The Official Car Care Thread

searchingone

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby searchingone » January 29th, 2013, 9:18 am

searchingone wrote:
pioneer wrote:Sonax washer booster in available locally...works bess

-Car Boutique, St. James

pioneer, is this what you bought? I got a bottle of this but there are no English directions.

How much do I need to use?

Yes...it's pretty strong...try 10ml and top with water

oh gaad i was gonna put the whole 25ml :lol: thanks

Postby pioneer » January 29th, 2013, 10:46 am

Karim Khan wrote:
pioneer wrote:doubles and a chocnut today...ass exploded all over my hood...oh well was planning to do some polishing this week fml.

#goatmouth

Make sure and remove that asap.ASAP as in NOW. The Acid from the fall out will etch into your paint and cause permanent damage.

I washed it off, but the marring still there :x

Postby gastly369 » January 29th, 2013, 10:58 am

saw bird chit eat to almost metal recently.. i duno wtf first time i saw that
mabe was ah low flying corbeau :\

Postby pioneer » January 29th, 2013, 12:36 pm

Wtf birds does eat so?

A slightly abrasive polish should remove this crap right?

Postby gastly369 » January 29th, 2013, 12:45 pm

car came by me to cover it up with a sticker.. told him best paint over

oh and bird chit on meh good shirt just now on the line :|

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 30th, 2013, 11:27 am

Stuff at Anand is the usual stuff you get anywhere.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1359559410.851933.jpg

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1359559422.280213.jpg

Thought they would have paint correction stuff etc

trvs

Postby trvs » January 30th, 2013, 11:33 am

I got some Meguiar's Clay there last year. It was hiding in a next row though.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 30th, 2013, 11:53 am

Yeh they had that but still didnt see anything special. Prices are the same as other places too...

Postby Rainman » January 30th, 2013, 11:57 am

did they have the meguiars apc?

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 30th, 2013, 12:50 pm

no they didn't

they had a leather cleaner and an interior detailing cleaner

nemesis

Postby nemesis » January 30th, 2013, 1:24 pm

Anyone been to check Glenn's stock since he started dealing for PBM?

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 30th, 2013, 3:15 pm

As Karim says Foam!!!
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1359573141.275332.jpg

Thanks bro

Postby pioneer » January 30th, 2013, 4:30 pm

Only place sells apc is lubetech but i wish they apc plus

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » January 30th, 2013, 6:20 pm

Finally was brave enough to use the Car pro trix.

The smell still gets me scared..

Postby pioneer » January 30th, 2013, 8:21 pm

yuh miss ah few spot

trvs

Postby trvs » January 30th, 2013, 10:02 pm

Somebody say foam? :lol:

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 30th, 2013, 11:07 pm

pioneer wrote:yuh miss ah few spot

A few??

trvs

Postby trvs » January 30th, 2013, 11:10 pm

Looks like the pic without the Car pro trix is the "before" pic.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 31st, 2013, 8:27 am

What products yall use for swirl removal???

Postby gastly369 » January 31st, 2013, 11:26 am

going by anand today macko some products

nemesis

Postby nemesis » January 31st, 2013, 11:48 am

Like everyone using Chemical Guys foam. Still like the honey dew more.. but mostly because I prefer the scent I guess.

Aaron, quite a variety of products do I use for swirl removal. Depends on how hard the paint is, level of swirling etc. Generally my favs are the Menzerna and Blackfire SRC products though...they might actually be the same thing in different bottles. :) However, that's because I tend to do many european vehicles. Quite often the Japanese vehicles seem to get good cut from the Griot's products which are a bit more difficult to wipe off, but work a little slower than the Menzerna/Blackfire...which is fine for softer paint, but actually do almost nothing on some Euro paints.

Postby pioneer » January 31st, 2013, 12:06 pm

Saw a PCY car yesterday from the firm with orange peel

Postby cinco » January 31st, 2013, 12:20 pm

nuttin new there
i have seen new bmws and benzes with orange peel even
oh and btw intransit damages to panels are repaired locally so it may have been a local respray or even a factory eff up

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » January 31st, 2013, 12:28 pm

nemesis wrote:Like everyone using Chemical Guys foam. Still like the honey dew more.. but mostly because I prefer the scent I guess.

Aaron, quite a variety of products do I use for swirl removal. Depends on how hard the paint is, level of swirling etc. Generally my favs are the Menzerna and Blackfire SRC products though...they might actually be the same thing in different bottles. :) However, that's because I tend to do many european vehicles. Quite often the Japanese vehicles seem to get good cut from the Griot's products which are a bit more difficult to wipe off, but work a little slower than the Menzerna/Blackfire...which is fine for softer paint, but actually do almost nothing on some Euro paints.

You use it full concentration?

I tried some Meguairs carnuba wax, and one of the synthetics on my car yesterday. Half and half.
Worst sh!t ever to rub off.
which synthetic is easy to use? Wolfgang had some nice reveiws on ease of use.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 31st, 2013, 1:09 pm

I know Menzerna was used on my truck already and it came out nice....spoke to Karim bout srp yesterday so may try it. I don't have swirls really..,just one or two light scratches from washing but nothing deep or covering the vehicle. Truck was detailed in December sometime...

I'm wary to do the hd wax after pioneers experience.....can't screw up my paint at all lol

Wat other good synthetic wax is there to use that's easy to wipe off???

Postby Rooki3 » January 31st, 2013, 1:18 pm

any of those places u guys mention does stock plastidip

trvs

Postby trvs » January 31st, 2013, 1:22 pm

^ never saw that locally.

Hopefully I will have some free time this weekend to try out the Barrier Reef wax I got last week.

Postby pioneer » January 31st, 2013, 6:11 pm

cinco wrote:nuttin new there
i have seen new bmws and benzes with orange peel even
oh and btw intransit damages to panels are repaired locally so it may have been a local respray or even a factory eff up

Yeah I rem the galant had a long scratch on the hood and the salesman said don't worry bout that

When we got it, could never tell it was there

Real crap does happen on the port/storage yard.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 31st, 2013, 7:37 pm

My new toy.....

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1359675230.585863.jpg

Thanks Karim for the advice...

bought this as well...

Postby pioneer » January 31st, 2013, 7:51 pm