The Official Car Care Thread

trvs

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby trvs » March 25th, 2013, 8:00 am

Saw Unipet in Marabella got a couple items from the 2013 Megs line.

DA Power System
White Wax -$105.00 <<-- Not bad
Black Wax -$105.00 <<-- Not bad
Compound Power Pack
Polishing Power Pack
Waxing Power Pack

Gunta fella prolly wanted a KozaK DryWash Cloth lol

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 25th, 2013, 10:34 am

greenlime100 wrote:Guys how do I remove light scratches from chrome accessories ? like on the side mirrors ?

I have the same problem with a grill and from what I read, there nothing really you can do. Those things aren't really metal just plastic with a thin chrome plating. You can try a plastic polish and it might help.

My grill and plating beyond help so I doh beatup over it

kool man.... Mine not that bad lol I guess I guh live with it

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 25th, 2013, 8:30 pm

Felt like snowing

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1364257815.318966.jpg

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1364257823.751676.jpg

neexis

Postby neexis » March 25th, 2013, 8:32 pm

Aaron ..... which Karcher system you got there?

I saw some in Laughlin and DeGannes for bout $1500...... i think 1600 psi.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 25th, 2013, 8:52 pm

This is one of the older ones..actually on its way out...time to upgrade ...had this for 8 yrs i think

Postby r3iXmann » March 25th, 2013, 10:27 pm

finally got the bissell spot cleaner

this:

did the seats,roof and carpet in the civic and the recaros in the integra

a few pics:

roof (before/after comparison):

grime:

:shock: :shock:

aidan

Postby aidan » March 25th, 2013, 11:38 pm

r3iXmann wrote:finally got the bissell spot cleaner

this:

a few pics:

grime:

:shock: :shock:

oh geed :lol: :lol: :lol:

Looks like it working well!
You had any of those water spots on your seats like when the condensation on a cup/bottle drip on the seats? Was it able to remove those with ease?

Postby r3iXmann » March 26th, 2013, 7:15 am

Yup. Removed them with ease. Even took out some spilled choc nut. Oil stains required a little effort but they came out eventually. I wanna order the crevice tool and the stain removal formula to make life easier

NR8

Postby NR8 » March 26th, 2013, 9:07 am

So the stains removed were without use of the formula? :o That thing working good!

Postby Ted_v2 » March 26th, 2013, 11:00 am

That working bess. I really needs one. How much did it cost ya?

Postby pioneer » March 26th, 2013, 6:48 pm

r3iXmann wrote:Yup. Removed them with ease. Even took out some spilled choc nut. Oil stains required a little effort but they came out eventually. I wanna order the crevice tool and the stain removal formula to make life easier

Just use Meguiars All Purpose Cleaner same way you would use the formula

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » March 26th, 2013, 7:45 pm

Guys i would strongly advise against using any machine that injects any type of liquid into your headliner. The headliner is held up with an adhesive. Using to much of any liquid may compromise the adhesive and cause the liner to eventually separate and fall. You are safer using it on seats and flooring EXCEPT components that are made of Alcantara and suede. These materials are very sensitive to high amount of moisture.

r3iXmann wrote:finally got the bissell spot cleaner

this:

a few pics:

Postby pioneer » March 26th, 2013, 7:57 pm

Ah upholstery man tell me lightly spray the area with whatever chemical then use microfighter cloths to wipe away the grime

Yeh?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » March 26th, 2013, 8:54 pm

If you really have to, spray the chemical on the MicroFighters, and let that do all the fighting for you. Less moisture is better.

Postby pioneer » March 26th, 2013, 9:39 pm

Or a steam cleaner to loosen dirt then wipe microfighter with chemical?...then follow up with a dry clean microfighter?

GoS

Postby GoS » March 26th, 2013, 9:43 pm

where can i get one a those locally to buy

Postby pioneer » March 26th, 2013, 9:54 pm

Raptor

aidan

Postby aidan » March 26th, 2013, 11:36 pm

Got a gallon of megs apc today. :D

Postby r3iXmann » March 27th, 2013, 7:47 am

NR8 wrote:So the stains removed were without use of the formula? :o That thing working good!

no no..i used the formula, but there's another one for 'tough stains'

sound boy 64 wrote:That working bess. I really needs one. How much did it cost ya?

about 600 to purchase and 350 to land/clear

Karim Khan wrote:Guys i would strongly advise against using any machine that injects any type of liquid into your headliner. The headliner is held up with an adhesive. Using to much of any liquid may compromise the adhesive and cause the liner to eventually separate and fall. You are safer using it on seats and flooring EXCEPT components that are made of Alcantara and suede. These materials are very sensitive to high amount of moisture.

the machine doesn't "inject" any liquid into the material...you manually have to spray the amount of liquid that you desire. there's a trigger on the handle

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » March 27th, 2013, 8:37 am

^^^ Ok cool

Postby cinco » March 27th, 2013, 2:39 pm

EFF YOU RAIN

just decided to go down stairs and take a pic
this is how the hood looks now still looks freshly washed

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 1st, 2013, 4:27 pm

Send in the e class to service and Mercedes decides to "buff" the car. The outcome :(

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1364848024.678314.jpg

Will post before and after pics sometime this week.

Postby pioneer » April 1st, 2013, 4:31 pm

*cringe*

They ask your permission before doing that?

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 1st, 2013, 4:35 pm

Nope was some courtesy first service crap...

Postby pioneer » April 1st, 2013, 4:36 pm

Steupsss lol

Massy do me worse already...thaz small ting

Postby cinco » April 1st, 2013, 4:58 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:Nope was some courtesy first service crap...

take it back to them and let them pay karim to do it for you

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 1st, 2013, 5:06 pm

I think unless you are aware of what a proper detail looks like etc you may not see anything wrong with it.

The vehicle surface wasn't bad but was due for a maintenance so I'd just get it done one time

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 1st, 2013, 5:16 pm

^^^ lol, Actually i have fixed a lot of Sterling work in the pass already.

Sorry to see that happened to you bro. When i carry my vehicle to service i out a little sticky note on the dash saying "Dont Wash" . Sometimes the company wash/ detailing is not always the best.

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 1st, 2013, 5:30 pm

^ u remember you came the weekend we got the car to detail lol

Postby pioneer » April 1st, 2013, 5:35 pm

Car companies world wide suck ass at that...the "detailer" is just told to "make it look good"