The Official Car Care Thread

nemesis

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby nemesis » April 10th, 2013, 10:21 pm

Most of them do total "dotishness" for part of the process. That's quite normal. And if any of them get offended by me saying that I'd love to debate it. :)

Also, take people advice and let the dealer know not to wash/polish or anything with your car. I always cover the entire customer comments section with "DO NOT WASH" or something like that. After 2 or 3 times they usually get the idea.

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 10th, 2013, 10:25 pm

My dealer tells me wash the van and then come

Postby pioneer » April 10th, 2013, 10:26 pm

I jus stopped goin by the dealer to avoid that problem :|

trvs

Postby trvs » April 11th, 2013, 1:59 am

We need some detailing workshops here.

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 11th, 2013, 5:13 am

i'm not talking about the dealers for cars. i'm talking about the local agents for car detailing products. just using an example but not who i'm talking about, mothers, etc

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » April 11th, 2013, 10:06 pm

Think I need another brush for cleaning the rim...where you guys get that locally ?? Anands?

Postby pioneer » April 11th, 2013, 10:21 pm

Daytona brush nothing else

Saw ah piper washing ah car in POS with vim...

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » April 11th, 2013, 10:27 pm

LOL aite cool man, I have one I use for under the fenders an thing but it too big for some places.
That Daytona brush....I could get that locally?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 14th, 2013, 10:08 am

Just got these for my car.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1365948523.861151.jpg

Any advice on best practices?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 14th, 2013, 10:21 am

Keep it out of the heat and shake them up often so the paint would not get hard when u are ready to use it.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 14th, 2013, 11:02 am

Ok thanks. What about applying it? Anything to make it level with the rest of the paint afterwards? Like how much paint to put before applying the clear? Can I use the nibs of the pen easily or should i put the paint on something else?

Postby DVSTT » April 14th, 2013, 11:10 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Ok thanks. What about applying it? Anything to make it level with the rest of the paint afterwards? Like how much paint to put before applying the clear? Can I use the nibs of the pen easily or should i put the paint on something else?

I used the turtle wax scratch remover pen and just used some megs UC after it had dried. Leveled it out nicely and made it unnoticeable.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 14th, 2013, 11:12 am

So you do your thing with the paint pen then add clear then buff it down to the level of the rest of the clear?

trvs

Postby trvs » April 14th, 2013, 12:15 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars, check out this video. Further down to the end Larry shows one of the proper ways to apply touch up paint

Last edited by M_2NR on April 14th, 2013, 1:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: part2 added

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 14th, 2013, 2:37 pm

Thanks!

Postby pioneer » April 14th, 2013, 2:45 pm

greenlime100 wrote:LOL aite cool man, I have one I use for under the fenders an thing but it too big for some places.
That Daytona brush....I could get that locally?

nah...autogeek or amazon

buy the combo with the smaller one too

http://www.autogeek.net/daytona-speed-m ... ushes.html

trinidad stores eh ready fuh dem ting...dem does say use ah paint brush

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » April 14th, 2013, 2:57 pm

Cool thanks

The paint brush thing guh work for the man washing car with vim LOL

aidan

Postby aidan » April 14th, 2013, 10:07 pm

^^I does use paint brush lol. Harris paint brushes, nice and soft and does clean good.

cadence

Postby cadence » April 15th, 2013, 10:11 am

Tuners,

I have been professionally detailing for the last three years..never posted on this forum due to time constraints and well limited knowledge of this thread :lol:
I started my detailing quest as a hobby but due to demands by car enthusiasts like myself I started offering my services a little over two years and counting...
I will begin offering some pics of my work, even though my library of pics doesnt really show before shots due to no marketing reasons in the past...
I really hope to gain some knowledge based on users experiences and well share my work and information with some car crazy people...(ohh yes I am a Meguiars supporter!)

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » April 15th, 2013, 10:14 am

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » April 15th, 2013, 10:19 am

^^ man have products to de roof holding up de beam yes!

cadence

Postby cadence » April 15th, 2013, 10:34 am

Vehicle- 320i BMW
YOM- 2006
Paint Analysis- Heavy oxidation, deep scratches (owner dogs), heavy swirls and marring, total loss of paint reflectivity/shine.

Detailing Steps- Foam wash, Meg's C-2100 clay, 2000 unigrit sanding, 3000 unigrit sanding, M105 & 205 using Flex rotary, Ultimate polish using Meg DA V1.2, Ultimate Wax (2 coats), Gold Class Carnauba Plus liquid wax (2 coats).
Vehicle restoration was done over a 48 hour period, 22" chrome rims was polished using Meg's chrome polish.

Postby pioneer » April 15th, 2013, 10:58 pm

not bad

cadence

Postby cadence » April 16th, 2013, 9:50 am

Detailers: what is your thoughts and/or personal experience with paint correction using DA vs Rotary? Recently, I tried the Kevin Brown method (DA/M105) and must say "I was amazed"!

Recently alot of customers are asking me for removal of factory orange peel :o
Extremely time consuming, but the results are worth it....

Vehicle: KIA OPTIMA (Daily Driven)
Paint Analysis- Minor surface scratches, heavy oxidation, Heavy paint "orange peel", severe marring.
Detailing Steps- Griots wash kit, Meg's Clay, Wet sand using Meg's unigrit 2000 & 2500, M105, M205, Swirl finder tech light, SwirlX, IPA wipe down, ultimate polish, NXT 2.0 (3 light coats) and Deep crystal carnauba wax.
Other steps not mentioned: Headlights polished-UV protected, Glass cleaned (Sonax), interior shampoo, etc

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 16th, 2013, 11:25 am

How do you know how much paint you are removing when u are wet sanding the paint work , especially factory clear coats ?

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » April 16th, 2013, 1:32 pm

what can i use for rubber trims/mouldings, around windows and glass
vehicle was parked outdoors and it looks like a fungus or mildew, spots on the rubber

whats the best product/method to clean?

Postby pioneer » April 16th, 2013, 1:43 pm

Megs all purpose cleaner then dress with surf city garage blackmax?

cadence

Postby cadence » April 16th, 2013, 1:49 pm

Karim Khan wrote:How do you know how much paint you are removing when u are wet sanding the paint work , especially factory clear coats ?

I use the the Phase II PTG- 3500 digital paint meter. Now this is just an additional safety guide, personally based on experience and your customer's testimony of never buffing the car prior to my work, its relatively safe to colour sand with "minimal" force using unigrit 2000. However, based on looking at this forum you seem to be well versed also, it might be nice chatting with you one day...Keep up the great work bro, nice to see some talented detailers and not just machine operators :lol:

cadence

Postby cadence » April 16th, 2013, 2:03 pm

copper_shot wrote:what can i use for rubber trims/mouldings, around windows and glass
vehicle was parked outdoors and it looks like a fungus or mildew, spots on the rubber

whats the best product/method to clean?

Advice by Pioneer is great, also try the forever black combo for a close to permanent result, usually sold off amazon or autogeek.net for like 12.00usd. I may have a few bottles, but i do not want to market products and/or services without powerseller account. Full respect for tuner and loyal powersellers!

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » April 16th, 2013, 2:26 pm

thanks,
i just don't want to cover it up
i want to clean the rubber and try to remove the mildew

are you sure the meg all purpose cleaner will get it done?