Ratsun 1200 Sedan - SOLD - New Photo added 08/12

Mr. Go Slow

Re: My little Datsun 1200

Postby Mr. Go Slow » June 10th, 2010, 10:35 pm

Bezman wrote:have not decided yet.. if i can find a GX grill i may swap it back to round lights.

If my vote counts, I say keep the squares ... Really suits the car, and excellent job on the ride so far, really enjoying the build.

Postby SmokeyGTi » June 11th, 2010, 12:57 pm

oh my!
the car really shaping up nicely!

Postby Rooki3 » June 12th, 2010, 4:55 pm

just read yur worldpress blog

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 21st, 2010, 11:22 pm

Today I made a Cold Air Box for the Datsun 1200 and also a Fire Wall to seal off the trunk area from the cabin with some aluminum sheet. I mocked it up all up in cardboard before cutting in aluminum. I really need a beed roller and a welder to do this right, but for my first attempt I am satisfied for now.

The trunk firewall will be covered with Dynamat and carpet eventually (maybe even a back seat) and the cold air box will be sealed up at the back and maybe have the ca18det AFM bolt to the back of it like the ARC ones. As you can see it feeds through a nice vent in the front grill and should help out a bit. I also have yo rotate the radiator overflow outlet or drill a hole int he cold air box and run the hose through it to the tank which will be mounted near to the rad cap and rad fan.

More mods and updates coming soon. hope you enjoy the photos.

custom firewall, this will be bolted down and covered with Dynamat for preventing vibration/rattling and for insulation from sound and heat
I want to bolt the AFM to it eventually.
inside shot of the box.

I also moved the front lip spoiler down a couple inches and in doing so moved it back/under the car a bit more, looks allot better and the fitment is awesome.

I drove the car quite a bit over the last few days as I finally got insurance for it, so it is officially road worthy. I just need to get the suspension and brakes sorted out over the next few weeks and then I will be thinking about painting it and maybe refreshing the engine while its out with a new water pump, oil pump, head gasket, ARP studs and fasteners and new tension pulleys etc... ( Oh and I have some nice flares and wheels to put on too :P no peeking )

This video is the first start up in over a month, she only had about 5 litres of gas in her so the fuel pressure was all over the place and it actually ran out of fuel about 2 mins after i stopped filming... But i installed and new Walbro Fuel Pump and Fram filter and new lines etc..

as you can tell she has a HUGE exhast leak :) I have that and the alignment to do..

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 22nd, 2010, 7:04 am

Good stuff man the car is really taking shape. Good Idea to give it a refresh when the car is going in to paint. Engine out and have a go spray then same time do what needs doing on the engine so when the paint has been cured proper the heart can go back in and no need to worry about the engine. Nice work on the rear firewall and the dynamat will do nicely. Will get dimension on the seats later today. Now back out to work so I have a lot of catching up to do.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 30th, 2010, 11:45 am

I almost ready for allya :)

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 30th, 2010, 9:43 pm

Nice now get the camera a little higher and angled down on the road and yuh orn like corn. Good to see it getting some road time.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » July 1st, 2010, 10:29 am

dat looks like it was a lot of fun.

droppa

Postby droppa » July 1st, 2010, 1:23 pm

yuh looking real good dey padna, by the time wallers open back yuh go be in order.....

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 1st, 2010, 8:54 pm

Will need to have a camera facing the window as yuh drive by the oponent :D.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 2nd, 2010, 12:13 am

yeah i am ordering one of these for surfing and solodex, drift, drag and drives to the beach etc

http://www.goprocamera.com/

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 2nd, 2010, 12:16 am

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » July 2nd, 2010, 3:47 am

That camera setup is a good deal. My only issue is it doesn't look like you can check your framing before you record. Would suck if you set it up and the framing is off after everything has been recorded. Still I guess with some practice you'll know how to angle it.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 4th, 2010, 8:29 pm

where the cam is mounted, the view finder/display is blocked by the body ;)

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » July 5th, 2010, 9:05 am

Bezman wrote:yeah i am ordering one of these for surfing and solodex, drift, drag and drives to the beach etc

Have one of these. Good stuff in HD, makes sure and get a big memory card too! It took me an hour to mount it properly though.

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » July 5th, 2010, 6:44 pm

Bezman wrote:where the cam is mounted, the view finder/display is blocked by the body ;)

my bad looking at it on the website it didn't look to have a view finder...in that case awesome cam man. I will def be picking up on of these in the future.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 5th, 2010, 9:24 pm

R. Mutt wrote:
Bezman wrote:where the cam is mounted, the view finder/display is blocked by the body ;)

my bad looking at it on the website it didn't look to have a view finder...in that case awesome cam man. I will def be picking up on of these in the future.

no thats not the GoPro cam yet, thats my Nikon P90 mounted with a bolt through the rear speaker panel, very crude setup :)

Postby Monk BANzai » July 7th, 2010, 12:34 am

my weekly "i jealous" entry...lol....

coming along nicely man.....

Anton

Postby Anton » July 7th, 2010, 7:59 am

Bezman wrote:yeah i am ordering one of these for surfing and solodex, drift, drag and drives to the beach etc

Likin this cam. I'm sure u can also make some money doing some vids for other dex cars.

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » July 7th, 2010, 8:58 am

nice updates. settled on a colour scheme yet?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 9th, 2010, 11:36 am

right now, the colors i looking at are

1) R34 GTR Nur Spec Green
2) Corvette Sparkle Silver
3) Honda Championship White

and now this blue :)

and lovin the engine too :)

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » July 20th, 2010, 11:29 am

That blue is sweet. Updates...

Postby Monk BANzai » July 20th, 2010, 11:55 am

Honda White.....smaller cars come out with brighter colors...the blue wil ultimately make the car as a shape look smaller (from a Design perspective..lol)

yeah...and updates?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 20th, 2010, 11:30 pm

the entire front suspension of the car is in pieces and she's on jack stands :(

suspension and brakes upgrades in progress :) loads of photos and write up coming, makes no sense to psot while waiting on parts etc...

also looking to install a hydraulic ebrake, some bucket sats, have loads of dynamat, but will wait till after i paint for that :)

I need a 10 gallon fuel tank and some other bits... nice update soon :)

i hear ya on the white Banzai, but looking at allot of colors recently.. silver, blue, green crey, fruck if i know... been watching Suzuki Swift Ice Blue or whatever (real light metallic blue) - but i dunno

when its in primer, i am going to pick the color swatches, shuffle em on a table, close my eyes and pick one

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 28th, 2010, 11:06 am

Fellas, i kinda undecided with my suspension swap... so here is a little write up on my ideas..

** NOTE this is NOT a guide for the newbs reading this, but rather ideas on suspension swaps and custom setups. All welding should be done by professionals and note that this may be illegal depending on where you are from and what you do. I am also not a mechanic, I do all my own stunts and my favorite color is green **

First I have a B110 Datsun 1200 Sedan and it has McPherson Strut style suspension

This is similar to most old school JDM cars and all old school Nissans if I am not mistaken. Because the B110 (B120, B310 120y's, 510 SSS, 910 Bluebird, 240z, 260z, 280z and 280zx, 300zx and even AE86 and KE Corollas etc) use the same kind of suspension this same principles and designs can be applied in most cases.

Because the spindle is attached to the suspension strut conventional coil-overs dont work, as most of them dont come with the spindle attached. Here are a few options for the DIY people

I have the stock B110 struts which I have taken apart the entire front suspension and brakes etc.. I also have 280zx front struts, brakes.. here are the two below side by side, the difference is the 280zx strut is shorter and thicker (b110 struts are ~45mm OD and 280zx are 51mm OD) the 280zx struts are also the same thickness as 510 struts 310 struts, AE86 struts and allot fo other JDM old school cars (as well as Euros) so that means lots of adjustable shock inserts from Koni, Bilstien, KYB and Tokico will work in them.

Below are some common suspension setups for the Datsun DIY'er and my choices with pros and cons..

1) B110 Stock Strut Coilover Conversion
- Ground Control Coilover Kit 200lbs Springs and 2.5" Alum top hat
- Cut B110 Struts to match the length of the shock insert you are going to use
- Techno Toy Tuning Camber Plates (fit most Nissan/Toyota)
- New Koni/KYB/Tokico/Bilstien etc Inserts
- Optional (T3 LCA weld on adj kit and T3 adj caster rods)

S13 Caliper and Rotor Upgrade
- remove calipers brake rotor from S13 Spindle
- remove B110 rotor from hub
- mill diameter of B110 hub to allow S13 rotor to slide over
- Assemble S13 rotor and B110 hub on B110 spindle with the S13 coilovers fitted.
- line up caliper on rotor and make braket

Pros: keeps original track geometry etc.. if done right and parts matched correctly it can be a potent light weight combo. can use deep dish wheels :P keeps OEM control arms etc.. With the optional lower control arm adjustment and caster rod adjustment, very nice set up.

Cons: Lots of test and tuning of parts to get right, limited adjustability, unlimited budget.. Needs custom brake bracket for S13 brakes. need to watch wheel back spacing, B110 struts can bend under abuse and age, small inserts also get very hot and loose performance after long hard drives on lowered cars.

Kinda like this

2) B110 Spindles with AE86 or S13 Coilover Welded On to strut tube
- unthread lower strut tube from coilover assembly
- Cut S13 spindle mounts and brake line brackets off the S13 lower coilover adjustable strut tube
- cut Datsun B110 Strut tubes
- Weld S13 lower coilover adjustable strut tube to Datsun B110 Strut tube (B110 Strut tube may fit inside the ID of some coilover lower tubes)
- reassemble coilover assembly
- S13 Camber Plates (from coilovers)

Optional S13 Brake Upgrade
- remove calipers brake rotor from S13 Spindle
- remove B110 rotor from hub
- mill diameter of B110 hub to allow S13 rotor to slide over
- Assemble S13 rotor and B110 hub on B110 spindle with the S13 coilovers fitted.
- line up caliper on rotor and make braket, make lines etc..

Pros: Lots of coilvoer kits to choose from (used locally), Quality parts new.. Lots of adjustability - You can adjust the height from the lower strut tube, keeping the spring compression from the spring perch... it keeps OEM geometry, can use deep dish wheels :P same as above

Cons: lots of welding, cutting & S13's are much heavier than 1200's, AE86's may be better choice.. Used parts make it cheap, but new parts with custom springs can add up.. need to watch wheel back spacing

here is a similar set up on a 510..

3) 280zx Struts with Ground Control Kit
- Ground Control Coilover Kit 200lbs Springs and 2.5" Alum top hat
- Cut 280zx Struts
- Techno Toy Tuning Camber Plates
- New Bilstien Inserts (VW rabbit)
- B310 LCA and Tension Rods, new steering knuckles etc..
- Optional (T3 LCA weld on adj kit and T3 adj caster rods)
- 280z single piston calipers

Pros: covered in the 510 world over and over, strong struts, lots of damper choices for adjustable damper.. big brakes, big rotors..

Cons: HEAVY, brake upgrades/choices are lame (in my area), need to really test and tune this set up (as all) to get right..

here is the 280zx setup

4) S13 Coilovers Swap
- S13 Spindle, Hub, Lower Control Arm and Custom Caster Rod
- Drill out lower control arm holes
- Bolt up entire S13 front Suspension with adjustable tension/caster rods, camber plates etc..
-

Pros: Lots of choices for coilovers, S13 brakes are there and allow for lots of upgrades, poly bushing kits are everywhere, adjustable damper and you can adjust the height from the lower strut tube, keeping the spring compression from the spring perch

Cons: increased track by about 60mm = fwd offsets :( S13's are heavy etc..
here is the S13 set up

Now i plan on running fender flares, but would like the same offset front and back (thinking 15x7 wheels with +15 offset)..

I am leaning more towards option 2, the S13/AE86 coilovers on B110 spindles.. I found some Tein Adjustable S13 coilovers and was thinking to use them as they have the adjustable lower perch, come with camber tops and have adjustable damper.. I may replace the springs with lower rate springs from ground control later or use the rear springs as thye are usually softer. the coilovers in the bamboo come with S13 calipers and rotors so that takes care of brakes some what..

What are your thoughts on these swaps and the direction i am thinking of going in?? Should have it soon.. will post the mock ups.

thanks

Postby Monk BANzai » July 28th, 2010, 11:53 am

one adage my mechanic always works by is this: "when doing homolgomations in parts, ensure that the pre-work is solid". In other words....whilst i like this:

"I am leaning more towards option 2, the S13/AE86 coilovers on B110 spindles.. I found some Tein Adjustable S13 coilovers and was thinking to use them as they have the adjustable lower perch, come with camber tops and have adjustable damper.. I may replace the springs with lower rate springs from ground control later or use the rear springs as thye are usually softer. the coilovers in the bamboo come with S13 calipers and rotors so that takes care of brakes some what.."

make sure that the pre fab work is flawless. When we did the S13 swap on the Dougla (Box Lancer) that was the primary concern. of course, once we started the work we realized that the structure of the car itself was weak....

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 28th, 2010, 1:22 pm

yeah BCRltd will be doing the welding.. (he hasnt seen it yet, but I am sure he can handle it)

Megan Racing, DC and other kits for the AE86 are exactly like this one:

they sell you the front coilovers with the camber kit etc, but just the lower strut tube that you then weld to the cut AE86 struts with OEM spindle.. you leave 40mm of the AE86 strut and slide the lower strut tube from Megan Racing, DC, Stance etc over the 40mm you left on the strut and then weld it round (tig or mig only) and then some ppl add a bracket from the tube to the spindle to reinforce it.

like this:

pressed down to the spindle

finished

from what i have been reading around this is pretty common and holds up extremely well.. the only concern i have is that the B110 struts are thinner in OD than the AE86/280zx etc struts so there is more space between the Lower coilover tube and the B110 strut... so i may need to put a spacer between the two.. Bruce will know what to do..

the guy above didn't even bother to cut the original S13 spindle mounts off. just rotated it so it was out of the way..

Worse case senario i will use the 280zx strut cut down and weld on the Lower coilover tube as that would be the tighter fit.

here is another example of it done:

here you can see the lower tube welded onto the 280zx struts in this case.. the lower tube allows the shock and spring cup etc to moved up and down adjusting height without adjusting spring tension and load etc.. so can adjust height without changing the spring/damper dynamics. the lower collar is adjusted to where you want the height to be.

i have been really researching this front suspension setup.. and it looks like this is the way I am heading.. but i may bolt up the S13 bits to be able to compare..

Postby Monk BANzai » July 29th, 2010, 12:53 am

^^^ feeling that setup.....welding work looks the biz as well..

dtevin

Postby dtevin » August 3rd, 2010, 1:00 am

bess 1200 hope u continue postin progress

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 7th, 2010, 7:00 pm

I went in the bamboo for S13 coilovers that were double height adjustable but only came up with regular one way height adjustable setups, but this Tein HA setup for a RPS13 (180sx) was damper and height adjustable, had spherical bearing top camber plates and included RPS13 front rotors (280mm i think) and big single piston brake calipers with 4 lug hubs, lower control arms and spindles etc.

I bolted the entire thing up in a couple of hours just to see what it would look like and how much it widened the front track because of the longer lower control arms. It has definitely added about an inch on either side and would make the wider flares I plan on getting necessary or I would have to run lame front wheel drive offset wheels to compensate for the increased front track.

I have tot get the correct size bolts for the lower control arms and the correct nut for the lower ball joint. I need to get S13 outer tie rod ends and another 1200 driver’s side inner tie rod end.

(more photos on the blog)
I also need to get the 1200 front caster rods modified for the S13 lower control arms. The 14″ wheels I had on the stock front setup can’t even fit on these massive rotors and calipers, so either I keep the car down until I can afford the wheels, or I find some wheels that fit for now.

Here are some photos of everything on the car, not shown are the rear coilovers that I also got that are also damper adjustable, I will be removing the springs, and just using the dampers in the back with the stock leaf springs with a couple leaves removed.
DSCN3035.jpg
DSCN3029.jpg
DSCN3021.jpg
DSCN3018.jpg
DSCN3017.jpg
DSCN3016.jpg