TriniTuner v3.0

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » January 1st, 2010, 1:44 pm

What about the Ability for users to lock their own thread?

I think many users would prefer comments be disabled from their threads.
Especially powersellers.

What about a method where if the user posts the exact same thing twice the thread still bumps but the present post is deleted or the previous one.

Let me explain, people to lazy to delete their previous posts especially powersellers who are busy.

Why not some function to bump your thread without having a new post made, this way the thread remains clean and we don't have a million pages of bumps.

The system like Ebay with star rating would be nice but what about the fact that Trinidad is such a small country and certain people would obviously have more friends hence giving them the unfair advantage of telling their friends to rate the other seller poorly and rate me high.

UFAS

Postby UFAS » January 1st, 2010, 2:30 pm

would like a better search engine system since post gets lost fast due to bumps

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 1st, 2010, 8:25 pm

wagonrunner wrote:eh sure if this was said before, it owuld be nice if the tech forums were better monitored.
to have some of the nonfactual, irrelevant, misinformation removed on a regular basis.

click the report post button if something seems out of place or against forum rules. That way all users can monitor the forums.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » January 1st, 2010, 11:37 pm

Great Duane looking forward to this .

*Walks away mumbling to self Who the heck is Duane*

halfdef

Postby halfdef » January 7th, 2010, 10:29 am

:twisted: :twisted: :twisted: ::

Postby skylinechild » January 9th, 2010, 10:17 pm

when is trinituner 3.0 slated to be released....??? :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 10th, 2010, 11:25 am

skylinechild wrote:when is trinituner 3.0 slated to be released....??? :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

It was said in the first lines of the first post of this thread and it's in bold too.

ImprezaDriver

Postby ImprezaDriver » January 10th, 2010, 11:27 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ well with the new system anyone can contribute to the showcase.

hopefully this will be moderated for quality purposes right?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 10th, 2010, 11:50 am

^ of course

any contribution to the homepage will be submitted as a draft pending approval.

Postby skylinechild » January 10th, 2010, 12:42 pm

duane on the home page can you make the part where it says " made with pride in the republic of trinidad & tobago W.I." bigger in font size or consider making it into a banner at the bottom of the homepage.....or adding it to the existing banner.?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 11th, 2010, 2:18 pm

^Why?

Postby buzz » January 12th, 2010, 7:42 pm

ohh erm you know some forums you can like add users to a blocked list so you won't be able to see their posts ? :|

i'd like to have a UML free forum browsing experience :|

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 12th, 2010, 9:08 pm

^ but then NO ONE will see UML's posts

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » January 12th, 2010, 9:27 pm

who is UML :? :? :?

Postby Rainman » January 12th, 2010, 9:48 pm

what about an auto detailing forum? i was thinking tech stuff but it doesn't really fit there.

Postby foss » January 12th, 2010, 11:41 pm

mentioned already i know.. but bigger inbox for PM's (please!!)

NEXT-

also, i don't if possible but maybe have a limit to the amount of pages a thread can have.. (say 15-20)

for instance - you have a new member to the forum, and he wants to read through what has been posted. (before he posts, God forbid he does and gets flamed for repost)

but its lengthy and tiring reading through say the Iphone thread.

Let it stop at a length of 15-20 pages (even though its a bit long) (your'll can decide)
and let it (the thread) automatically start on a continuation thread.

You can even number it or something.. or attach it to the original thread...
just makes it easier than having to go through all that.

will be very helpful i think to all users

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 12th, 2010, 11:46 pm

foss wrote:also, i don't if possible but maybe have a limit to the amount of pages a thread can have.. (say 15-20)

for instance - you have a new member to the forum, and he wants to read through what has been posted. (before he posts, God forbid he does and gets flamed for repost)

but its lengthy and tiring reading through say the Iphone thread.

Let it stop at a length of 15-20 pages (even though its a bit long) (your'll can decide)
and let it (the thread) automatically start on a continuation thread.

You can even number it or something.. or attach it to the original thread...
just makes it easier than having to go through all that.

will be very helpful i think to all users

huh?
do you read only short stories?

The idea is discussion and sharing knowledge - the more the merrier!

Postby foss » January 12th, 2010, 11:54 pm

but not on 80-something pages???...
say someone got an iphone, sees the thread of 80+ ... one will normally read through what was posted before he/she posts.. having a cut-off just makes it easier.
and then a continuation added thread can be added..

i think its a good thing

Postby buzz » January 13th, 2010, 7:23 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ but then NO ONE will see UML's posts

exactly :|

Postby sharkman121 » January 13th, 2010, 8:25 am

Having browsed thru the 7 pages of this thread, i have come to the conclusion Duane have rel fackin patience..

D man mussey wear down nearly all the letterin on he keyboard repeatin answers that wuz arredy discussed if ppl had only read b4 dey type..

Oh well, my resolution fuh d new year is patience like u yes..

An a better browser fuh meh berry :|

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 13th, 2010, 10:25 am

^ I try

foss wrote:but not on 80-something pages???...
say someone got an iphone, sees the thread of 80+ ... one will normally read through what was posted before he/she posts.. having a cut-off just makes it easier.
and then a continuation added thread can be added..

i think its a good thing

this is not done anywhere else afaik

I dont think there should be any cut-off for a discussion; in fact we prefer if everything for a particular topic are all kept in ONE thread so it makes it easier for users to follow rather than having to go through numerous threads about the same thing with users repeating the same ideas and concepts.

Imagine all the cross linking and repitition that would take place in your scenario.

What we DO need is a better search (and this was discussed here and is already in the works). With a better search a user could search for something in a 200 page thread and find exactly where it is.

Postby foss » January 13th, 2010, 11:36 am

its just tiring.. i mean look at the PS3 and Xbox ched.. 300+ !!
that is just too much.. and seeing that most of us spam threads with pics...
its just alot to go through for anyone..

anyways.. that's all i have for now

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 13th, 2010, 11:51 am

^ yes it is a long thread but full of info, opinions and updates

using the upgraded search will show you exactly which pages and posts have relevant info.

the more important thing is that there are 300 pages of info on PS3 and Xbox in one place.

I can't help but feel that you are personally overwhelmed by the mass of information that is the internet!

a lil bit again you would advise google to limit their results to 20 links cause anythign more is just too much for you to go through :lol:
Last edited by Duane 3NE 2NR on January 13th, 2010, 11:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby foss » January 13th, 2010, 11:53 am

nvm Duane :|

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 13th, 2010, 11:55 am

NO SOUP FOR YOU!

dry

Postby dry » January 13th, 2010, 12:09 pm

foss what makes it difficult with long threads is that you have to click click click through the various pages. having a cut-off and starting a new thread will make it even more difficult to navigate, because now you have to find a link to the new thread.

a "search this thread" option would make it easy to find what you're looking for in a long thread, and a "show whole thread" would make it easier to skim through a long thread in one go.

i have to agree with duane -- i don't see how splitting it will make it easier to read. quite the opposite. it won't be any better than having to click "go to page xxx" rather than "continued in thread xyz"

Postby honda hoe » January 13th, 2010, 12:23 pm

speakin of long threads

if for example a ched has 200 pgs

but i wanna see someting maybe 20 pages ago

instead of clicking "previous" 20 times

can't u but a page search or someting?

dry

Postby dry » January 13th, 2010, 12:26 pm

a "search this thread" and/or "go to page: ###" will help. right now navigation gets shitty after 5+ pages.

should be in v3.0. might be possible with v2 in the interim.

Postby foss » January 13th, 2010, 1:09 pm

anything to make it easier for everyone.

but like i said, if there was a way to attach a thread that reached a certain amount of pages directly on to a continuation thread.

anyway. u know what i mean..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 13th, 2010, 1:28 pm

foss wrote:anything to make it easier for everyone.

but like i said, if there was a way to attach a thread that reached a certain amount of pages directly on to a continuation thread.

anyway. u know what i mean..

there is.
it looks like this -> <a href="#">Next</a>
and it takes you directly to the continuation of the discussion :D

We will try to make the search and the thread navigation as intuitive and user friendly as possible.

we appreciate all the input too, regardless of ideas, as it lets us know what features are required and what issues are bugging the users. 8)