2012 Corolla vs 2012 Elantra

Which vehicle would you buy

Poll ended at October 27th, 2012, 5:49 pm

2012 Corolla
6%
2012 Elantra
94%

Total votes: 18

MadCrix

Re: 2012 Corolla vs 2012 Elantra

Postby MadCrix » May 14th, 2013, 6:12 am

actually mine had a slight pull from showroom.

never really checked re alignment
told massy they said they sorted it but since the last service couple months ago i have not driven the car to see.

Postby crazybalhead » May 14th, 2013, 7:14 am

Drove ah elantra in the states last week for a few days.

Honest review.

Roomy, comfortable. Not bad on the low end in terms of pick-up from a light, but a lil tired up top.
Sensible gauges, and layout. Quiet. But I see some cheap plastics and expect some noise later on. Also for a new car, even though it was a rental, heard some clunks in the suspension.
Decent stereo, as others said the USB is a nice nice touch. For ME, the steering was waaaayyyy too light and unresponsive. But I've been driving evos for the last eight years, so may not be the best person to comment on that. Reasonable in the rain with the factory hankook tyres.

A decent looking car too, although I find the ultra curviness will get tired after a couple years, just like the coupe previously.

my 2c.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 14th, 2013, 7:43 am

Agreed with the steering. But it's welcomed after a long day with the evo. Makes parking it a breeze.

And yes it's only 130ish hp lol not the 400 u have in de evo :p

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 14th, 2013, 7:46 am

every brand of car represented on a car forum have a stephon like fanboy attached to it...I done make out 2 folk already in here.

Anyhow, I can't blame any fanboy for acknowledging Toyota's 'legendary' reliability. Not sure how much of us including the Toyota fanboys would actually keep a car for 40 yrs but I can assure you there is NO used Toyota that never faced problems. Every car will have its problems including Toyotas. If anyone in here could say well buddy my local NZE is 12yrs old and never changed nothing except fluids, battery, tyres, wiper blades and brake pads then that is a BIG LIE.

sad but for those who know the previous Toyotas in great detail and with ownership experience (80/92/101/111) would know these were the best Toyotas compared with its competition and despite making a bunch of hog wash today people still rating up them nze/altis/axio/fielder like the best shiz in town. Toyota wrt our discussion in compact cars have lost that competitive advantage they once had.

For those who afraid to step out of the comfort zone will bash anything out there but for features/price/safety you get in a new elantra no TTTL corolla could top that. The safety and stability you get in a focus/cruze/Octavia/jetta NO Corolla could top that. For handling, a pure driver's car....no Corolla could touch a mazda 3, lancer or even a civic. Stick to comparing them with tiidas, sx4's and bluebird sylphys/almeras.

Postby crazybalhead » May 14th, 2013, 8:17 am

toyota2nr wrote:
MG Man wrote:lol I have a local AE111 doing 213k
:P
..........but no wayI buyin that NZE kaka for 200k

You've just proven my point eh......

All that fanciness and pretty bling on the Elantra wouldn't mean much if the wrecker have to pick up your car when you by Econo guest house.

Yes the Elantra fancy looking. My dad has the new Sonata and it's a very pretty car. But I will take reliability any day. Drive the Elantra without oil and if it last I will admit defeat.

:evilbat:

What kinda sheit is this?

Postby Team Loco » May 14th, 2013, 8:17 am

still toyota all the way. but i wont mind owning an elantra

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » May 14th, 2013, 8:42 am

crazybalhead wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:

All that fanciness and pretty bling on the Elantra wouldn't mean much if the wrecker have to pick up your car when you by Econo guest house.

Yes the Elantra fancy looking. My dad has the new Sonata and it's a very pretty car. But I will take reliability any day. Drive the Elantra without oil and if it last I will admit defeat.

Let's all drive without oil!

Sent from my LG-P880 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby sliderz1 » May 14th, 2013, 9:34 am

acesinghit wrote: If anyone in here could say well buddy my local NZE is 12yrs old and never changed nothing except fluids, battery, tyres, wiper blades and brake pads then that is a BIG LIE.

actually i'll prove you wrong later...

Postby crazybalhead » May 14th, 2013, 10:13 am

preventative maintenance is key! ALL CARS HAVE PROBLEMS.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » May 14th, 2013, 10:27 am

metalgear2095 wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:

I think you're missing the point but ok.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » May 14th, 2013, 10:29 am

toyota2nr wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:

I think your point was stupid but ok

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 14th, 2013, 10:39 am

crazybalhead wrote:preventative maintenance is key! ALL CARS HAVE PROBLEMS.

u sound like the only voice of reason on this topic. dont know if was just me. but i always thought the purpose of a car was to take u from point a to point b. if u could afford style.. go for it. if u could afford luxury, go for it. if u can afford both go for it. at the end of the day tho.. all of we tires have to touch the road when it driving LOL

Postby 16 cycles » May 14th, 2013, 10:41 am

might be off topic....but are the new corollas sold by TTTL export models only? i.e. you won't be able to buy JDM RORO parts for them?

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » May 14th, 2013, 10:49 am

metalgear2095 wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:

I think your point was stupid but ok

Maybe but at least mine was civilized. Anyways you go with what you're comfortable with. If the Elantra works for you then so be it. Live and let live.

Postby sharkman121 » May 14th, 2013, 10:53 am

Are the new elantras in n&m 2013 models or 2012 models passed off as 2013?

What is the difference exactly between the two models?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using TriniTuner mobile app

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 14th, 2013, 11:45 am

toyota2nr, do you want to volunteer your car? You can drain the motor oil for us to see Toyotas legendary no oil running qualities? I would bring a camera as well so we can upload the vid on youtube.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » May 14th, 2013, 11:49 am

but arent the 20v black/SILVER top engines notorious for spinning bearings because of oil starvation? With those teeny tinny main bearings those engines carry i fail to see toyota 2nr's point.

Postby crazybalhead » May 14th, 2013, 12:29 pm

trini mk5 wrote:but arent the 20v black/SILVER top engines notorious for spinning bearings because of oil starvation? With those teeny tinny main bearings those engines carry i fail to see toyota 2nr's point.

Shut your mouf!!! Toyodas are the best CARS EVER!!!!!!!!!

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » May 14th, 2013, 12:41 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
trini mk5 wrote:but arent the 20v black/SILVER top engines notorious for spinning bearings because of oil starvation? With those teeny tinny main bearings those engines carry i fail to see toyota 2nr's point.

Shut your mouf!!! Toyodas are the best CARS EVER!!!!!!!!!
tumblr_ma32oayImg1qkj7vc.jpg
tumblr_ma32oayImg1qkj7vc.jpg (9.18 KiB) Viewed 3927 times

Postby crazybalhead » May 14th, 2013, 12:47 pm

Forget a 2013 corolla and elantra.

This will awaken the automotive enthusiast in you with the following:

Rusting floorpans
Slipping transmission
Non functional gas gauge
Questionable electrics
Loose fit piston rings.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » May 14th, 2013, 1:04 pm

And if we want to talk about abuse ready jap engines that are performers we look not further than
images.jpg
images.jpg (10.75 KiB) Viewed 3927 times

Postby crazybalhead » May 14th, 2013, 1:08 pm

^^^^^^^^

TRUTH!!!!

Postby cinco » May 14th, 2013, 1:41 pm

all this beat up in here
how many of allyuh goin an buy a new car?

Postby crazybalhead » May 14th, 2013, 1:53 pm

cinco wrote:all this beat up in here

Keep quiet with yuh ole mazduh nahdan.

Postby cinco » May 14th, 2013, 2:09 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
cinco wrote:all this beat up in here

Keep quiet with yuh ole mazduh nahdan.

HYMC wid yuh ole purple lansa nah

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 14th, 2013, 2:37 pm

oh no you didn't!!!!

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » May 14th, 2013, 2:42 pm

Postby sharkman121 » May 14th, 2013, 2:50 pm

lol @ spec padding with cig lighter and mud guards as features.

Postby cinco » May 14th, 2013, 2:57 pm

sharkman121 wrote:lol @ spec padding with cig lighter and mud guards as features.

base model dont even have a tachometer
but it has INTERNAL FUEL AND TRUNK OPENER OMG!!!

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » May 14th, 2013, 3:03 pm

Where is toyota2nr to come and tell us about toyota's legendary reliability and resale value?