Old School Projects

xtech

Re: Old School Projects

Postby xtech » April 17th, 2013, 12:16 am

^^^ Now to find a car to put it in

krisjoseph_2000

Postby krisjoseph_2000 » April 17th, 2013, 12:20 am

xtech wrote:^^^ Now to find a car to put it in
U rel quaking boy........is only 8 valves and 4 cylinders. It can't possibly complete with...... just kidding keep quaking!

Sent from my A1_07 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby MG Man » April 17th, 2013, 11:49 am

krisjoseph_2000 wrote:Block bored to 40 tow

jus fyi, is thou (as in thousanths of an inch), not 'tow'

cornfused

Postby cornfused » April 17th, 2013, 2:32 pm

nismoid wrote:
RoTaRyBoYz wrote:Spann, on Saturday night we had a lil get together and my father & uncles were telling stories from the days of Teddy & Naim... The rotary was king in those days- When you had a Rotary in Trini, yuh owned the streets :lol:

My cousin Marcus told us that Chief & Naim both had Rx2's with their faces airbrushed on the doors and when the fella finish washing both cars, they would stick wet hundred dollar bills over the head of both faces :lol:
The dentist Rx2 & Teddy's Rx7 were all in the conversation.. Dem men even started to talk about who was the best driver for the San Juan mob :lol: I think that honor went to "Ganjaman" :lol:
Then there was my uncle red Cressida (PAO 1136) with the gold 15" motoritsa rims. That car was probably the best looking Cress in the area at that time. Your V8 Commador was also mentioned, together with he Royal Saloon limo yuh built.

Old school days was the best with a lot of iconic cars roaming the streets & Wallers

Did your uncles mentioned the other RX's of that era like Drake's RX2 and Cato's Rx2, Cato( the present Transport Commissioner) We all used to have our Saturday night cruise/lime around the savannah on the electric avenue back then.
Drake's RX2 had an IDA carb that he had to cut a hole in the bonnet to fit it with the filter.
Then there was the Racing Beat RE that Buddith bought aka "the bronze" and Dave Maraj (Navin Father of D&D Auto parts) green on green Street port 13B .
Those were the days.

Yes Budith in my very early time was one of the fastest rotas running in Wallerfield , running 13 or 14 sec. Scobbie had a purple rx 2 . Soon after R. Sant was running 15s with illegal toy .candy apple rx7 . S. Ready (name) got a rx 2 , charcoal grey , that did a 14s and was a terror on the street in valpark days . Sant did some upgrades and one time coming out of valpark to race dean in the v8 cressida , he bent a control arm to the differential . Sant was running 13's at the track at that time.

nismoid

Postby nismoid » April 17th, 2013, 3:55 pm

^^^ good ole days

krisjoseph_2000

Postby krisjoseph_2000 » April 17th, 2013, 5:51 pm

krisjoseph_2000 wrote:Block bored to 40 tow

jus fyi, is thou (as in thousanths of an inch), not 'tow'
thanks for the info I knew that just used d wrong abbreviation . U a school teacher by chance? :D

Sent from my A1_07 using TriniTuner mobile app

nigie

Postby nigie » April 18th, 2013, 1:21 pm

LANCERED !!!!!! :evil: :evil:

Last edited by nigie on April 18th, 2013, 1:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

moti

Postby moti » April 18th, 2013, 1:25 pm

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

that's a tight fit :lol:

area6

Postby area6 » April 19th, 2013, 4:13 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1366402362.502486.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1366402375.384829.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1366402312.020765.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1366402327.651991.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1366402339.351763.jpg

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » April 19th, 2013, 11:32 pm

Damn nice rx2

nigie

Postby nigie » April 20th, 2013, 8:42 pm

RX looking clean.....power plant?

Postby black start » April 22nd, 2013, 11:20 am

nigie wrote:LANCERED !!!!!! :evil: :evil:

tell the electrician I wish him luck.....or send his family my regards.... whichever is more appropriate :|

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 24th, 2013, 11:13 pm

I really hate to see men cutting up original Datsun grills and bumpers to fit intercoolers :(

Plenty nice coolers can fit without the butchery

Postby black start » April 24th, 2013, 11:23 pm

Bezman wrote:I really hate to see men cutting up original Datsun grills and bumpers to fit intercoolers :(

Plenty nice coolers can fit without the butchery

but then how will the world know they are turbo'd when they park up?

moti

Postby moti » April 25th, 2013, 8:25 am

yup, that mazda is really cool, would love to see in person one day

and the lancer will be a nightmare to have working crisp, wiring that 3SGE is not for the faint at heart.
plus they could have taken some pride in the engine bay prior to installing the engine.
radiator should have been brought forward to make more room for intake or a 3 core civic radiator should have been used and bolted more to the left side of the car.

nigie

Postby nigie » May 7th, 2013, 11:32 am

LANCERED PART TWO :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: !!!!!

Postby Ted_v2 » May 7th, 2013, 12:31 pm

aweyeahhhh

Postby Ted_v2 » May 7th, 2013, 12:34 pm

what diff he has on that lancer? find out for me na brisk brisk

moti

Postby moti » May 7th, 2013, 3:51 pm

:? looks like i'm the only idiot who believes in not putting over sized engines in cars :?

looks good, firewall cut etc...........

would not want to drive; even in a straight line :wink:

Postby cinco » May 7th, 2013, 4:17 pm

me either dont worry
the torsional rigidity of that chassis would be as good as a wet napkin unless its caged

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » May 7th, 2013, 5:08 pm

unless its caged... There is a better option for a "daily driver" than a roll-cage.
Using an integral (built-in) roll-cage of FoamSeal or similar is less dangerous (& less expensive) than a traditional roll-cage.
Sanctifier wrote:... Image With a FoamSeal "roll-cage" (see pic.) = stiffer chassis = better handling AND better occupant protection.

Expanded urethane foam (8 lb. density) can stiffen the chassis by as much as 300%.
You also get much less Noise, Vibration & Harshness... and reduced risk of CORROSION.
Sanctifier wrote: :idea: If you fill all the voids (spaces) in the rocker panels... "A" & "B" pillars... and transverse cross-members in the chassis; there will be NO SPACE for dust and water (mud) to settle... and LESS CHANCE OF RUST.

Two other important advantages of extra chassis stiffness are:
1) Sharper "Turn-in" (steering)... and (2) Better handling (reduced understeer.)

I'm going there with all my projects.... plus extra chassis SPOT-WELDS... WELD/BONDING of body-panels...
and EXTRA gussets for the suspension mounting points & cross-members.
Image Image
...... Saitek Spot Welder..................... "Parts car" on Car-O-Liner for measurements.

Video here... Link--> "GroceryGetter!" - Lancer 1800 GTX (A175X.)

My $0.02¢

moti

Postby moti » May 7th, 2013, 7:24 pm

You normally input more than $0.02¢, but valuable information nonetheless

nigie

Postby nigie » May 12th, 2013, 5:47 pm

OLD OLD SCHOOL.....

http://youtu.be/
Last edited by nigie on May 14th, 2013, 11:23 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby black start » May 12th, 2013, 6:06 pm

while sanctifier's information is great, that JZ is just too much inside that bay. What about the weight distribution and handling? Also, as cinco said, what off structural rigidity in "chassis" of the car?

Cars don't only drive in straight lines unno....

nismoid

Postby nismoid » May 12th, 2013, 9:00 pm

^^^ what de hell you talkin bout structural rigidity? yuh aint see de car have a strut brace and carbon fiber-ish radiator? what else yuh need? steups

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » May 12th, 2013, 9:36 pm

^ ^ ^ what else yuh need?... A hell of a lot more than that if you expect that box Lancer to handle safely & consistently.

I've owned/driven 5 of them over the years, in 4 different configurations.
They are ALL too tail happy... with sloppy steering, poor "Turn-in" and ridiculous understeer even with a stock N/A G63B in it.
IMHO that heavy 'JZ' will just make bad matters even worse... unless you have 8" or 9" wide rear rims & tyres.
IMHO even that will not be enough.

And then there's the issue of NO brakes to match the JZ's torque & power. Trust me even the OEM 1800 GSR's with 4-wheel vented disks + puny floating single-pot calipers front & rear are no where near enough.

My $0.02¢

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » May 12th, 2013, 10:11 pm

my exact sentiments

rub of the bish kind

nemram

Postby nemram » May 14th, 2013, 4:07 pm

PAK Galant Wagon:

moti

Postby moti » May 14th, 2013, 8:48 pm

nice, but I think trini's need more balls when building a car.

Postby cinco » May 14th, 2013, 9:07 pm

moti wrote:nice, but I think trini's need more balls when building a car.