My First Generation RX7 Project

Re: My First Generation RX7 Project

Postby Ted_v2 » June 15th, 2014, 6:32 pm

Rell smallies maybe get lickup with that rx7
hahaha

nah it looks excellent since those days.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 15th, 2014, 7:11 pm

Thank you for the photos Nismo, made my day. Makes me truly appreciate how well all the previous owners have kept the car for it still to be in such good condition. Especially the interior.

Postby supercharged turbo » June 15th, 2014, 8:22 pm

Car looks really clean nismoid

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 15th, 2014, 8:48 pm

Nismoid that car paint recently? Looking sweet

nismoid

Postby nismoid » June 16th, 2014, 5:46 am

kerwinishere wrote:Nismoid that car paint recently? Looking sweet

That pic was taken in 1987

supercharged turbo wrote:Car looks really clean nismoid

Yes, back then it was the best RX7 in the country

Bezman wrote:Thank you for the photos Nismo, made my day. Makes me truly appreciate how well all the previous owners have kept the car for it still to be in such good condition. Especially the interior.

Welcome dude, if I get my hands on any more I'll send them for you, I'd like to see the car in person if you dont mind, if you'd allow me, pm me the location please.
Thanks

nismoid

Postby nismoid » June 16th, 2014, 5:55 am

sound boy 64 wrote:Rell smallies maybe get lickup with that rx7
hahaha

nah it looks excellent since those days.

Ent! :D

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 17th, 2014, 6:08 pm

Ew... Now I really have to take this car to get bless oui!

Nismo, I'll PM you

Postby 1UZFE » June 17th, 2014, 9:48 pm

Bezman ! Nismoid set d bar real high. Cant wait to her when finished..

fass4drs

Postby fass4drs » July 21st, 2014, 3:41 am

Any updates ?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 25th, 2014, 7:05 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1406328955.326662.jpg

Koni Adjustable Race Struts

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1406328979.953983.jpg

Energy suspension full polyurethane kit

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1406328997.738003.jpg

Racing beat rear springs (-1")

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1406329131.768709.jpg

Solid corner seals, springs, side seals & springs, Rotary Aviation Super Seals and mazda springs. Oil control ring springs etc

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1406329153.173883.jpg

New aluminum 3 core first gen racing radiator

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1406329266.435662.jpg

Haltech wired and tuned for pretty much my exact setup..

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1406329430.822166.jpg

And lots done to the interior too.

Pretty much have piles of parts and no time. Looking to drop the car off to paint and then by a rotary mechanic to finish off. Wanna drive this before the year end.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 25th, 2014, 8:17 pm

Bring it down south by chowtee. (sp).
Rotary man in debe

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 19th, 2014, 12:40 pm

Update:

Engine went to rebuild by Stevens Rotary last weekend. Gonna do a street port and re-assembled with all new mazda gaskets, RA 2mm super seals, new springs, bearings and gears etc, new water and oil pump, Gonna be a very strong engine.

Decided to go turbo, (one NA high comp rotor got damaged in shipping) got a haltech at a steal tuned for the setup below and tested on Stevens car which is similar

ordered a Borgwarner S360 turbo (good for 350-700hp), new SS turbo manifold, 800cc & 1600cc injectors, should be here next week.

Engine should be finished being rebuilt in a week or two (mostly delayed because I wanna see the build) and then taking the car down by Steven to install engine and haltech and run through all electronics/wiring, do the fuel system and prob install a water injection kit etc.

After that taking it by my old friend/mechanic; Mouse, to have him do all the millions of small things needed like installing the poly bushing kit, fit new driveshaft, bleed brakes and tighten up every bolt and nut.

Once that is all done the car should be driving and once the engine/turbo are broken in and all the small issues and leaks are sorted I'll send her to paint.

Would have liked to send her to paint before all this work. But kinda prefer to not have mechanics working on the car with a brand new paint job, dropping spanners and rubbing their belly and hands all over it :p But still have not decided on wheels and paint colour yet so, worked out for the best.

Post is booting without pics. Till then this is how she sits. Hopefully next time ya see her will be with her new engine in place.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1408466047.018279.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1408466071.319408.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1408466109.036799.jpg

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » August 19th, 2014, 1:42 pm

Good stuff was wondering what was going on with this car

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 4th, 2014, 6:03 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1409867823.275930.jpg

Short block/Engine assembled.

13b series 5 turbo II
Street ported & match ported intake/exhaust
OJ performance 2mm RA Super Seals
Mazda apex springs
Atkins solid corner seals
Mazda corner springs
Mazda side seals and springs
Atkins water seals
Viton oil control rings
New Mazda oil rings
Series 8 stationary gears and bearings
Modified oil system (90 psi)
New Mazda seals and gasket kit
New Atkins water pump

Engine prep, porting, cleaning and assembly by Stephens Rotary Garage.

Next up engine install and start her up. Car should be going down by Stephen in the next couple weeks as he gets some room at the shop.

Postby MG Man » September 4th, 2014, 6:15 pm

*clicks like*

6 10 Pioneer

Postby 6 10 Pioneer » September 4th, 2014, 6:21 pm

Nice! :D

Postby Ted_v2 » September 4th, 2014, 8:31 pm

Just asking how much HP you expect and how much did it cost to build estimated?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 4th, 2014, 8:53 pm

Should easily hold 500hp, turbo only good for about 450 with the current exhaust side AR I am using. (I am not looking to push anything like that)

Cost... Prob quicker tell ya how my girl looks naked

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 7th, 2014, 3:16 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1410117230.674675.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1410117242.524348.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1410117255.641038.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1410117273.027834.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1410117286.658114.jpg

Cleaned up the intake mani and removed all the emissions and water cooler etc. Removed the secondary butterflies from the throttle body and getting everything ready for the install.

Still have to get my fuel rails and regulator and I should be all good with the intake and fuel systems.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 7th, 2014, 3:33 pm

More on the fuel system. I'm going to be running an Aeromotive Phantom 340lph Intank pump with sump/baffle

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1410118010.861460.jpg

Very impressive piece if kit. Check out some youtube cubs of it if you have time.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1410118164.299056.jpg

Above is how I'll be running my fuel system with the new rails and regulator. Slowly but surely coming to come.

Postby MG Man » September 8th, 2014, 9:00 am

*awaits feature in DSPORT*

moti

Postby moti » September 8th, 2014, 8:16 pm

Liked the idea of being N/A.

But damn though, it will be one epic build when completed man.
And it's never a bad thing to have some extra power.

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » September 10th, 2014, 2:41 pm

Mani looks really clean! Saw this in a F.S. thread on the local tuner forum here in Vancouver and your build came to mind:

http://www.revscene.net/forums/697983-f ... w-car.html

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 11th, 2014, 8:02 pm

Straight outta the 80's haha

Here is a 2nd gen with my same setup

Car: 88 Turbo II
Turbo: Borg Warner S360 .88
Boost: 19 psi
Manifold: HKS log
Wastegate: JGS 50mm
Injectors: FIC 1150cc and Delphi 1000cc
Injection: AEM/Snow boost juice water meth
RWHP: 474rwhp/381ftlbs torque
ECU: Haltech Sprint RE

Officially think I've bitten off more than I can chew hahaha :)

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 11th, 2014, 8:06 pm

I think I'm leaning towards something more like this as far as paint is concerned.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1410480387.701171.jpg

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 13th, 2014, 12:40 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1410626310.694051.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1410626330.678178.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1410626355.160611.jpg

Turbo porn!! J2 13b manifold. Amazing build quality!!

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » September 13th, 2014, 1:03 pm

Bezman wrote:I think I'm leaning towards something more like this as far as paint is concerned.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1410480387.701171.jpg

Lol you mean Reece ent want you paint it blue just like his? Lol

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » September 13th, 2014, 1:03 pm

Bezman wrote:
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1410626310.694051.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1410626330.678178.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1410626355.160611.jpg

Turbo porn!! J2 13b manifold. Amazing build quality!!

Now that's what I call proper welding

Zorak

Postby Zorak » September 13th, 2014, 7:35 pm

Any build links to the silver FC? It's gorgeous!

The silver/grey SA looks really fantastic as well!

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 13th, 2014, 8:23 pm

Zorak, here are some of his posts on rx7Club.com

http://www.rx7club.com/search.php?searchid=12330158

Couple more pics

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1410654183.095227.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1410654213.876713.jpg