The Official Car Care Thread

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby Rooki3 » February 12th, 2013, 7:05 pm

xtrail look good, like how the clouds reflect off the body, u shudda clean the wheels to :?

Postby pioneer » February 12th, 2013, 7:16 pm

oh goar ease meh up nah daddi...dai real bull wukk

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 12th, 2013, 7:45 pm

Them JDM's have good paint jobs boy. Like how the Accord and X-trail looking. Not seeing any of the problems you describe from the pics there Pioneer.

Kurma : As silent said, it's about both protection, looks and being a bit easier to clean. If you drive through some good rain, it will definitely be cleaner than without beading products. If you drive on wet road behind someone else, it may be the same, sometimes worse than before because small amounts of water can run further along the car. But your paint will be less likely to get sun and chemical damage. Water marks won't be as difficult to get next time (hopefully).. stuff like that.
Everyone needs to find the balance between what they want to achieve, and what they're willing to do to get there. If you're into the 1hr wash and AIO, well good for you. If you want to put down the car and do 10hrs a day for the two weekend days, well great.. but both people can't expect the same results.. and obviously both don't value the results the same either, which is fine.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 12th, 2013, 7:48 pm

Oh, and Pioneer there are much easier waxes to use that would give you the time to clean the wheels if you want.

And nexxis what have you tried on those marks that make you say it's bs and need something stronger to remove?
I'd hold up with the Ult cmpd there because if that's the sort of shiny plastic coated parts it might leave some serious scratch marks. Try going up slowly in grades first..like a good cleaner fluid, then try SRP, light cut finishing polish etc etc. Will take a while, but less risky.

Postby pioneer » February 12th, 2013, 7:57 pm

You hadda see it in person to see the flaws

neexis

Postby neexis » February 12th, 2013, 8:36 pm

nemesis wrote:Oh, and Pioneer there are much easier waxes to use that would give you the time to clean the wheels if you want.

And nexxis what have you tried on those marks that make you say it's bs and need something stronger to remove?
I'd hold up with the Ult cmpd there because if that's the sort of shiny plastic coated parts it might leave some serious scratch marks. Try going up slowly in grades first..like a good cleaner fluid, then try SRP, light cut finishing polish etc etc. Will take a while, but less risky.

Car was washed yesterday... and I was just cleaning the windows when I noticed it. I checked back the pic from the day I went to check the car.. some birds had attacked that very spot. Yeah... its a plastic covered part on the door. Only thing I used was wash and wax on it. Tried wiping with a wet microfiber again today.. no luck. What cleaning liquid you recommend before I try the SRP?

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 12th, 2013, 9:00 pm

Whey, daiz some serious damage. Umm, you know anyone with a good cleaner fluid? Like the swissvax or dodo juice? There are also dedicated bs removers but I feel you already have acid damage and might actually have to polish the area. Just go ahead and try the SRP nah.

Postby equipped2ripp » February 12th, 2013, 9:06 pm

SRP by hand

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 12th, 2013, 9:35 pm

So this week I hoping to check anand or unipet and get some more polish and wax..
But I always did my work by hand... does the machine give a better job or is it just easier faster and more efficient ?

aidan

Postby aidan » February 12th, 2013, 10:22 pm

pioneer, the x trail looking reall good.

where sells smart wax?

neexis

Postby neexis » February 12th, 2013, 10:34 pm

nemesis wrote:Whey, daiz some serious damage. Umm, you know anyone with a good cleaner fluid? Like the swissvax or dodo juice? There are also dedicated bs removers but I feel you already have acid damage and might actually have to polish the area. Just go ahead and try the SRP nah.

well that was the pic from the day i went to check it. that car only shipped mid december and reached mid january. 1 month could do that kinda damage? i'll try to get some srp tomorrow.
steups.... kinda vex i didn't look at the plastic more closely when i took delivery. i was only really checking the panels. :evil:

Postby pioneer » February 12th, 2013, 11:09 pm

aidan wrote:pioneer, the x trail looking reall good.

where sells smart wax?

edit - dealer found

Advanced Performance Concepts Limited
#85 Chacon Street, San Fernando
Trinidad, West Indies

email: sales@advancedperformanceconcepts.com
Tel: 1-(868)-387-0646
Tel: 1-(868)-387-0647
Tel: 1-(868)-389-7503

As with most trini business websites everything is "coming soon".

aidan

Postby aidan » February 12th, 2013, 11:13 pm

^Lol. Thanks. I jus googled it and found it as well. Thought their stuff was sold in stores around the country.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » February 12th, 2013, 11:21 pm

neexis wrote: i'll try to get some srp tomorrow.
steups.... kinda vex i didn't look at the plastic more closely when i took delivery. i was only really checking the panels. :evil:

The plastic is already stained/ etched with the acid from the bird mess . Nothing much you can really do.

neexis

Postby neexis » February 12th, 2013, 11:23 pm

Karim Khan wrote:

The plastic is already stained/ etched with the acid from the bird mess . Nothing much you can really do.

srp won't do anything?

Otherwise, I'm hoping there's something you can do

Postby pioneer » February 12th, 2013, 11:30 pm

Hmmm take them off and possibly paint it to match the color of the car....if u need those things

If not rip em off and put in bin

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » February 12th, 2013, 11:36 pm

pioneer wrote:Hmmm take them off and possibly paint it to match the color of the car....if u need those things

If not rip em off and put in bin

lol, i dont think he may what to paint it and i would not recommend having it refinished. Its very difficult to get back the OEM finish after painting. He may also run the risk of the parts not fitting back properly.

Pioneer you out of everyone here should know that. :wink:

Postby pioneer » February 12th, 2013, 11:42 pm

Yeah OEM>all

Cho it wey man...them tings look so ridiculous

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » February 12th, 2013, 11:48 pm

neexis wrote:
Karim Khan wrote:

srp won't do anything?

Otherwise, I'm hoping there's something you can do

The SRP may or may not work. It all depends on how bad the damage is and the substrate

neexis

Postby neexis » February 12th, 2013, 11:48 pm

door pillar trim look ridiculous ent?

why u eh cho wey yours yet?

Postby pioneer » February 12th, 2013, 11:53 pm

Cuz ah bird eh chit on it yet?

If it's the pillar I think that can be painted back/compounded

SRP does nuttin to bird chit...dem birds these days carry a different kinda chit

Postby pioneer » February 13th, 2013, 8:27 am

Told allyuh it was gonna rain today :?

Postby pete » February 13th, 2013, 8:32 am

Hahaha..

That's why I don't even bother yes..

Postby rollingstock » February 13th, 2013, 10:43 am

Pios thanks got teh Megs Ultimate Compound at Price Club.

Need to start work on the honda now, the prelude was parked down for a few years in a garage, there was some paint fumes on it. Fine sanded the car already.

Had the Ultimate Polish and used that on a small area, great outcome compared to the Mother's which did nada, but still seeing some marks from the sanding, so going to step up to the compound.

Will post some pics if i find my camera

Postby pioneer » February 13th, 2013, 12:26 pm

Just use crime scene or forensics camera nah man

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 13th, 2013, 10:16 pm

greenlime100 wrote:So this week I hoping to check anand or unipet and get some more polish and wax..
But I always did my work by hand... does the machine give a better job or is it just easier faster and more efficient ?

Also if I were to buy one, what is a good brand/model ?

Postby pioneer » February 13th, 2013, 10:57 pm

Griots DA polisher...prolly the best in it's class

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » February 13th, 2013, 11:17 pm

I like the Meguiar's G110v2 Dual Action Polisher. It never let me down and its a great all round machine.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » February 14th, 2013, 9:15 am

Meguiars Ultimate Compound + Polish + Wax, about a month ago

washed with Meguiars Gold Class and Waxed with the Meguiars Quik Wax, every couple washes

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 14th, 2013, 1:01 pm

Nice work there copper... going and tackle the hilux this weekend...
What polish and sealer you use ?