T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

acesinghit

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby acesinghit » February 19th, 2012, 10:40 pm

honda should have gotten that message since the 2nd gen passport, ridgeline, 2nd crv, es8 civic, insight (both of them), cr-z etc etc..

$240k approx for a 1.6 carry over engine tech equipped car? LOL...i guess the civic is really our entry level 'luxury' car then? 5-speed auto and dual airbags LOL

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » February 19th, 2012, 11:44 pm

I see the hyundai veloster has arrived any thoughts? starting at 220, 000 1.6 dual vvti 130 hp not bad i think....looks have to grow on you for some but very nice specs, non-turbo of course...

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » February 20th, 2012, 12:02 pm

here's the std equipment for the civic:

1.6 L litre
16-valve SOHC iVTEC
Hydraulic Steering ETC
16” Alloy Wheels
USB Audio Interface
Blue-tooth Hands Free Link
Direct Ignition System with
Immobilizer
Electric Power-Assisted
Steering
Speed Sensitive Volume
Control (SVC)
60/40 Split2nd-Row Magic Seat
Security System with Remote
Entry
Tilt & Telescopic Steering
Column
Dual-stage, dual-threshold front
airbags, Front Side Airbags
with passenger side occupant &
Side Curtain airbags
4 channel 4 sensor (ABS)
Electronic Brake Distribution
Side Impact Door Beams
Child-Proof Rear Door Locks
FABRIC Seats

Postby cinco » February 23rd, 2012, 8:36 am

240 at least you getting alloy wheels lol
YUH HEAR THAT TOYOTA????

Postby zoom rader » February 23rd, 2012, 12:41 pm

noshownogo wrote:
pyung99 wrote:Does this seem plausible?

Honda Civic 1.6L Fabric

Showroom Price: $200,181.52
M.V.T: $7,975.00
Sub Total: $208,156.52
V.A.T: $31,223.48
Weighing: $100.00
Total: $239,500.00
===================
Downpayment47,900.
Installment 4,529 x 60
mths. 3 years full comp.
Insurance ... 3years free
service once you take the
financing with us.

:lol: this is the funniest thing I've read in a long time, those figures work out to be $320k for a 1.6 civic :lol:

Dude people will still buy.

Postby Stephon. » February 23rd, 2012, 12:57 pm

Wait, the new CR-V is in Trinidad? :shock:
Anyone got a price yet?

I kinda regret selling the Grand Vitara, I miss driving it and this ASX just isn't the same :(

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 23rd, 2012, 1:25 pm

2012 Hyundai Veloster 1.6 - $229,000.00 fully equipped :|

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » February 23rd, 2012, 1:34 pm

why buy a veloster at 229k when u can buy a golf variant at 227k and get more car? and the mommy wagon will blow its doors off!

why buy a civic 1.6 for 240k when u can get the sunroof equipped jetta tsi for the same price? more features and more car for the money!!!

Ultimate stealership award goes to:

1st place: ANSA
2nd place: TTTL
3rd place: Southern Sales
4th place: N&M
5th place: Sterling
6th place: LSM

How can the civic priced like a versa in the USDM, sell for $87k more in tt? Only stupid people will buy the Civic @ that price....it have some roro nissan sylfigs with more features than dem vic..

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » February 23rd, 2012, 2:22 pm

^^ :D

all jokes aside, the car market in trinidad is devoid of any bargains or deals representing value for money. if you research the available vehicles, it shows this as fact. i mite jes cork meh ears and cover meh eyes and buy a corolla.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 23rd, 2012, 2:32 pm

What do you consider value for money? Some of the things we complain about really worse in other countries. Not saying we should just accept but I'd like to hear what people think.

Postby Habit7 » February 23rd, 2012, 2:47 pm

pyung99 wrote:^^ :D

all jokes aside, the car market in trinidad is devoid of any bargains or deals representing value for money. if you research the available vehicles, it shows this as fact. i mite jes cork meh ears and cover meh eyes and buy a corolla.

For me Chevy, Skoda, Fiat, Kia and Hyundai represents the best value for money in this town.

But since when it has been about value for money, its all about my wealth on display, RORO is for paupers. :wink:

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » February 23rd, 2012, 3:18 pm

well i was originally in the market for a sporty compact/hatchback. i'm going to end up getting a reasonably priced japanese made saloon. resale value factors heavily in our market. buying a euro car mite end up being a bigger hole to fill than a corolla after 3-4 years. and i kno a mechanic can fix meh car wen it becomes a clunker.

for 1/4 million ttd i was looking for a car with >/= 1600cc, >/= 120hp, close to 170 torxxx, decent fuel economy (over 35mpg), sports suspension, soft/quality interior materials, nonturbo (not keen on regular tuneups). deze aspirations have been shattered. to honda's credit, the civic churns out 125hp from the 1.6L and gives 39mpg.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » February 23rd, 2012, 7:32 pm

Habit7 wrote:
pyung99 wrote:^^ :D

For me Chevy, Skoda, Fiat, Kia and Hyundai represents the best value for money in this town.

But since when it has been about value for money, its all about my wealth on display, RORO is for paupers. :wink:

But most if not all on your list don't seem to well with resale.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » February 23rd, 2012, 9:21 pm

im thinking a jetta's resale value might be as good or better than a corolla at the very least. skoda fiat and others not so sure about. but pyung u make some good points i bought my corolla for those same reasons, easy to fix when it gets older, parts availability and resale value. i love the jetta but i suspect after it reaches a certain age u gonna get some headaches w/ parts etc.

Postby Habit7 » February 24th, 2012, 10:24 am

Resale value is crucial but for me but it is a new car, I want to enjoy in now and for the next couple years. When those 5-6 years pass and I have to sell it then I will take a punch in the stomach but until then, I want to enjoy a good car with good features and top safety. For me to cop out and buy a modern econobox with remarkable features like AC, power windows and mats while I am getting rear drum brakes, steel rims and the constant fear of a man shoving his rusty gun down my shirt and demanding the keys, its not worth it. Buy a good euro and pass the headache on to someone else in the next 5-6 years.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 24th, 2012, 12:47 pm

Habit7 wrote:Resale value is crucial but for me but it is a new car, I want to enjoy in now and for the next couple years. When those 5-6 years pass and I have to sell it then I will take a punch in the stomach but until then, I want to enjoy a good car with good features and top safety. For me to cop out and buy a modern econobox with remarkable features like AC, power windows and mats while I am getting rear drum brakes, steel rims and the constant fear of a man shoving his rusty gun down my shirt and demanding the keys, its not worth it. Buy a good euro and pass the headache on to someone else in the next 5-6 years.

QFT as I agree with most.
Other flipside is some people buy a car more so as a "necessity" as opposed to getting one that they will truly like to drive and enjoy. So they will ignore features we think should be in a car for value and just go with the cheapest thing possible.

Perception also is a major factor. The perception is that japanese cars more reliable than euro so most people go with the flow.

Postby S_2NR » February 24th, 2012, 3:52 pm

noshownogo wrote:
pyung99 wrote:Does this seem plausible?

Honda Civic 1.6L Fabric

Showroom Price: $200,181.52
M.V.T: $7,975.00
Sub Total: $208,156.52
V.A.T: $31,223.48
Weighing: $100.00
Total: $239,500.00
===================
Downpayment47,900.
Installment 4,529 x 60
mths. 3 years full comp.
Insurance ... 3years free
service once you take the
financing with us.

:lol: this is the funniest thing I've read in a long time, those figures work out to be $320k for a 1.6 civic :lol:

ent..rel madness going on in this country yes

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » February 26th, 2012, 12:01 am

hmmmm interesting thoughts i appreciate the thinking

shane_89

Postby shane_89 » February 26th, 2012, 12:55 pm

heard that the new mazda 3 coming down soon will be one model only with no sunroof!
does anyone hav any info on the VW POLO?

Postby S_2NR » February 26th, 2012, 1:01 pm

shane_89 wrote:heard that the new mazda 3 coming down soon will be one model only with no sunroof!

Good news.
Sun too hot in Trinidad for sunroof anyway

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » February 26th, 2012, 1:07 pm

why in the world is the veloster so expensive?!? Does it have all the features as say a US model or is it the third world version of 'fully loaded.' Jeez.

Hyundai supposed to be one of the more affordable alternative man!

Postby Stephon. » February 26th, 2012, 2:49 pm

S_2NR wrote:
shane_89 wrote:heard that the new mazda 3 coming down soon will be one model only with no sunroof!

Good news.
Sun too hot in Trinidad for sunroof anyway

I never use mine but I gotta admit that I love me a sunroof :lol:

Postby Habit7 » February 26th, 2012, 11:57 pm

I use mine at night, but the novelty wears off pretty quickly.

When last I checked the VW Polo is a 1.4L with the typical touch screen VW deck (without bluetooth) going for $170,000.

IMHO, a Hyundai i30 would give you more room and a Fiat Bravo would give you more speed for cheaper price.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 27th, 2012, 12:15 am

So a few of the new 328's down here. After the launch of the model they'll be coming as 320's.
328's going for 585k in the spec they are here. I find dat kinda high.

Oh, and moonroofs rule.

blue9266

Postby blue9266 » February 27th, 2012, 1:29 pm

Hyundai Santa Fe 2.2 Turbo Diesel & seater SUV (LTHR)

Two versions. Both have full leather package and sunroof.
"basic" is $369,000.

LTHR is $385,000
Major differences are: manual vs. auto climate control, passenger side power seat, full roof rack, (curtain air bags: according to rep both have curtain air bags but quote says otherwise)

Was told fabric seats is the 5 seater version.

Test drove the $369K version.
Very good visibility all the way around. You ride fairly high above most of the other cars on the road.

Acceleration is better than I expected but then again my expectations were very low after I test drove a Range rover discovery.

Like most everyone here, I agree that Prices on vehicles seem to have an economics all it's own.

I reckon that's more about what the banks are willing to lend on a new car. Their initial downpayment requirements are lower, the interest rate is lower and they are willing to give longer to repay on new cars.

So once you can show some cash flow (business or salary) there is more incentive to buy an overpriced New car than a used car that may be in very good condition.

And don't get me started about insurance...

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » February 27th, 2012, 7:06 pm

Land Rover Discovery 4 2.7 v6 TDI 188hp; 440Nm torque
Hyundai Santa Fe 2.2 CRDi 197hp; 436Nm torque

the hyundai is lighter than the land rover so to me it should pull nicer?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » February 27th, 2012, 7:36 pm

blue9266 wrote:Hyundai Santa Fe 2.2 Turbo Diesel & seater SUV (LTHR)

Two versions. Both have full leather package and sunroof.
"basic" is $369,000.

LTHR is $385,000
Major differences are: manual vs. auto climate control, passenger side power seat, full roof rack, (curtain air bags: according to rep both have curtain air bags but quote says otherwise)

Was told fabric seats is the 5 seater version.

Test drove the $369K version.
Very good visibility all the way around. You ride fairly high above most of the other cars on the road.

Acceleration is better than I expected but then again my expectations were very low after I test drove a Range rover discovery.

Like most everyone here, I agree that Prices on vehicles seem to have an economics all it's own.

I reckon that's more about what the banks are willing to lend on a new car. Their initial downpayment requirements are lower, the interest rate is lower and they are willing to give longer to repay on new cars.

So once you can show some cash flow (business or salary) there is more incentive to buy an overpriced New car than a used car that may be in very good condition.

And don't get me started about insurance...

The 5-seater is $319K. It has on of the most powerful turbo diesel engines in its class at 197hp / 3800rpm; 436Nm @ 1800-2500rpm, but that's where it ends. Its seriously lacking in safety features.......

The downside of the Santa Fe:
1. No brake assist
2. No traction control system (the $385k 4x4 has this)
3. No electronic brake-force distribution
4. No electronic stability control/program
5. No hill-hold/hill descent control

All those features are standard on all models everywhere else but here. When I asked N&M I was told "the customers don't want it". What BS is that??!!

The front wheel drive 5-seater version should have been more equipped considering. Imagine the front left wheel slipping on a wet/grassy curve, all you have is the front right trying to grip and control a 4000+ SUV. Not me and that.

RR1507

Postby RR1507 » February 27th, 2012, 7:46 pm

How much these going for?

BMW 525i M Sport
Range Rover Evoque (4dr)
Audi A6 3.0T
Mercedes Benz E300/250/350 with Sport Package and panoramic sunroof

Postby Habit7 » February 27th, 2012, 9:38 pm

^^^buying one soon?

cqk4

Postby cqk4 » February 27th, 2012, 10:12 pm

I stopped by mac and earnie in Sando and got some info on the 2012 ford focus
They do not know the exact specs of the 2012 focus however it is priced around 230k. The titanium trim is around 280 (zomg!)