Old School Projects

roadracer7

Re: Old School Projects

Postby roadracer7 » May 3rd, 2012, 10:18 am

nigie wrote:BUGGY

it's called a BEETLE......sheesh

HERBIE man ah HERBIE......

Postby MG Man » May 3rd, 2012, 10:20 am

lol that stupid movie spawned two generations who keep saying 'bug' and 'buggy'
nearly as bad as dem 'austin Martin' people.........sheesh

moti

Postby moti » May 3rd, 2012, 2:36 pm

MG Man wrote:lol that stupid movie spawned two generations who keep saying 'bug' and 'buggy'
nearly as bad as dem 'austin Martin' people.........sheesh

is not ashton martin?

when you showing me the new ride?

Postby MG Man » May 3rd, 2012, 3:44 pm

it was park up normel normel in de car show........it in prinnis tong now

nigie

Postby nigie » May 3rd, 2012, 10:46 pm

wow.....the car looks good too

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » May 4th, 2012, 1:39 am

MG , where i could get ah valvoline body suit like dat,with a blue cape an' mask ?

"SUPER VALVOMAN"

I WANT 1 2

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » May 4th, 2012, 2:11 am

MG Man wrote:Image

^ ^ ^ Nice car MG... LOVE the accessories.

Is that a factory option these days?

nigie

Postby nigie » May 4th, 2012, 7:23 am

The ultimate trini car .....THE HUSTLER.... 8-)

Postby MG Man » May 4th, 2012, 8:58 am

^^^the Speedway special?

moti

Postby moti » May 4th, 2012, 9:06 am

thats going to give me nightmares.

Mg, nice car. will it be at the next D&W?

Postby MG Man » May 4th, 2012, 10:53 am

nope
no time for mospo this year.........every weekend is spent working on the house, hopefully to get it liveable by August. Then it will be more weekend work until it's finished...........the MG is really for dad tho.......no real plans to beat it around the track.........that's for the HSR and the other MG, when it's finished
PS I doubt I'll compete at D&W again, unless the organzer can convince me there is no risk of another car crossing the median and creating the risk of a head-on collision..........the organizer's attitude towards the last incident was 'ha ha only you dat could happen to eh', which was followed by 'nah he steer into de corner too hard and corner de car onto two wheels'. Seems their failure to interlock the barriers properly, and the car running over one that had toppled over upon impact had nothing to do with pitching it onto two wheels..........

moti

Postby moti » May 4th, 2012, 11:03 am

huh,
so the wife ban you.....noted.

seriously though, house takes a lot of time and money (plan to start mines late this year so jz in 2013 looking bleak for chelsea)

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » May 4th, 2012, 11:54 am

nigie wrote:The ultimate trini car .....THE HUSTLER.... 8-)

A lot of flexing going on in that chassis,..... in need of additional bracing

Postby MG Man » May 4th, 2012, 12:55 pm

moti wrote:huh,
so the wife ban you.....noted.

seriously though, house takes a lot of time and money (plan to start mines late this year so jz in 2013 looking bleak for chelsea)

yup........can't use the 'is jus pretend racing honey, ah cya get injured' argument anymore :(
She may still let me dex tho.........but nothing before we move into the house...........if u wanna check it out (CHase Village), I'll be there all day tomorrow....jus gimme a shout

nigie

Postby nigie » May 5th, 2012, 1:40 am

MG Man wrote:nope
no time for mospo this year.........every weekend is spent working on the house, hopefully to get it liveable by August. Then it will be more weekend work until it's finished...........the MG is really for dad tho.......no real plans to beat it around the track.........that's for the HSR and the other MG, when it's finished
PS I doubt I'll compete at D&W again, unless the organzer can convince me there is no risk of another car crossing the median and creating the risk of a head-on collision..........the organizer's attitude towards the last incident was 'ha ha only you dat could happen to eh', which was followed by 'nah he steer into de corner too hard and corner de car onto two wheels'. Seems their failure to interlock the barriers properly, and the car running over one that had toppled over upon impact had nothing to do with pitching it onto two wheels..........

cluck cluck cluck....chicken.... :lol:

d spike

Postby d spike » May 8th, 2012, 10:53 pm

I have to do a project on a RWD Galant for a good friend... and the car is one that I ran for a while - for a jappo, it grew on me - and I'm really fond of it. It is the only Mitsubishi that I have any experience with, so I humbly seek advice, pertinent remarks... and a few impertinent ones too, no doubt.
First, I have always liked a 302 Ford in an old School Galant... but not this car - yet. As much as I am itching to do such a swap (and I probably will get to do it to this car in the future) it isn't the mod for here and now.
Secondly, no ess arr. Punto finale.
Me eh swappin' no gearbox, so if an engine swap is to be the path of the righteous, the chosen engine must bolt onto the standard box. Reasons? 1. I'm getting lazy in me old age; 2. Keep costs down; 3. As mentioned before, no f...ing ess arr.

The present engine is the 1600cc Saturn.
There used to be a standard group of mods: shave de head, hook up a set of extractors, and slap on a double-throat Weber... an' yuh good tuh go.

Should I shave the head? More modern jappo engines have very little allowances for such a treatment. The older engines that I am accustomed to have plenty room for shaving, allowing wicked amounts of compression to be built...

Anybody has any details for a set of headers for this engine? Advice?

I think that the Weber is a better carb than the original carb... but that statement is based on bias rather than knowledge. Anybody has any ideas here?

Engine swap:
Here I REALLY need help. I have heard of the Astron, and the Sirius. Where can I locate survivors?

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » May 8th, 2012, 11:05 pm

^^sr d blasted ting and make life easier nah and giddem fyazz :lol:

Postby Ted_v2 » May 9th, 2012, 7:51 am

i would usually say Sr it buttt these days i started seeing it doesnt make sense to do that.

get a old time engine and make it beat japs engines , prove something thats the idea not swap a engine into a old car and bawl fassup car

best bet is start searching scrap yards ..you might get a Sirius(sp) somewhere

but a weber is a more reliable carb that a stock mitsu carb
and there is more room to mod it (jets ect) which should pump out some power

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » May 9th, 2012, 9:44 am

spike when i see you on sunday , i'll give you a plan of action, for low cost additional power, with your present powerplant,or adapter plate a bess engine ,d 2000 cc fastest on race day.

nigie

Postby nigie » May 9th, 2012, 9:58 am

back in the day i shaved my galant 1600 head 180 thou so head has plenty of material....... i also advanced the camshaft my moving the dowel on the cam...and gave it more gas by modifying the carb...did a dual exhaust system and extractors..blah blah blah....wisdom hit me eventually and i dropped in a v8 :lol: ....i also ran a 2000 ford which was exciting..but extremely greedy on the gas

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » May 9th, 2012, 10:07 am

nigie wrote:back in the day i shaved my galant 1600 head 180 thou so head has plenty of material....... i also advanced the camshaft my moving the dowel on the cam...and gave it more gas by modifying the carb...did a dual exhaust system and extractors..blah blah blah....wisdom hit me eventually and i dropped in a v8 :lol: ....i also ran a 2000 ford which was exciting..but extremely greedy on the gas

yeh those ford 2000 have got some inefficent in & ex ports, but you gotta know the secret handshake to get it to comply.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » May 9th, 2012, 10:13 am

roadracer7 wrote:
nigie wrote:back in the day i shaved my galant 1600 head 180 thou so head has plenty of material....... i also advanced the camshaft my moving the dowel on the cam...and gave it more gas by modifying the carb...did a dual exhaust system and extractors..blah blah blah....wisdom hit me eventually and i dropped in a v8 :lol: ....i also ran a 2000 ford which was exciting..but extremely greedy on the gas

yeh those ford 2000 have got some inefficent in & ex ports, but you gotta know the secret handshake to get it to comply.

HA!

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » May 9th, 2012, 12:11 pm

Galant Saturn 1600 engine:
Sanctifier wrote:Should I shave the head?... Nope!... unless it's warped from excessive overheating.
At most, "skim" it (0.0020"-to-0.0025" thou) to guarantee a reliable gasket seal.

DO NOT REUSE THE HEAD BOLTS... You will ALWAYS suffer from gasket leakage if you do.
They are "Torque-to-yield" (ONE USE ONLY!) bolts. Your best bet is a set of ARP head studs.
They are reasonably cheap, reusable and give a much more reliable "gasket seal".

Anybody has any details for a set of headers for this engine? Advice?... Call Karl at 481-0310. He should be able to help.

spike, I don't know your application but for a "fixer upper" (on a "tight" budget) developed over time, this might help...
Check the Saturn 1600 head against a G63B (2.0L) block first.
Build a stock Image 8.8:1 C/R 2.0L short block... with 1600 SOHC head and accessories. Drive it like that for the moment.
Add Image Lancer 1800 GSR or the Lancer 2000 Turbo setup, ECU and parts later. Yup... both models can work here!
The Image 2.0L SOHC Galant & Lancer Turbo setup gives 177 bhp and is totally reliable.

It can be reliably developed if you want SERIOUS torque & power eventually.
Much more torque & power (and less weight) than a 302 V8 actually... :lol:
Sanctifier wrote:"V8-killer" - You must upgrade brakes, gearbox, drivetrain & wheels. The gearbox & diff WILL break if you don't. :lol:

QUESTION: ...the Astron, and the Sirius. Where can I locate survivors?...
The Astron "in-line 4" goes up to 2600 cc and was used in pick-ups and also in the US Starion (turbocharged).

The Sirius G63BT is the father of the Evo 1-9 4G63 engine. It's VERY strong, reliable and the 2.0L (and larger) models can be upgraded to a 'Gen 1' DOHC Turbo-motor (US Eclipse) in your case very economically... This would be my preferred final option and can be developed to a reliable 300 hp... @ the wheels. BTW Eclipse parts can be sourced on eBay & RockAuto.

If you decide to "boost" in future, use a stock cast-iron turbo manifold (less "cracking" and reliability issues.)

the chosen engine must bolt onto the standard box...
ANSWER: I have a Sirius G63BT 2.0L Turbo short-block for sale...
You can test first to see if your Saturn 1600 head & gearbox can fit.

My $0.02¢

If you're interested call Wade @ 684-4552.

d spike

Postby d spike » May 9th, 2012, 7:06 pm

nigie wrote:back in the day i shaved my galant 1600 head 180 thou so head has plenty of material....... i also advanced the camshaft my moving the dowel on the cam...and gave it more gas by modifying the carb...did a dual exhaust system and extractors...

180???? Did you mean 18 thou? Good info, though...
nigie wrote:i also ran a 2000 ford which was exciting..but extremely greedy on the gas

Extreeeeemly good info, heh, heh, heh... Love a 2 litre Pinto story...
(remembers that can only use original gearbox)
Rats.

d spike

Postby d spike » May 9th, 2012, 7:13 pm

roadracer7 wrote:

Dat's RIIIIGGHHTT!!!!!

d spike

Postby d spike » May 9th, 2012, 7:22 pm

Sanctifier wrote:Galant Saturn 1600 engine:
Sanctifier wrote:Should I shave the head?... Nope!... unless it's warped from excessive overheating.
At most, "skim" it (0.0020"-to-0.0025" thou) to guarantee a reliable gasket seal.

DO NOT REUSE THE HEAD BOLTS... You will ALWAYS suffer from gasket leakage if you do.
They are "Torque-to-yield" (ONE USE ONLY!) bolts. Your best bet is a set of ARP head studs.
They are reasonably cheap, reusable and give a much more reliable "gasket seal".

Anybody has any details for a set of headers for this engine? Advice?... Call Karl at 481-0310. He should be able to help.

spike, I don't know your application but for a "fixer upper" (on a "tight" budget) developed over time, this might help...
Check the Saturn 1600 head against a G63B (2.0L) block first.
Build a stock Image 8.8:1 C/R 2.0L short block... with 1600 SOHC head and accessories. Drive it like that for the moment.
Add Image Lancer 1800 GSR or the Lancer 2000 Turbo setup, ECU and parts later. Yup... both models can work here!
The Image 2.0L SOHC Galant & Lancer Turbo setup gives 177 bhp and is totally reliable.

It can be reliably developed if you want SERIOUS torque & power eventually.
Much more torque & power (and less weight) than a 302 V8 actually... :lol:
Sanctifier wrote:"V8-killer" - You must upgrade brakes, gearbox, drivetrain & wheels. The gearbox & diff WILL break if you don't. :lol:

QUESTION: ...the Astron, and the Sirius. Where can I locate survivors?...
The Astron "in-line 4" goes up to 2600 cc and was used in pick-ups and also in the US Starion (turbocharged).

The Sirius G63BT is the father of the Evo 1-9 4G63 engine. It's VERY strong, reliable and the 2.0L (and larger) models can be upgraded to a 'Gen 1' DOHC Turbo-motor (US Eclipse) in your case very economically... This would be my preferred final option and can be developed to a reliable 300 hp... @ the wheels. BTW Eclipse parts can be sourced on eBay & RockAuto.

If you decide to "boost" in future, use a stock cast-iron turbo manifold (less "cracking" and reliability issues.)

the chosen engine must bolt onto the standard box...
ANSWER: I have a Sirius G63BT 2.0L Turbo short-block for sale...
You can test first to see if your Saturn 1600 head & gearbox can fit.

My $0.02¢

If you're interested call Wade @ 684-4552.

Thanks Sanctifier, was hoping to hear from you on this... have heard rumours about your Mitsubishi endeavours... even the great Zod bows when your name is mentioned... :lol: :lol:

veedubtt

Postby veedubtt » May 9th, 2012, 7:50 pm

hey guys i lost verne number. can anyone link me?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » May 9th, 2012, 11:37 pm

d spike wrote:...Sanctifier... have heard rumours about your Mitsubishi endeavours... even the great Zod bows when your name is mentioned... :lol: :lol:

Rumours about my deteriorating mental health (Mitsu endeavours) are either very accurate... or greatly exaggerated...
Not quite sure which these days... :rofl:

My latest project (*start-up* = Jan 2013) promises to be the most "certifiable" to date. :evilbat:
Link--> RBR Lancer 1800 GTX (A175X) Prototype...

I haven’t heard from Zodiac in a long while. How is his Lancer project going?
Last edited by Sanctifier on May 22nd, 2012, 11:51 pm, edited 2 times in total.

nigie

Postby nigie » May 10th, 2012, 7:47 am

EYE CATCHING....... :lol:

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » May 10th, 2012, 11:45 am

IF IT FALL, I HOPE IT DOH CATCH SOMEBODY IN DEY EYE....