2012 Corolla vs 2012 Elantra

Which vehicle would you buy

Poll ended at October 27th, 2012, 5:49 pm

2012 Corolla
6%
2012 Elantra
94%

Total votes: 18

toyota2nr

Re: 2012 Corolla vs 2012 Elantra

Postby toyota2nr » May 14th, 2013, 3:28 pm

acesinghit wrote:toyota2nr, do you want to volunteer your car? You can drain the motor oil for us to see Toyotas legendary no oil running qualities? I would bring a camera as well so we can upload the vid on youtube.

I had some pics. Will upload if I still have them. Mech turned the drain bolt an about half a quart come out. That was it. I was driving for months with that.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 14th, 2013, 3:39 pm

I especially like how they stress all in this one:

"Bottle Holders in ALL 4 Doors"

:D

Postby sharkman121 » May 14th, 2013, 4:05 pm

cinco wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:lol @ spec padding with cig lighter and mud guards as features.

base model dont even have a tachometer
but it has INTERNAL FUEL AND TRUNK OPENER OMG!!!

u mean u could open d gas tank and trunk from eeenside yuh cyar?? Nahh wut witchcraft you torkin bout. Neverr!!

Sent from my GT-I9100 using TriniTuner mobile app

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 14th, 2013, 4:36 pm

cinco wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:lol @ spec padding with cig lighter and mud guards as features.

base model dont even have a tachometer
but it has INTERNAL FUEL AND TRUNK OPENER OMG!!!

ROOOOFFFFLLLL!:lol::lol::lol::lol::lol::lol:

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 14th, 2013, 6:19 pm

sliderz1 wrote:
acesinghit wrote: If anyone in here could say well buddy my local NZE is 12yrs old and never changed nothing except fluids, battery, tyres, wiper blades and brake pads then that is a BIG LIE.

actually i'll prove you wrong later...

I could say my rav4 went 10yrs with only those changes and shocks and rubbers.

I can't prove it online but your welcome to see irl, check vin/engine # etc

Postby cinco » May 14th, 2013, 6:34 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
sliderz1 wrote:
acesinghit wrote: If anyone in here could say well buddy my local NZE is 12yrs old and never changed nothing except fluids, battery, tyres, wiper blades and brake pads then that is a BIG LIE.

wey yuh was 2 thursdays ago? :lol: :lol:
my kia rio when 7 years with the same changes

Postby gastly369 » May 14th, 2013, 6:48 pm

sharkman121 wrote:Are the new elantras in n&m 2013 models or 2012 models passed off as 2013?

What is the difference exactly between the two models?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using TriniTuner mobile app

2013 prob have a "Gloss Black" painted jack handle
and it could prob play a normal audio CD now duno :?

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 14th, 2013, 6:59 pm

cinco wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:
sliderz1 wrote:

Ohgorrrr it was eventual :lol:

Postby cinco » May 14th, 2013, 7:05 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
cinco wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:
sliderz1 wrote:

Ohgorrrr it was eventual :lol:

shenanigans!!!!! toyotas are infallible!

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » May 14th, 2013, 7:12 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Drove ah elantra in the states last week for a few days.

Honest review.

Roomy, comfortable. Not bad on the low end in terms of pick-up from a light, but a lil tired up top.
Sensible gauges, and layout. Quiet. But I see some cheap plastics and expect some noise later on. Also for a new car, even though it was a rental, heard some clunks in the suspension.
Decent stereo, as others said the USB is a nice nice touch. For ME, the steering was waaaayyyy too light and unresponsive. But I've been driving evos for the last eight years, so may not be the best person to comment on that. Reasonable in the rain with the factory hankook tyres.

A decent looking car too, although I find the ultra curviness will get tired after a couple years, just like the coupe previously.

my 2c.

Ditto on the super light steering, it felt excellent during low speed/ parking maneuvers, but a little scary at higher speeds; a speed sensitive setup would be ideal, or just a firmer setup and call it a day :lol: . Another thing I wasn't fond of, was the location of the center air conditioning vents; I felt it was awkwardly positioned, and too close to my hand. I also wasn't too keen on the AC temperature and fan speed design, but I admit, that's nitpicking.
With regards to Toyota, I can't say for the rest of the world, but in the U.S., Toyota's value proposition seemed to stem from reasonably priced vehicles with a stellar reputation for reliability. My gripe with Toyota down here is that it appears as though we get charged a premium for that reputation :? .

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » May 14th, 2013, 7:35 pm

Like some men forget the topic is 2012 Corolla vs 2012 Elantra. Men arguing as though the topic is Used 2006 Corolla vs 2006 Elantra. . If the latter was the case i think everyone would take the corolla. It's like trying to justify to someone to buy a PRADO in front of either a Q7 or X5. Yet you see more PRADOs than Q7 or X5 on the roads.

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » May 14th, 2013, 11:21 pm

trini mk5 wrote:And if we want to talk about abuse ready jap engines that are performers we look not further than

don talk..................

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 15th, 2013, 7:55 am

toyota2nr wrote:
acesinghit wrote:toyota2nr, do you want to volunteer your car? You can drain the motor oil for us to see Toyotas legendary no oil running qualities? I would bring a camera as well so we can upload the vid on youtube.

I had some pics. Will upload if I still have them. Mech turned the drain bolt an about half a quart come out. That was it. I was driving for months with that.

maybe I missing something here...a quart of oil means your engine still have oil in the pan. No oil means totally drained. How can you challenge the elantra with NO oil when your car still had a quart in it? How about we organize for your legendary engine to be drained of ALL oil and we can test this legendary reliability of a Toyota automobile you drive?

fokhan_96 wrote:Like some men forget the topic is 2012 Corolla vs 2012 Elantra. Men arguing as though the topic is Used 2006 Corolla vs 2006 Elantra. . If the latter was the case i think everyone would take the corolla. It's like trying to justify to someone to buy a PRADO in front of either a Q7 or X5. Yet you see more PRADOs than Q7 or X5 on the roads.

You cyar post this sheit and get away with it....you see more prados bcause 99% of them ladder frame smelly/noisy diesel sheit belongs to the state and as for the 1%? When injun get large they take the same kaka corolla mentality and buy 800k + Prados which indicate they reach. Some of them rich injun would never buy anything outside Toyota.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 15th, 2013, 7:59 am

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 15th, 2013, 8:11 am

acesinghit wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:

maybe I missing something here...a quart of oil means your engine still have oil in the pan. No oil means totally drained. How can you challenge the elantra with NO oil when your car still had a quart in it? How about we organize for your legendary engine to be drained of ALL oil and we can test this legendary reliability of a Toyota automobile you drive?

fokhan_96 wrote:Like some men forget the topic is 2012 Corolla vs 2012 Elantra. Men arguing as though the topic is Used 2006 Corolla vs 2006 Elantra. . If the latter was the case i think everyone would take the corolla. It's like trying to justify to someone to buy a PRADO in front of either a Q7 or X5. Yet you see more PRADOs than Q7 or X5 on the roads.

You cyar post this sheit and get away with it....you see more prados bcause 99% of them ladder frame smelly/noisy diesel sheit belongs to the state and as for the 1%? When injun get large they take the same kaka corolla mentality and buy 800k + Prados which indicate they reach. Some of them rich injun would never buy anything outside Toyota.

I could suggest maintenance on a prado is significantly cheaper than on that of a q5 or x5 but it seems a rich Indian has skewered your thought process, possible horn or just jelly maybe?

Either way, logic seems lost with you.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 15th, 2013, 9:03 am

kurpal please produce evidence which suggests Prado maintenance is cheaper than that of a q7/x5, thanks. Let's see those service records you have on file....

Postby crazybalhead » May 15th, 2013, 9:11 am

toyota 2nr, you was driving around with a quart ah oil? Piston rings optional on toyotas orwah?

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » May 15th, 2013, 9:18 am

My 2cents
I ran through accent elantra and sonata, among 3 elantra was the best bet,
but dont expect good resale value when time to upgrade and remember u will upgrade
I had local Nze corolla ( on of the best cars i owned next to my short lived 69 Chevelle)
Now upgrade to new 2010 corolla which looks basic but simplicity and reliability out shines any hyundai any day and milage
I bought my nze and sold for same price after 5 years appox, try that with any hyundai

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » May 15th, 2013, 9:20 am

acesinghit wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:

If you quoting at least get it right nah. I said about HALF a quart, could have been less.
If you prefer the Elantra then by all means buy it. Stop looking like you have an agenda. The 2012 Corolla could really do with more features but it is still one of the best cars on the road in MY OPINION.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » May 15th, 2013, 10:57 am

It still drives like a boat

Sent from Outside Your Window" until the police confiscated my phone. I need to be more careful next time (well, in 5 years...or 3 with good behavior).

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 15th, 2013, 11:03 am

the lack of oil speaks a little to the quality of the engine but it speak massively to the oil itself.

if u accurate in what you saying, that oil coated the engine long after the oil was used up..

dawg please share that oil hoss, I will consider switching.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » May 15th, 2013, 11:20 am

toyota2nr wrote:? When injun get large they take the same kaka corolla mentality and buy 800k + Prados which indicate they reach. Some of them rich injun would never buy anything outside Toyota.

This is so accurate it eh funny :lol:

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » May 15th, 2013, 11:42 am

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:? When injun get large they take the same kaka corolla mentality and buy 800k + Prados which indicate they reach. Some of them rich injun would never buy anything outside Toyota.

As i read that post, i looked out the window and saw an injun in one under some chromes. I laughed. :lol:
However, sbcs owner is a rich injun, but he jiving and x5, so your argument is invalid.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 15th, 2013, 12:02 pm

toyota2nr you draining your oil for us to see this legendary reliability or not? Better yet if your motor had 1/2 a quart in it so it shouldn't be a problem to pm me when the oil is totally drained. I will send my associate to meet you and once and for all we will finally settle the debate on Toyota's reliability. Thanks to you of course. So what's it gonna be?

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » May 15th, 2013, 12:06 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:

I never said that but say what please your mind daddy.......

As for acessingshit what else can I say bro? Drive what you like.....

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 15th, 2013, 12:09 pm

ok so I take that as a no.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » May 15th, 2013, 12:13 pm

^^ you're free to do what you want bro. My original statement stands. I would would purchase the 2012 Corolla over the Elantra.

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 15th, 2013, 12:18 pm

acesinghit wrote:kurpal please produce evidence which suggests Prado maintenance is cheaper than that of a q7/x5, thanks. Let's see those service records you have on file....

I could but why bother? You just gonna come back and claim some other unrelated point to the topic at hand.

However my offer still stands, 2003 Rav4, used daily as a quarry vehicle and nothing but regular maintainence since we took ownership, oil never changed on time, belts from factory etc, come yourself and verify whatever you want.

And no, don't send your associate, I would be rather offended if you even considered it.

Postby noshownogo » May 15th, 2013, 12:19 pm

No one would guess you doing anything other than picking the Toyota over the Hyundai.

Up next, hondahoe maintaining his tuner name while driving another brand car other than a Honda :|

Postby sliderz1 » May 15th, 2013, 12:37 pm

acesinghit wrote:

i lol'd at your supports
Prados are still better all round oriented than any Range rover or X5.
UDFR