the Q5

Fun to drive 18/25 - highest score out of the other vehicles listed, they also got the highest score for comfort in the driver sear and the rare seat, and even though it may seem smaller than maybe a CR-V, it won highest towing capacity too.

They also cleaned up the competition in the handing department as well as flexibility and transmission being voted superior to the Sportage, CR-V, RAV4 and the Tucson.

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » August 31st, 2012, 1:17 am

Yeah but why people make it sound like engine = price in ALL vehicles tho?
The new Mazda 6 has features similar to that of vehicles with more "luxury" behind their brands.

Paying for comfort > paying for speed to die in a 5 car smashup imo

I see the point you're getting at where a larger engine isn't the end all. All depends on what the driver wants and what he/she places importance on.

But, I have to argue the "paying for speed to die in a 5 car smashup". The car doesn't control you, if your car can accelerate 0-60mph in 4.5 seconds it doesn't mean you must do so at every traffic light. :wink:

I mean the driver who causes the 5 car smashup can do so in a WRX STi or Nissan Sunny. It's a reckless driving style, not a fault of the car. I mean I often have Sunnys or equivalent cars zooming past me on the highway while in my turboed Tiguan or Forester, of course I could beat them if I tried without disturbing the comfort of the cabin lol but, you have to be sensible on the road particularly in Trinidad. I'm not saying I don't use the turbo, I actually use it daily but, I just don't go crazy with it. That's my two cents anyway :)

Didn't see the Tiguan anywhere on that list though, which IMO is the closest vehicle you could compare to the CX-5 along with the Q5

I've read the same article, no doubt the CX-5 is a nice crossover. I like the style of the new generation Mazda vehicles. Those articles eat away at my sole when I see what the US market pays for these cars compared to us here. Nothing we can do about that I guess. Oh yeah and one last thing the Audi Q5 is not a competitor to any of those cars in the article or the Tiguan. The Q5 is a larger vehicle with competitors like the BMW X3 and the Benz GLK. The Tiguan along with the CX-5 are quite a bit smaller and are more equivalent in size to the new Q3. And even the Q3, it's designed to go head to head with the BMW X1 and Range Rover Evoque.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » August 31st, 2012, 5:54 pm

What is the cost for a Benz Sprinter 313 CDI?

unga

Postby unga » August 31st, 2012, 7:23 pm

Does anyone know the cost of the FORD F250?

Postby Stephon. » September 1st, 2012, 9:50 am

Dunno but look out for specials from southern sales this week on the Mazda 6. Making room for the 2013 model ;)

Postby cinco » September 1st, 2012, 1:36 pm

nes123 wrote:

So we all here to learn,but ya care to elaborate further on that statement bro?never seen an SR20/4g93T et al conversion in any modern aged C180...and I know from previous hyundai vehicles electricals weren't exactly the most reliable either if ya want to bring in this argument

IMO it's too soon to say what the new hyundai lines hold in the future with regard to their electricals as they never really had any of these features before...open to correction

i know personally of 5 new C class owners that returned their cars
in fact the last one who returned it was given the option to just pay the difference and get a brand new E class for their troubles all the others said we dont want a benz anymore and now hav audis...
and this isnt a NEW C class problem i know people with older ones in the US with <30000 miles on them and had to basically give them away because no one wants them

Postby Stephon. » September 1st, 2012, 2:44 pm

cinco wrote: we dont want a benz anymore and now hav audis...

That southern sales reign!

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » September 1st, 2012, 11:14 pm

Ah swear Stephon is Mazda/SS's beyotch.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 1st, 2012, 11:41 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:Ah swear Stephon is a beyotch.

Eh heh?!

Postby Stephon. » September 2nd, 2012, 7:02 am

tntgolf

Postby tntgolf » September 2nd, 2012, 9:17 am

Hello Tuners,

Which new vehicles are rear wheel drive in trinidad?

Thx