T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

dbhertz

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby dbhertz » August 11th, 2012, 6:04 am

Read in the newspapers recently that there is a note before Cabinet to reduce the huge fuel subsidy by moving the transportation sector to CNG and away from diesel fuel.
The recommendation is for an increase in the duties paid on diesel vehicles to make it more expensive for the average user to purchase a diesel-powered vehicle and therefore make gas-powered vehicles more attractive.
I was really hoping to purchase the 2013 Santa Fe but if this passes in the 2013 budget presentation, it will be out of my reach.
2013-Hyundai-Santa-Fe-front-623x389.jpg

CenBounty

Postby CenBounty » August 11th, 2012, 9:01 am

But right now Diesel vehicles are more expensive than gas. What would be the difference, I can see the fuel moving from 1.50.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » August 11th, 2012, 9:43 am

CNG yuh say?! But CNG technology not on par with the speed with which diesel is developing! And how many CNG vehicles do they sell brand new worldwide? Or do they convert them to CNG.. wouldn't that somehow void warranty?

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » August 11th, 2012, 10:03 am

The push to cng was in the last budget but I guess it wasn't forced unto the public/ car dealers by the government as yet. I know Honda Civic has a cng line. That's the only one that I know is sold brand new directly to customers. Other than that I guess manufacturers may install them at the factory on request.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 11th, 2012, 1:44 pm

Honestly think the smarter thing to do would be to push diesel. CNG is just too difficult to get a good spread throughout the country. Diesel is easy, just drop the tax a little and let all the dealers bring diesel cars. Quite certain people would buy them. And scotty is right, the way it has developed pretty much makes it the best fuel choice right now for daily drivers.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 11th, 2012, 1:52 pm

acesinghit wrote:I typed knowing I would eventually get pong lol.....the question is if SS is getting the A4 with the increased output and 8-speed?? Is the price still at $340k?

From page 71. Prices went up.

nemesis wrote:A4 prices went up quite a bit with the new model. I think it's more just price matching to the other cars in the class, i.e. C-class and 3-series.
No base models available yet, but mid and high levels around. From top model the audio, sunroof and something else were dropped and the price went up to 461k(previously 420k). Mid level is now 440k. Base pricing not available yet but judging by the other two I'd say around 400k...big jump from 340k IF the new base models are that high...so I think it's really just a case of "BMW asking 450+k for a base 3-series so lewwe do the same!"
Changes are facelift, 8-sp tranny instead of CVT, 170hp vs 160hp, and some other little stuff.

dbhertz

Postby dbhertz » August 11th, 2012, 4:35 pm

Congrats Keshorn.

Gold after 36 years.

Well done!

Postby equipped2ripp » August 11th, 2012, 7:22 pm

^ ok? :|

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 12th, 2012, 12:34 am

worksux101 wrote:what price range looking at for the new vitara and when is it going to land?

any word if ford is bringing the escape next year? heard they'll be bringing the kuga

Its just a facelift so I don't expect much of a price jump from the current prices.

If the Escape comes here it would be priced way higher than the Everest, at least so I was told. The Escape is nice!
Ford-Escape_2013_1600x1200_wallpaper_10.jpg

Postby Stephon. » August 12th, 2012, 8:08 am

The new Grand Vitara looks sexy from here.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 12th, 2012, 8:02 pm

Stephon. wrote:The new Grand Vitara looks sexy from here.

Probably not a good place to be then.

Postby Stephon. » August 12th, 2012, 8:56 pm

The Grand Vitara has always been one of my favorite vehicles lol so chances are it'll look good to me @ any angle, everyone knows I'm biased when it comes to vehicles that I like

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » August 12th, 2012, 11:15 pm

That thing too ded for me to like :lol:

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » August 13th, 2012, 4:20 pm

I saw a Fiat Bravo on the road the other day thats a damn good looking hatch, wonder why more dont sell? The feature set certainly puts alot of those japanese hatches to shame and the price is very competitive...and its not too shabby performance wise either...

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 13th, 2012, 4:37 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:That thing too ded for me to like :lol:

That's what I thought when I owned the 2.0L. Recently traded up to the 2.4L VVTi Limited Edition. Lets just say, chalk and cheese. This model performs. She's quicker than most in her class; the new RAV4, Tucson/Sportage, XTrail Classic, ASX.

Suzuki Grand Vitara 2.0L 2WD/AWD
16 Valve 2.0 Litre 4 cylinder engine
140hp @ 4900rpm ; 183Nm @ 4000rpm

To:
Suzuki Grand Vitara 2.4L AWD
16 Valve 2.4 Litre 4 cylinder engine w/VVTi
166hp @ 6000rpm ; 225Nm @ 4000rpm

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 14th, 2012, 11:44 am

My Uncle took a spin into lifestyle motors last week (or so it was narrated to me).....after hearing about special offers on the 1.4 swift and 1.8 cruze, or whatnot.

He claims that an LM rep told him they have limited stock (less than 4 or 5?) of the cruze (all were spoken for or paid down on), and no swifts available. Also, the rep said they have not received any new vehicle shipments since May/June, and may not receive until October (maybe) - and that they can't confirm quantities/colors, or even what cars will come?

So what is LM offering their specials "on" exactly? Cars that don't exist?

Not sure if there's any truth to this Norstar2K? As I said, this is what I was told...so I could be mistaken.
Last edited by DSM_05 on August 14th, 2012, 11:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Habit7 » August 14th, 2012, 11:49 am

Lifestyle Motors still trying to find money to finish the Porsche showroom :roll:

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 14th, 2012, 11:56 am

^^ :lol: who knows!

Still, yunno things have to be bad when even Southern Sales has more shipments, and can tell you exactly what is coming, and when :lol:

Postby zoom rader » August 14th, 2012, 12:52 pm

DSM_05 wrote:My Uncle took a spin into lifestyle motors last week (or so it was narrated to me).....after hearing about special offers on the 1.4 swift and 1.8 cruze, or whatnot.

He claims that an LM rep told him they have limited stock (less than 4 or 5?) of the cruze (all were spoken for or paid down on), and no swifts available. Also, the rep said they have not received any new vehicle shipments since May/June, and may not receive until October (maybe) - and that they can't confirm quantities/colors, or even what cars will come?

Not sure if there's any truth to this Norstar2K? As I said, this is what I was told...so I could be mistaken.

Dude this is a sales rep con.
They all tell the same story to get you to buy becuase they create a false "shortage" , that may cause you to panic buy if you dont know their game.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 14th, 2012, 2:49 pm

I know that type of scheme. But in that instance, they try to get you to rush and buy "before they sell out".

This is different. He claims they essentially told him most/all were sold or paid down for. None available (that he wanted at least). So - I don't think they were encouraging a panic buy.

He also claims that they can't confirm when future shipments of cars will come in, and they don't even know what models/colours either ???

I'm beginning to wonder if there isn't some truth behind this - I know LM has a "lot" in Aranguez opposite the highway where they store new arrivals etc....I'm accustomed to seeing cars parked up there with the plastic wrap on them and so on everytime they come in.

But I haven't seen any new cars enter that area in months. To me, the last I saw may have been earlier this year.

I'm just speculating at this point.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 14th, 2012, 8:44 pm

it seems most dealers have some sort of supply issue since the price of their vehicles keep going up and the exchange rate change is minimal or nothing at least. Imagine the new Suzuki Swift 1.4 was $145k and now its $158k? Are they nuts? The only vehicle that maintained its price in the market and actually dropped a little is the Chevrolet Cruze which is now 215k for the sunroof/leather equipped model. No wonder the Cruze is such a big hit locally except they (LSM) don't get enough units in a shipment.

Postby Stephon. » August 14th, 2012, 9:06 pm

DSM_05 wrote:My Uncle took a spin into lifestyle motors last week (or so it was narrated to me).....after hearing about special offers on the 1.4 swift and 1.8 cruze, or whatnot.

Dude this is a sales rep con.
They all tell the same story to get you to buy becuase they create a false "shortage" , that may cause you to panic buy if you dont know their game.

It's so true, when I was looking for a sedan last year Nov/Dec, neal and massy told me that basically all Elantras were sold out, next batch coming in March and I'd have to pay for the vehicle upfront. Fastforward to march 2012, Elantras are here, and you see more and more everyday on the roads with number plates straight out the showroom in Aug 2012 lol - I even got a call from the salesman Apr/May ish telling me that I need to visit their showroom to check out the trims they had in stock lmfao!

Victory_Specification

Postby Victory_Specification » August 15th, 2012, 5:56 pm

TEN MILLION for the 918? who buyin that? :|

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 15th, 2012, 6:10 pm

Victory_Specification wrote:TEN MILLION for the 918? who buyin that? :|

If they build it someone will come.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » August 15th, 2012, 8:32 pm

Only porsches I've usually seen on the road are those big-ass cayennes only one carrera I kno of up in the east and thats a PCL

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » August 15th, 2012, 9:45 pm

NorStar2K wrote:
worksux101 wrote:what price range looking at for the new vitara and when is it going to land?

any word if ford is bringing the escape next year? heard they'll be bringing the kuga

Its just a facelift so I don't expect much of a price jump from the current prices.

If the Escape comes here it would be priced way higher than the Everest, at least so I was told. The Escape is nice!

That's a shame...should be priced in mid sized category not higher, esp as unlikely we'd be getting the high displacement engines...
They're supsd to bring the Kuga next year..awaiting pricing on that...

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » August 16th, 2012, 2:42 pm

Subaru Impreza- Neal & Massy prices

Impreza 1.6i
$265,000

Impreza 2.0i
$340,000

Impreza 2.0i-S
$362,000

Impreza WRX STI
$575,000

The MVT on ...
the WRX STI is $62,475
the 2.0 is $29,985
the 1.6 is $7,995

How are these prices justified?
Last edited by 4Motion on August 16th, 2012, 3:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 16th, 2012, 2:59 pm

4Motion wrote:Subaru Impreza- Neal & Massy prices

Impreza 1.6i
$265,000

Impreza 2.0i
$340,000

Impreza 2.0i-S
$362,000

Impreza WRX STI
$575,000

No matter how many times I see these Impreza prices I hadda laugh.

Postby S_2NR » August 16th, 2012, 3:00 pm

575K for a WRX now.. LOL

Postby Dave » August 16th, 2012, 3:05 pm

^^STi according to poster which is on par with the E10