The Official Car Care Thread

Karim Khan

Re: What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby Karim Khan » March 4th, 2012, 9:24 pm

The foam is used as a pre-rinse. This process is use to lift the contaminants ( dirt and the other stuff) of the paint before the actual wash. A proper pre-rinse assist in reducing swirls caused by washing the car.

No you do not have to hose down with regular water before you pre-rinse.

Postby pioneer » March 4th, 2012, 9:29 pm

So wait, I have to first foam then use mitten/sponge n wash like normal?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » March 5th, 2012, 6:40 am

^^Yes, you can do that if you have the equipment.

You can also use the two bucket wash method (google it) if you don't have the foam gun in your budget. If done carefully, the two bucket method will inflict near zero swirls on your car.

And BTW the foaming method can STILL inflict swirls if the wash mitt isn't rinsed/cleaned properly or often enough between panels....esp if the car is pretty dirty (as is common due to heavy rain these days).

the key to minimising swirls is (with either the foaming or two bucket method):

1) not letting too much dirt build up in your wash mitt - rinse mitt intermittently. A good idea is to wash the top section of the car first (bonnet, roof, trunk), then work your way down.

2) Using a wash mitt with will hold dirt away from the paint when it does get into the mitt (deep "pile")

3) Using a car wash of high lubricity. You can also use an "additive" to your existing car wash like ONR to help with that. Personally, some of the OTC car washes we have now are pretty good already.
Last edited by DSM_05 on March 5th, 2012, 6:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pioneer » March 5th, 2012, 6:43 am

What "equipment"?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » March 5th, 2012, 6:46 am

I meant foaming equipment, like this:

Like I said, if you have it - good. If you can afford, it's also great.

But IMHO, you can use the two bucket method just as well....IF done right. And the Foam gun method can still inflict swirls if not done properly.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » March 5th, 2012, 7:35 am

I think my pressure washer came with a similar looking attachment.
Will this do the same thing?

Postby pioneer » March 5th, 2012, 5:19 pm

DSM_05 wrote:I meant foaming equipment, like this:

Like I said, if you have it - good. If you can afford, it's also great.

But IMHO, you can use the two bucket method just as well....IF done right. And the Foam gun method can still inflict swirls if not done properly.

Yeah well i done have this

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » March 5th, 2012, 7:24 pm

Pioneer that foamer is very nice. I had 2 foamers like that. Its are very very good for pre-washing . Its a great tool for guys who what to take car washing to the next level

Check out the pic below of the foamer

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » March 5th, 2012, 7:29 pm

nemesis wrote:
Karim Khan wrote:Nice collection Nemesis. Good to see you are using some high end stuff, HD wax, Miglore and Dodo Juice. Send me some detailing pics when you get chance !!!

Thanks. Putting on the Migliore soon. I'll bring it for yuh to see then!

Nemesis i must say that you keep your ride in excellent condition. I swear the vehicle came out the showroom. The reflections was amazing for a silver OEM paint job.

Keep up the good work !! and thanks for the stash!!!

Postby Chimera » March 5th, 2012, 8:28 pm

can you polish/wax a car in the night? will it make much of a difference or be detrimental?

not finding time in the day to do anything wrt to polishing or waxing lol

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » March 6th, 2012, 8:02 am

ABA, yes you can detail your car in the night. I use to do it .....lol with my 2nd car i washed and polish it everyday for two week. Yes you heard right everyday for two weeks and this was done after 6pm.

If you are going to detail your ride in the night i recommend you have proper lighting and you have the ability to take plenty talks from your family and friends. trust me know know.

When you finish detailing make sure and post some pics ABA!!!

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » March 6th, 2012, 9:53 am

^^Agreed. Plenty light so you can see what you're doing, and also you generally want a sheltered area which will trap some warmer air. Detailing in the open at night......your roof/bonnet might gather dew/moisture....and if applying polishes and waxes, you'd need to keep those surfaces dry.

Personally, I'd have chosen ONE day to clay and polish and wax. then every time after, I would wash and use a spray wax....which shouldn't be a problem at night.

And with proper maintenance (spray waxing), your "detail" should last for quite a few months (unless you wash with some strong soap of course).

nemesis

Postby nemesis » March 6th, 2012, 10:31 am

Karim Khan wrote:
nemesis wrote:
Karim Khan wrote:Nice collection Nemesis. Good to see you are using some high end stuff, HD wax, Miglore and Dodo Juice. Send me some detailing pics when you get chance !!!

Thanks. Putting on the Migliore soon. I'll bring it for yuh to see then!

Nemesis i must say that you keep your ride in excellent condition. I swear the vehicle came out the showroom. The reflections was amazing for a silver OEM paint job.

Keep up the good work !! and thanks for the stash!!!

Thanks man. And thank you for the advice on how to do some of this stuff.

ABA: If you're going to try that at night get somewhere covered at the very least as mentioned. Personally though I wouldn't try it since it may take very long for the wax to dry.

Postby Chimera » March 6th, 2012, 10:45 am

i would use my garage. just not finding time in the day @ all, by the time I reach home everyday it's already dark

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » March 7th, 2012, 6:43 am

ABA, just find the time!!

evil_twin

Postby evil_twin » March 12th, 2012, 2:51 pm

where can i get clay bars to buy?

syntax

Postby syntax » March 12th, 2012, 7:18 pm

dok_tec wrote:
dok_tec wrote:this thread makes me feel guilty about just 'washing' my car

the guilt really got to me.... im gonna meguiars those beetches weekend
(polish is meguiars also)

hey how does the water magnet works man

evil_twin

Postby evil_twin » March 13th, 2012, 7:27 pm

evil_twin wrote:where can i get clay bars to buy?

got the mothers clay bar kit today at wheel wizard on ramsaran street chaguanas for 150 which wasnt bad since some places had the same thing for 295!

Bacon

Postby Bacon » March 13th, 2012, 9:23 pm

What's a good product to protect Carbon Fibre?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » March 14th, 2012, 7:51 am

^^Depends on if the CF is gel or clear coated. Most are gel coated, in which case, you could consider a good sealant. Your sealant/wax should NOT have ANY cleaners or polishing agents, since the gel coat isn't very durable.

For clear coated CF's (glossier), they react well to a decent wax, even if it has mild cleaners.

Bacon

Postby Bacon » March 14th, 2012, 8:51 pm

DSM_05 wrote:^^Depends on if the CF is gel or clear coated. Most are gel coated, in which case, you could consider a good sealant. Your sealant/wax should NOT have ANY cleaners or polishing agents, since the gel coat isn't very durable.

For clear coated CF's (glossier), they react well to a decent wax, even if it has mild cleaners.

Thanks for your response DSM...

At first glance...If I had to guess I would say it looks like a gel coating....BUT is is very glossy and shiney....So I am not too sure....I have nothing to compare it too and iz not as if I post a pic it would help...

Sooooo am I correct in assuming that it is safer as if I treat it is a gel just in case even if it may be clear coated...

I just wanna make sure I take care of it as I am starting to use the car on more regular basis to drive to work and have to park it outdoors...

are there any sealants that you would recommend?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » March 14th, 2012, 9:29 pm

Well, sometimes it's hard to tell which coating you have. Generally, brands like Seibon and C-West use gel coats....for example. Brands like APR, use clear coats in most instances.

In terms of sealants, most should do fine once the CF is not in deteriorated condition.

If it's outdoors, then just be sure, you can ask the manf'r (I assume it's a brand name item) if they have any recommendations for outdoor care.

The key is that the sealant (or wax) really shouldn't have any abrasive components to it.

You could consider sealants such as:

Optimum OptiSeal
Wolfgang Deep Gloss Paint Sealant

Be sure to apply with a CLEAN applicator pad....preferably microfibre. And BTW sealants are gently spread on, not rubbed in as with a polish or glaze.

And I'd also recommend that you test the sealant first.....try rubbing a dab on a small area....and notice how it looks over a couple of days.....once you're happy.....go at it.

BTW - some contend that gel coated/resin coated CF responds well to glazes that are "oily" (they get a nicer shine).

I can't verify this (never worked with gel CF)......but if that's the case, some "synthetic waxes" out there have nice glazing oils in them.

Bacon

Postby Bacon » March 14th, 2012, 10:47 pm

Thanks again for taking the time to write such a thorough response DSM...

I will check out the sealants you recommended and do some additional research as well...The good thing is that at least it ain't go be getting no setta heat here...The bad thing is plenty rain...

Bird sh1t is the enemy :/

Postby cinco » March 15th, 2012, 8:35 am

on that note Bacon verify from the manu if the gel coat has a uv inhibitor so it doesnt yellow on you

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » March 15th, 2012, 8:45 am

^^most will have a UV inhibitor in them. The problem is that gel / resin coated CF's tend to "oxidise" easily...or get hazy. This is different from swirling/marring that occurs with clear coated CF (which acts like normal paint).

My comment about the products with glazing oils helps fight oxidation on resin coats (according to Mike Phillips, detailing guru).

I'll have to find that link where he talks about it....

gfbl

Postby gfbl » March 15th, 2012, 9:05 am

can a carnauba wax be applied untop of optimum optiseal?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » March 15th, 2012, 7:54 pm

^^Don't see why not. In my experience though, Optimum's products are very "oily".....so while a carnauba will help with gloss, it won't "adhere" to the sealant beneath as well as if it was with a "less oily" / acrylic sealant.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » March 15th, 2012, 8:01 pm

Yes you can use a carnauba wax on top of the optiseal with any negative effects.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » March 15th, 2012, 9:19 pm

thanks,sounds good

GoS

Postby GoS » March 15th, 2012, 9:31 pm

but where locally can u get that foam gun and liquid to buy