Project S14.5 Spec R, Part II VE-T In the Making Page 26!!!

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 29th, 2009, 10:10 am

Okay I have made a decision and I am gonna part this project out ............................................. Just playing, I have decided on a colour, I am gonna try and go with the stock WK0 Pearl White but at the same time I am going to be going for the Yashio look. So all my accessories are gonna be done in the Yashio trademark pink. I am going to be stripping all the Suspension bits and getting them colour coded to yashio pink. Gonna be a long process but hopefully everything goes according to plan.

The interior and engine bay and trunk area are all going in the pink as well and I will be doing the interior all in black with pink stitching and whatnot. Calipers will be pink and the engine will be a combination of matte black, pink and chrome. Should be fun. I need someone to do this paint job for mefor the valvecover, seriously when the time comes, can someone advise me?

Will update when I get some pics of the front of the car done.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » April 29th, 2009, 10:13 am

Sorry for being out of line but WTF?!

Spend all that $$$ to get Drift Works suspension pieces only to strip and put them in pink :?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 29th, 2009, 10:28 am

Well it is a weekend wild car in the scheme of things so why not go wild, it is still gonna be tasteful but trying to go with a JDM scheme and Yashio is all JDM for me. I never like Yashio but it grew on me after seeing this,
And even more so this Magician S15 sporting the BN Sports Blister Widebody, I tried for ages to get this kit but it is limited and shipping is more than the kit and the kit is about 3000GBP,

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 29th, 2009, 10:34 am

sweettttt

wraith

Postby wraith » April 30th, 2009, 1:32 pm

Take the word of a WKO owner, the paint looks beautiful in the day and night when the pearl starts to shine.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » April 30th, 2009, 1:56 pm

interesting color choice.....

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 30th, 2009, 2:29 pm

Any colour can be applied and once done well will look tops. I am gonna leave it with the pearl white, simple and nice. May just paint the entire car white inside and out and just leave the Driftworks orange accents throughout the car.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » April 30th, 2009, 3:12 pm

that purple looked pretty good...suprisingly

robbieg

Postby robbieg » May 2nd, 2009, 3:39 am

Just a lil video there for inspiration

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Ekr8f-HkwWw&hl=en&fs=1&color1=0x5d1719&color2=0xcd311b&hd=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="505"></embed>

wraith

Postby wraith » May 4th, 2009, 1:47 pm

seen the write up on the U.K. site and you made a good choice on the kit, the whole kit fits beautifully with the car and you should not have any problems fitting up the kit cause it is just so well made.

I should know, I have the same kit.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 4th, 2009, 2:04 pm

Send me some pics.

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » May 4th, 2009, 2:42 pm

dude really... my 14 is prepping for Yashio pink....
think pink!!

wraith

Postby wraith » May 5th, 2009, 10:39 am

will try to borrow a camera to take some this weekend.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » December 11th, 2009, 8:01 am

Well thought I would give some sort of update just to let people know that the project is still progressing. I got the car back from the shop about a month now and I have been working on weekends and after work when I can. The car has taken a transformation from when I saw it leave my house a couple weeks a back, it was in a sad state being parked for years and from passing hands between about about three or four garages. Before it went this time I decided to take the plungs and spend the extra cash on the body and also to get someone that was willing to listen to what I wanted instead of beign negative and not giving me a chance to talk. Added to that the guy was willing to take my vehicle one time which was a plus for me so that it took that long lasting complaining off my shoulders :lol: .

Now I will take you way back. From being at several different garages and from the work I got I knew exactly what I didn't want which was to get a next half-assed job so I bought an entire S15 front half complete with the ABS and fuse box setup and as much wiring as I could from the front half be it that it was an automatic non-turbo front half. I was also able to score an entire back half a while back with the roofing in tact and that inspired me to try and do an entire conversion, yep an entire S15 conversion. Problems I encountered besides bad workmanship were that I needed to get trunklid, doors, trunk interior, headlights, quarter glasses and front windscreen. Well luck would have it after a year or so that I came across two doors by Prestley as well as a trunklid, got them for a good price, interior of the doors left much to be desired though being tattered and missing all switches and pockets and whatnot.

Seeing that my car was a rolled kouki model S14 much of the exterior was damaged, roof was sunk in many places, rear end was smashed and doh even talk about the front end. I sold what I could and cut my losses, stripped the entire car and got down to the chassis. From looking at my other car at the time which was an S15 I compared and saw that the S14 and S15 had very very similar floor plans except for a few minor things which I could live with. So got someone that was willing to try and begin the process of removing the old metal work and interior bracketry and reattach the S15 setup. After weeks at one of the old garages it was done, or so I thought. Car remained parked in that state for several months so I took it back home. Stripped back the car to realize that where the welding was done was beginning to rust underneath the sealant. This just left me frustrated and I decided to remove all the sealant and get a wirebrush and remove all the rust. After several trip to Bhagwansinghs and many wire brushes later I removed enough rust and at the same time decided to strip the entire front engine bay of the paint. That took a couple of days well and late nights. Car remained in this state as I had other commitments and weather really took a toll on the front stripped exterior.

This is when I got my hands on the front half form D&D and sent the car off to my last garage. From the moment it touched down by the guy he immediately began removing the fenders to see what was needed doing. I explained that I wanted the flooring stripped and stitched and when the new front was attached the same as well. He did not understand what I meant but I came back with pictures of what I wanted and he said no probs, I guess him being old school did not know but he was willing and did the needed. In a matter of three days the front was removed and the a week later the new front was drilled out from the front half and reattached to the kouki body. He also cleaned all the old welds from previous garages where the roofing and the rear end was attached as there was some surface rust and he also reinforced the welds even further with some stainless steel welding. He didn't have a mig setup but the stainless steel welding left me a little comfortable. I also requested that where the front was attached to reinforce it with metal plates, no probs he said and did the needed. So now I finally had a workable body.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » December 11th, 2009, 8:57 am

hmm like a Government Project it trippled yes!! Glad to hear the good news.. But one thing like is best you kept the Spec R and drop the RB in :P .. Any updates on the engine build ? :mrgreen:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » December 11th, 2009, 9:09 am

From the time the car wasted at other garages I scored new quarter glasses from a friend in the US that was getting them for his car but realized that when he removed his quarters that the molding was undamaged, that was probably just a lucky shot. So one less thing, the front half that I got from D&D I also spent the money and got the bodykit and the front headlights and way back I had picked up an S15 dashboard from Prestley after much searching. A year passed and my other friend in the US tracked his S15 and parted out the entire interior and I was able to get most of the interior trims i.e. door sills, carpet, door interior, rear door pockets and upper plastics and pillars plastics, kick panels and rear speaker dash panel, got a lot of the items for small money. Only things needed at that point was door rubbers, front windscreen and door trimming.

Seeing the car take transformation by the new garage I was getting back the inpiration seeing someone that enjoyed their job so I could not wait for the car to touch down home. In five weeks time I have my car back home. Car had many runs as the clear was put on very thick to give it that glassy look and I told him that I didn't want a quick buff as I wanted the paint to set properly and 'pull'. After several months and wrong orders on Double Zee's part I finally got the front windscreen. As of last week I finally got all the door rubbers off a crashed S15 thanks to that soul and also got the door interiors complete with switches.

So now back to the present, car is home, I have got the windscreen installed with a generic retarded molding but I could not get a genuine one. Quarter glasses were installed same time and rear glass put back on. Seeing the car in one colour after so many years of different colours it look nice. I had gotten an entire wiring harness in pieces from Cowboys way back and had fixed it all back to a decent state, they had many S15 front and back cuts but boy are they expensive, got a couple hard to get items as well like metal tracking and what not for the doors. So I drop the wiring for the trunk and flooring in without much problems using the S15 manual all the way. Problems encountered were many a hacked harness, and having the automatic harness from the front half did not help much besides having some needed connectors but the colouring for the automatic and a spec R harness is different .

I initially was gonna ditch the entire ABS setup and purchased an S14 non-ABS setup complete with pedals but after getting the front half with the ABS setup I decided to keep everything as it was. I even found an S15 engine harness I had bought with a damaged S15 engine, talk about buried treasures and this would have all the connectors for the ABS main unit and wiper harness and my missing ABS spindle sensor connector. I was also able to pickup the ABS computer from Hassan on the forum and that is about all needed for the ABS to be functional. I have my old S15 instrument panel as I had swapped in a Nismo Instrument Panel before it was sold, should have kep it as it was new :roll: , regrets.

Anyway, still have a couple of wires to sort out from the hacked fuse box setup, horns need wiring, healdights need to be wired and HIDs installed (got a set with the lights from Japan, not OEM but a JAP set). Most of the right side wiring in the kick panel is complete, steering column is mounted and most everything is jacked in but I have to concur with Dry for some wiring in and around the steering. Dahsboard harness has been run already, roofing harness has been spliced back in and run, defogger as well but the only thing needed is an antenna setup for the stereo. Handbrake setup has been mounted, new R33 handbrake cables have been bought for the brake upgrade and my GTT brakes are going on the car. Carpet has been in and fits identical to the S14. The roofing interior has been put in but i need to get a couple of clip as I did not get that with it, houselight and map lights have been installed.

I decided to use the GTR32 Booster and Brake Cylinder that I had for the brake upgrade I was putting, it bolted straight up and then I began drilling for the clutch master cylinder as this S14 was an automatic, wa snot a problem as there was a template already there from factory to the inside of the firewall so no probs. So got the clutch master cylinder installed, really want to use the GTR32 setup but thinking ahead I am sure the RB26 engine will run close if not be in the way of the gigantic clutch master cylinder. Installed the ABS hardlines but not installing the ABS main unit as yet as the engine harness has to be run and reqired as well, yet to be figured out. Last night my project was tryign to figure out how to manually send up the door glasses, finally got them up as rain was falling on an off and I had to be constantly be covering and uncovering the car as I am working in the open everyday. When the car was at the new garage I had the guy also wirebrush the entire underneath and wheel wells and rust proof them and then apply a sticky rubber coating and then apply pain on top of that and clear. After many colour choices and wanting to go for the Midnight Purple look and after countless mixes and applications I stuck to a simple look, sorry Dry, I went gloss black with a heavy clear. Car came out nice and with the Origin Bodykit it looks nice, but you cannot appreciate it with the car beign so high on stock suspension.

Things to do, this weekend that car is going back on jack stands and the rear subframe is being dropped out as I bought the entire S15 subframe from the same automatic by D&D and I am going to be lining it up against the car to check for fitment and then I am dropping out the diff and axles, and stripping the subframe and burning the rubber bushings out and installing the aluminum Driftworks bushings in and all the driftworks rear suspension bits that were purchased. I will be using an R33 GTsT Series II diff and axles as it has the ABS unit I need to the front of the diff housing just like in the S15. Once the S15 rear subframe is up and Driftworks S14/S15 HSD Coilovers installed I will begin the engine mockup process to see where the tunnel will need tapping for the starter and where the firewall will need persuading for the oil return form the head to the sump as the fitting will be touching the firewall for sure. Once the engine fitment is sorted I can work everytihng else around that, at that point I will know if I have to recess the condenser and the aluminum radiator as I want to run the stock clutch fan setup as I have read that is so much better than the slim fan setup.

That is as much of an update as I can give at this point. Car is also will be sporting ganadors mirrors (also have a pair of Craftsquare that I may try), vented front fenders, Nismo Quad Vented Carbon Bonnet and hopefully a CF trunklid as well. Later on I will be ordering CF door but not in budget at all right now. Also have my tinted Jap tailights to put on that will go well with the paint. Door locks have all been changed to suite the new ignition barrel as well so no two key business. I am currently looking for speakers so that I can install them and close up the interior with plastics and also I am going to route the power cables same time from the front to the rear of the car for the battery relocation. Please watch this space and yes as the car is back home I will get pics, weekend for that!!! Right now I am concentrating on wiring diagrams and getting things working, the light at the end of the tunnel is somewhere out there :mrgreen: .

Waiting on my ARP Connecting Rod Bolts for engine build, head being sent off to check for straightness and a light skim if needed. Happy camper I am right now :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: .

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » December 11th, 2009, 9:10 am

Very nice project boss.
But I have to tell you, you have real patience.
Keep up the good work.
:mrgreen:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » December 11th, 2009, 9:15 am

Boy patience, twice I almost gave up on it. Jodi came by once when it was by one of the old garages and almost took it, I guess it was destined to happen this way. Engine build commences next week hopefully, should be a day or two for that. Still need to order clutch setup and Nismo pillow bolt and Nismo Big Slave cylinder. already have the Mckinney one piece driveshaft and engine mount kit already waiting. Also have a cooler for the power steering and gonna be running an aluminum power steering reservoir and braided lines to and from the steering rack and cooler and reservoir. Likewise cathcan to be installed where the battery was and all braided lines but when that time comes. I guess the patience is finally paying off. Have many people to thank for the help and advice but when it's all done that time will come.

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » December 11th, 2009, 10:32 am

TriniGT, do not give up on your project no matter what problems you run into, see it thru to the end. I just read your entire thread and I must say...... You have my utmost respect. Can't wait to see the finished project on the road.

well done meh boy, well done indeed.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » December 11th, 2009, 10:36 am

Thanks. Will have to keep all my receipts with me as yuh know people go want to know how an S15 have S14 plates :lol: . The wait was well worth it. Finally my family is appreciating and not complaining about the mess in the house, they seeing that thigns clearing up and the once piece of metal in the yard taking shape. I don't think after all the time spent on it I would wanna give it up now, it has become piece of me.

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » December 11th, 2009, 11:22 am

soo it's converted fully to an S15 now?? or it's a S14.5 :roll:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » December 11th, 2009, 11:29 am

I will always call it an S14.5 even though the car looks and carries parts like an S15. Bodykit is an S15 bodykit, but a lot of the S14 and S15 parts are identical like suspension and floorplan. No shame in saying it is an S14.5, it can never be an S15 but I guess this is as close as it will get. Likewise my GTT will always be a GTT even if I were to make the exterior look like a GTR. I just like the look of the S15 and likewise the GTR34 sorry if I disappointed people. Always hurt me when I sold the Spec R.

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » December 11th, 2009, 11:36 am

naa it's all good bro! i really admire your build and determination to get it finished :twisted: by next year may or so i'll be diving into my own little project if $ permits.. p11 t4 with GTi-R engine and box. My goal is to have it as reliable as possible as it would be a daily driver :wink:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » December 11th, 2009, 11:43 am

Always missed my Primera GT. Spent many a sleepless night doing my turbo project. You will enjoy it but make sure you have every single thing for the job before you start. even down to tools or friends with them. Is it AWD by chance? I am still contemplating an AWD B13 project some time down the road but right now I can't wait for the engine to fire on this car. Just keep focussed and it can happen, I had to cut back on liming and spending cash wrecklessly to pay for some expensive stuff. Still have some more things to get like my fuel setup and what not so we'll see how it goes.

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » December 11th, 2009, 11:44 am

So you sold your S15, bought a S14 and then turned the S14 into a S15 :| Just kidding, great build though can't wait to see it on the road. Wall assisting you with the engine build or you doing it on your own?

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » December 11th, 2009, 11:49 am

^it's AWD.. yeap thats why i said sometime next year i want to have everything needed before i begin. Not a fan of headache but i guess it comes with the territory :lol: :lol: i'm putting alot of the ground work in place as we speak, suspension and brakes :mrgreen:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » December 11th, 2009, 11:53 am

Wall gonna be helping me with it home by me. I have no problem with his mechanical background and he has come a long way and his range of tools has also been upgraded. I bought the S14 when I had the S15, got it from a fella on here Hammond about five years ago. Had it when I had the Primera actually and then bought the S15 and the plan was to have an S14 kouki widebody and the S15. Then I sold the widebody parts and bought S15 parts and then sold the Spec R and got the GTT and so it goes. My gold is to have this S14 and the GTT look like an S15 and GTR34. Somtime in life :lol: and much more grey hairs later.

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » December 11th, 2009, 12:05 pm

^ yup when it comes to rebuilding I really respect his skill and attention to details, he is doing my rebuild as we speak. I hope to bring my project to this level one day.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » December 11th, 2009, 12:05 pm

Sweet AWD boosted so much potential and none of the FWD traction problems.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » December 11th, 2009, 12:10 pm

33 hertz wrote:^ yup when it comes to rebuilding I really respect his skill and attention to details, he is doing my rebuild as we speak. I hope to bring my project to this level one day.

What build is this? I know he has a couple of cars he is working on. I will be around this weekend to have the skyline hubs attached to the S14 rear knuckles so that I can use the Driftworks rear coilovers with the eyehole lower end and still be able to use the skyline axles and diff :wink: .