The Official Car Care Thread

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby pioneer » January 31st, 2013, 8:26 pm

Got these today for those stubborn engine/wheel stains

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 31st, 2013, 8:36 pm

wire brush the wheels?

Postby pioneer » January 31st, 2013, 10:12 pm

No the long red one on the right is nylon...should be OK for lug nuts...and if you remember my wheels have little "studs" so it should clean em

The one on the left is also nylon

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 1st, 2013, 4:54 am

so those using autoglym....what wax do you use over SRP?

trvs

Postby trvs » February 1st, 2013, 8:18 am

I usually use EGP over it and then any other wax I have at hand.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 1st, 2013, 8:22 am

Bought some more stuff from Autogeek on the 20% sale yesterday. Collinite 915, 4Star Paint protection, some brushes. Can't wait to try them out.

aidan

Postby aidan » February 1st, 2013, 11:11 am

Hi guys, i heading down south today, I going chagunas and then sando. Any places I can check in these areas. I usually buy stuff by Glenns.
Specifically looking for a clay bar kit and wax.

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 1st, 2013, 11:20 am

Carplus has the widest variety in south

aidan

Postby aidan » February 1st, 2013, 11:25 am

^^Where is Carplus? :oops:

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 1st, 2013, 11:39 am

Top of cipero street

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 1st, 2013, 5:47 pm

Hope I get time this weekend to do some detailing

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1359755025.254987.jpg

Postby pioneer » February 1st, 2013, 5:48 pm

barca fan?

may the strength of 100 pigeons chit on your car lol

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 1st, 2013, 6:12 pm

Share your thoughts on the auto fresh when you could.

Been considering it over fabreeze I normally use.

Postby equipped2ripp » February 1st, 2013, 6:13 pm

The Auto Fresh is good, been using it for years now.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 1st, 2013, 6:20 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:so those using autoglym....what wax do you use over SRP?

Quite a few you could try. Obviously the EGP and HDwax work well. I've used many different waxes over the SRP though. Only issue is that some lose durability on SRP vs bare paint. Also, since SRP on it's own provides a slick surface using some waxes is more difficult as they spread unevenly.

Just try stuff and see what you like. Many people are happy with just the EGP, and it's one of the easier ways to go.

Postby Rooki3 » February 1st, 2013, 6:25 pm

pioneer wrote:barca fan?

may the strength of 100 pigeons chit on your car lol

lollll

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 1st, 2013, 7:04 pm

Auto fresh is really good....just sprayed it in the ranger and the smell is really good....

trvs

Postby trvs » February 1st, 2013, 7:13 pm

Glen's should use price tags... I hate marker price thing.

Postby pioneer » February 1st, 2013, 7:42 pm

Well you could get sticker tags just pay more for the same product in south

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 1st, 2013, 7:50 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:Auto fresh is really good....just sprayed it in the ranger and the smell is really good....

How long does it last on average?

My problem with fabreeze is it gets rid of whatever smell there maybe but after a few hours its non-existent.

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 1st, 2013, 7:54 pm

I just sprayed it so I would say its 2 hrs and going strong lol

Postby cinco » February 1st, 2013, 7:59 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:Auto fresh is really good....just sprayed it in the ranger and the smell is really good....

My problem with fabreeze is it gets rid of whatever smell there maybe but after a few hours its non-existent.

the glade spray actually works longer
and i ghetto
i trow one ah dis in meh chunk

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 1st, 2013, 8:43 pm

Some if my fun stuff

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1359765591.021754.jpg

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1359765600.738311.jpg

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 1st, 2013, 8:48 pm

cinco wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:

the glade spray actually works longer
and i ghetto
i trow one ah dis in meh chunk

I had one in the van for Christmas, took it from my Padna bathroom :lol:

Weekend ill pick up the auto fresh and change my AC filter one time.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » February 1st, 2013, 10:55 pm

pioneer wrote:may the strength of 100 pigeons chit on your car lol

lol :lol:

Hasrath

Postby Hasrath » February 1st, 2013, 11:21 pm

You familiar with nanotechnology products? They are acrylic teflon based formulations designed to protect modern day paint work. Extreme protection for years and years - need not wax again!!
Expensive but it is worth every cent.
Been doing this for about six years now and vehicles I have done still looking like new.
782 3431 - Hasrath

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 1st, 2013, 11:43 pm

Guys,
I have a black Tuscon, currently it have alot of the 'fine hair' scratches that you get from wiping the car. What polish/wax you would recommend I use.
Saw the meguires fine scratch remover in unipet today... any views comments or suggestions ?

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 2nd, 2013, 3:13 pm

To really remove light but complete vehicle swirls I would suggest getting it done by machine with a medium or finishing polish, depending on how hard your paint is. Very often just a finishing polish will be fine. Then top with a wax or sealant, or both.

However, if you really must do it by hand, use a light hand polish. Maybe Griot's hand polish?
In this case you may not approach 100% correction so I'd suggest something with both fillers and some protection after. Autoglym SRP is pretty much the standard for that.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 2nd, 2013, 6:18 pm

hmmm nice... ill try it... thanks

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 3rd, 2013, 8:02 pm

greenlime100 wrote:hmmm nice... ill try it... thanks

Swirl free is what you need to be :

Both sunlight and fluorescent and scratched not. Trust me, finishing polishes may be fine for you. Might take a while, but it'll get there.