EX 2000 Turbo Lancers

droppa

Postby droppa » November 28th, 2005, 12:02 pm

me...chookin fire.....nahhhhhhhhhh hosss
i is the crossbreed mitsu yuh know, so i wah know how ah recently developed mitsu engine will run agains the same age and powerclass nissan engine.

at the back of my head i know the evo conve is ah real bess killer project eh, buh is jus that ah have ah SR20 vvl and box jus waitin for me to get mih lazy arse up and scrap out the CA20 from my lancer, i have everything and ah spare engine too, jus time now. :roll:

4G63Turbo

Postby 4G63Turbo » November 28th, 2005, 12:06 pm

I really hope its turbo you're gonnah run or you'll soon find a lot of tough competition out there.
I find the mitsu rearend goes well with an Sr install though.

good luck will give you a shout when my car is back on the road.

droppa

Postby droppa » November 28th, 2005, 1:35 pm

687-5713 is the number, call i anytime.

lemme ask this ok, correct or direct me as necessary.

if u and i use the sane rearen and gearbox, but u your turbo mitsu and me my n/a SR, do u think we will run close at top end ?

this has been taxing me brain :roll:

4G63Turbo

Postby 4G63Turbo » November 29th, 2005, 7:29 am

well I don't know how to answer that.

but I do know that mitsu's love to rev, where a nissan would be efficient at 6000-6500 a mitsu would gladly rev pass making power.

I am left to be corrected here if I'm wrong bout the numbers.

droppa

Postby droppa » November 29th, 2005, 12:47 pm

its really tricky, ill be ready by nex year so
we will make ah run and see.

wats your average cost to completely install and setup ah 4G63 convo in ah rwd, using the gsr box, bout 10K :?:

4G63Turbo

Postby 4G63Turbo » November 29th, 2005, 1:13 pm

around that yes.
I got my engine complete with 4wd box for 6500.00
but thas about 4 yrs ago, think the price has drastically risen since then.

Last I saw was $13000.00 for everything including front and rear struts, and driveshaft.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » November 30th, 2005, 12:37 am

A while ago I saw the front cut of a gsr, rwd for 11,000 complete. This was a while ago though, about 2 yrs ago. Not sure of prices now.
That would be the 1800t with 5fwd gearbox. The thing I liked about that deal is you get the suspension, brakes and dash from the gsr as well.

droppa

Postby droppa » November 30th, 2005, 11:43 am

hoss buh fuh some reason i eh like that single cam engine boi. :roll:

i saw ah front half jus bout two months ago, it was from ah rally car and was sold for 13K, complete, brakes, suspension, engine, box and dash, white , clean and nice :mrgreen: , but my pockets were empty at that time :cry:

LEWWE HOLD AH LIL T.M.E. BIZNISS IN THE DRAGS THIS WEEKEN NAH. 8)

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » November 30th, 2005, 12:59 pm

droppa wrote:hoss buh fuh some reason i eh like that single cam engine boi. :roll:

i saw ah front half jus bout two months ago, it was from ah rally car and was sold for 13K, complete, brakes, suspension, engine, box and dash, white , clean and nice :mrgreen: , but my pockets were empty at that time :cry:

LEWWE HOLD AH LIL T.M.E. BIZNISS IN THE DRAGS THIS WEEKEN NAH. 8)

Ent, my pockets constantly empty, thas the prob right there

Saturday? I have exams on Sunday, but If I finish my studying by Saturday, I could make a pass. I never time my car yet. You goin?

droppa

Postby droppa » November 30th, 2005, 1:14 pm

yea ah wanna pass in
well i say we could ah hold ah lil gatherin nah,

if yuh come up and i up there we will run :roll:

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » November 30th, 2005, 1:38 pm

dred , you guys are going to spend a minit if you want everything mitsu original , if you can't find it , get stuff that works , via cross breeding . potent combination are out there ,because the old school gsr motor 's engineering is out of date , new efi systems on the evo blocks are more potent with less hassle . example if any of you all were at races the weekend there was a gsr trying to circuit with an evo 6, the two have the identical block , except one has twincam head , 16 valves and upgraded fuel and ignition systems , not to mention grip from all wheel drive . so if you want to stay competative , get the edge you need. :idea:

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » November 30th, 2005, 2:13 pm

^^Yeah man droppa, once I there, we will run. Probably could call out man like venum too :D

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » November 30th, 2005, 2:16 pm

read above

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » November 30th, 2005, 2:32 pm

^^^I not intending on competing with evos any time soon. My next engine, realistically, will most likely be the galant 2.0 (4g63) rwd engine. Tuned NA on Carb. Thats if at the time I can't go Efi due to funds. If I can go Efi, I just might.

I doubt the Efi setup is less hassle, It would cost the same or even more to tune a new Efi than it would cost to tune carb single overhead cam, or even the gsr Efi.

My flavour has always been oldschool anyways, that's what I grew up with, carbed , relatively small engined, rear wheel drives. (Hillman hunters and Ford escorts etc.) So it's only natural for me to go with a relatively large engine with carb/carbs when time to upgrade :D

For now, my mildly tuned 1400 4g12 will suffice. I have only been driving about 4-5 years (well officially anyways :mrgreen: ) so I think this powerplant is a nice first engine for me, good low end tourque, and a nice powerband all the way through. The fact that it could still beat up on some new Efi cars is a nice plus too :P

We will see how things go. Either way it will be a Mitsubishi engine, no doubt about that. I like their design, both in the old and new engines and also I don't want to crossbreed my car, engine wise anyway, that's just my taste.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » November 30th, 2005, 6:29 pm

1800 GSR / EX 2000 Turbo clones... Difficult but not impossible.
If you want to stay as OEM as possible, what about a G62B (1795cc) or better a G63B turbo.
EFI parts off Mitsu Starion G54B (2600) almost identical to JDM 1800 G62B. EFI parts available in US.
Some US Starion Forums...
http://starquest.i-x.net/
http://pweb.netcom.com/~rvtucker/tech.html
http://fly.to/LancerTurbo

1800 and 2000 also available from RPW in Australia.

OR... Aftermarket US low-compression (8.5 C:R) pistons in Galant GLX (G63B) block with DSM turbo (Eclipse/Laser), FMIC, etc. etc.
Your biggest problem will be a suitable gearbox... Check RPW as well.
One way or the next... Lancer 2000 Turbo 'clone.'

But like smokey1275 Gen 1 Eclipse 4G63 will still be a better bet... and Eclipse parts are cheaper than Evo parts too.

My $0.02c
Last edited by Sanctifier on December 1st, 2005, 12:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » November 30th, 2005, 10:51 pm

you see someone finnaly making sense :D :D :D :D :D :D

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » November 30th, 2005, 11:17 pm

I know i started this thread off with the ex 2000, but credit should also be given to the one that started the gsr line:

1600, NA. Too bad non made it down here, or at least, non that I know of.

befor this mitsubishi raced some pretty tiny engines, including their first manufacturers car with a 594 cc engine, this history may be seen here:
http://www.mitsubishi-motors.co.jp/motorsports/history/
good stuff 8)

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » November 30th, 2005, 11:24 pm

man those cars were awesome for the time , however minis rule now , and always

4G63Turbo

Postby 4G63Turbo » December 1st, 2005, 8:05 am

EFI parts off Mitsu Station G54B (2600) almost identical to JDM 1800 G62B. EFI parts available in US.

I was supprised to see one of these locally, P/town area.
always on the look out for it since then.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » December 1st, 2005, 9:07 am

I'm not familiar with the station. Is that the car with the grill going infront of the frontlights as well? I think it was a hatchback too.

4G63Turbo

Postby 4G63Turbo » December 1st, 2005, 10:20 am

nah Sanctifier made a typo.
what he relly meant was Starion.
google it.

BR Stage 3 shortblock
BR Stage 3 cylinder head
HKS 272 intake and exhaust cams
BR high performance harmonic damper
BR ported 2G exhaust manifold
BR650 internally gated turbocharger
BR custom FMIC with 2.5" inlet and 3" outlet
BR custom 3" mandrel bent stainless steel exhaust
BR alternator relocator kit
BR billet water pump plate
NX brand nitrous oxide. Four port 100 hp jetting depending on track and tires being used
AEM standalone fuel management (tuned by David Buschur)
1600cc Injectors
BR high flow fuel rail
MSD DIS2 with BR Coil On Plug Ignition
GM Powerglide, BR converter, BR adapterplate, BR flywheel
GM 12 bolt rear end, 10" slick or DOT tires depending on class run
Aeromotive fuel pump and filter
Last edited by 4G63Turbo on December 1st, 2005, 11:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

droppa

Postby droppa » December 1st, 2005, 10:55 am

recently Autoshoppe brought in a mitsu 4-Wheel drive van, like ah renegade or so, it had in one of them 2600, with duel side draughts and msd ignition, but it sold before them fellas get time to get it started. i guess that unit was probably taken out and is jus lying around somewhere..................................... :roll: :roll:

ATN recently had ah 2600 also, with gear box and all, but i dont see it anymore so guess tha gone too :cry:

parts are really hard to come by for those older mitsu engines, if in future i decide to use one ill maybe go for and evo engine and find a box to couple on, it was in the mind, but the pocket could not reach :oops:

droppa

Postby droppa » December 1st, 2005, 10:58 am

8) 8) :twisted: :twisted:
Last edited by droppa on December 1st, 2005, 12:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » December 1st, 2005, 12:27 pm

4G63Turbo wrote:nah Sanctifier made a typo.

Yup, 'typo'... "edited!"

Mitsubishi Starion...
UK 2-litre G63B SOHC turbo-model was very sucessful in "Production" Racing back then.
BTW the 'independant' rear suspension, G63B Galant turbo was very similar mechanically, with fantastic handling too.
My dad still has one. It could outhandle my rwd Lancer 1800 GSR turbo any day of the week.
It was at least 5 mph faster around "Casuals Corner" (Savannah) than the rwd GSR.
While I was on 'opposite lock' scrambling for grip around the 'reverse camber' corner, he would have all the traction in the world and could just 'power' around with a touch of opposite lock... even when he was forced to take the wrong 'line' and ended up in the "right lane" too!!! :shock:

Then there's also the US G54B 2.6 turbo-motor as an option. :idea:
Later 2.6 SOHC USA-model is still well supported for parts and has a few 'active' forums with FAQs and info.
They have a ton of torque and are pretty cheap compared to DOHC 4G63 Eclipse.

Another $0.01c :D

droppa

Postby droppa » December 1st, 2005, 12:58 pm

an the iatola Mr. SKF lancer using 4G Powah and blowing away the competition

^^^ buh hoss to build and race ah 4G beyotch down here will cost alot eh, dais why most fellas now crossbreedin :twisted:

yuh dad drive that galant still :?:

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » December 1st, 2005, 1:25 pm

droppa wrote:...yuh dad drive that galant still :?:

Yup... One day I might take it and give it a complete restoration (if I win the Lotto) :lol:

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » December 1st, 2005, 2:53 pm

4G63Turbo wrote:nah Sanctifier made a typo.
google it.

BR Stage 3 shortblock
BR Stage 3 cylinder head
HKS 272 intake and exhaust cams
BR high performance harmonic damper
BR ported 2G exhaust manifold
BR650 internally gated turbocharger
BR custom FMIC with 2.5" inlet and 3" outlet
BR custom 3" mandrel bent stainless steel exhaust
BR alternator relocator kit
BR billet water pump plate
NX brand nitrous oxide. Four port 100 hp jetting depending on track and tires being used
AEM standalone fuel management (tuned by David Buschur)
1600cc Injectors
BR high flow fuel rail
MSD DIS2 with BR Coil On Plug Ignition
GM Powerglide, BR converter, BR adapterplate, BR flywheel
GM 12 bolt rear end, 10" slick or DOT tires depending on class run
Aeromotive fuel pump and filter

Hells yeah :D :D :D :D :D

droppa

Postby droppa » December 1st, 2005, 3:19 pm

its really heart warming to know that the GSR Lancer and Turbo lancer was one of the fastest and first of the turbo cars to rollin trini eh........................ 8)

nowadays man only veeeeeeeeeeeetekin up dey self and sr is the most common amd easiest soluttion, and them mini men feel they fassss :twisted:

wait nah, where Smokey, hoss ah callin yuh out :twisted: :twisted:
yuh eh ready fuh the crossbreed :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » December 1st, 2005, 4:51 pm

dred allyuh mitsu fellars cars cannot out handle a mini , no day of the week

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » December 1st, 2005, 5:15 pm

^^Actually, at the time of production, droppa, it was the fastest sedan you could buy off the showroom floor in the world, not only trinidad. :D

^And don't underestimate the gsr, or it's decendents handling, smokey. They were built to go fast and handle that speed as well, from the ground up. Remember, the gsr was designed first and then the regular lancers built off the same frame. It was one of the most stable cars of the time at speed which is why people still swear by them today.

Ask anyone who has owned a rwd lancer for a while what they like about it the most, one of their first answers would be handling. They would rather drive an old rwd lancer over most newer cars because it just feels more stable.

Oh yeah, btw, if i goin test and tune, I calling out smokey1275 too :twisted: