The Official Car Care Thread

aidan

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby aidan » April 1st, 2013, 8:56 pm

Hai fellas.

I need a new vacuum, this shopvac that I have not as powerful as it used to be. After I vacuum, I does have to pass with a wet cloth or spray some Megs APC and wipe with a wet cloth to remove the fine sand in the carpet. It starting to get time consuming now.

So I want a nice powerful vacuum that could pickup everything in one shot. Any recommendations?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 2nd, 2013, 7:47 pm

Hey Aidan, before you get a new vac,check and see if your present vac filter needs changing. Most of the time your vac loses its suction when the filter is clogged or the filter bag is full.

If you dont know how to open it up just do a simple google search.

Let me know if this helps

aidan

Postby aidan » April 2nd, 2013, 8:15 pm

Thanks Karim, I changed the bag recently, about a month ago, and didnt use it since. The vac is about 8 years old, so I dunno if thats why its getting weak :lol:

Postby pioneer » April 2nd, 2013, 8:24 pm

Yeah well ole ting doh really suck like new ting eh

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » April 2nd, 2013, 8:28 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:Send in the e class to service and Mercedes decides to "buff" the car. The outcome :(

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1364848024.678314.jpg

Will post before and after pics sometime this week.

Need to remember to tell them not to do it.

I had karim do my car just before my first service...
After my first 'courtesy wash' at servicing, i now make sure they put on the work order to do nothing but service the vehicle.
the girls write DONOT WASH OR CLEAN anything but the engine . I usually get some strange looks..but I know better now.

Speaking of that, Karim I'll whatsapp you..dog attack my car again.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 2nd, 2013, 8:42 pm

crazychinee wrote:Speaking of that, Karim I'll whatsapp you..dog attack my car again.

:faint:

Postby nervewrecker » April 2nd, 2013, 8:51 pm

Whats the thing pioneer bought to shine up under the fenders again?

The rubber care and protectant, what the price per bottle? Looking to get some.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » April 2nd, 2013, 9:40 pm

Karim Khan wrote:
crazychinee wrote:Speaking of that, Karim I'll whatsapp you..dog attack my car again.

:faint:

I going to accidentally lose this dog in the beach soon.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 2nd, 2013, 9:40 pm

aidan wrote:Thanks Karim, I changed the bag recently, about a month ago, and didnt use it since. The vac is about 8 years old, so I dunno if thats why its getting weak :lol:

It probably may have a foam sleeve under the vac bag that may need cleaning.

But for 8 years you many really want to get a new one. The key to vacs is the attachments. make sure to get one that has the crevice tool and floor attachment. As for HP anything above 2.5 HP would be ideal.

Postby pioneer » April 2nd, 2013, 10:48 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Whats the thing pioneer bought to shine up under the fenders again?

Bumper trim?

There's Autoglym - Bumper Care

and Vinyl & Rubber Protectant - dash, engine etc

Postby M_2NR » April 3rd, 2013, 6:36 pm

Guys. Need some advice here. I'm not sure if you can see it but I've noticed these little spots looking like rust on a vehicle's hood. I'm not sure if it is indeed rust. Also, what can be done about it?

Thanks!

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1365028492.207817.jpg

Postby equipped2ripp » April 3rd, 2013, 6:40 pm

Iron-x or Trix

Postby cinco » April 4th, 2013, 8:49 am

those are iron filings prob parked where someone was grinding metal
a clay bar will pull it out also

Postby M_2NR » April 4th, 2013, 10:40 pm

Thanks guys!

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 4th, 2013, 11:14 pm

M_2NR wrote:Guys. Need some advice here. I'm not sure if you can see it but I've noticed these little spots looking like rust on a vehicle's hood. I'm not sure if it is indeed rust. Also, what can be done about it?

Thanks!

As Cinco said , it looks a alot like iron filings in the paint. i recommend you see about it before the iron starts to oxidize and get under the paint. If this happens you would have a bigger problem.

The clay bar would help to remove the top of the contaminant, but the roots or the areas that
"hold" on to the paint are not always removed by this method as the clay bar acts like a plane(wood working tool to shave the top surface of the wood) just removing the top surface of the object.

What you would need in conjunction with claying is an iron remover that is safe to use on automotive surfaces. This will help to "pull out" the iron filings safely with out affecting the surfaces of the vehicle.

After you have done all this, you would need to neutralize the iron remover with a "PH" balance chemical that will safely stop the iron remover from working on areas that you dont want to be affected, such as door jambs hinges etc.

From here i recommend that you use a high quality paint sealant or wax to help protect the surface from the contaminants.

Postby nervewrecker » April 4th, 2013, 11:25 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Whats the thing pioneer bought to shine up under the fenders again?

Bumper trim?

There's Autoglym - Bumper Care

and Vinyl & Rubber Protectant - dash, engine etc

Is the bumper care you used? How did it work?

Will pick up the Vinyl and Rubber protectant when I get a chance. Thanks.

Postby pioneer » April 4th, 2013, 11:48 pm

Worked very well

I also use Surf City Garage Blackmax...both work great for the xtrail exterior plastic trim

But I find the SCG lasts more longer

Postby cinco » April 5th, 2013, 8:13 am

can we get iron-x locally?

Postby pioneer » April 5th, 2013, 8:25 am

nah  

Postby cinco » April 5th, 2013, 3:02 pm

f*q  

Postby M_2NR » April 6th, 2013, 12:09 pm

Karim, now yuh scaring me. :cry:

Postby r3iXmann » April 6th, 2013, 12:32 pm

cinco wrote:f*q  

Amazon bruk or wha?

Postby cinco » April 6th, 2013, 4:27 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
cinco wrote:f*q  

Amazon bruk or wha?

Nah jus lazy :|

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » April 6th, 2013, 4:39 pm

^^Subscribe to Autogeek on facebook and get their sale/coupons in your news feed.
I usually make a decent order when they have their 15-20% off sales or good bogos, so sheit never runs out.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » April 7th, 2013, 8:34 pm

This week is roughly 2 months since I used the DP Poli-Coat and Collinite 845 Liquid Wax on my daily, and it's still holding up well. Beading is good, washing is easy, there is no immediate need to decontaminate as far as I can tell.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 7th, 2013, 11:20 pm

Good to hear man

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » April 9th, 2013, 9:06 am

hey guys its been a while since i posted but i have a question.
anyone knows where i can get this the buy locally?

Postby nervewrecker » April 9th, 2013, 4:03 pm

pioneer wrote:Worked very well

I also use Surf City Garage Blackmax...both work great for the xtrail exterior plastic trim

But I find the SCG lasts more longer

gracias, i'll dance for your wedding.

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 10th, 2013, 8:06 am

from by observation and experiences, the local distributers of a lot of the "big" and "popular" car detailing products aren't aware of proper washing, polishing and detailing methods and techniques.

i was at the home of one and their car wash guy was using a sponge looking like ah piece of his mattress to wash the car and went straight to "waxing" the car with said sponge. Mind you all this was done in direct sunlight

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 10th, 2013, 8:18 am

:faint: :faint: :faint: