The Official Car Care Thread

Bacon

Re: What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby Bacon » March 15th, 2012, 11:17 pm

cinco wrote:on that note Bacon verify from the manu if the gel coat has a uv inhibitor so it doesnt yellow on you

Thanks five...I think it should though...

DSM_05 wrote:^^most will have a UV inhibitor in them. The problem is that gel / resin coated CF's tend to "oxidise" easily...or get hazy. This is different from swirling/marring that occurs with clear coated CF (which acts like normal paint).

This is all Seibon had to say aboout caring for their products :/

'Your carbon fiber product is durable, but it still needs care and maintenance to stay looking good. To avoid pre-mature aging, it is important to keep your carbon fiber product clean. Minimize exposure to the sun, and wax when necessary.'

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » March 16th, 2012, 7:05 am

^^No surprise.

So consider a sealant, or a durable wax and you should be fine.

Bacon

Postby Bacon » March 16th, 2012, 9:11 am

Will do.....Thanks again!!!

Postby cinco » March 16th, 2012, 9:17 am

ive seen 3 seibon hoods that were well cared for and waxed turn yellow in 3 months in atlanta sun
im not impressed with their quality at all

Bacon

Postby Bacon » March 16th, 2012, 9:23 am

I'll do my part....and hope for the best....

Not much sun here right now...and will be using the bike in those summer months...

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » March 17th, 2012, 6:03 am

How do you remove paint sealant safely? Car has Diamond Gloss on it, want to remove and try Wolfgang DGPS 3.0. Some people say use a polish but don't want to damage clear coat, car has no swirls or scratches on paint, just want to safely remove the existing sealant. What's a good non-abrasive paint cleaner? If use cleaner would claying still be required?

rambo22

Postby rambo22 » March 17th, 2012, 7:34 pm

Nu Finish Liquid Car Polish

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » March 17th, 2012, 8:01 pm

How do you remove paint sealant safely? Car has Diamond Gloss on it, want to remove and try Wolfgang DGPS 3.0. Some people say use a polish but don't want to damage clear coat, car has no swirls or scratches on paint, just want to safely remove the existing sealant. What's a good non-abrasive paint cleaner? If use cleaner would claying still be required?

A clay or a mild cleaning agent will do it.

Or you could just wash the car with something like DishWash liquid.....it will strip off alot of the oils.

If you're really anal about it, you could do an IPA wipedown after to ensure you get all the old sealant off.

GoS

Postby GoS » March 17th, 2012, 9:20 pm

what is the best chemical to use to clean yuh windshield

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » March 18th, 2012, 6:06 pm

^^^Since is you, let's keep it simple.

Try Soap and water.

Postby cinco » March 18th, 2012, 6:17 pm

ever tried the glass scrub?
saw it in naipauls i want to pick up a bottle

Postby Chimera » March 18th, 2012, 8:07 pm

i try a thing dey..don't really have the time to commit to doing this as much as i try

prolly spent a hour and a half at most

need some advice on the last 3 pics..i used Meguiar's 2.0 X scratch remover and dual action polisher..any other advice or that hadda paint over?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » March 19th, 2012, 7:35 am

Scratches that deep will have to be repainted, yes.

Scratch removers work for clearcoat / pain scratches that don't go down past the total paint thickness.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » March 19th, 2012, 9:36 am

Paint over ,,nice pics though!!

Postby Stephon. » March 19th, 2012, 10:46 am

That's a really attractive civic ABA.

Postby pioneer » March 19th, 2012, 5:25 pm

brb sliding panties off

GoS

Postby GoS » March 19th, 2012, 5:37 pm

DSM_05 wrote:^^^Since is you, let's keep it simple.

Try Soap and water.

careful eh buddy .......lol joke i meant like to shine yuh glass after u done wipe off to get that hard rain that the car wash could not take off

Postby Stephon. » March 19th, 2012, 6:18 pm

pioneer wrote:brb sliding panties off

Been there, done that!

Postby pioneer » March 19th, 2012, 6:45 pm

GoS wrote:
DSM_05 wrote:^^^Since is you, let's keep it simple.

Try Soap and water.

careful eh buddy .......lol joke i meant like to shine yuh glass after u done wipe off to get that hard rain that the car wash could not take off

Rain X

Postby SR » March 19th, 2012, 7:41 pm

where u getting rainx to buy

Postby Stephon. » March 19th, 2012, 7:57 pm

SR wrote:where u getting rainx to buy

Auto Village

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » March 19th, 2012, 9:14 pm

You can get rainX at many places now - L&D, Xtra Foods, PriceClub. I prefer to buy things off shelves than asking for stuff behind a counter, gives you a chance to read and compare on the spot.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » March 19th, 2012, 9:19 pm

Well GoS, considering the Rain CLear Glass Scrub, followed by the Rain Clear repellant gel.

The scrub (obviously) cleans the glass, the repellant...well...again, name says it all.

Postby pioneer » March 19th, 2012, 9:45 pm

Stephon. wrote:

Auto Village

william h scott has the bottle

Postby SR » March 19th, 2012, 9:51 pm

http://www.rainx.com/Products/Windshiel ... ginal.aspx

i havent seen this in a while but lots of imitations

Postby pioneer » March 19th, 2012, 9:56 pm

Well I highly doubt WHS operates like autonation, ya dig?

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » March 19th, 2012, 10:13 pm

pioneer wrote:Well I highly doubt WHS operates like autonation, ya dig?

Postby Cjruckus » March 19th, 2012, 11:39 pm

buy the Waxco. Same damn formula.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » March 20th, 2012, 4:30 am

SR wrote:http://www.rainx.com/Products/Windshield_Treatment/Original.aspx

i havent seen this in a while but lots of imitations

Well, I can't say for others, but Unelko (folks who make Rain Clear), were the original developers of the Rain X formula...before it was sold to the *now* rain X corp.

I'm actually partial to Rain Clear (less streaky).

Postby SR » March 20th, 2012, 6:24 am

pioneer wrote:Well I highly doubt WHS operates like autonation, ya dig?

actually no

whats your pt