Project S14.5 Spec R, Part II VE-T In the Making Page 26!!!

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » February 9th, 2009, 8:20 pm

TripleJs15, going with the new talked about Vipec. Just waiting on pricing.

tripleJs15

Postby tripleJs15 » February 10th, 2009, 4:09 pm

let me know, I can get you tomei stuff for a good price, tomei make the best sheit hands down.

find me an s14 or s15 sr head nah

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » February 10th, 2009, 9:00 pm

tripleJs15, get a price on the Tomei baffle for the RB26DETT sump ASAP. In my hand price as well.

tripleJs15

Postby tripleJs15 » February 20th, 2009, 5:58 pm

sorry it took so long, i sent you a message

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » February 25th, 2009, 8:05 am

Already ordered it it should be here this week. Should also be the final bit for the bottom end build. The block has been sitting so long since the machine work I am seeing some very slight surface rust on the deck. The block has been oiled to try and keep this from happening but what can you do. I used 2500 emory paper and removed some but as soon as the baffle comes in I will get the block built. Block is going to be blasted clean again and also removed the water and oil jackets to thoroughly clean the entire thing. Only thing left to do is to cut off the transfer case from the front sump. I want to do that this week so hopefully by weekend I can mount the block.

FORDRACING, I will need to swing by to use those tools :wink: . Will call you.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » March 9th, 2009, 2:30 pm

Looking for a CO2 bottle to accommodate a mig I am borrowing from a friend. Anyone has one they can lend to speed up this process?

robbieg

Postby robbieg » April 21st, 2009, 7:40 am

Bump, anything new bro?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 21st, 2009, 8:51 am

Well nope, getting things organized but between work and life on the whole things have slow down to a crawl. I have managed to book my friend for this weekend provided I have everything in place for him to come and finish the welding. I am currently working on completing wiring on the back shed so that a mig can be used comfortably along with proper lighting. I am also acquiring so sheet metal from a feloow tuner who will be disclosed later on to help facilitate my front wheel tubs to allow more clearance for the wheels up front, the rears will be pulled or contemplating running a 50mm over fender rivetted on.

As for the body most of the work is complete, just waiting on the stitching to be done so I can treat the metal work and then begin the rubbing and prepping process and primering, hopefully to be done by myself. As for a colour, I am still up in the air on it, I am most probably not going with the flat black as I am going to be running a wet carbon bonnet and trunklid and eventually doors as well so the look would not be the best and I really don't wanna be painting the CF parts matte black. My options are now gunmetla pretty much like my old S15 but a little darker, more like a graphite colour or a pearl white. If I go gunmetal then all my addons like suspension arms and engine bay will have to match so will be going with matte black and powder coated black items along with chrome and gunmetal, if I go pearl white (WKO) I will be going with either Driftworks Orange (as all my suspension is going to be Driftworks stuff), Yashio Pink as I love it or Takata Green although it has been played out, we'll see.

As for the engine, still in the process of collecting my measuring tools, this weekend I am going to be gapping the piston rings and going to be removing all the welsch plugs and washing the block with warm water along with pressure washing the entire block to try and remove all the metal filings from the machine work. The Sump still needs the end removed and the oil galleries widened somewhat so I may tackle that too, once done I will install the Tomei Baffle Kit I got and also have the extra sump fitting for oil return tigged on.

My main concern at this point is the car, once that is in progress then I can get cracking on the engine which should take a week max to put together seeing as I have most everything for it. I have somewhat changed my engine build list, it looks like this now,

R32 RB26DETT
Head -
New Valve Guides all reemed for stock valves
Stock springs and retainers with shimmed buckets
Head Oil Return Mod
All New Welsch Plugs
HKS Camshafts
Greddy Adjustable Cam Gears
Hopefully New Jun Cam Cap Bolts
Mines Cam Cover Baffles
Stock Coilpacks
Gasket Matched Intake Manifold to Head
Exhaust is Gasket Ported and Polished to be more efficient
Intake Ports are Gasket match not polished
Tomei complete Gasket kit for Intake

Block -
Stock R32 RB26DETT Block
Crosshatched Stock Bore
Polished Crank
Jun Crank Collar Snout
CP Pistons for stock bore
Stock GTR Rods - More than enough for my HP goal of 500HP with the occasional 550HP. Maybe if by the time I come across a set for a decent price I may replace, but with Carillos
ARP Rod Bolts
ARP Headstuds
ARP Mainbolts
Cosworth Custom Main and Rod Bearings
Modded AWD Sump for RWD
Tomei Baffle Kit
Widened Oil Galleries and possible wider Sump to hold a quart more oil at the bottom
HKS Oil Filter Relocator
HKS Oil Cooler with all Braided -10AN Lines

Turbos -
Nismo R32 Turbos - Ballbearing and capable of 600HP
Braided Oil and Water Lines
Stock R34 Gasket Matched Exhaust Manifolds
R34 J-Pipes - Much bigger and has a better flow than the R32 ones
Nismo Downpipe - The biggest you can get for a twin setup off the shelf

Drivetrain -
RB25DET Gearbox with a Nismo Twin Disc Setup
New Release Bearing and Nismo Big Slave Cylinder
Braided Clutch Line
Nismo Short Throw Shifter
McKinney Motorsports One Piece Driveshaft
McKinney Motorsports RB26DETT Install Kit
R33 GTsT Differential and axles

Suspension and Brakes -
Driftworks RUCAS
Driftworks Coilovers
Driftworks RLCAS
Driftworks Adjustable Front Tension Rods
Driftworks Adjustable Traction Arms
Driftworks Adjustable Toe Arms
Driftworks Front Bushings
Driftworks Diff Bushings
Driftworks Solid Rear Subframe Bushings
Skyline Stabalizer Bars Front and Rear with New End links and Rubbers
SPL Adjustable FLCAs
Megan Racing C-Pillar Bar
Cusco Front and Rear Strut Bars
Reinforced entire chassis via stitching
R33 GTsT Rear 2pot Brake Upgrade with Crossdrilled Rotors
BBK 4 Pot Brakes with 13" Cross Drilled Rotors and dogbone Caliper Bracket
Braided Brakelines
Tubbed Wheel Arches
Pulled Rear Fender to accommodate 18X9.5" wheels with a pretty low offset

Cooling -
Koyo KA-T/RB Radiator
SPAL Thin Cooling Fans
RB26DETT Samco Hoses
Custom Catch Can - Thinking about the RIPS Setup
4" Thick Trust Intercooler
HKS Intake Piping
HKS Air Filters
Custom Hotside 2"-3" Piping
Custom 3" Coldside Piping with Greddy Type R BOV

Fuel -
Tomei Fuel Rail
Nismo 550CC Injectors - Enough to get the car running and will upgrade later on
HKS Fuel Pressure Regulator with all Braided lines and Aeroquip Fittings
Not sure what lines I am using for supply and return but not stock
Stock Internal Fuel Pump used as a pickup
SARD Swirl Pot
Bosch External Pump

Exterior -
It's a Secret for now ;).

Not much of an update, things just all dismantled, really need to get the welding done to jumpstart this thing. Suspension should be in this week and then I can start doing some assembly.

Postby honda hoe » April 21st, 2009, 8:56 am

TriniGT, does real have patience to type so much

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 21st, 2009, 9:07 am

Boy I does just add to the list and paste it :lol:. Imagine the patience for this four year ole project, saving and saving and buying and bad spending and then as usual changing my mind on whether to go SR and then RB. If I weren't so deep in the RB I would have gone another route to put a twist on it, 2JZ. Yes I have always had a liking for it. But what can I say I am trying to make this project happen rather than sell it as usual and see someone finish and not to my liking. This is gonna happen even if it breaks me. Once all the bodywork is done then I can have an estimate on all other things and completion date.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » April 21st, 2009, 9:08 am

Copy and paste build diary?

Love the choice of suspension. Would love to know how they're brought in.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 21st, 2009, 9:18 am

Sent a payment and waiting for it to come in, delivery date is end of week but clearing I am not sure on, I am sure it will be expensive seeing as the package is 55Kg :shock: . As for copy and paste nah off the top of my head haha, have been seeing all these bits in my room and in the garage needing to get assembled and it is beginning to sicken me and much of my family members as well :lol:. Just want the friggin car exterior done already!!!!

robbieg

Postby robbieg » April 21st, 2009, 10:00 am

TriniGT wrote: have been seeing all these bits in my room and in the garage needing to get assembled and it is beginning to sicken me and much of my family members as well :lol:. Just want the friggin car exterior done already!!!!

Pressure!
So, you still need a color scheme? just some ideas

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 21st, 2009, 10:34 am

Was thinking a gloss black, with a wild offset colour and all stickered up courtesy Driftworks,
Or maybe nice White, simple and tough,
Or maybe a Graphite Colour, mental!!!
Remember this is not a daily driver :mrgreen: so I'm thinking WILD is the word, or is it SLEEPER.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » April 21st, 2009, 10:52 am

Graphicless, wingless, with some seriously dished rear, 10" should suffice:

Dark Purple

Carbon grey???

Pearl white with strategically placed, "discreet" driftworks graphic (probably rear windscreen).

If it were mine and I had the muula, Bayside blue with gold TE37s

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 21st, 2009, 10:57 am

I have the gold already for it, Was contemplating blue but not sure as yet on that, I think the carbon would go well with gloss black, gunmetal/graphite and white though. Midnight Purple was my favourite but I need to have the bodykit mocked up before I start making a colour choice. Colour is totally dependent on the style of kit. Midnight purple with gold is gangster as well.

robbieg

Postby robbieg » April 21st, 2009, 11:13 am

Midnight Purple is the sheeit

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 21st, 2009, 12:09 pm

Hmmm ..........

Blue.....

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 27th, 2009, 8:13 am

Well Friday I got a slip in work from TTPost to pickup up a package, item description was Auto Parts. My Driftworks suspension parts arrived. What I did not realize is that they didn't invoice my stuff properly and I had to pay the full brunt. I went there and the officer was very uncooperative and I left the place with no items and the price charged was almost the value of the items. I decided to try again when the shift changed and was able to renegotiate and in the end on Saturday morning came out with my two packages in hand and some money still in my pocket. Items are exactly what I paid for and I am more than happy with my purchase. Got my camera somewhat working so I will take some picks of my parts thus far.

The colour code has been narrowed down to three colours, pearl white (WK0 or QX1), Midnight Purple as seen on the R33 (LP2 Midnight Purple (no Chromalusion, has 2 pearl tinters Violet & Red) or R34 GTR (LV4 Midnight Purple II (Chromalusion Tinter KK760 Absolute Purplene & Vilot Pearl) or LXO Midnight Purple III (Chromalusion Tinter KK700 True Blazberry Prizm & 2 pearls red & Violet) and lastly Graphite (KH2 or KN6 or Dark Gunmetal Grey from the R35 GTR # KAD), not sure on the code as the WV2 S15 gunmetal is a little to light, I think the blue is a little too played out and every subaru I see is sporting it with gold wheels.

Postby honda hoe » April 27th, 2009, 8:34 am

how many things u hafta do again before she's finished?

Postby 16 cycles » April 27th, 2009, 8:44 am

agree with your reservations about the blue and gold colour scheme...

have seen some greys with a "wet-glass" like finish - goes good with any colour / design of rim

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 27th, 2009, 9:43 am

honda hoe wrote:how many things u hafta do again before she's finished?

Boy everything actually, car has yet to be welded to strengthen it. Waiting on a fella that is sponsoring some sheet metal for my engine bay wheel tubbing. Once that is in then I will get the cutting wheel out and remove the stock front wheels arch area and mock up the tubbing and cut the metal and have it welded in for good. Same time I am having the rest of the flooring strengthened and the engine bay stitched. As soon as that is done I am going to be epoxy priming the entire car to prevent poisture and surface rust.

After that I can begin some fitment checks with my wheels and front and rear fenders to ensure that all is pulled and whatnot befor final priming and paint. I am already seeing problems with the wheels as I have offered them up and the front fenders are off by 1.5", I am going to have either get handy with fibreglass or my plan is to get some metal fenders and have them slit and widened to accommodate the wheels. Not only is the width but also the offset that is causing the wheel to protrude so much.

Only thing to be ordered now as far as I can see is the carbon trunklid and some time down the road carbon doors, my body kit is already o the way and expected in 6-8 weeks. Should give me more than enough time to have the body sorted and also the engine built and installed :fingerscrossed:. My colour issue has gotten more complex as the Driftworks suspension items are in orange and black so there are only limited colours that contrast well with it either white, black but I am thinking to strip them and have them painted as I am really feeling the Midnight Purple or the Gunmetal.

infared

Postby infared » April 27th, 2009, 9:49 am

TriniGT,when u say s15.4, does this mean s15 lights front and back? or just front?

Postby honda hoe » April 27th, 2009, 9:51 am

man say everyting yes :lol:

u really have patience

good luck

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » April 27th, 2009, 9:52 am

TriniGT, this car must be like maintaining a household...

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 27th, 2009, 10:08 am

infared wrote:TriniGT,when u say s15.4, does this mean s15 lights front and back? or just front?

Ah ...... just maybe. I have done some tweeking and many an order for parts, interior, and exterior. I am hoping it turns out a gem.

infared

Postby infared » April 27th, 2009, 12:49 pm

TriniGT,ive been reading about the full (exterior) s15 conversion for the S14. the front is aight but they say the back is a beyotch to do. alot of work. good luck with the project meng, been following this since, hope to see it out by this year. btw, the r34 look sweet on the highway :oops: padna b13 couldnt keep up :lol:

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » April 27th, 2009, 1:18 pm

really nice project here... good details too

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 27th, 2009, 5:24 pm

paint it pearl white. you really think all that tubing and stuff necessary?? why? with the right offset and coilovers/track arms/steering knuckles etc you should be able to slam it and keep excellent geometry etc.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 28th, 2009, 7:30 am

I am using Driftworks suspension, one of the best in the business. For knuckles for the front it is the regular S14/S15 knuckles with new OEM hub and bearing setup, SPL LCAs, Driftworks bushings, Cusco Tension Rod Bracket Support Bar, Driftworks Tension Rods. For the back I am using Driftworks Rear LCAs, Drift works full bushing kit for the knuckles, R33 GTsT diff and axles with GTsT hubs, Driftworks RUCAs, Driftworks Traction Rods, Driftworks Toe Arms, Full Damper Adjustable Driftwork Pro Coilovers, Solid Subframe Aluminum Bushings, Upgrade Diff Bushings, Upgraded stabalizer bar rubbers and end Links and bushings, Do-Luck Floor Bar, R33 GTR Front and Rear Stabalizer Bars, Front and Rear Cusco Strut Bars and a Cusco C-Pillar Bar. All that along with reinforcing the flooring and engine bay should be more than enough to not warrant a roll cage.

The wheels are 18X9.5" +12mm offset so I tihnk they may touch a little on full lock and I just decided as the stock wheels arches were an eyesore that I would remove them and tub it same time. At this point I am thinking about changing the look a little and using the wheels I have on my daily and putting the GTRs wheels I have on it but I will see. Ordering body parts from the UK is expensive so I am going to be either widebodying the car via a metal job or leaving the fenders stock and pulling them and flaring for the GTRs and leave it like that as I want the car on the road soon.