The Official Car Care Thread

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby DVSTT » February 10th, 2013, 6:51 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:All clean....

When I grow up I want a garage like this 8-)

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » February 10th, 2013, 9:25 pm

DVSTT wrote:

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 10th, 2013, 11:01 pm

I wish I could make my Hilux shine like that....
What products you use there Aaron ? I guh practice on muh neighbor b12 lol

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 10th, 2013, 11:14 pm

Daiz some good hard maintenance you have there with 3 black vehicles.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 11th, 2013, 7:55 am

Those with black/dark vehicles should look into this sealant.
http://www.autogeek.net/four-star-ultim ... ction.html
IMO, the look is unmatched.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 11th, 2013, 10:18 am

Where you all buy your stuff ? I use to buy my polish in unipet lol and they only limited to meg

NR8

Postby NR8 » February 11th, 2013, 12:59 pm

I've really heard that Unipet in Union Road sells those things, is that where you get yours? Feeling to check them out.
JD's in Sando has a a lot of Mother's products but their prices not so competitive imho. Waiting for them to put it on sale to make meh name :lol:
Anand's Low Price supermarket by Mosquito Creek has a nice range of Meguiars, Mother's, TW Ice, Prestone and many others. Their prices are decent too. Then there's Car Plus on Cipero Street & I've heard Bel-Air Store and Price Club also stock the Meguiars line.

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » February 11th, 2013, 2:07 pm

^^ go back some pages in this thread and u'll see pictures of the places u mentioned.

Postby pioneer » February 11th, 2013, 3:53 pm

de waxin start
is waxin monday

neexis

Postby neexis » February 11th, 2013, 4:54 pm

HD?

steups... wish i had a covered garage to work in. still waiting for the sun to ease up

Postby pioneer » February 11th, 2013, 5:55 pm

Nah collinite 915

Brb no oiley residue

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 11th, 2013, 6:21 pm

Did my daily today. Washed with AG Shampoo, then decontaminated with CarPro Iron X and CarPro Trix. Then compounded and polished with CarPro fixer & Menzerna PO85Rd and the paint was slick as if a sealant was applied. I followed it up with DP Poli-Coat Sealant, which doesn't even compare to the Four Star sealant, and topped it off with Collinite 845.

The DP was relatively harder to apply/remove and did not really bring about an improvement in appearance imo. I also applied 845 wax to the rims. I really like that Menzerna polish! It made a white car very glossy, and slippery to the touch. I think I will always use it as a finishing touch whenever I'm detailing.

Postby pioneer » February 11th, 2013, 10:25 pm

^^^What's the average time all that takes you?

Anyone wanna aware me on a decent glaze I can use to hide the very fine swirls/haze I just can't seem to get rid of?

I don't wanna sacrifice anymore clear coat

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 12th, 2013, 12:44 am

silent_riot wrote:Those with black/dark vehicles should look into this sealant.
http://www.autogeek.net/four-star-ultim ... ction.html
IMO, the look is unmatched.

Maybe I get a chance to change your opinion one day. :)
Not saying it won't look good, but I got some stuff I'd like to compare.

silent_riot wrote:Did my daily today. Washed with AG Shampoo, then decontaminated with CarPro Iron X and CarPro Trix. Then compounded and polished with CarPro fixer & Menzerna PO85Rd and the paint was slick as if a sealant was applied. I followed it up with DP Poli-Coat Sealant, which doesn't even compare to the Four Star sealant, and topped it off with Collinite 845.

The DP was relatively harder to apply/remove and did not really bring about an improvement in appearance imo. I also applied 845 wax to the rims. I really like that Menzerna polish! It made a white car very glossy, and slippery to the touch. I think I will always use it as a finishing touch whenever I'm detailing.

The PO85RD is quite a good finishing polish. The cut is very low though, so may not suit some vehicles. But I really like it.
Question, did you really need the compound?

pioneer wrote:^^^What's the average time all that takes you?

Anyone wanna aware me on a decent glaze I can use to hide the very fine swirls/haze I just can't seem to get rid of?

I don't wanna sacrifice anymore clear coat

Quite a few around. I'd say just try using SRP as your cleaner and glaze in one.. then top with whatever you want. But if you're intent on using each stage separately maybe try the CG WMF or PB Black Hole? Your vehicle is black right? :)

neexis

Postby neexis » February 12th, 2013, 2:11 am

What drying towels you guys using?

I saw some mention of stuff from Cobra and Griots earlier. nemesis recommended Swissvax.. All retail for pretty much between $20-25 US

I used Megs water magnet and its pretty decent... a much better dry than the chamois. Is there anything better on the market? After the water magnet was soaked, even with a good bit of wringing, it just wasn't picking up that much. I think it'd be better to have a few waffle weaves on hand.

Postby Rainman » February 12th, 2013, 6:36 am

I use the meguiars water magnet as well but I use it along with the metro data vac, its a small portable blower, great when I don't have to set up the air compressor. And nothing dries better than compressed air.

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 12th, 2013, 9:16 am

DVSTT wrote:

actually the hardest to keep clean and properly maintained is my bro's accord....the paint is extremely soft...

ranger would be detailed on thursday...would do some before and after shots on it. came with tons of swirls from the dealer.....

Didn't get change to do anything this weekend...i must say i'm really liking the AG shampoo....

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 12th, 2013, 9:33 am

pioneer, about 5 hours or so, but I didn't compound the entire car.
nemesis, I am challenged by some shitty paintwork on my trunk, which I try to tackle everytime I bring out the machine (I may have to wool pad/rotary/wet sand that area now). And once the machine was out, I compounded most of the car. I do think I will use the PO85RD regularly though, as it brings about a sealant gloss with minor cut.

Those who don't have time for all that, I still think AG Shampoo, SRP and HD Wax is quickest, effective exterior detail one can do.

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » February 12th, 2013, 10:13 am

i have a ridiculous question to ask.. but after all this work to detail, does dirt and grime from daily road use remain on the finish? or does it dust off/bead off quickly without leaving residue?

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 12th, 2013, 10:32 am

Aaron, that accord looks really good...you should put some coilovers on it.
kurma, the effort is a measure to protect the paintwork, and reduce the wearing effect mother nature has on it. While there is protection and beading does happen and dirt will be easier to take off, dirt, road film, bird sheit, water spots will still get on the car, and will need to be taken care of in the next wash/detail. How you detail differs in your approach and depends on the end result you are looking for.

A simple wash/wax will not look or treat the paintwork the same as a wash/clay/polish/wax or a wash/decontaminate/clay/compound/polish/glaze/seal/wax, if you catch my drift.

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 12th, 2013, 11:31 am

That accord is extremely low already on stock suspension. The car touch even getting into the yard so doubt that would happen. Lol

Postby pioneer » February 12th, 2013, 3:42 pm

DP poli-coat>collinite 845>collinite 915...did nothing to the wheels

Not all that great but hey i'm just a n00b

Postby Ted_v2 » February 12th, 2013, 3:48 pm

Looking really clean

Postby pioneer » February 12th, 2013, 3:51 pm

that means it gonna rain tomorrow

trvs

Postby trvs » February 12th, 2013, 4:26 pm

Good job pioneer.

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 12th, 2013, 4:27 pm

Hd wax looking good

Postby gastly369 » February 12th, 2013, 4:56 pm

pioneer wrote:DP poli-coat>collinite 845>collinite 915...did nothing to the wheels

Not all that great but hey i'm just a n00b

and yes de lancer get one big splash on the middle of the bonnet :evil:

Postby pioneer » February 12th, 2013, 5:33 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:Hd wax looking good

No dan lol

neexis

Postby neexis » February 12th, 2013, 6:38 pm

what you use on the headlights?

guys,need some advice on how to remove this. looks like remnants of bird shittings from the port.

Postby pioneer » February 12th, 2013, 6:53 pm

On the headlights - megs plastx > megs headlight protectant

For that bird chit mark megs ultimate compound via hand is my to go product and it works with ease