T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

agent007

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby agent007 » March 3rd, 2021, 10:48 am

So since 2019 Massy brought in the Hyundai Kona. I think someone posted it right in this thread. Only a couple units presumably for testing. Now, a few days ago, an entire shipment of 2021 Kona’s have arrived. That’s a lot of vehicles competing against each other, don’t you think? Venue, Creta, Kona, Tucson, Santa Fe, Niro, Seltos, Sportage, Sorento...that’s a total of 9 South Korean branded crossovers and it is my understanding, more is on the way.

Would you all say, our market favors crossovers/SUVs and pickups more than traditional sedans/hatchbacks and 2-doors, like the trend in many other markets now?

*edit: I think it’s the Kona 1.0T or 1.6 Hybrid. I doubt it’s the pocket rocket 1.6T version but won’t rule it out yet*

Postby Gladiator » March 3rd, 2021, 12:41 pm

agent007 wrote:So since 2019 Massy brought in the Hyundai Kona. I think someone posted it right in this thread. Only a couple units presumably for testing. Now, a few days ago, an entire shipment of 2021 Kona’s have arrived. That’s a lot of vehicles competing against each other, don’t you think? Venue, Creta, Kona, Tucson, Santa Fe, Niro, Seltos, Sportage, Sorento...that’s a total of 9 South Korean branded crossovers and it is my understanding, more is on the way.

Would you all say, our market favors crossovers/SUVs and pickups more than traditional sedans/hatchbacks and 2-doors, like the trend in many other markets now?

*edit: I think it’s the Kona 1.0T or 1.6 Hybrid. I doubt it’s the pocket rocket 1.6T version but won’t rule it out yet*

I guess their marketing strategy is to flood the market with their brand to squeeze out the competition by having many choices available for the customer.

BTW what's up with these car sales people. they never know about the cars they selling, most times when you call and ask them questions you know more than they do about the cars they supposed to be "trained on"? Are they just super lame or they really just don't care too much about specs, features and even basic theory on how motor vehicles work.

Postby Dave » March 3rd, 2021, 1:51 pm

I am seeing the grey market dealers bringing the Toyota Raize for this segment

snypaz

Postby snypaz » March 3rd, 2021, 2:49 pm

Price point?
agent007 wrote:So since 2019 Massy brought in the Hyundai Kona. I think someone posted it right in this thread. Only a couple units presumably for testing. Now, a few days ago, an entire shipment of 2021 Kona’s have arrived. That’s a lot of vehicles competing against each other, don’t you think? Venue, Creta, Kona, Tucson, Santa Fe, Niro, Seltos, Sportage, Sorento...that’s a total of 9 South Korean branded crossovers and it is my understanding, more is on the way.

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 3rd, 2021, 4:18 pm

Gladiator, many of them are sleazy slime balls. They would lie, lie and more lie to tie up yuh head into buying a new vehicle. Now some may argue, wait till you get to deal with insurance sales people or just general sales persons on a whole.

Finding an honest car sales rep who knows what they selling is very hard to do. Example, some sales reps still using the term “xenon HID lights” when truth in fact, it’s LEDs (for the applicable vehicle of course). Some count the “SRS airbag” symbol on the ‘A’, ‘B’ and ‘C’ pillars of some vehicles as an airbag. So they quote you nonsense like, yeah this car has 9 airbags or 10 airbags etc. Its frontal + front seat side + full length curtains making it 6. The 7th airbag is usually found by the driver’s knee (for applicable vehicles).

Yes I’m aware that some vehicles do come with more than 7 airbags but again, sales people like to lie. The most common lie is these manufactured ‘specials’ that pop up every week. “Common’ guys, the price was $237k, now it’s $210k.” wrote one sales rep on FB. But just last week on their FB page, it was $212k. So a $2k discount turned into a $25k discount for the unsuspecting person. List goes on. I can write 10 pages of secrets/tactics that these dealers use.

Another sales person recently sold a vehicle that was made in India I believe. When it was crash tested, it got 0 stars, so it got rejected initially. You know when India rejects your car for failing a crash test, that is in itself an epic embarrassment to the vehicular engineers behind it. Well the lady who purchased the vehicle was told it has 5 star crash safety. Now she wants to sell it and literally no one wants to buy it. It’s a PDY eh. They sold her garbage that was allowed to enter our market. All the lady wants to do is sell it so she can pay off the 7/8 year loan she took out to buy it. I told her good luck.

Next is sales reps saying to their customers, yeah man, it can take super, doh worry! Client purchases vehicle. Uses super right through. Engine knocking profusely now. Takes it to service dept. and the technicians ran some checks on the fuel in the tank and told the customer, well you are using the wrong fuel, contrary to the owners manual guidelines. Warranty void. When trying to contact the sales rep, he cannot be found and stop taking the persons calls.

You want more stories? In a few days, it would be 12 years since I started this thread and you better believe it, every other day, people from all walks of life call, WhatsApp and pm me for advice. It’s referrals upon referrals. I will always help out for as long as I am allowed to.

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 3rd, 2021, 4:36 pm

Yeah Mitch, I saw that too.

Dave, the grey dealers have been busy lately. See below:

Achievors got the Yaris Cross Hybrid for $275k
IMG_3084.JPG
IMG_3085.JPG
IMG_3086.JPG

R&R got the Suzuki Vitara Brezza Hybrid for $210k
IMG_3356.JPG
IMG_3347.JPG
IMG_3338.JPG

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 3rd, 2021, 4:45 pm

R&R has the Tata Intra V30 AC pickup for $140k
IMG_3359.JPG

IMG_3363.JPG
IMG_3368.JPG

They also have the Huanghai Auto HHNIS N1 pickup for $175k
IMG_3373.JPG
IMG_3376.JPG
IMG_3389.JPG

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 3rd, 2021, 4:49 pm

But if you want it 4wd, you can get it for $190k
IMG_3397.JPG

IMG_3401.JPG

IMG_3400.JPG

They use Isuzu Diesel engines. Sounds familiar?

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 3rd, 2021, 5:05 pm

HSM brought in the Toyota Raize but they were hush hush in price.
IMG_3177.JPG

P&V got the new Leaf for $210k (now this I don’t mind!)
IMG_3404.JPG

Bess Motors got the new CHR 1.2T for $286k
IMG_3433.JPG

IMG_3437.JPG
IMG_3438.JPG

viedcht

Postby viedcht » March 3rd, 2021, 6:53 pm

agent007 wrote:HSM brought in the Toyota Raize
IMG_3177.JPG

Does this have same engine options as the RAV4? Also it looks like 4hole, unlike Ravs usual 5hole

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » March 3rd, 2021, 7:01 pm

agent007 wrote:Gladiator, many of them are sleazy slime balls. They would lie, lie and more lie to tie up yuh head into buying a new vehicle. Now some may argue, wait till you get to deal with insurance sales people or just general sales persons on a whole.

Finding an honest car sales rep who knows what they selling is very hard to do. Example, some sales reps still using the term “xenon HID lights” when truth in fact, it’s LEDs (for the applicable vehicle of course). Some count the “SRS airbag” symbol on the ‘A’, ‘B’ and ‘C’ pillars of some vehicles as an airbag. So they quote you nonsense like, yeah this car has 9 airbags or 10 airbags etc. Its frontal + front seat side + full length curtains making it 6. The 7th airbag is usually found by the driver’s knee (for applicable vehicles).

Yes I’m aware that some vehicles do come with more than 7 airbags but again, sales people like to lie. The most common lie is these manufactured ‘specials’ that pop up every week. “Common’ guys, the price was $237k, now it’s $210k.” wrote one sales rep on FB. But just last week on their FB page, it was $212k. So a $2k discount turned into a $25k discount for the unsuspecting person. List goes on. I can write 10 pages of secrets/tactics that these dealers use.

How do people take this chain up with the airbags though? Simple youtube reviews, read the manual.. another unscrupulous move, I saw a sales rep advertising a Cerato late last year, basically saying 'come and buy now, before the prices goes up next year with the new tax regime'. Dishonest, because while the dealer is entitled to raise prices on their own, don't chalk it up to excess taxes, when only hybrids were affected. :roll:

Another sales person recently sold a vehicle that was made in India I believe. When it was crash tested, it got 0 stars, so it got rejected initially. You know when India rejects your car for failing a crash test, that is in itself an epic embarrassment to the vehicular engineers behind it. Well the lady who purchased the vehicle was told it has 5 star crash safety. Now she wants to sell it and literally no one wants to buy it. It’s a PDY eh. They sold her garbage that was allowed to enter our market. All the lady wants to do is sell it so she can pay off the 7/8 year loan she took out to buy it. I told her good luck.

pressure..again, youtube..

Next is sales reps saying to their customers, yeah man, it can take super, doh worry! Client purchases vehicle. Uses super right through. Engine knocking profusely now. Takes it to service dept. and the technicians ran some checks on the fuel in the tank and told the customer, well you are using the wrong fuel, contrary to the owners manual guidelines. Warranty void. When trying to contact the sales rep, he cannot be found and stop taking the persons calls.

You want more stories? In a few days, it would be 12 years since I started this thread and you better believe it, every other day, people from all walks of life call, WhatsApp and pm me for advice. It’s referrals upon referrals. I will always help out for as long as I am allowed to.

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 3rd, 2021, 7:05 pm

Viedcht, its completely different to a rav4. It's much smaller too. This was made by Daihatsu and it uses a 1.0 inline 3 turbo.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » March 4th, 2021, 9:43 am

agent007 wrote:HSM brought in the Toyota Raize but they were hush hush in price.
IMG_3177.JPG

IMG_3404.JPG

IMG_3433.JPG

IMG_3437.JPG
IMG_3438.JPG
HSM quoted 280-285k for a Yaris cross G Model

Postby Dizzy28 » March 4th, 2021, 10:56 am

Speaking of Massy just got this mail from them -
Massy Motors Ltd will be hosting a Hyundai Test Drive Event this Friday 5th and Saturday 6th March featuring the Creta, Venue and H100 Models @ the following Massy Motors Locations

• Morvant
• San Fernando
• Port of Spain

Time : Friday 5th March – 7.45am – 4.30pm
Time: Saturday 6th March – 9.00am- 1.00pm

Special Pricing will be offered on both days for customers who commit on the day !!!!

Kindly call to make your appointment.
Bookings by Appointment ONLY
612-1015

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 4th, 2021, 12:48 pm

Good stuff there guys. I got a msg from my Toyota source which indicated basically, “please be reminded, new Toyota’s purchased from grey market dealers do not have a warranty agreement with TTTL, therefore, where warranty is concerned, owners of grey market imported Toyota’s are to check with their dealer.”

viedcht

Postby viedcht » March 4th, 2021, 3:43 pm

Ohhh, thanks dude just checked it out.
agent007 wrote:Viedcht, its completely different to a rav4. It's much smaller too. This was made by Daihatsu and it uses a 1.0 inline 3 turbo.

Postby Gladiator » March 4th, 2021, 8:34 pm

Just some prices to update the front page

Audi A5 190HP - $615k
Audi A5 245HP - $655K
Audi A6 2021 - $667K
Audi A4 S Line - $466K

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » March 5th, 2021, 5:49 am

Porsche Taycan Cross Turismo
(coming soon to T&T maybe)
Electric Station Wagon anyone?

Porsche AD

Test Mule

Production Model

Postby MG Man » March 5th, 2021, 8:36 am

sucks to be a sufferer
I'll wait till on ah de big shottas here buy one so I can glance it in traffic

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » March 5th, 2021, 9:25 am

New Toyota Hilux 2021.
Bookings starts with a Purchase Order, 10% down payment or Bank Approval. Limited stocks arriving in March
4x4 2.4L Automatic Mid Speck - $320K
4x4 2.8L Automatic Mid Speck - $ 332K
4x4 2.8L Automatic Fabric High - $ 356K
4x4 2.8L Automatic Leather – $370
To request a quotation or require any further information contact (868) 777-5568 or
WhatsApp Image 2021-03-03 at 7.22.10 PM.jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2021-03-03 at 7.22.10 PM (1).jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2021-03-03 at 7.22.10 PM (2).jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2021-03-03 at 7.22.11 PM.jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2021-03-03 at 7.22.11 PM (1).jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2021-03-03 at 7.22.12 PM.jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2021-03-03 at 7.22.12 PM (1).jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2021-03-03 at 7.22.13 PM.jpeg

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » March 5th, 2021, 9:30 am

Spec Sheet
spec tttl hilux options.jpg

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » March 5th, 2021, 9:32 am

agent007 wrote:HSM brought in the Toyota Raize but they were hush hush in price.
IMG_3177.JPG

IMG_3404.JPG

IMG_3433.JPG
IMG_3437.JPGIMG_3438.JPG

Saw another dealer Price the Raize @ $240,000ttd

Postby A172 » March 5th, 2021, 3:24 pm

755191491.jpeg

860482678.jpeg

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 5th, 2021, 4:31 pm

Mitch, that’s good stuff there bud, much thanks for sharing.

A172, can you tell if it’s lasers or not? Can you tell me on how to spot the difference?

carluva

Postby carluva » March 5th, 2021, 4:44 pm

Prices for the Hilux stay close to what they were... Half expected the high spec to cross 400k

Pirate

Postby Pirate » March 5th, 2021, 7:04 pm

agent007 wrote:Mitch, that’s good stuff there bud, much thanks for sharing.

A172, can you tell if it’s lasers or not? Can you tell me on how to spot the difference?
On the side there is the label stating led or laser.
No sure about from a direct front view at a quick glance.

Postby A172 » March 6th, 2021, 5:10 pm

agent007 wrote:Mitch, that’s good stuff there bud, much thanks for sharing.

1429822405.jpeg

top - LED, bottom - Laser

the easiest way to tell the difference with the lights off is the LEDs have that silly smiley face DRL. The lasers are a full swooping DRL. Lasers have the blue strip and both would have either BMW LED or Laser stamped on them

1997950569.jpeg

^ LED

1838251042.jpeg

123498092.jpeg

^ Laser

Postby A172 » March 6th, 2021, 5:15 pm

Also Lafast would not be stocking any G20 with Lasers, special order if you want it

price for that option is an NZE in good condition

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » March 7th, 2021, 7:33 pm

carluva wrote:Prices for the Hilux stay close to what they were... Half expected the high spec to cross 400k

I saw a quote for the Ford Wildtrak..
$415k..
:cry:

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 7th, 2021, 9:17 pm

Thanks guys. A vehicle with lasers is definitely something to insure under comprehensive risks.

Alluh remember the guy with the Cerato parked by the oval who got his lights stolen? Remember the SS quote was like 20k IIRC? Well A172, I think replacement lasers is probably an E141 not an E121 lol.

Coming back to the Hilux, whilst I like it very much, the Sportero still comes with a better safety tech package. Having 6 airbags is one thing but the L200 has blind spot, cross traffic alert, lane sensing and assistance, collision alert and mitigation. It also has 360 camera (subject to confirmation) and front/rear parking assist. For $5k less than the Hilux? Why not? I guess the resale value and forecasted reliability will swing people more towards the toyota but I feel the mitsu has a little edge.

FB_IMG_1615166223399.jpeg
FB_IMG_1615166221094.jpeg