Old School Projects

Re: Old School Projects

Postby Ted_v2 » April 19th, 2012, 8:40 pm

i have two questions

anyone knows what type of brake upgrade can work in a 280c?
and how much power can the diff take without damaging? (no powering out business)

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » April 20th, 2012, 7:39 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:i have two questions

and how much power can the diff take without damaging? (no powering out business)

that rearend can take quite a bit i have seen them take power from radical v8's rb26 (skyline) and not budge

Postby Ted_v2 » April 20th, 2012, 7:44 pm

^ saw somewhere i can weld it ,should i do that?

powerplant is gonna be a rb25 DE auto

nigie

Postby nigie » April 21st, 2012, 10:07 am

sound boy 64 wrote:^ saw somewhere i can weld it ,should i do that?

powerplant is gonna be a rb25 DE auto

is it a drag car u building or a car for street duty?

Postby Ted_v2 » April 21st, 2012, 3:14 pm

street duty strickly

d spike

Postby d spike » April 22nd, 2012, 2:19 pm

If it's for "street" then welding the diff isn't a good idea. You can actually "tune" the rear suspension to get a take-off that is quite neutral (doesn't swing/veer to one side). Welding the diff will make cornering awkward.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 22nd, 2012, 8:42 pm

^ cool

would i need any brake upgrades?
i was thinking drilled and slotted rotars in front and more or less stock in the back

but if the diff happens to fail skyline diff and brakes oneeee time

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » April 22nd, 2012, 9:36 pm

^ ^ ^ brake upgrade... Excellent idea.
Rotors: "slotted" = yes (degassing brake pads)... "drilled" = no (high risk of cracking).

nigie

Postby nigie » April 23rd, 2012, 12:44 am

ROLLA...... :mrgreen:

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » April 24th, 2012, 12:10 am

sound boy 64 wrote:^ cool

i was thinking drilled and slotted rotars in front and more or less stock in the back

I hate to burst your bubble but the skyline and 280c have the same internals so if you pop the 280 you will most probably pop the skyline .Its less work to build and install a 5 link with coilovers on your existing setup .it will be easier to tune to get it to work right than installing the skyline setup .This seems to be everybody's flavour of the month but if you dont know what needs to be done when installing this setup or how to tweak it for the wheelbase,weight and ride height of the 280 it is possible to end up with a worse handling car than when it had the OEM suspension.There is no great advantage to be gained with a 5 link, and coilovers on a live axle versus a full OEM skyline IRS on the street or strip.On a real winding undulating road maybe but a 5 link and coil overs will do just as well if the driver is up to the task.check the following vid and you will see how a 5 link handles
.http://youtu.be/KTXjoryIhZY

Postby Ted_v2 » April 24th, 2012, 6:37 am

NOMOSS wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:^ cool

I hate to burst your bubble but the skyline and 280c have the same internals so if you pop the 280 you will most probably pop the skyline .Its less work to build and install a 5 link with coilovers on your existing setup .it will be easier to tune to get it to work right than installing the skyline setup .This seems to be everybody's flavour of the month but if you dont know what needs to be done when installing this setup or how to tweak it for the wheelbase,weight and ride height of the 280 it is possible to end up with a worse handling car than when it had the OEM suspension.There is no great advantage to be gained with a 5 link, and coilovers on a live axle versus a full OEM skyline IRS on the street or strip.On a real winding undulating road maybe but a 5 link and coil overs will do just as well if the driver is up to the task.check the following vid and you will see how a 5 link handles
.http://youtu.be/KTXjoryIhZY

concerning the Non lsd should that cause a problem?

what gains im looking like going lsd?
but i understand what u said, install install install cant have shiddy suspension and bess diff and expect it to work like a racecar

nigie

Postby nigie » April 24th, 2012, 8:43 am

nomoss.... is the 720 pickup diff identical to the 280?

nigie

Postby nigie » April 25th, 2012, 8:43 pm

1970 TOYOTA CROWN coming along....by the way anybody seen Bob lately....

THE CONCEPT....

PROGRESS

Postby Ted_v2 » April 25th, 2012, 11:38 pm

^ Nice work

Postby black start » April 26th, 2012, 9:57 am

nigie, car looking real nice bro.

sound boy 64, the 280c diff is very very strong. I've personally seen a rb25det neo powered 910 bluebird (300 + to whp) with the 280c rear end and rear end holding out normal normal.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 26th, 2012, 7:01 pm

Black Start wrote:nigie, car looking real nice bro.

sound boy 64, the 280c diff is very very strong. I've personally seen a rb25det neo powered 910 bluebird (300 + to whp) with the 280c rear end and rear end holding out normal normal.

pondering how would it work non lsd :|

imagine a one wheel burnout :lol:

nigie

Postby nigie » April 27th, 2012, 4:15 pm

Rolla 2... :twisted:

Conrad

Postby Conrad » April 29th, 2012, 8:18 am

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » April 29th, 2012, 1:05 pm

great find there, conrad,great find.

nigie

Postby nigie » April 29th, 2012, 5:42 pm

roadracer7 wrote:great find there, conrad,great find.

great article ...but there r a few body men who believe in bead welding the patch...

Postby black start » April 29th, 2012, 5:56 pm

good find conrad

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » May 1st, 2012, 9:48 pm

nigie wrote:nomoss.... is the 720 pickup diff identical to the 280?

the leaf sprung 260 and 280 and the 620 diffs are the same except for the brackets for the lines etc i never had a dog bone 280 c diff so i cant say for sure but the internals of 260,280(leaf and dog bone), 620 and 720 are interchangeable and leaf sprung 280.260, 620, 720 the banjo is the same except that some are 2 inches shorter and have thicker axle shafts (620 ) but they fit into each other because even though they are thicker they are tapered when they reach the spline .ill take a look see at the 280 c and laurel asap and tell u .and one of the 620 diff housing is aluminum .The nissan code for that diff is h190 you can check it out if you like

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » May 1st, 2012, 9:53 pm

take a look at the old school projects thread around the pages 20 and above you will see a blue hunter .it has a 620 diff(similiar to a 280c )with rear discs installed there are close ups of it

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » May 1st, 2012, 9:58 pm

I would put skyline calipers front and back (discs) you just need to get calipers discs and make a few brackets(machine shop recommended) a good eye and some patience because you will have to bolt and unbolt those things until you get it right ..buts thats what its all about ,and when you are through there will be no brake project you cant handle

Postby black start » May 1st, 2012, 11:48 pm

NOMOSS, many ah ole skool nissan tuners could have used your knowledge a few years ago....

nigie

Postby nigie » May 2nd, 2012, 7:45 am

BUGGY

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » May 2nd, 2012, 9:14 pm

Black Start wrote:NOMOSS, many ah ole skool nissan tuners could have used your knowledge a few years ago....

Unfortunately i only started messing around with nissan stuff recently so all this is fairly new but you should talk with roadracer 7 he has a some great ideas and a wealth of experience and he is a great guy he answers honestly and to the best of his knowledge and what he doesn't know he'll find out and tell you afterwards.I have seen skyline brakes on a280 c .One project ill like to work on is a 280/260 c with a rb26tubo and skyline brakes front and rear front bucket seats original rear seats full new matching upholstery and some great rims 17's will do and killer paint job steering-wheel and a great sound system that is nowhere to be seen,with a lowered suspension to a practical height

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » May 2nd, 2012, 9:43 pm

FB RX7, with MS137 F/Wheel bearing assembly & brake rotor, nissan gtr 4 piston calipers,2 1/8" brake pad cheese bored aluminium spacers . bearing & seal spacers for hub assembly with loctite.

FC complete rear brake assembly.
hand fabricated all bracketing,spacers

trinibuggy

Postby trinibuggy » May 3rd, 2012, 4:17 am

nigie wrote:Rolla 2... :twisted:

Meh neighbours old drift car :D i grew up rolling around in that car sigh

Postby MG Man » May 3rd, 2012, 9:06 am