NISSCORT

speed

Re: my escort project

Postby speed » July 30th, 2010, 8:06 am

yer dat was meh father not me i nuh ignorant is jus u lik lil boy ting

Postby Rooki3 » July 30th, 2010, 8:32 am

allyuh cool it nah

Postby MG Man » July 30th, 2010, 9:10 am

sigh
one more on the road

speed

Postby speed » July 30th, 2010, 12:29 pm

is nuh lik i goin an drive de car anytime soon so i doh know war sheit he tlkin

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » July 30th, 2010, 12:33 pm

:ban:

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » July 30th, 2010, 12:58 pm

Midnight_Demon wrote::ban:

He needs a ticky time out :lol:

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » July 30th, 2010, 11:29 pm

speed wrote:yer dat was meh father not me i nuh ignorant is jus u lik lil boy ting

so makeing sure yuh en end up in the hands of the law is lil boi thing i done yes u go brave
i strongly think the ched should be deleted for your own safety

speed

Postby speed » July 31st, 2010, 7:23 am

yer i tink so to

d spike

Postby d spike » July 31st, 2010, 1:40 pm

Quit quibbling, and update us on the car... isn't that what the thread is about?

Have you made up your mind about the choice of engine? (Wasn't it a 2litre in the car? What's so wrong with that engine?)

speed

Postby speed » August 1st, 2010, 12:31 am

i jus war upgrade from de carb ting

d spike

Postby d spike » August 1st, 2010, 11:26 am

Assuming it's a 2litre Pinto, "de carb ting" don't get much better than the double-throat weber (what do you have? A single throat?) Side-draughts do give you more, but the sheer murder you can commit with the weber (32/36, for example) on a stock 2000, in an escort... that combi is considered almost perfect for a street car that balances economy, self-repair, and decimation of any jappo fart of a plastic oversized toycar... By the way, that's the combination I use. The side-draughts have sat under the bed for years now (I'll use them on some project, yeah, yeah), the double-throat does the damage and tuning it is as easy as wrecking an asian automobile.

What it is exactly that you want? What is in the car now?
I'm not hearing any word on the brakes. Too many projects that had serious potential, start of with fellahs jawing about what's under the hood... and end there, resulting in another expensive one-off mango-picker or lamp-post bender. Remember, you will want to stop the car... the escort's brakes are good, but they must be in working order. (In order to brag about your car's driving, you have to be alive afterwards.) The front brake assembly is basically the same as the cortina and the 280c, so unless you plan on rocket boosters, they will do the job for now.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » August 1st, 2010, 12:03 pm

d spike wrote:Assuming it's a 2litre Pinto, "de carb ting" don't get much better than the double-throat weber (what do you have? A single throat?) Side-draughts do give you more, but the sheer murder you can commit with the weber (32/36, for example) on a stock 2000, in an escort... that combi is considered almost perfect for a street car that balances economy, self-repair, and decimation of any jappo fart of a plastic oversized toycar... By the way, that's the combination I use. The side-draughts have sat under the bed for years now (I'll use them on some project, yeah, yeah), the double-throat does the damage and tuning it is as easy as wrecking an asian automobile.

I'm not hearing any word on the brakes. Too many projects that had serious potential, start of with fellahs jawing about what's under the hood... and end there, resulting in another expensive one-off mango-picker or lamp-post bender. Remember, you will want to stop the car... the escort's brakes are good, but they must be in working order. (In order to brag about your car's driving, you have to be alive afterwards.) The front brake assembly is basically the same as the cortina and the 280c, so unless you plan on rocket boosters, they will do the job for now.

D spike u really think that a stock 2litre pinto with a double throat webber can actually run these modern day cars with their fancy vvl systems and coil packs??? Im just asking.
Cus of the line yuh could prolly hold dem off but after 2nd gear its a different story>> :|

Postby MG Man » August 1st, 2010, 12:13 pm

^^^I know of one 2 litre pinto putting out over 200bhp
owner used to run down Subraus and scare the crap outta them.................and he was running a 3 speed AUTOMATIC
Burton head, Janspeed exhaust, twin webers etc
car was a monster
keep in mind Ford used to run 260bhp rally cars back in the late 1970s

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » August 1st, 2010, 12:32 pm

MG Man wrote:^^^I know of one 2 litre pinto putting out over 200bhp
owner used to run down Subraus and scare the crap outta them.................and he was running a 3 speed AUTOMATIC
Burton head, Janspeed exhaust, twin webers etc
car was a monster
keep in mind Ford used to run 260bhp rally cars back in the late 1970s

MG man 200bhp N/A out of a pinto is possible...but only a handful of ppl can do it. It takes immense mods and machine work to get that engine to 200bhp.and i dont believe anyone can do it in trinidad. Holbay did it, david vizard did it....and a few other companies can do it in england and norway etc and they still invest heavily to this day into after market performance parts. You will more likely see 180-190bhp from a N/A pinto.
They recently started making cnc machines aluminum heads for the pinto but at around 3000 pounds its not cheap.
Its a good engine in stock form and even with a cam and a webber you and the stage 2 head you can get 155bhp relaibily with around 160ft/lbs thats a very nice combo. But again you have to know what to do.
The 260bhp rally from the 70's were not pinto's but BDA/BDG engines...TWIN CAM 16V. I believe.(correct me if im wrong)

Postby MG Man » August 1st, 2010, 1:02 pm

my bad you are correct about the BDA
regarding local tuners, I know guys who have bought complete engines from Holbay (yeah they don;t have to dig too deep in their pockets)...............There are a handful of people who can build a 200bhp Ford.............not the mango tree mechanic variety, but guys who have actually studied the theory and practical

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » August 1st, 2010, 1:11 pm

^^them guys long gone MG Man... :lol: Everybody on Japanese performance now.
Sad really.

Postby Rooki3 » August 1st, 2010, 2:27 pm

Japanese performance

FTW

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 1st, 2010, 6:53 pm

azoturbo wrote:
speed wrote:made ah mstak is ah normal sr20 engin an box

azo tak yuh time eh u eva see me drivin any car i does do work by ruffy gone drive yuh dead zuki nah

or my dead zuki orrrrrr so dat burnout u do by the cemetery the other day that waz yuh father driving awah ???

yuh young so i expect ignorance the law get much more serious than it was before eh but i go stay wit my dead zuki lewe see if u en get ban from gettin yuh permit i go give yuh a drop dont worry

wen u say cemetary is tht cemetary street up five rivers where d mechanic is???

jus asking

Postby Rooki3 » August 1st, 2010, 8:46 pm

judging from speed's location, i'll say yes

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » August 1st, 2010, 8:50 pm

gracen wrote:
azoturbo wrote:
speed wrote:made ah mstak is ah normal sr20 engin an box

azo tak yuh time eh u eva see me drivin any car i does do work by ruffy gone drive yuh dead zuki nah

or my dead zuki orrrrrr so dat burnout u do by the cemetery the other day that waz yuh father driving awah ???

yuh young so i expect ignorance the law get much more serious than it was before eh but i go stay wit my dead zuki lewe see if u en get ban from gettin yuh permit i go give yuh a drop dont worry

boi by the cemetery on yuh way up 2 hot shuts

wen u say cemetary is tht cemetary street up five rivers where d mechanic is???

jus asking

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 1st, 2010, 10:02 pm

Rooki3 wrote:judging from speed's location, i'll say yes

lol i thought so

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » August 1st, 2010, 10:33 pm

is d cemetery goin up by hot shots

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 1st, 2010, 11:01 pm

hot shots?

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » August 1st, 2010, 11:13 pm

gracen wrote:hot shots?

d bar up crown street i live trini hoss or yuh from south

d spike

Postby d spike » August 1st, 2010, 11:26 pm

trini mk5 wrote:
d spike wrote:Assuming it's a 2litre Pinto, "de carb ting" don't get much better than the double-throat weber (what do you have? A single throat?) Side-draughts do give you more, but the sheer murder you can commit with the weber (32/36, for example) on a stock 2000, in an escort... that combi is considered almost perfect for a street car that balances economy, self-repair, and decimation of any jappo fart of a plastic oversized toycar... By the way, that's the combination I use. The side-draughts have sat under the bed for years now (I'll use them on some project, yeah, yeah), the double-throat does the damage and tuning it is as easy as wrecking an asian automobile.

D spike u really think that a stock 2litre pinto with a double throat webber can actually run these modern day cars with their fancy vvl systems and coil packs??? Im just asking.
Cus of the line yuh could prolly hold dem off but after 2nd gear its a different story>> :|

It certainly will be a contender. Just realise that I am talking about a car that can run, yet not break the bank when repairs are due - and those repairs should not be frequent! :lol:
For a starter vehicle, Speed could do a lot worse. I know quite a few guys who would sell various family members for an Escort with a 2000cc Pinto...
trini mk5 wrote:them guys long gone MG Man... :lol: Everybody on Japanese performance now.
Sad really.

No, not everybody. Some are still here. I have been trying to encourage a group of them to attend Solodex, and to take part... but they are wary/weary of the idiots whose kindest remark is along the lines of, "Why yuh eh put ah SR in dat?" (and this is after they have doled out many a cut-arse on more "modern" cars)... so they will attend... but only when everybody's project is complete.
Here is one of them... a Hillman Hunter with a 2000cc Pinto, stock cam, headers, and a pair of IDFs.
They say the devil finds work for idle hands, and today we met and were idle... So we painted lines on the garage floor by doing this nonsense today with the same car.
(And this car, Speed, is heavier than the Escort!)
A stock 2litre Pinto with a double-throat is sufficiently threatening to make the far more expensive plastic cars sit up and pay attention - and is far more easy on the pocket-book. (Speed, you can have a car worth talking about, and focus your finances on the other areas in your life. :lol:) Headers, headwork... then side-draughts, perhaps a cam... (brakes, brakes, brakes!) these are extras that come in time, that if you do them yourself, don't cost the arm and leg that a Honda demands (including the chip).

The best part about running one of these - as I always say - is if they whip you, they can't boast about it for fear of looking like a fool... and when you whip them, it hurts them worse.

Cheers

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » August 1st, 2010, 11:52 pm

if yuh had ah SR in dat yuh woulda get more tyressss!!!

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 2nd, 2010, 12:06 am

enuff wit d sr20 ting nah lol :D

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 2nd, 2010, 12:11 am

speed wrote:i jus war upgrade from de carb ting

SR18 MUHA :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

had one of those escorts myself a few years back

had a 1.8 from teh froeign bluebird engine with ah 280c tranny and brake booster from the 1.6 corolla man dat ting was ah beast!

btw i know that those escorts dont come with A/C what u plan to do?

Postby Rooki3 » August 2nd, 2010, 12:21 am

SR18

whut???

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » August 2nd, 2010, 7:50 am

TriniVdub wrote:if yuh had ah SR in dat yuh woulda get more tyressss!!!

Hush yuh kant :lol: :lol: