The Official Car Care Thread

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby Rainman » March 5th, 2013, 6:00 pm

trvs

Postby trvs » March 5th, 2013, 8:48 pm

neexis its Grey.

Larry Kosilla does some awesome work and shares some excellent tips.

I used his leather cleaning technique last couple weekends.

photo.JPG

Postby DVSTT » March 5th, 2013, 9:19 pm

trvs wrote:neexis its Grey.

Larry Kosilla does some awesome work and shares some excellent tips.

I used his leather cleaning technique last couple weekends.

photo.JPG

That seat looks like a triton/sportero seats, am I right? Also what cleaner you use? I find meguiar's and a microfibre does well, just let it soak in but not dry lolz.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » March 5th, 2013, 9:57 pm

I have already used and tested the Ammo products and they work great. Here is a pic of the products that i have used.

Postby cinco » March 5th, 2013, 11:18 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
cinco wrote:what bug remover you all suggest?
my front bumper is plastered

prestone bug and tar.. $31 by price club in chaguanas

ear big man len meh some nah :lol: :lol:

aidan

Postby aidan » March 5th, 2013, 11:56 pm

cinco wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:
cinco wrote:what bug remover you all suggest?
my front bumper is plastered

prestone bug and tar.. $31 by price club in chaguanas

ear big man len meh some nah :lol: :lol:

Buh I pay $36 for mine this sat. :shock: works rel good on the tar.

trvs

Postby trvs » March 6th, 2013, 2:02 am

DVSTT, it's my Navara.

I have the Chemical Guys Leather Cleaner and Conditioner. This is the only product that I have been using on my seats since I took the plastic off almost a year ago. :)

The conditoner has an appealing "new leather" smell and it keeps the seats very supple. This coupled with Llumar Air Blue on my windscreen keeps the seats well protected from the sun.

I want to get that AMMO Regimen soon. Especially the Skin.

2013-02-24 15.59.21.jpg

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 6th, 2013, 11:55 am

^bought that last weeek. didnt try it yet

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 6th, 2013, 11:59 am

^^ what that combo costs?

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 6th, 2013, 12:07 pm

19.45 plus tt shipping/taxes

Postby DVSTT » March 6th, 2013, 7:11 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:19.45 plus tt shipping/taxes

Wow, I thought it would have been alot more expensive lolz. May give it a try

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » March 6th, 2013, 10:44 pm

bassotronics wrote:Hey tuners, want to know where i can get a pint of white rubber paint to buy? Also where does engraving of white wall onto black tires, thanks for any assistance.

Want to make my tires look like this

anyone?

trvs

Postby trvs » March 7th, 2013, 5:47 am

Postby cinco » March 7th, 2013, 1:27 pm

got turtle wax bug and tar cleaner @ priceclub for 41 dollars they didnt hav prestone
also got megs tyre shine and interior detailer
70 and 45 respectively

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 7th, 2013, 7:46 pm

yesterday I used "tuff stuff" to clean the interior of a prado.... That has to be the best working cheap thing I ever used. Heard the Megs works alot better.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 7th, 2013, 7:48 pm

Nothing as good as the karcher system

aidan

Postby aidan » March 8th, 2013, 12:50 am

Aaron 2NR, whats the karcher system?

I myself is use tuff stuff, bissel gentle upholstery cleaner and megs APC.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 8th, 2013, 7:00 am

It's the unit that Karim use.

When you use tuff stuff etc, you have to wipe the dirt off and doing so you end up trapping dirt back in the fabric.

aidan

Postby aidan » March 8th, 2013, 1:48 pm

^Is it like a hot water extraction system? I google it and not finding anyting :(

I does use a wet vac and megs apc (spray on) after i finish an area just to lift up any dirt.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 9th, 2013, 3:46 pm

I usually clean my seats every two weeks with meg leather products.

Used the chemical guys leather kit today

Cloth before
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1362857607.718467.jpg

After one wipe
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1362857621.717602.jpg

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1362857643.367833.jpg

Seats after
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1362857659.434143.jpg

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1362857668.651260.jpg

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1362857678.017883.jpg

I was really surprised to see the cloth when I was finished, since I hardly ever have anyone in the vehicle and I knew my leather was "clean"

The chemical guys combo is really great for the price, the cleaner comes concentrated and gotta be mixed 6:1.
For $20 us, it's worth it.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 9th, 2013, 11:42 pm

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 9th, 2013, 11:55 pm

neexis

Postby neexis » March 11th, 2013, 8:19 am

Aaron.... what were the taxes like on bringing in those items?

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 11th, 2013, 8:20 am

i bought in a lot of stuff

Route :

SHIPPER:
CHEMICAL GUYS

CONSIGNEE: Aaron Achan

DESCRIPTION:
TOWELS/TIRE SEALANT/HOSE NOZZL

WEIGHT: 8
PCS:1

FREIGHT:
$159.96
INSURANCE:
$9.68
CUS DUTY:
$60.00
IMPORT VAT:
$54.00

TOTAL
$283.64

You have earned 3 eZ Reward Points!

neexis

Postby neexis » March 12th, 2013, 10:33 pm

ok guys... new challenge

car was rubbed by another with one of those old time bumpers. nothing happened to the other guy, but there's some good white marks where the clear coat was scratched. it doesn't look like much was taken off as i cant feel any ridges or steps from the normal area to the scratched parts... i'm assuming the clear coat damage is superficial.

what can i use to polish it back out? i'm assuming some mildly abrasive polishing compound may have to be used?
also can this be done by hand or is a machine recommended

nemesis

Postby nemesis » March 14th, 2013, 10:27 am

Do that by hand as it's a small area. Plus you get better control. Yes you'll have to use something abrasive. Meg's Ult cmpd works well.

I use that Paradise road bug remover too. Quite liking it. If you don't have a huge amount of bugs, the CG bug and grime wash works great. Although it does remove LSP faster than normal I'm sure.

My sealant test got screwed. Car was sent to do some audio work and was parked where it got wet and covered with sawdust. Nothing beading anymore, marks in some places etc. Will attempt again next mth that I'm here. sighs.

neexis

Postby neexis » March 14th, 2013, 7:36 pm

I checked carplus yesterday and they had no ultimate compound. The guy recommended the autoglym paint renovator as it was mildly abrasive. It was either between that or the megs clear coat rubbing compound. I'll try it out this weekend, but the instructions said to try polishing with SRP first so I'll probably do that first

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » March 14th, 2013, 8:38 pm

^ Unipet Marabella has the Ultimate Compound, The also have it in the Kit with the DA pad.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 14th, 2013, 11:30 pm

^^ yup bought mine last Saturday, got some work to do this weekend. Unipet finally stock up the Megs

Postby pioneer » March 14th, 2013, 11:47 pm

That's cuz a fresh shipment of megs recently landed 8-)