T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 10th, 2012, 11:21 am

scotty_buttons wrote:Second guessing Toyota's reliability these days. Bought 2006 rav4 from TTTL in November 2006 and since then had to change fuel pump, steering rack.. TWICE ( thank God that was during warranty period cuz that woulda cost close to 40gran total).. and recently the alternator which went bad almost immediately after warranty finished -_-
That alone costing 10gran from TTTL. Not to mention the two keys broke off the plastic module..(?!?!)
Heck I never had to change any major parts like that in our local b14 for almost 10yrs or more after leaving N&m showroom.

Dad got a local camry in dec 2010; so far, so good though..

Ive heard so many stories concerning those newer rav4's and their gremlins.

I use an 2003 rav4 and I need a rubber which TTTL refuses to sell septate and insists I buy the entire steering rack. For $14,000 I could live with the van as is...

Postby cinco » July 10th, 2012, 11:49 am

how much is the mazda2?
the rio is 150 and has more features than a mazda 3
only thing it has less than the 3 is rain sensitive wipers and rear drum brakes

Postby noshownogo » July 10th, 2012, 11:51 am

mazda2 is something like $175k

Postby cinco » July 10th, 2012, 11:52 am

noshownogo wrote:mazda2 is something like $175k

so for 5k more i can get into a cerato?
and for the same price i can get into a soul?
riteeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Postby Stephon. » July 10th, 2012, 12:03 pm

cinco wrote:
noshownogo wrote:mazda2 is something like $175k

so for 5k more i can get into a cerato?
and for the same price i can get into a soul?
riteeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Being the best designed car in it's class doesn't come cheap.

But ok let me not be bias for once, if you want an affordable small car, that you won't get bored of easily, your options are the Kia rio @ 150grand. Or an accent, the base model is 150 grand or you can get the fully loaded for 180 grand which comes with diesel, so you end up paying less for it in the long run. Stay away from the yaris, you would get bored of it before you even get your loan approved :lol:

Postby Habit7 » July 10th, 2012, 12:11 pm

cinco wrote:how much is the mazda2?

does it have auto headlamps, 6 disc CD changer, 8 cup holders, auto dimming rear view mirror, sunroof, 16" alloy rims, ABS, Vehicle Menu Screen, 6 speakers, dual airbags or factory alarm just to name a few?

The Fiat Grande Punto is the best value for money in the small car field. Its one of the most reliable euros and it has the best design than all the rest. Plus it says that you are on a budget but still have class for only $125-128K

Postby Stephon. » July 10th, 2012, 12:21 pm

Wow habit, that car is basically a carbon copy of the Mazda 3. I actually thought you was listing the Mazda 3 features there. It sounds great for the price but damn, they should really get their own ideas and stop copying from superior vehicles.

Postby Habit7 » July 10th, 2012, 12:33 pm

The first paragraph I was responding to cinco and his foolishness that a Rio is comparable to a Mazda 3

The second paragraph I was making an unrelated statement about the best small car with respect to the question the noob asked in the previous page

biddee

Postby biddee » July 10th, 2012, 12:38 pm

Habit7 wrote:

The Fiat Grande Punto is the best value for money in the small car field. Its one of the most reliable euros and it has the best design than all the rest. Plus it says that you are on a budget but still have class for only $125-128K

It definitely sounds like it might be the right car for me. I don't think I can spend $180K...$130K sounds much more up my alley.

Thanks!

Postby Stephon. » July 10th, 2012, 12:40 pm

Oh ok, understand now. Where is the Fiat showroom by the way?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 10th, 2012, 12:45 pm

Habit7 wrote:The first paragraph I was responding to cinco and his foolishness that a Rio is comparable to a Mazda 3

The second paragraph I was making an unrelated statement about the best small car with respect to the question the noob asked in the previous page

don't forget another plus for the mazda 3 is the independent rear suspension, triple H safety structure, projector HID lights, telescopic steering wheel etc

on another note, the new 2012 civic drop from 239k to 219k now. i-vtec thus becomes more affordable. :|

Postby Habit7 » July 10th, 2012, 1:13 pm

Stephon. wrote:Oh ok, understand now. Where is the Fiat showroom by the way?

Sterling Service (d' Benz ppl) Sackville St., POS (opp the fire station)

Read the local review in Zorce Magazine http://issuu.com/ZORCE/docs/zorce13/19

Postby cinco » July 10th, 2012, 1:47 pm

Habit7 wrote:

does it have auto headlamps, 6 disc CD changer, 8 cup holders, auto dimming rear view mirror, sunroof, 16" alloy rims, ABS, Vehicle Menu Screen, 6 speakers, dual airbags or factory alarm just to name a few?

ABS, 6 speakers, dual airbags or factory alarm'
yes to these things....
everything else u listed does not add a thing to the value of the car
it also has built in bluetooth integration

Postby Habit7 » July 10th, 2012, 1:56 pm

No Kia, as much as they have improved, can handle like a Mazda.

Postby cinco » July 10th, 2012, 1:58 pm

who talkin about handling
value for money at 175 grand a mazda 2 is preposterous as a recommendation

side note anyone with a mazda 2 sellin the factory alloys?

Postby Stephon. » July 10th, 2012, 1:58 pm

cinco wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

ABS, 6 speakers, dual airbags or factory alarm'
yes to these things....
everything else u listed does not add a thing to the value of the car
it also has built in bluetooth integration

That comment is also very subjective though. I love the service reminder on my mazda 3 and the auto dimming rv mirrors for those white light riced out vehicles on the highway at night.

capstar

Postby capstar » July 10th, 2012, 2:10 pm

noshownogo wrote:The 1.4 Swift has more features for cheaper than the Mazda2. So does the Kia Soul and Rio.

What are the prices on the Manual Jimny?

$143k manual
$158k auto

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » July 10th, 2012, 2:34 pm

july is stock clearance month?

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » July 10th, 2012, 6:43 pm

uh, I cannot believe a raging debate is going on about "affordable" small cars with good performance/handling and no one mentioned the Ford Fiesta!

It's priced at 150K, is the best handling car in the segment (on par or better than the Mazda 2), has a full compliment of safety features including 7 airbags, very compliant ride even on very poor roads and is very stable at high speed, and probably will never be targeted for theft. Yes we only get the sedan, and the styling may not be to everyone's liking, but certain colours do take the design very nicely, and well the way it drives could convince any styling critic.
fiesta-0_770.jpg

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » July 10th, 2012, 7:35 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:Second guessing Toyota's reliability these days. Bought 2006 rav4 from TTTL in November 2006 and since then had to change fuel pump, steering rack.. TWICE ( thank God that was during warranty period cuz that woulda cost close to 40gran total).. and recently the alternator which went bad almost immediately after warranty finished -_-
That alone costing 10gran from TTTL. Not to mention the two keys broke off the plastic module..(?!?!)
Heck I never had to change any major parts like that in our local b14 for almost 10yrs or more after leaving N&m showroom.

Dad got a local camry in dec 2010; so far, so good though..

Ive heard so many stories concerning those newer rav4's and their gremlins.

I use an 2003 rav4 and I need a rubber which TTTL refuses to sell septate and insists I buy the entire steering rack. For $14,000 I could live with the van as is...

WHAT!? That's a pack of BS. Nothing less expected though. Found one or two people who are able to rebuild and service my steering rack for around $2800. They guarantee it'll be just as new since they'll be replacing any bad parts with genuine Toyota parts. Gonna try and venture that way sometime soon since I've that the electric steering rack is a beeyatch to source and price is another issue especially if the hydraulic ones cost $14,000; meaning prices raised. :?

On a side note, 7 airbags in that lil RIO?! Well done Kia.

Postby Stephon. » July 10th, 2012, 7:40 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:On a side note, 7 airbags in that lil FIESTA?! Well done FORD.

Lol fixed. I didn't even remember the ford though, I'd have to check on the full features.

EDIT: Great, no threads on the fiesta and nothing on fords site.

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » July 10th, 2012, 9:40 pm

here's the list taken from a brochure I got

1.4 DOHC 16V Duratec (95hp, 128nm)
4 speed automatic with manual mode (upshifts on lever pull-back like in true sports cars and holds the gear to rev limiter)
Electric power steering with speed sensitive weighting
7 airbags: 2 front, 2 front-side, 2 curtain front & rear, 1 driver's knee
Front disc, rear drum brakes with ABS and EBD
5 3-point seatbelts: front has pretensioners
ISOFIX
"Home-safe" headlight off delay
Halogen headlights
Rear fog light
Side mirror indicator repeaters
Passive anti-theft system with perimeter alarm
Remote keyless central locking and boot release
"Easy fuel" capless petrol receptacle
Power windows, locks, mirrors
Variable intermittent wipers
Single CD stereo with MP3 playback and AUX in
6 speakers
Steering mounted audio controls
Factory airconditioning
Dual vanity mirrors
60/40 split folding rear seats
15" steel wheels with full covers

5 year/ 100,000 km warranty

NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 10th, 2012, 10:03 pm

WTF does best handling in its class mean? Everyone here throws it in for the car they cheering like is a fact. Best handling for what? Groceries? Family? Track days?

Postby Stephon. » July 10th, 2012, 10:58 pm

@damieG82 that's impressive tbh, didn't know all that was going on in that car.

@Allergic2BunnyEars I think it comes down to the response and how the car sits on the road at fast speeds I think. The Mazda 3 is known to have the best handling than any vehicle in any class though. FACT

Postby Habit7 » July 11th, 2012, 12:10 am

The Mazda 3 handling is really good I must say, but it is hardly experienced because of its archaic 4 speed automatic gearbox.

Mazda 2...meh!

Ford Fiesta is inspiring but that sedan is hideous, it looks like they designed the hatchback and when they were told to design a sedan they just followed the lines to where ever they meet. So you have rear that looks like a big bottom homosexual.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 11th, 2012, 1:04 pm

the features you get for the fiesta priced at 150k i suppose is okay given that you have nm selling the 2 airbag 1.5 indian made versa with wind up windows in the back for 153k. Another good car is the volkswagen polo 1.4 with DSG (165k) and skoda fabia 1.6 with 6-speed tiptronic (160k). Also note the yaris 1.3 with 6 airbags is 150k and the rio 1.4 is 156k. The fully loaded 1.4 accent is 160k and the elantra starts at 170k which is actually cheaper than the cerato at 180k. the swift 1.4 is now 158k and the sx4 1.6 is $165k. Basic corolla is $172k and the loaded octavia with sunroof is $184k. mazda 2 at 175k is too much and the chevy cruze now has a 1.6 option locally for around 170k.

With so many choices below the $200k mark it means anyone who purchases cars like the mazda 3, lancer, civic and impreza really don't give a crap about what they could have gotten for less money. They really love their cars I suppose.

I mean 260k for a 1.6 impreza = 1 ford fiesta and a roro tiida. $315k for the XV is actually more money than a loaded kia optima. The 260k impreza is more expensive than the fwd panoramic sunroof and leather seats equipped tucson.

Postby Stephon. » July 11th, 2012, 1:29 pm

I love how you under hand come for Mazda in your posts, just an observation. You include Mazda in the "you must really love the brand" list but not the corolla :lol: your post was going good until you basically discredited yourself there. The Mazda 3 is definitely one of the better sedans in the country, why do you dislike it so much? Is it because it's not from Neal and massy or?

Postby Stephon. » July 11th, 2012, 1:35 pm

By the way the fully loaded accent is 180 grand and the elantra starts at 190 grand, still great prices for what you get though, funny you're reducing the prices to make them look like they have the edge. Why not post the trims or the features you get at these prices, because your comparisons are all over the place.

You even quote the BASE MODEL corolla price without ABS as if you even get value for money at that level, I'm sure if someone asked you the price for a Mazda you would have quoted a price higher than the actual price, or even just quote the fully equipped model. The rio is 150k by the way, another correction for you (at least that's the last price I got)

I think that most cars, (not all) give you more or less the same and it coms down to preference, no matter what you buy, but a vehicle in a class that is more expensive by a lot, you obviously get more features. Look SUVs in the country, a fully loaded Tucson is 315 and a fully loaded CX-5 is 440, the difference, besides the price is that the CX-5s comfort features are a lot more plentiful, same can be said if you wanted to compare the same Tucson, or even a sportage to a Tiguan. Feel me?

Postby Habit7 » July 11th, 2012, 2:54 pm

acesinghit wrote:Another good car is the volkswagen polo 1.4 with DSG (165k)

A VW Polo is 180K, dont get it twisted

Stephon you trying really hard to market Mazda's but $440K for a CX-5. But a Hyundai Santa Fe with Sunroof, iPod ready, 6 airbags, 18" alloys and seating for 7 is $355K.

Postby Stephon. » July 11th, 2012, 3:32 pm

Funny you should use the santa fe as comparison because I got a friend with a Santa fe, he has told me that my cx5 is more fun to drive :lol: