Old School Projects

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Re: Old School Projects

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » February 12th, 2014, 11:47 am

Bezman wrote:good luck with them fogs and license office, saw them make ppl take them off in a raod block the other day here by starlite, jeeps, trucks, cars, any light not factory was removed or fined.

what else do you expect when Authority is given to an Ignorant and idiotic person?

smee...

Postby smee... » February 12th, 2014, 5:46 pm

moti wrote:Problem with the Galant engine though is that it will never be able to perform as well as the Pinto.

atleast he still stuck with an old school engine and for that take props... but even though you didn't want to put in the 2.0 pinto there's always the kent engines, the BDA's, crossflow, zetec, duratec, etc etc. Even the mazda engine from the ford lazer!

But leave the Ford a FORD!

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » February 12th, 2014, 7:46 pm

Well link me with one nah.

nigie

Postby nigie » February 13th, 2014, 9:25 am

SOON!!!!!!

Postby Monk BANzai » February 13th, 2014, 7:32 pm

new wrims.....
1600 rims 02.jpg
1600 rims.jpg

yakuza

Postby yakuza » February 14th, 2014, 7:08 am

Or these?
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1392376007.472348.jpg

Postby MG Man » February 14th, 2014, 7:37 am

BBS crosshatch sexyness

yakuza

Postby yakuza » February 14th, 2014, 7:43 am

Actually it's
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1392378150.191276.jpg

Postby cinco » February 14th, 2014, 7:46 am

Ooh impul sexiness. Mg enno wais dat

Postby MG Man » February 14th, 2014, 9:12 am

oh gorsh, sorry nah.....in my mind, crosshatch is synonymous with BBS

moti

Postby moti » February 14th, 2014, 9:44 am

^^ BBS = British Bull Shנt ?

Postby MG Man » February 14th, 2014, 10:02 am

u mean there's another kind?
O_O

nemram

Postby nemram » February 14th, 2014, 11:21 am

under construction still..

Postby Monk BANzai » February 14th, 2014, 8:18 pm

^^ details?

Another project underway... (note the 1600 in the air eh...)
Series 5 in a Rx2....
rotors03.jpg
rotors02.jpg
rotors01.jpg

Postby Ronaldo95163 » February 14th, 2014, 8:28 pm

I hope that daz not another SR/RB20 galant eh :|

yakuza

Postby yakuza » February 14th, 2014, 8:47 pm

Rastaman why yuh doh post up d Charmant wid d 3SRGE?

moti

Postby moti » February 14th, 2014, 10:30 pm

^^ Oh do tell.............

Please?

Zorak

Postby Zorak » February 14th, 2014, 10:36 pm

Can't wait to see more of the RX2 and the 1600 in the bg.

Got a question guys.

Firstly, I'm a big fan of keeping engine swaps within the family, usually. Most car makers usually have a spicy engine of their own making that can be transplanted into something that was once mundane to bring it up to a decent spec. I do however understand why someone might swap in an engine from a different car maker into their car. I'm not gonna fight down anyone and their swaps... Even though I absolutely abhor anything but a rotary in an rx.

My question relates to the old school minis though. I would expect decent engine swaps to be difficult to come by, either because of availability or price. If an original engine is not available, what are the best options? And we're not talking about big, cheap power a la sr. Just a fun engine that isn't too difficult to source and service.

moti

Postby moti » February 14th, 2014, 10:45 pm

^^ Tons of them rolling around with ............wait for it............B14 engines.

A nice GA16 and LSD manual transmission will pull that car so freaking awesome.
Reliable and easy to access parts for.

Even has aftermarket support from the US, unlike the GA15.

Or you can go the route of a B16A, it's also been done.

Is a 4G63 too big?
That's an awesome engine.

Zorak

Postby Zorak » February 14th, 2014, 11:04 pm

Thanks moti.
Would you say that anything more or less goes with regards to these minis?

Postby MG Man » February 14th, 2014, 11:15 pm

You can get conversion kits with the subframe and suspension for a Honda conversion
A better build imo is a bike engine

mpower

Postby mpower » February 14th, 2014, 11:24 pm

impul!!!!!!!!!!! bad bwoy business!!

Zorak

Postby Zorak » February 14th, 2014, 11:26 pm

What's the going price for an original engine though? Is it so prohibitively expensive that swaps are the best option? And it's not about wanting to make 300hp.

moti

Postby moti » February 15th, 2014, 11:28 pm

It all depends on your budget.

Me?
I would have made it crazy fast and park it in a corner as I will then be afraid of it :lol:

I would try to stick with a honda, heck maybe it's just me being me but what about a 4AGE 20V?

Postby cinco » February 16th, 2014, 6:36 am

moti wrote:It all depends on your budget.

Me?
I would have made it crazy fast and park it in a corner as I will then be afraid of it :lol:

I would try to stick with a honda, heck maybe it's just me being me but what about a 4AGE 20V?

The 20v intake manifold is huge. The b16 fits easier.

Postby Ted_v2 » February 16th, 2014, 7:55 am

starlet turbo is a good option

smee...

Postby smee... » February 16th, 2014, 2:41 pm

a nice swap for the mini would also be a toyota 4e engine (1.3l) with a four speed or five speed gb. that engine with the stock turbo would make the mini sing! And it fits in quite snug.

@moti - a 20v in a mini would definitely make it too scary to drive and would have to be parked up in a corner!!

moti

Postby moti » February 16th, 2014, 5:01 pm

cinco wrote:
moti wrote:It all depends on your budget.

Me?

The 20v intake manifold is huge. The b16 fits easier.

ITB's five; ITB's.

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » February 16th, 2014, 6:51 pm

moti wrote:^^ Tons of them rolling around with ............wait for it............B14 engines.

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby black start » February 16th, 2014, 8:35 pm

I though cube/march swap was more common on these minis.... :-|