The Official Car Care Thread

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby DVSTT » December 19th, 2012, 1:08 pm

nemesis wrote:How did you think the usage was?
If you want nice smell and beading go Dodo Juice or Swissvax.

Wax really easy to use, surprised at how easy the wax came off after it dried. Sadly it rained yesterday so I will wash the car tomorrow if it does not rain to bring out the shine :)

Never heard of those brands but I will try them when the ultimate wax finish

nemesis

Postby nemesis » December 21st, 2012, 3:30 pm

Wolf's Chemicals hard body kit arrived! Can't wait to make a try. Going to do a nano vs long life sealant test. Wolf vs Tough Coat.
I figure the Wolf will win on durability and shine, but be harder to use since the recommended application temp is 54F. Tough Coat has been reported to actually last up to 7mths..which is insane for a spray sealant.. so we'll see if the nano is really worth it.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » December 22nd, 2012, 3:56 pm

Karim you tried the Nanoskin stuff yet? Looks interesting doesn't it? Speed clay!

Anyone else tried it?

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 22nd, 2012, 4:11 pm

Had my vehicle done with the nanoskin. Fast and effective

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » December 22nd, 2012, 4:55 pm

Tried the Trix Carpro tar remover. That thing smells high and caustic!

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 22nd, 2012, 6:10 pm

^^^Make sure to shake it often while using it. It helps with the smell. The manufacturer recommends wearing a face mask and gloves while using the product. Use it on your wheels and you'd never want to use anything other wheel cleaner again.

qd32

Postby qd32 » December 22nd, 2012, 6:12 pm

Guys quite a lot of knowledgeable tuners here.

What wold you recommend for the window guide rubbers? Anything that could clean them out and allow the windows to slide easier?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » December 22nd, 2012, 7:07 pm

nemesis wrote:Karim you tried the Nanoskin stuff yet? Looks interesting doesn't it? Speed clay!

Anyone else tried it?

Used it , like it , but still prefer the clay bar for paint decon.

IMO nothing cant touch a good clay bar.

Speed is not a priority for me, but doing the job right and to the highest quality is what i aim for.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » December 23rd, 2012, 4:34 am

Karim Khan wrote:
nemesis wrote:Karim you tried the Nanoskin stuff yet? Looks interesting doesn't it? Speed clay!

Anyone else tried it?

Used it , like it , but still prefer the clay bar for paint decon.

IMO nothing cant touch a good clay bar.

Speed is not a priority for me, but doing the job right and to the highest quality is what i aim for.

Sounds about right. I haven't tried it, and I probably will, but reading that it's 80-90% as effective as clay I just keep thinking "not good enough". I suppose it could be useful for a first pass on vehicles in really bad condition though. And then clay. :)

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » December 23rd, 2012, 8:51 am

Just to reiterate, someone can have the worlds best detailing products and it can be useless if they don't have the skill and proper knowledge on how to use it.

As i normally say and food for thought... Detailing is not about the products but its about the hands that apply it.

Postby Rooki3 » December 23rd, 2012, 9:18 am

i used a cheap compound & wax yesterday, was d first time i ever polish a car, was very tedious, arms still hurting

Postby Rooki3 » December 23rd, 2012, 9:22 am

car looks & feels alot better

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » December 23rd, 2012, 9:34 am

^^ Post some pics of the detail work bro ,,,,

Postby Rooki3 » December 23rd, 2012, 9:54 am

ImageImageImage

i dont really clean my car, so i consider this a biiig upgrade from how it usually looks

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » December 23rd, 2012, 10:06 am

Looking good man. Keep up the good work

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 23rd, 2012, 10:21 am

Just did an SRP + HD Wax this morning. By far, the easiest cleaning and durable protection for my car I've come across.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » December 23rd, 2012, 12:27 pm

Karim Khan wrote:Just to reiterate, someone can have the worlds best detailing products and it can be useless if they don't have the skill and proper knowledge on how to use it.

As i normally say and food for thought... Detailing is not about the products but its about the hands that apply it.

True. Buh wha happen, you saying I eh have skeelz or wha? :wink:

No harm in playing with new tings though I think.

Postby pioneer » December 23rd, 2012, 3:13 pm

SRP has nice cleaning capabilities for....everything

Postby equipped2ripp » December 23rd, 2012, 4:35 pm

silent_riot wrote:^^^Make sure to shake it often while using it. It helps with the smell. The manufacturer recommends wearing a face mask and gloves while using the product. Use it on your wheels and you'd never want to use anything other wheel cleaner again.

x2!

Postby pioneer » December 23rd, 2012, 7:54 pm

Guys I tried out HD wax, followed instructions did a thin layer using the moist pad provided...occasionally spirtzing with water...left for 15 mins....used the red microfiber to remove but I find it leaves a kinda oiley residue that REAL hard to remove...

Was done out of the sun, under a garage.

I am kinda dissapointed here, cuz I have oiley streaks/swirls all over my hood :(

The shine SRP created looks kinda dull now because of the streaks/swirls

What did I do wrong?

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 23rd, 2012, 8:02 pm

I don't spritz the pad with water during waxing. I only dampen it before I start and that's it. Today I did both cars with SRP & HD Wax with good results.
It sounds like its not drying before you wipe off. I think you should let the wax dry properly, swipe each panel with your finger to see if its properly dry (i.e. doesn't smear), then remove wax from that panel and move on to the next.

Postby pioneer » December 23rd, 2012, 8:07 pm

Hmmm would try that, reason I spritz cuz it was really hot outside and I found the pad was gettin kinda stiff

What can I do to undo what I did...cleanse and rewax?

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 23rd, 2012, 8:12 pm

Yeah, what I do is clean the pad and leave it underwater (to soften it up) before I start, then squeeze out the majority of water (it shouldn't drip or look wet, just feel damp). The cleanser or some SRP would remove the old wax to start fresh.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » December 23rd, 2012, 9:13 pm

nemesis wrote:
Karim Khan wrote:Just to reiterate, someone can have the worlds best detailing products and it can be useless if they don't have the skill and proper knowledge on how to use it.

True. Buh wha happen, you saying I eh have skeelz or wha? :wink:

No harm in playing with new tings though I think.

Yes i agree with you and its good to try new stuff, i am always trying new stuff.

Nemesis , i saw some of the pics you posted and you do a great job and keep up the good work.

Let me elaborate a little more on my statement as it is not only a statement for only detailers but for everyone.

For me detailing is my passion it’s something that I like ever since I a young boy. I choose detailing because I like it, more so I love it, for the people who know me would know that I can make more money or have a prestigious profession based on my professional work experience and educational background. What I recently came to realize is that the one thing you can’t buy is time and we all have very limited time on this earth and time wasted is time you can’t get back. Doing something you love may add value to your life and it may bring out the best in you because:

1. You don't see it as boring
2. You are always excited and happy to do it again and again.
3. You give it your all
4. You could be motivated to become the best in what you do.
5. You don't do it for the money but for the passion

I say all this to say, do something you love. If you don’t like what you do, try to do it the best you can, life is too short to waste it.

For me, every vehicle I do, I mentally accept it as it is my personal vehicle and I work on it as though it is mine and I would only finish when I am personally satisfied. I would only choose products that i am confident in and would not let me down and this would be based on my personal evaluation.

So to wrap this up, the tools and products only assist you in doing the job, but the difference between a person who paints and the artist is the person holding the brush.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » December 24th, 2012, 11:52 am

Thanks. And well said. I totally agree. And with car detailing it's something you see all the time actually. People want the shine, want to say they did it themselves but then want to finish the whole car in 2 hours.

And for Pioneer : The HDWax is a nice product and does improves the finish of SRP when you get it right. No doubt about that. However, another problem you may have there is that it sounds like you're putting it on too hot. This will cause the wax to go on quite unevenly, and not dry the way it's supposed to. Try having the vehicle cooler, and applying a very thin layer. Don't layer it for a few hours also.
Keep in mind I've had the same problem with that product before on my personal vehicle. My current pot of HDWax I've used on about 5 vehicles and yet mine keeps hazing up while none of the others did. And I've tried many things. The 'spit shine' method, machine application, drying times varying from 1min to 40mins, rapid detailer after waxing, sealant under the wax the day before in case it's very porous paint.. all kinds of stuff, and on my vehicle, it just hazes like no other after. Not sure why it happens, but I'm sure I'll give it a go again sometime just in the interest of learning. If you get yours to work, let me know, maybe it's the same issue. :)

Postby DVSTT » December 24th, 2012, 1:46 pm

Thinking to clean dad van for him for xmas early in the morning. Doh have ultimate compound so will have to make do with ultimate polish and ultimate paste wax.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » December 24th, 2012, 3:10 pm

I Like the blackfire wheel cleaner on my car vs the Trix. THe rims looked like when you just detailed in karim.
Is the trix safe for my rims karim?(painted right?)
The carpro iron X wash didn't show any purple on my car at all..I guess that's a good thing.

I used the trix on my rav4 rims, turns all kind of wierd colors including purple and green(I would guess that's a iron 2 complex.)

Postby pioneer » December 24th, 2012, 4:43 pm

nemesis wrote:Thanks. And well said. I totally agree. And with car detailing it's something you see all the time actually. People want the shine, want to say they did it themselves but then want to finish the whole car in 2 hours.

And for Pioneer : The HDWax is a nice product and does improves the finish of SRP when you get it right. No doubt about that. However, another problem you may have there is that it sounds like you're putting it on too hot. This will cause the wax to go on quite unevenly, and not dry the way it's supposed to. Try having the vehicle cooler, and applying a very thin layer. Don't layer it for a few hours also.
Keep in mind I've had the same problem with that product before on my personal vehicle. My current pot of HDWax I've used on about 5 vehicles and yet mine keeps hazing up while none of the others did. And I've tried many things. The 'spit shine' method, machine application, drying times varying from 1min to 40mins, rapid detailer after waxing, sealant under the wax the day before in case it's very porous paint.. all kinds of stuff, and on my vehicle, it just hazes like no other after. Not sure why it happens, but I'm sure I'll give it a go again sometime just in the interest of learning. If you get yours to work, let me know, maybe it's the same issue. :)

Vehicle was REAL kool...it didn't even move for the day

I will try a longer dry time...no LSP I ever used gave this problem :(

nemesis

Postby nemesis » December 24th, 2012, 6:41 pm

Hmm, well when it first happened to me too it had never happened with any other product either. It's just how it is.
Try both longer and shorter dry times, and use less if you can. Don't know what else to tell you here.
I've gotton the oilyness and haze to go away, but it comes back everytime I drive.

Postby pioneer » December 24th, 2012, 7:23 pm

hmmm what you did?