T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

acesinghit

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby acesinghit » August 22nd, 2012, 10:54 pm

DSM and Nemesis, I should have said that it was in my opinion, sorry. But seriously, is speed really such a crave for that kind of money? I am sure a lot of us would rather own a safe sedan and sacrifice 3 seconds to 60mph as opposed to the STi for the same money. No? I mean with our poor roads, endless traffic lights and intense traffic, would you really take the STi for 575k? I am probably much older than you two.

I would like to know what you both drive, thanks...

Postby Stephon. » August 23rd, 2012, 6:51 am

I haven't renewed my permit either but.... Look at this right.

acesinghit wrote:Mazda claims they're the zoom zoom company yet lets be honest here, their 1.6L engine is a dead horse compared to the elantra's own and a 4-speed automatic tranny is soo 1985'ish. The elantra has a 6-speed. At the end of the day, if we get a fully equipped 3 with the skyactiv 2.0 or 2.5 engines mated to the crisp 6-speed manual and put it on a track against practically all compact cars including mr. elantra and we would soon realize the driver's choice would be the mazda.

Even though I've said multiple times in this thread that we drive in traffic 70% of the times in this country and speed isn't exactly a factor to me.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 23rd, 2012, 7:49 am

35% percent of the time we drive in traffic 85% of the day therefore 100% of us should not buy a car with a fast engine 54% of the time.

Man allyuh could pull sheit statistics out yuh arse to justify your own purchases you think the populace should go with. Man trying to argue that 3 to 4 second difference in 0-60 is small thing just cuz he old. smh. Ah next one driving in traffic 70% of the time so he gets a car that drives like it in traffic the 30% of the times he actually not in traffic.

Some of the justifications in this thread are overly simplistic.

Postby 16 cycles » August 23rd, 2012, 7:52 am

acesinghit wrote:..........I am sure a lot of us would rather own a safe sedan and sacrifice 3 seconds to 60mph as opposed to the STi for the same money. No? I mean with our poor roads, endless traffic lights and intense traffic, would you really take the STi for 575k? ...........

lighter AWD drive car with better weight distribution + brembo brake set up with ABS / EBD and Brake Assist might actually be safer than the heavier FWD A6 with the same bells and whistles both trying to stop from 120kmph

previous GRB STi models carried 5star front and 4 star side impact ratings....

if yuh buying a car to let the neighbours know 'yuh reach' - that is a horse for a different course...

Postby Stephon. » August 23rd, 2012, 9:16 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:35% percent of the time we drive in traffic 85% of the day therefore 100% of us should not buy a car with a fast engine 54% of the time.

Man allyuh could pull sheit statistics out yuh arse to justify your own purchases you think the populace should go with. Man trying to argue that 3 to 4 second difference in 0-60 is small thing just cuz he old. smh. Ah next one driving in traffic 70% of the time so he gets a car that drives like it in traffic the 30% of the times he actually not in traffic.

Wow. I was just pointing out that he is talking like if speed isn't a factor to him but he made a post like that above. I ain't trying to tell you to not buy a car with a faster engine. Sorry for touching whatever button I pushed.

I guess you missed the part where I said that speed isn't a factor TO ME

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 23rd, 2012, 10:05 am

Anyone could remember if the Tiguan comes with cup holders?

Srsly.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 23rd, 2012, 10:09 am

Stephon. wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:35% percent of the time we drive in traffic 85% of the day therefore 100% of us should not buy a car with a fast engine 54% of the time.

Wow. I was just pointing out that he is talking like if speed isn't a factor to him but he made a post like that above. I ain't trying to tell you to not buy a car with a faster engine. Sorry for touching whatever button I pushed.

Is dat dotish avatar yuh have

Postby Stephon. » August 23rd, 2012, 11:06 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
Stephon. wrote:

Is dat dotish avatar yuh have

Stay mad at lady Jesus.

mammoo

Postby mammoo » August 23rd, 2012, 11:48 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:Anyone could remember if the Tiguan comes with cup holders?

Srsly.

Yes! Front by the center handrest (2), on both driver and front passenger door, rear center handrest (2) and under rear A/C vents (2).

I believe I jus counted 8 cupholders. Yup.

Any more questions?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 23rd, 2012, 11:57 am

mammoo wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:Anyone could remember if the Tiguan comes with cup holders?

Srsly.

Yes! Front by the center handrest (2), on both driver and front passenger door, rear center handrest (2) and under rear A/C vents (2).

I believe I jus counted 8 cupholders. Yup.

Any more questions?

Any plans to bring the Jetta hybrid?
Bi-xenon headlights and Led taillights to the 2013 Jetta?

mammoo

Postby mammoo » August 23rd, 2012, 12:13 pm

Unfortunately no to the Hybrid. We can only get the Hybrid if we are bringing in Volume and that aint gonna happen here.

Negative on the Lights for the Jetta as well. Well not that we have heard of yet.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 23rd, 2012, 2:00 pm

allergic i was going to say well the STi is a 'sports up' normal impreza but then again you might say the A6 is just a large octavia. It has been proven before that N&M will hardly sell the STi and even DM would hardly sell an EVO because we don't really have a new car market for them here as opposed to the similarly price A6 and E250 which sell pretty ok.

stephon, any idea why driver of 1100 watch me cut eye? :twisted:

Postby Stephon. » August 23rd, 2012, 2:46 pm

What's an 1100? Lol

aidan

Postby aidan » August 23rd, 2012, 4:04 pm

I see Toyota have a 50th independence special. The corollas are 179 I think. Anyone knows which model is it?

Postby Stephon. » August 23rd, 2012, 4:43 pm

aidan wrote:I see Toyota have a 50th independence special. The corollas are 179 I think. Anyone knows which model is it?

XLI

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 24th, 2012, 10:50 am

$365K
001.jpg
002.jpg

boxy

Postby boxy » August 24th, 2012, 5:23 pm

Why this looking so sexy dan

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 26th, 2012, 10:42 pm

acesinghit wrote:DSM and Nemesis, I should have said that it was in my opinion, sorry. But seriously, is speed really such a crave for that kind of money? I am sure a lot of us would rather own a safe sedan and sacrifice 3 seconds to 60mph as opposed to the STi for the same money. No? I mean with our poor roads, endless traffic lights and intense traffic, would you really take the STi for 575k? I am probably much older than you two.

I would like to know what you both drive, thanks...

You're probably not much older than me, if at all. I was just saying you can't have a problem with someone else's choice. Lots of people might choose to drive around a really slow car all week and have an STI on the weekend using many of the same arguments you have. Can't drive anywhere, bad roads etc. For safety, I wouldn't say the STI is bad. Yes the A6 will have more passive safety features, but how does that matter if the STI could maintain enough control with AWD to completely avoid the accident? You just can't tell sometimes.

As for the E and A6 selling more than the STI, yes, that will always happen in trinidad. Doesn't mean it ain't a good car. :) That's like saying you're sure the A4 is better than a C Class because it sells more.

Brucemyster

Postby Brucemyster » August 27th, 2012, 7:28 am

Are these prices VAT inclusive or VAT exclusive

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » August 27th, 2012, 8:26 am

Kia Cerato Koup are on special now for $183,000 (down from $195,000 i think)

However they only have the 'red package' vehicles.

mammoo

Postby mammoo » August 27th, 2012, 9:48 am

Call or visit for a test drive today of this fantastic VW Crossover SUV with loads of features.

Specs and Variations on our 2012 Tiguan are as follows:

VW Trend & Fun:
2.0 Turbocharged Gasoline (TSI) 180Hp ($327,000)
7-Speed DSG Transmission
In Dash Touch Screen 6CD Changer MP3 compatible
SD Card Slot, Aux Input and Ipod Cable with 8 Speakers
16" Cairo Alloy Rims
4 Wheel A.B.S. with E.D.L. & E.S.P.
Anti-theft Alarm with Electronic Immobilizer
Electro Mechanical Power Steering
Multifunction Leather Wrapped Telescopic Steering Wheel
Electronic Parking Brake
Climatic Airconditioning
Speed Control Door Locks
Optical Rear Parking Sensors
Automatic Headlights
Rain Sensitive Wipers
Auto Dim Rear View Mirror
Electronic AutoHold
Keyless Entry
Dual Front, Side & Curtain Airbags (6)
Fabric Interior
Power Wing Mirrors
Fog Lamps
Side Impact Door Beams
4Motion Technology (4 Wheel Drive)

VW Tiguan Track & Field added features include:
17" Tunis Alloy Rims
Dual-Zone Climatronic Airconditioning
Tyre Pressure Monitoring
Fabric Interior
Off-Road Function
Digital Compass
2.0TSI (Gas) 210Hp ($341,000)

Sport & Style Added Features:
Leather Interior
Chrome Roof Racks
Chrome WIndow Package
Powered Driver Seat
Xenon Auto-Leveling Headlights with LED Daylight Running Lights
18" New York Alloy Rims
2.0TSI (Gas) 210Hp ($402,000)
With Panoramic Sunroof - $410,400

Please visit our Micro Site to learn more - http://www.newtiguan2012.com

Call - 722-2222

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » August 27th, 2012, 11:21 am

BMW
BMW X3
xDrive28i (2.0T) - $700,000

Audi
Audi Q3 2.0L T FSI Quattro - $426,000

Audi Q5 2.0L T FSI Quattro
Comfort - $483,000
Luxury - $552,000

Mini
Cooper Countryman - $325,000
Cooper Countryman S - $395,000
Cooper Countryman S ALL4 - $420,000

Cooper ONE - $250,000
Cooper S Manual - $300,000
Cooper S Automatic - $315,000

Toyota
FJ Cruiser - $558,000

Jeep
Grand Cherokee
Limited 3.0 V6 CRD - $665,000
Overland 3.0 V6 CRD - $750,000

Wrangler 4DR 2.8 CRD - $650,000

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » August 27th, 2012, 2:37 pm

4Motion wrote:BMW
BMW X3

yuh sure that right?? :shock:

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » August 27th, 2012, 8:40 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:
4Motion wrote:BMW
BMW X3

yuh sure that right?? :shock:

To be honest, it doesn't sound right but, that is what was quoted when asked.

I asked twice to make sure it wasn't confused with the 3.0L that was previously found in the xDrive28i but it was confirmed that it was indeed the 2.0-litre, TwinPower Turbo with 240 horsepower.

:?

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » August 27th, 2012, 10:49 pm

Waw. X3 is Prado money yes.. I'm guessing the new x5 is more than 1million now? Cuz last i checked it was less than 800

I still find that extremely hard to believe

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 29th, 2012, 3:19 am

Yes the X3 is 700k, and yes the X5 is rediculous too. :)
Still, I don't think the X3 and Q5 should be compared to a tiguan though.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 29th, 2012, 6:07 am

Indeed. The x3 and Q5 should be compared to a small house.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 29th, 2012, 7:49 am

personally i find the fortuner, prado, land cruiser and fj cruiser are all over priced. I guess the reason why the first 3 cost so much is because of a 98.5% govt purchase rate of incoming stock. A toyota suv is the defacto standard of all govt transportation it seems.

Postby Stephon. » August 29th, 2012, 3:33 pm

The cx5 price remains justified.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » August 29th, 2012, 4:03 pm

Lol. No stephon. It doesn't. Not a vehicle like that. You cannot compare a cx5 to a q5 for instance.

Must say that the cx5 is surprisingly ugly in person. Cx7 looks way better. And it's price for a 2.3 turbo is justified.