The Official Car Care Thread

trvs

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby trvs » January 4th, 2013, 2:46 pm

Chemical Guys (Smartwax) have quality products.

I'm pretty sure CG's Wheel Guard and the Smartwax products are made very similar.

Aaron, any reason for choosing this particular product for your wheels?

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 4th, 2013, 2:54 pm

tried an autoglym product as well as a mother's product and it didn't help much....tried this before and wasn't pleased either...mentioned it online and a local seller started beating up...lol...

spoke to a few persons who were pleased with it so decided to give it another shot

trvs

Postby trvs » January 4th, 2013, 2:59 pm

lol I see.

I hope it works out.

Postby pioneer » January 4th, 2013, 3:17 pm

Anyone found the megs pads anywherE?

trvs

Postby trvs » January 4th, 2013, 5:28 pm

Later I will check unipet lol.

Postby pioneer » January 4th, 2013, 5:55 pm

lol scn thanks aware cuz i might be down there tom

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 4th, 2013, 6:59 pm

Ok spend about a hour polishing my wheels

Before

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1357340147.719560.jpg

After

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1357340166.497882.jpg

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1357340177.398122.jpg

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1357340189.114610.jpg

A month later after detailing and proper washing methods, no swirls

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1357340218.598033.jpg

trvs

Postby trvs » January 4th, 2013, 7:02 pm

Nice! How did the product work this time?

Proper wash = 2 bucket method?

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 4th, 2013, 7:10 pm

2 bucket, grit guard, sideways motions and not circular...

The product worked a lot better, place for dark on me but I finished it. Will do a better inspection tmrrw

trvs

Postby trvs » January 4th, 2013, 7:18 pm

Cool! You should get a dedicated wheel bucket as well. I use three buckets 2 for body and one for wheels only.

Straight light lines when using my megs microfiber wash mitts (top half and bottom half). I let the Mitts do the work without applying pressure to the paint.

trvs

Postby trvs » January 4th, 2013, 8:23 pm

Hey pios. I checked unipet they have none of the pads. Hard luck there

Postby DVSTT » January 4th, 2013, 8:33 pm

trvs wrote:Hey pios. I checked unipet they have none of the pads. Hard luck there

Damn, thought I saw some there. You might have to skybox it pios

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » January 5th, 2013, 10:34 am

Did my father's Frontier on Old Years. 12 year old original paint. Daily driven.

Microfiber wash mitt, used clay only on areas I thought really needed it. Then used Shining Monkey D Spec Polish followed by Chemical Guys Butter Wet Wax, (thanks to silent_riot for that).

The CG wax was not applied on a wet surface but instead I used a very damp applicator sponge. I tried it on a wet surface on my own vehicle, but found it somewhat difficult to apply this way. Wax came off very easily, zero dusting, smells great.

Came out looking like this.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 5th, 2013, 10:48 am

Wow!

Looks better than the rav4's paint by miles there Mario!

Postby pioneer » January 5th, 2013, 2:46 pm

Picked this up today from Raptor

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 5th, 2013, 2:47 pm

You ordered it then

Postby nervewrecker » January 5th, 2013, 2:50 pm

Pios, you aint think I woulda have cost less to flash over that van and get one of them headlight restoration kit for them cheeze colored headlights you got?

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 5th, 2013, 2:52 pm

Pios like a man wanna be your lover...giving you financial advice

Postby rollingstock » January 5th, 2013, 2:53 pm

^ Eh? And you came to that conclusion how?

Postby pioneer » January 5th, 2013, 2:56 pm

lol guess he isn't aware...anyhow cyakers aside...

I didn't really "order" it i kinda saw it by raptor sitting there some weeks back and it bugged me so I went for it this morning

It supposed to have more "umph" that the ole PC 7336 I have...I will demote that to sanding MDF.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 5th, 2013, 5:04 pm

Nice Griots. I saw they released the new version 3 recently too.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 5th, 2013, 5:06 pm

Place got dark last night so I couldn't take pics. Washed and waxed the wheels

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1357419848.506270.jpg

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1357419784.639824.jpg

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1357419794.989782.jpg

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1357419804.856271.jpg

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1357419814.339913.jpg

devrat

Postby devrat » January 5th, 2013, 6:03 pm

Truck looks real good Aaron......seen it around south.

Postby pioneer » January 5th, 2013, 6:04 pm

pioneer wrote:lol guess he isn't aware...anyhow cyakers aside...

I didn't really "order" it i kinda saw it by raptor sitting there some weeks back and it bugged me so I went for it this morning

It supposed to have more "umph" that the ole PC 7336 I have...I will demote that to sanding MDF.

Saw that too, but apparently someone ordered it from Raptor and was stickin to take it...soo...my gain :D

I could live without the new ergonomic features...once it has the same power I could care less what it looks like or what color it is.

GoS

Postby GoS » January 5th, 2013, 6:14 pm

what products yuh guys use to wash yuh engine ?

Postby nervewrecker » January 5th, 2013, 6:22 pm

GoS wrote:what products yuh guys use to wash yuh engine ?

Simple green degreaser thingy.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 5th, 2013, 6:25 pm

thingy??

if you can find simple green, the prestone spray works fine....do not put a greasy product on it after. i.e. armor all etc.....autoglym has a dressing that works fine and doesn't accumulate a lot of dust after....

Postby nervewrecker » January 5th, 2013, 7:02 pm

Yea, thingy.

GoS

Postby GoS » January 5th, 2013, 7:22 pm

simple green can be found at l&g aaron

Postby nervewrecker » January 5th, 2013, 7:25 pm

Last time I went l and dg they said they don't carry it anymore. Not sure about south.
I picked up a gallon in Barataria. Ummm.... Forgot the name of the place already. Smh