<<TriniTuner 2009 F1 Thread>>

Postby Monk BANzai » April 5th, 2009, 2:19 pm

(sharpens 3line fuh MG who will come in ched and make some comment about how this and that and d other..and oh if schumi was dey and lalala helicopter.....

*sharpens.... * sharpens...)

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » April 5th, 2009, 4:57 pm

noshownogo wrote:the stars really aligning for Button yes...imagine after a lengthy career with little to show, just when he thought he was being forced into F1 retirement due to Honda pulling out. Brawn/Vigrin to the rescue, Jenson having the best ride of his life in this fair tale story...lets see how long before his chariot turn into a pumpkin.

until the others get their diffusers!

Postby noshownogo » April 5th, 2009, 8:14 pm

^^2 consecutive wins for Jenson is already two more then he ever had, so my statement still holds true.

Postby teems1 » April 5th, 2009, 9:43 pm

JoKeR1980 wrote:
noshownogo wrote:the stars really aligning for Button yes...imagine after a lengthy career with little to show, just when he thought he was being forced into F1 retirement due to Honda pulling out. Brawn/Vigrin to the rescue, Jenson having the best ride of his life in this fair tale story...lets see how long before his chariot turn into a pumpkin.

After the hearing on 14th April in France, the diffusers could be declared illegal by the FIA and Brawn, Toyota and Williams could lose their points/podiums.

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » April 5th, 2009, 10:13 pm

as the man who saw 3 holes in the ground said, "well, well, well"

that could make quite a few ppl mighty angry...any other motor sport have bacchnal like F1? :lol:

Postby teems1 » April 5th, 2009, 10:32 pm

JoKeR1980 wrote:as the man who saw 3 holes in the ground said, "well, well, well"

that could make quite a few ppl mighty angry...any other motor sport have bacchnal like F1? :lol:

F1 thrives off controversy especially with McLaren

remember 2007 with spygate, 2008 with Spa...

2009 season has just 2 races complete and already Lewis is grabbing headlines for all the wrong reasons...

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » April 5th, 2009, 10:44 pm

but it seems like more action happens off track than on recently...

anyway, i hope ferrari and mclaren could get their act together to give the diffuser 3 a run for their money

dmitc

Postby dmitc » April 6th, 2009, 8:59 am

teems1 wrote:
JoKeR1980 wrote:

After the hearing on 14th April in France, the diffusers could be declared illegal by the FIA and Brawn, Toyota and Williams could lose their points/podiums.

they would not take away the point or podiums even if they are deemed illigal, which by now has not happened and i suspect would not happen come the 14th.

dmitc

Postby dmitc » April 6th, 2009, 9:01 am

worksux101 wrote:ma bad :oops: the race was boring without the rain...turned out to be boring anyway you look at it :roll:

Dissapointing for Glock...one more lap and he would've won...
And very lucky for Heidfeld...even half a lap again and he would've ended up out of the points with his intermediates...
If nothin else, FA prove that he's still perhaps the best driver on the grid in a sh!t car...Renault still proving that they've got the best KERS setup of any team...

Really? ok i guess you know something i don't

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 6th, 2009, 9:13 am

dmitc wrote:
teems1 wrote:
JoKeR1980 wrote:

they would not take away the point or podiums even if they are deemed illigal, which by now has not happened and i suspect would not happen come the 14th.

They can take away the points from Malaysia...not from Australia...
The diffusers were deemed legal for Australia and thus they may be allowed to race...
BMW filed another protest before the Malaysian weekend, so that should they be deemed illegal after another review, their points would be docked...
If FIA decide to brand them legal, then the teams with big budgets, like Ferrari, McLaren and Renault, are all going to have the bigger diffuser come the European legs...RBR are already rumoured to have one designed and just waiting to be fitted on the car as soon as its completely deemed legal...

And yes, did you watch the race? FA took an obviously sh!t car on soft tires that were degrading badly...KERS or no KERS, he held off 3 cars that were significantly faster than him, then passing by sheer balls and driving ability when they were dead...i'm not a fan of his at all, but he is a helluva driver, no doubt about it...

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 6th, 2009, 9:39 am

Brawn: Ferrari, McLaren paying for 2008 success
Monday 6th April 2009

Ross Brawn reckons Ferrari and McLaren are currently paying for last year's success while his own Brawn GP outfit is benefiting from a dismal 2008.

Last year, fighting for the World titles, both Ferrari and McLaren were forced to concentrate their efforts on the continued development of their 2008 challengers and as such weren't able to turn their full attention to this year's vastly new designs.

This year, though, the situation is vastly different as, instead of leading the title races, McLaren have bagged just one point from two races while Ferrari have yet to even get off this mark.

"It is a reflection of what has gone on in the last year or two," Brawn told Reuters.

"McLaren and Ferrari had a Championship to fight over and I can understand that it was very difficult for them to say 'Look, we'll stop pushing this year and put our effort into next year'."

Brawn on the other hand had most of last year to work on the new car as it quickly became apparent that the 2008 Honda could not be a success.

"For us it was a very easy decision. It wasn't a clever one, just a very easy one. We didn't have a very good car so why waste time on it?" added Brawn, who has seen his driver Jenson Button win both this year's opening events.

The Englishman, though, is confident that both Ferrari and McLaren will be fighting for race wins and the title before too long. "They are both very strong and fantastic engineering companies so they will sort it out," he said.

My initial point EXACTLY...the likes of Brawn GP and co are doing this well because last year they had nothing to fight for, and had a chance to start development of this year's car, with a ton of rule changes, much earlier than the others...

Only a matter of time before the bigger teams with high budgets catch up...will take awhile, but they'll get there as they always do...should make for a very interesting championship!

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » April 6th, 2009, 10:10 am

but the brawn gp, which was then the honda team, stopped working on their car for last year when they realized the $hit season they were having to concentrate on this year's car, one reason why they have a better car and the diffuser as well as the drivers were more comfortable with their new cars than the others could be. they have been ahead of the others in preparation but it will be a matter of time before the others catch up...hopefully...

and when last have ferrari made such mistakes like calling in massa in q1 and calling in kimi for wet tyres when the rain did not come down as yet...btw anyone knows why kimi retired when the red flag came out?

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » April 6th, 2009, 10:33 am

^maybe did not want to risk the car cuz there was no hope for points

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » April 6th, 2009, 11:23 am

who've thought button x 2... lawls

Postby noshownogo » April 6th, 2009, 12:06 pm

Malaysian Grand Prix - selected team and driver quotes

http://www.formula1.com/news/headlines/2009/4/9150.html

interesting insight into some of the drivers thoughts from the Malaysian GP

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » April 6th, 2009, 12:28 pm

^ i like Vettel.... "stupid car, let me do ettt"

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 6th, 2009, 12:44 pm

^maybe did not want to risk the car cuz there was no hope for points

Same with Australia...no hope for points so they pulled him in...
Vettel is deffo one for the future...just likes to race...

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » April 6th, 2009, 7:55 pm

biggest let down since last year has to be Nelson Piquet Jr. though....the guy was touted so much, and except for the fortunate situation at Hockenheim he hasn't done much. granted, anyone would struggle in the renault #2 car and being in alonso's shadow but the guy should be doing more...

Postby MG Man » April 6th, 2009, 10:01 pm

God Bless the Black Top* wrote:who've thought button x 2... lawls

I always knew :!:

Waits for Banzai's witty remark
muahahahahahahahaha
PS No former British F1 driver was a snob.........and Hamilton does not belong in their league

Postby Monk BANzai » April 6th, 2009, 10:41 pm

muahahahahahahahaha
PS No former British F1 driver was a snob.........and Hamilton does not belong in their league

no witty remark...but you self said last yr that Button was a "button" when it came to driving....that put him in a prancing heeehaw car he cudnt do squat!!!...is you say that!! not me!!...

all British drivers are/were/will be snobs....ALL!...

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 6th, 2009, 11:33 pm

I always knew

He's not that good a driver...and i'm sure you know that....you're just still experiencing the pseudobritish joy with yourself :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I'm hoping this diffuser crap gets sorted soon so we can see more even battles...
The RBR team is crazy strong this year though, considering they are the only top team not using it...

Postby MG Man » April 7th, 2009, 12:13 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:

muahahahahahahahaha

no witty remark...but you self said last yr that Button was a "button" when it came to driving....that put him in a prancing heeehaw car he cudnt do squat!!!...is you say that!! not me!!...

all British drivers are/were/will be snobs....ALL!...

***scratches head............***
all pre-Lola@dex memories have gone all wonky

Postby Monk BANzai » April 7th, 2009, 1:18 am

worksux101 wrote:
I always knew

He's not that good a driver...and i'm sure you know that....you're just still experiencing the pseudobritish joy with yourself :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I'm hoping this diffuser crap gets sorted soon so we can see more even battles...
The RBR team is crazy strong this year though, considering they are the only top team not using it...

*jots down date and time of this post.....cuz IF it balances out..and Hammie ends up being a formidable force...then.....

yunno....ahh never mind (see's MG MAN's emo meter gettign red again...)

Postby MG Man » April 7th, 2009, 1:27 am

so is it pronounced emometer like thermometer?
or emo-meeeeeeeeeter? :lol:

djaggs

Postby djaggs » April 7th, 2009, 8:37 am

Braun is a brilliant F1 engineer.

He gave Benetton the championship and Schumacher fis first when he was at benetton. They werent really a fancied team in those days.

Ferrari only started winning again when they bought over the Benetton car and team and its driver (Schumacher) and all their engineers, including Braun who were by the way....all British, not italian.

This current car was developed under the guidance of Braun during the last season.
Braun is the Angelo Dundee of racing.

And I still say Alonso is the best F1 driver in the world today, he is an muffler bearing yes...but in terms of all around ability, he is the best. You just have to find some old videos of him battling against Schumacher and you will see what I mean. His only weakness is juvenile temper, if he had the coolness of a Finn he would be almost perfect.

aR&D

Postby aR&D » April 7th, 2009, 11:39 am

The possible exit from Formula One of Mercedes-Benz is back on the radar, amid the 'lie-gate' McLaren scandal and the collaboration's relatively poor start to the season.

The German broadcaster Sudwestrundfunk reports that, on Wednesday this week, a shareholder's meeting of the Mercedes parent Daimler is scheduled.

The carmaker is currently haemorrhaging a reported $1 billion per month, so drastic cost-saving measures - like capping executives pay - are believed to be on the agenda for the April 8 meeting.

At the same time, Mercedes-Benz Motorsport Vice President Norbert Haug in Malaysia last weekend said there could be no guarantees about the future of the Stuttgart based marque in F1.

"If you're asking me 'are we here for the next ten years?' then everybody who is honest, and I am honest, cannot give you an answer about how the world, the car industry, the economical surroundings will develop," he is quoted as saying by GP Week.

"I hope it changes.
Click here to find out more!
It's not easy for anybody but I hope it changes."

Haug was also asked about how the 'lie-gate' scandal together with McLaren's lack of competitiveness is complicating the decision.

The latest news on Monday is that the FIA is poised to summon McLaren Mercedes to the World Motor Sport Council to account for its behaviour over 'lie-gate'.

"Victories would be better than having discussions like these," the German admitted. "But we are clearly unhappy with the situation, as it is right now."

and closely followed by

Max Mosley has revealed plans for a "world engine" that in 2013 would be capable of powering FIA categories including Formula One, World Rally Championship and Formula Two.

On a visit last weekend to the rally of Portugal he said: "It would work in turbocharged form for F1 and then all the way down to naturally aspirated form for the lesser categories and in a turbocharged or naturally aspirated form for the World Rally Championship."

The FIA President said the planning phase of the project is in its ‘very early days’, with the car manufacturers to be involved.

In the case of F1, he said ‘peripheral areas’ of the engine will be open for development, including KERS and other energy recovery systems to be introduced.
Click here to find out more!

Asked for further information, he said energy could be collected not only from braking heat as at present, but "from exhausts and even from the cooling system."

Referring to the universal FIA engine, he added: "If we can - and I'm not sure we can - find a way of combining all forms of motor sport in that system then this would be useful because of the huge sums spent on motor sport."

Pardon my "noobness" to F1 history but it seems (my recollection) the last big development coming out of F1 and finding its way onto domestic vehicles was VTEC and VVT. If KERS and "...exhausts and even from the cooling system" are fine tuned and developed in F1 i think these technologies would make vast difference in the efficiency, economy and green-appeal of domestic motor vehicles.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 7th, 2009, 1:25 pm

^Well that depends on your definition of major...some may argue paddle shifters are major :lol:
Also the whole VTEC VVT etc arose from older technology, perhaps just made popular by F1...i think MG Man would know the history better...

KERS imho would be a major disaster on the roads unless they find a way to continually use it rather than give drivers a button to activate it...like a mini nitrous for some...

Fyi also, the single engine bit was an idea that's been thrown around for the last 3+ years...sicne they started enforcing the one engine per weekend rule, that was always the end goal to get to that state...

Merc also released a statement yday i believe it was, that they had no intentions of pulling out of F1 or stopping their supply...will certainly be interesting to see at what point they seriously slow down development of their engine and allow each customer team to really tinker with their engines because they can no longer afford to...

djaggs, agreed...but its also not that simple with regard to braWn (not braun :) ) given that at Ferrari he had a huge budget and also some great characters around him, Jean Todt being the msot noticeable...he also had one of the greatest drivers ever in his car who could pull time out of his left butt cheek when necessary...
Also consider that he's had a huge jump on everyone but Toyota with regard to a completely redesigned car, and he has the use of the 'cheat' rear diffuser...Adrian Newey (from RBR) imho deserves more credit than this thusf ar this year...

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » April 7th, 2009, 2:03 pm

Hamilton's future 'in doubt'
Newspaper suggests champion may move on
Last updated: 7th April 2009

Formula 1 Betting - Drivers Championship Winner
Button 11/8, Barrichello 6/1, Raikkonen 8/1, Hamilton 8/1, Massa 8/1, Vettel 9/1, Trulli 10/1 or Alonso 12/1.
Win Soccer AM tickets with Sky Bet

Hamilton: torrid week

Related links
Teams
McLaren
Also see
F1 forum
Live coverage
Bet now with Sky Bet
Anthony Hamilton is reportedly considering whether he should advise his son Lewis to leave McLaren.

In the wake of the 'liargate' scandal, which saw the near-tearful World Champion offer a grovelling public apology on Friday in Sepang after admitting he misled Australian GP stewards upon the instruction of McLaren's Sporting Director Dave Ryan, The Daily Mail claims that 'Hamilton's future with McLaren is on a knife-edge'.

'Hamilton Snr is understood to be pondering whether to turn his back on McLaren, the team who supported Lewis through the ranks at an estimated cost of £5million, and switch to rivals less prone to shooting themselves in the foot,' the newspaper reports.

'The biggest stumbling block to engineering an escape route concerns where to place Lewis.

'Ferrari are favourites, if he can wriggle out of his five-year contract worth £75m, but they are currently as slow as McLaren. He is into his second year of the deal but various get-out clauses could cut his stay short.'

he should go Renault lol! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Maserati » April 7th, 2009, 2:14 pm

if is anyone to leave ferrari it'll be kimi :(
not that he would mind it would appear..very laid back guy from all accounts.

dmitc

Postby dmitc » April 7th, 2009, 4:02 pm

worksux101 wrote:and he has the use of the 'cheat' rear diffuser

woa strong words there.
they are legal at least for the time being, so says the race stewards and so says the FIA president even Luca would not go so far as to say that they are illegal.
Brawn and co. may be getting by on a technicallity but they not cheating.

remember this from '05
The tuned mass damper was introduced as part of the suspension system by Renault, on its 2005 F1 car (the R25), at the 2005 Brazilian Grand Prix. It was deemed to be legal at first, and it was in use up to the 2006 German Grand Prix.

At Hockenheim, the mass damper was deemed by the FIA to be a moveable aerodynamic device due to the influence it had on the pitch attitude of the car, and hence, as a consequence, the performance of the aerodynamics.

The Stewards of the meeting deemed it legal, but the FIA appealed against that decision. Two weeks later, the FIA International Court of Appeal deemed the mass damper illegal.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tuned_mass_damper

no one accused renault of cheating, and rightfully so they were just using technology to make their car better, and i think that is what F1 should be about