The Official Car Care Thread

rdeonarine

Re: What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby rdeonarine » December 18th, 2011, 9:30 pm

what do you recommend if your car is in the hot sun all day and in the dew all night?

rrotsmannick

Postby rrotsmannick » December 19th, 2011, 12:19 am

Try to wash it at least once a week. & at least once a month, wax the car with a good car wax.

rrotsmannick

Postby rrotsmannick » December 27th, 2011, 10:29 pm

Just giving u all an update. I finally got the Mothers Step 3. Nu Car in West Mall got. So i rushed down there & got a bottle.
So yesterday i did the 3 Step by Mothers. Car looks really good & shiny & clean!!!!!!!!!!!!
:lol: :lol: :D :lol: :D :lol: :lol:

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » December 28th, 2011, 10:48 am

Post some pics of the car !!!!

rrotsmannick

Postby rrotsmannick » December 28th, 2011, 12:07 pm

Ok excuse the quality of the pics, it was taken with my phone.
Did a big clean up on the car that day-
*Brushed out inside, wiped it down, used Armour All, hang up air freshner :D
*Washed car with Mothers Car Wash then dried it
*Used Mothers Step 1, 2 & 3 on paint
*Used Mothers Plastic Polish on headlights & rear lights
*Used Mothers Back To Black on exterior trim
*Used Mothers Chrome Polish on all chrome pieces
*Used Mothers Mag & Aluminum Polish on rims
*Used Mothers Reflections Tire Care on Tires

Plenty work i know & it took alot of time but it was well worth it.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 28th, 2011, 12:53 pm

Mothers reflections. the paint on my car was bought with it already gone to hell and that wax really does wonders...

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » December 28th, 2011, 4:22 pm

i tried the Mothers syn wax car wash yesterday.... there was a difference in the finish.... looks good...

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » December 28th, 2011, 8:14 pm

Ray Post your pics man!!!

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 26th, 2012, 1:51 pm

Pic of my stuff.

A few things are new and yet to be tested, but it will be happening soon.
Anyone else tried those Nano coatings Karim was talking about? Like the Cquartz I suppose? Wouldn't mind having a longer lasting sealant.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » February 26th, 2012, 2:08 pm

nemesis wrote:Pic of my stuff.

Anyone else tried those Nano coatings Karim was talking about? Like the Cquartz I suppose? Wouldn't mind having a longer lasting sealant.

Nice collection, where do you get your autoglym stuff? Also looking for a sealant that will last awhile, a little concerned about using nano coatings for the long run.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 26th, 2012, 6:35 pm

Most of the AG stuff I buy in Trini. Either Bhola's or Carplus.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » February 27th, 2012, 12:46 pm

Nice collection Nemesis. Good to see you are using some high end stuff, HD wax, Miglore and Dodo Juice. Send me some detailing pics when you get chance !!!

Postby DVSTT » February 29th, 2012, 6:36 am

No1 uses turtle wax ice?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » February 29th, 2012, 8:51 am

Here are some of mine pics of some products i use

Postby Chimera » February 29th, 2012, 12:04 pm

can't remember the last time i wash or polish or wax my car yes..and the car black lol

will probably wake up sunday morning and try a thing
probably.

RICHFOREVER

Postby RICHFOREVER » February 29th, 2012, 1:43 pm

^^^ How that carbon fiber wrap project you have going coming along ?

Postby Chimera » February 29th, 2012, 2:54 pm

I rented out that car. hope the renter eh firetruck it up...i considering wrapping my present 16" rims in carbon fiber tho, can't change rims because I've been told it would void the warranty on vehicle

nemesis

Postby nemesis » March 1st, 2012, 6:33 pm

Karim Khan wrote:Nice collection Nemesis. Good to see you are using some high end stuff, HD wax, Miglore and Dodo Juice. Send me some detailing pics when you get chance !!!

Thanks. Putting on the Migliore soon. I'll bring it for yuh to see then!

RICHFOREVER

Postby RICHFOREVER » March 2nd, 2012, 9:26 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:I rented out that car. hope the renter eh firetruck it up...i considering wrapping my present 16" rims in carbon fiber tho, can't change rims because I've been told it would void the warranty on vehicle

In for pics when you get a chance . looking for a motivational boost to try something along similar lines on my own

Postby Stephon. » March 2nd, 2012, 9:50 am

My dad has these, dunno how often he uses them, he has more stuff somewhere I just couldn't find them in the garage, probably scattered somewhere in a car trunk :lol:

http://i.imgur.com/CUyi1.jpg

He had another tire shine that he used before (came in a black can), I used to steal a spray from it from time to time which I thought worked better than this current shitty one that comes in this yellow can that's like half the size.

P.S - The scratch remover is mine Image

nemesis

Postby nemesis » March 3rd, 2012, 6:35 pm

Put on the Migliore wax today. Dat ting sticky dred. WHEYY. Still eh sure I got off all. Will sun it out tom if it doesn't rain and see how it looks after.
Goes on very easily. Less flake pop than the HDWax. Can't tell at what point to take it off though.

Postby supercharged turbo » March 3rd, 2012, 6:40 pm

i understand both the liquid glass and autoglym are great products but which wud u guys recommend for a overall better shine.i searched all over to see which 1 was the better product but so far is 50-50

nemesis

Postby nemesis » March 4th, 2012, 9:50 am

I personally favor autoglym because even if it gives a similar finish to some other products, the AG are usually very easy to use. You'll probably have to end up trying both to see what you prefer.
We need a specific product review section.
Anyway, Dodo Juice Red Mist tropical on wheels = best thing ever.

Migliore looking good today. Lost it's stickyness, kept the oily look more than any other wax I've used. Looking great, but still attracting dust and smudges from fingers more than the average wax.
Major disadvantage - Can't seem to get the wax off the pads or cloth. Been through 2 hand washes, machine wash, different detergents, all kinda ting.. and it's still there. Might have to toss out pads and cloths after each use.

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » March 4th, 2012, 1:03 pm

anybody knows where i can get this....

Been looking for that since like November :/

Postby shogun » March 4th, 2012, 1:38 pm

nemesis wrote:Pic of my stuff.

Nice collection there, man.

Thinking of trying the Autoglym products.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » March 4th, 2012, 2:30 pm

Montrose Paint Supplies also supplies Autogym stuff. 665 8283.
nemesis, you chronic on it dred. lol
Karim, pics are too small, I can't really see what you got there.

Postby pioneer » March 4th, 2012, 3:47 pm

Anyone uses the Gilmour foaming gun?

Damn i desperately need to paint over :(

Karim Khan

What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby Karim Khan » March 4th, 2012, 6:22 pm

The gilmour foam gun is great . It makes washin easier!

Chemical

Postby Chemical » March 4th, 2012, 6:40 pm

aidan wrote:
dok_tec wrote:
dok_tec wrote:this thread makes me feel guilty about just 'washing' my car

the guilt really got to me.... im gonna meguiars those beetches weekend
(polish is meguiars also)

where you got your supplies man? locally? im contemplating if it really makes sense skyboxing detailing supplies.

^^Auto Rama on El Secorro main rd (opp dollar savers) has every single product in the above pic..and even more.

Postby pioneer » March 4th, 2012, 6:44 pm

Karim Khan wrote:The gilmour foam gun is great . It makes washin easier!

Do you need to hose down with regular water first or just straight foam n rinse off?