T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

kamakazi

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby kamakazi » August 4th, 2021, 4:55 pm

It is to appeal to people who are uninformed.

Postby j.o.e » August 10th, 2021, 9:38 am

So what’s the pricing on the new civic? Saw there is one in the showroom

agent007

Postby agent007 » August 10th, 2021, 1:17 pm

Well the current turbo is $289k and since the Civic is positioned as a pseudo premium compact sedan locally, expect $300k range with a special intro price at $275k maybe? :|

zando

Postby zando » August 10th, 2021, 11:26 pm

agent007 wrote:Well the current turbo is $289k and since the Civic is positioned as a pseudo premium compact sedan locally, expect $300k range with a special intro price at $275k maybe? :|
That's the turbo model right? I'm looking forward to the new qashqai and the new Sportage, I think massy is really over charging for new Nissans though, e.g. the new juke, which has. 1.0 turbo, however it's at 250k for it, which to me is way too high.

agent007

Postby agent007 » August 11th, 2021, 7:20 pm

Zando, I happen to recall what you drive and yes I agree, you'll need more than a quarter million dollar Juke to consider that an upgrade lol. Maybe that new Civic turbo is your replacement? The upcoming Qashqai 1.3T is not a bad idea as well. It does have some promising specs for such a small engine.

zando

Postby zando » August 11th, 2021, 11:39 pm

agent007 wrote:Zando, I happen to recall what you drive and yes I agree, you'll need more than a quarter million dollar Juke to consider that an upgrade lol. Maybe that new Civic turbo is your replacement? The upcoming Qashqai 1.3T is not a bad idea as well. It does have some promising specs for such a small engine.
Haaa yea boy, the Cruze, that car doing pretty well so far, 4 years in and still on the original battery *knock on wood*

I was looking at either the new Sportage when it comes, the new qashqai when it comes and the d-max, was looking at reviews on that 1.9td and it seems ok, but not like I'm buying it to race lol.

What do you think about 2wd vs 4wd? Was thinking I might go 2wd, some friend keep bringing up the what if argument but I won't be off roading and maybe carry the occasional load for home upgrades, need an opinion in that.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 12th, 2021, 6:04 am

looking for a new vehicle must be a 7 seater. which new car dealer has new 7 seater ? not looking at million dollar vehicle something about $200000.00

agent007

Postby agent007 » August 12th, 2021, 1:06 pm

zando, I am impressed! Did you have any warranty concerns?

In terms of pickups, my top 4 is the Hilux, NP300, L200 and D-Max. So you start off good there already! My preference is to have 4wd over just 2wd. Suppose you're entering a drain to then climb up into a parking spot (many at-the-side-of-the-road business places require that you exit the road and perhaps negotiate your way over a little drain or canal or even a depression that often requires that you enter the free spot at a slight angle).

What if one of your back wheels is on the ground itself but does not have enough grip to get traction? What if the other back wheel is not spinning at all and can't get you forward? What do you do? It goes for steep inclines taken at an angle. You want to go to the top floor of the LCM parking lot but you're coming from the Patna St entrance so you will have to make a hard left and then drive up on the incline. What if its raining heavily? Your back left wheel would spin and you may have to correct your angle. Now I'm not saying you won't make it up. With momentum and that turbo diesel torque, you will even on 2wd but with 4wd low engaged, you will not spin those rear tyres.

There are many permutations I can come up with but having a body on frame rwd vehicle with the assurance of 4wd on-demand is very comforting. With all the flooding we have in this country every now and then and with road conditions that will continue to deteriorate, buying a pickup with 4wd makes sense. Finally, what if you're in grid-lock traffic and you have an emergency situation to attend to and all that separates you from another route is a center median riddled with grass and some soft mud in the center? Like at some points in the CRH median opposite LSM. With a 4wd pickup, you will get to the other side easily.

Recently, I was in a road block exercise where police literally stopped traffic to question drivers at 8:35pm. I knew at that point, based on how long they were taking, I would have never been able to reach home on or before 9pm. So what did I do? I entered the median where the middle was water logged and came out so easily (on OEM tyres), I'm pretty sure someone has it on video or took some snaps.

To me, having some form of 4wd is an insurance card you tuck safely away for those just-in-case moments. Now my examples may not be the best but it goes without saying if you have land and go often to check on it or plant and reap fruits/vegetables etc or you're an avid Tyrico beach visitor where some areas are simply not for anything awd/4wd.

So, that's my argument there.

daring dragoon

Unfortunately as we discussed a few days ago, you don't have much choices in that category. Currently you have the Rush, Ertiga, XL-7, Livina and soon the Xpander Cross. There's a contributor in this thread who purchased a new Ertiga some time ago and it would be great if he can give us an update on his ride. The good thing about that zuki is, it can be had for as low as $175k and you get a towering 5-year warranty. If an adult male can fit in the 3rd row comfortably is another argument.

If those vehicles aren't your thing, then you may have to check some grey market dealers to see if they have any Serena's and Voxys in stock but those would be more money.

zando

Postby zando » August 12th, 2021, 10:00 pm

agent007 wrote:zando, I am impressed! Did you have any warranty concerns?

In terms of pickups, my top 4 is the Hilux, NP300, L200 and D-Max. So you start off good there already! My preference is to have 4wd over just 2wd. Suppose you're entering a drain to then climb up into a parking spot (many at-the-side-of-the-road business places require that you exit the road and perhaps negotiate your way over a little drain or canal or even a depression that often requires that you enter the free spot at a slight angle).

What if one of your back wheels is on the ground itself but does not have enough grip to get traction? What if the other back wheel is not spinning at all and can't get you forward? What do you do? It goes for steep inclines taken at an angle. You want to go to the top floor of the LCM parking lot but you're coming from the Patna St entrance so you will have to make a hard left and then drive up on the incline. What if its raining heavily? Your back left wheel would spin and you may have to correct your angle. Now I'm not saying you won't make it up. With momentum and that turbo diesel torque, you will even on 2wd but with 4wd low engaged, you will not spin those rear tyres.

There are many permutations I can come up with but having a body on frame rwd vehicle with the assurance of 4wd on-demand is very comforting. With all the flooding we have in this country every now and then and with road conditions that will continue to deteriorate, buying a pickup with 4wd makes sense. Finally, what if you're in grid-lock traffic and you have an emergency situation to attend to and all that separates you from another route is a center median riddled with grass and some soft mud in the center? Like at some points in the CRH median opposite LSM. With a 4wd pickup, you will get to the other side easily.

Recently, I was in a road block exercise where police literally stopped traffic to question drivers at 8:35pm. I knew at that point, based on how long they were taking, I would have never been able to reach home on or before 9pm. So what did I do? I entered the median where the middle was water logged and came out so easily (on OEM tyres), I'm pretty sure someone has it on video or took some snaps.

To me, having some form of 4wd is an insurance card you tuck safely away for those just-in-case moments. Now my examples may not be the best but it goes without saying if you have land and go often to check on it or plant and reap fruits/vegetables etc or you're an avid Tyrico beach visitor where some areas are simply not for anything awd/4wd.

daring dragoon

Unfortunately as we discussed a few days ago, you don't have much choices in that category. Currently you have the Rush, Ertiga, XL-7, Livina and soon the Xpander Cross. There's a contributor in this thread who purchased a new Ertiga some time ago and it would be great if he can give us an update on his ride. The good thing about that zuki is, it can be had for as low as $175k and you get a towering 5-year warranty. If an adult male can fit in the 3rd row comfortably is another argument.

If those vehicles aren't your thing, then you may have to check some grey market dealers to see if they have any Serena's and Voxys in stock but those would be more money.
Only thing with the Cruze was a squeak I was getting from the back, LSM thought it was the suspension in the rear but it ended up being a trim piece in the back by the rear dash, a clip broke amazingly, it didn't come like that because that ended up happening a year or so after I got the car, anyway they fixed it under warranty, only thing was I had to wait for the trim piece to come in which took about a month or so.

agent007

Postby agent007 » August 12th, 2021, 10:28 pm

I tend to ask new Cruze owners about how their ownership experience is and I generally get positive remarks.

I met one owner by Medford who told me he had no issues but he never took the car back to LSM. He claimed he ordered all his filters online and changes it himself. He even told me he clocked 240kmph in his car and he surprised some STi and EVO people lol. His own was a black LT.

I had the previous model (LT 1.8 leather, sunroof) but was not so lucky with it. The transmission died and the company took 2.5mths to replace it.

It appears Trax and Equinox owners have some good reviews too. Won't mind jumping back into a GM vehicle in the future but it appears they might be exiting all RHD markets. This I need some inside intel on to verify if it's true or not.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 12th, 2021, 10:30 pm

Get the 4wd van. If you get the 2wd be mindful of where the majority of vehicle weight is concentrated and where the drive wheels are. You will also need to purchase better tyres

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » August 13th, 2021, 1:56 am

agent007 wrote:zando, I am impressed! Did you have any warranty concerns?

daring dragoon

Spot on with everything there as usual, Agent. Of course, 4WD is a bit more maintenance (transfer case, front diff, etc., not to mention more things to break.. :? ), more weight means you might get slightly higher fuel consumption vs. the RWD counterpart, it costs a bit more so insurance will also be a bit higher..but I heard someone say 'It's better to have something and not need it than need it and not have it..'.

As for the seven seater options at that price point, our market sucks. I'm also in the market and not liking the options. I got some advice from carluva a while ago re: a used Fortuner. One can be had at or around that price point (of course considering the implications of a used vehicle loan vs new but if buying cash, score), it will more than likely outlast the seven options listed and it's a lot more versatile than them all.

zando

Postby zando » August 13th, 2021, 8:25 am

agent007 wrote:I tend to ask new Cruze owners about how their ownership experience is and I generally get positive remarks.

I met one owner by Medford who told me he had no issues but he never took the car back to LSM. He claimed he ordered all his filters online and changes it himself. He even told me he clocked 240kmph in his car and he surprised some STi and EVO people lol. His own was a black LT.

I had the previous model (LT 1.8 leather, sunroof) but was not so lucky with it. The transmission died and the company took 2.5mths to replace it.

It appears Trax and Equinox owners have some good reviews too. Won't mind jumping back into a GM vehicle in the future but it appears they might be exiting all RHD markets. This I need some inside intel on to verify if it's true or not.
Yea I was thinking about doing that also, that's the good thing with the new ones, they're the same as the u.s. model so everything online lol I was contemplating ordering filters online and buying some nice amsoil and I'd just carry it by the mech. I haven't serviced since December and the oil still going strong, one thing I've never seen the oil in this car go black, the engine is pretty clean, I have a friend who has one like mine, his car prob doing 150xxxkm(two months ago it was around 140) by now as he uses it for work so that car always alll over the country, he had more issues than me, dunno if it was wear and tear but they fixed his issues from what I know.

I would def take a look at another Chevy depending on what they bring, I like the new trailblazer and well I see they redesigning the Colorado so, we shall see.

zando

Postby zando » August 14th, 2021, 12:25 pm

Everyone, massy want 290 for the fully loaded juke, when I called them out on it they told me it has. 1.0 turbo engine lmaoooo I tell him how a 1.0 turbo is nothing to brag about, what you guys think about that price? Robbery or fair?

carluva

Postby carluva » August 14th, 2021, 2:05 pm

People will buy the vehicle for that price. So from those buyers' perspective, that's a fair price. Especially when Massy throws in the free tint and mats... Oh gouuuddd! Yuh just sweeten the deal dey partna!

And as long as people buying, from the seller's perspective, that price is very fair.

However, to those if us who know cars and who love cars and who can appreciate the value of a car, that price seems way too high.

But people will buy!!.....
zando wrote:Everyone, massy want 290 for the fully loaded juke, when I called them out on it they told me it has. 1.0 turbo engine lmaoooo I tell him how a 1.0 turbo is nothing to brag about, what you guys think about that price? Robbery or fair?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 14th, 2021, 2:44 pm

An engine co-developed with Renault... Have to see how this one goes

carluva

Postby carluva » August 14th, 2021, 3:40 pm

Thoughts of Megane and Clio come to mind....
kamakazi wrote:An engine co-developed with Renault... Have to see how this one goes

synTax_ErR0R1

Postby synTax_ErR0R1 » August 14th, 2021, 10:24 pm

:? :? :?
trinituner.jpeg

agent007

Postby agent007 » August 14th, 2021, 11:52 pm

zando wrote:Everyone, massy want 290 for the fully loaded juke, when I called them out on it they told me it has. 1.0 turbo engine lmaoooo I tell him how a 1.0 turbo is nothing to brag about, what you guys think about that price? Robbery or fair?
A forum user posted back in May 2012 the prices of the last Juke which was all-new to Massy at the time:
$215k 1.6 auto
$250k 1.6T 6MT

MVT was either $3.75 or $5.00 per cc at the time and the TTD to USD ER at the time was around 6.3:1. Lastly VAT at the time was at 15% which was changed to 12.5% IIRC back in 2016.

Fast forward to 2021, after 9 years, a Juke 1.0T which incurs less MVT, around the same in Duty and less in VAT with 600cc less has grown in price to $290k?

It was poorly priced then according to forum posters and it remains poorly priced even now. Can a spike in ER from then to now be the cause for that price? Is it increased cost in shipping that contributed?

In contrast, a Mitsubishi ASX 2.0 and Mazda CX-3 2.0 can be had for less than $260k (last prices I had on those) but the very mere fact that those 2 dealers have to pay higher taxes for those crossovers sporting an additional 1000cc over the Juke but yet still keep a tag $30k cheaper than said Juke turbo translates into a huge profit margin on every Juke sold.

Now that little 1.0 3 pot turbo has the same peak torque as a Chevy Trax 1.4T. It also has almost the same HP as a Subaru XV 1.6. So the specs is not impressive. The Juke's closest competitor has to be the ugly duckling of the entire automotive world and that's the Ford EcoSport 1.0T. How much times we blamed ANSA for over pricing their vehicles in the past?

Well, ANSA listed the EcoSport 1.0T for $200k. A whooping $90k cheaper than the Juke. So who really getting played here?

Fun fact: those Nissan engines may share Renault technology but it was good enough for Mercedes-Benz to slap a derivative of that engine, albeit the 1.3T, into the A200. So if Benz could trust the Renault engineering then who is we? Might get some backlash for this last paragraph lol.

mtec

Postby mtec » August 15th, 2021, 10:56 am

290K is way overpriced for the Juke but again we can say that for many if not all new cars. If I had to choose a new vehicle now at that precise price the Juke wouldn't even be on my shortlist. Top four would be CX-30 Core, Subaru XV 1.6i-S, Eclipse Cross base and pre 2022 Civic 1.5T in no specific order. I'm also sure there are new cheaper (cost) vehicles in fully loaded specs that are more appealing than the Juke 1.0T. No make or model bashing here, I actually own a local 2014 Juke which I love but I certainly didn't pay new car price for it. Back then I didn't see it as a good value proposition and this new model remains the same. I did however think that the XV 1.6i-S offered a lot and got a deal last year at 24K less than current price before discount.

agent007

Postby agent007 » August 16th, 2021, 2:23 pm

True, the XV i-S EyeSight and the Eclipse Cross GLS leather both have a very impressive safety kit with the blind spot detection, rear cross traffic alert, moving object detection, emergency braking/collision mitigation and lane monitoring/correction etc. I think both may also have automatic high beams and adaptive cruise as well (need to verify the latter). Both are made in Japan and feature 7 airbags.

Postby Habit7 » August 16th, 2021, 4:38 pm

daring dragoon wrote:looking for a new vehicle must be a 7 seater. which new car dealer has new 7 seater ? not looking at million dollar vehicle something about $200000.00

Suzuki Ertiga
Suzuki XL7
Toyota Rush

Postby Gladiator » August 16th, 2021, 5:27 pm

agent007 wrote:True, the XV i-S EyeSight and the Eclipse Cross GLS leather both have a very impressive safety kit with the blind spot detection, rear cross traffic alert, moving object detection, emergency braking/collision mitigation and lane monitoring/correction etc. I think both may also have automatic high beams and adaptive cruise as well (need to verify the latter). Both are made in Japan and feature 7 airbags.

Be aware that the features we see in the brochures are miles apart from what we get here. The Mazda6 for example has standard safety features that are not included on the version we get.

agent007

Postby agent007 » August 16th, 2021, 6:01 pm

very true Gladiator but with those 2 vehicles, it appears we do get pretty much the full safety package locally which is impressive.

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » August 17th, 2021, 5:39 pm

The XV iSight has everything.

agent007

T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby agent007 » August 18th, 2021, 3:38 am

Calling all businesses and entrepreneurs, look at this fantastic deal in the picture. Free floor mats, a full tank of diesel and free labor on your first oil change.

Massy is really showing love to people during the pandemic.
IMG_4439.JPG

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 18th, 2021, 7:58 am

+90k for an auto? Just like Hilux pricing scheme.

zando

Postby zando » August 18th, 2021, 11:29 am

agent007 wrote:Calling all businesses and entrepreneurs, look at this fantastic deal in the picture. Free floor mats, a full tank of diesel and free labor on your first oil change.

Massy is really showing love to people during the pandemic.
IMG_4439.JPG
Lmaoooo isn't that supposed to be the norm when buying new? Free floor mats? Vehicles COME with floor mats and a full tank of fuel smh

Postby Dave » August 18th, 2021, 11:43 am

Vehicles didn't always come with mats. Full tank yes.

carluva

Postby carluva » August 18th, 2021, 11:45 am

zando wrote:Lmaoooo isn't that supposed to be the norm when buying new? Free floor mats? Vehicles COME with floor mats and a full tank of fuel smh

carluva wrote:People will buy the vehicle for that price. So from those buyers' perspective, that's a fair price. Especially when Massy throws in the free tint and mats... Oh gouuuddd! Yuh just sweeten the deal dey partna!

And as long as people buying, from the seller's perspective, that price is very fair.

However, to those if us who know cars and who love cars and who can appreciate the value of a car, that price seems way too high.

But people will buy!!

Same thing I said earlier.