The *Official* NASCAR Thread

brickman

Re: The *Official* NASCAR Thread

Postby brickman » June 23rd, 2013, 6:48 pm

Truex takes the checkered,edwards placed 3rd mishi.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 23rd, 2013, 6:58 pm

And Gordon in 2nd. Hopefully a sign of things to come for the rest of the season.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk 21372028325.407236.jpg

brickman

Postby brickman » June 29th, 2013, 10:59 am

Jeff Burton & Martin Truex share birthdays today.My boy took pole position for tonight's race,hope its a sign of a win.Think Kyle is an idiot from the 'good ol boys' club IMHO.

Kyle Petty says NASCAR star Danica Patrick is ‘not a race car driver’

During a Thursday night appearance on SPEED’s 'Race Hub' program, the former driver and current TV analyst said Patrick is more of a marketing machine than a race car driver

THE ASSOCIATED PRESS

FRIDAY, JUNE 28, 2013, 3:00 PM

SPARTA, Ky. - Kyle Petty continues to doubt Danica Patrick’s future as a NASCAR driver.

During a Thursday night appearance on SPEED’s “Race Hub” program, the former driver and current TV analyst said Patrick is more of a marketing machine than a race car driver and doubts the 30-year-old will ever be one “because I think it’s too late.”

Patrick is a Sprint Cup Series rookie with Stewart Haas Racing following an open wheel career in the IZOD IndyCar Series highlighted by an historic 2008 victory at Motegi, Japan. She won the pole and finished eighth in the season-opening Daytona 500 but her average starting and finishing positions are 32nd and 25.8 respectively.

Former boss Dale Earnhardt Jr. disagreed with Petty’s assessment, saying Friday that Patrick “is outrunning several guys on the circuit.”

That likely won’t stop Petty, 53, son of seven-time Cup champion Richard “The King” Petty and an eight-time race winner, from criticizing Patrick. An analyst for TNT and Fox/SPEED, he understands the widespread interest in Patrick, who has been featured in racy TV ads for sponsor Go Daddy and was IndyCar’s most popular driver for several years.

JERRY MARKLAND/GETTY IMAGES
Kyle Petty says it is too late in her career for Danica Patrick to learn to race, not just go fast.

Patrick’s driving skills, in Petty’s opinion, don’t justify the hype.

“That’s where I have a problem,” he said. “Where fans have bought into the hype of the marketing, to think she’s a race car driver. She can go fast, and I’ve seen her go fast. She drives the wheels off it when she goes fast.”

Asked if she has learned to race, Petty continued, “she’s not a race car driver. There’s a difference. The King always had that stupid saying, but it’s true, ‘Lots of drivers can drive fast, but very few drivers can race.’ Danica has been the perfect example of somebody who can qualify better than what she runs. She can go fast, but she can’t race.”

As someone who gave Patrick a chance to transition to stock cars over three years in the Nationwide Series at JR Motorsports, Earnhardt calls Patrick a tough competitor who works hard and said she wouldn’t have a ride if she couldn’t stay with the pack or finished last every week.

“If she was not able to compete,” Earnhardt said at Kentucky Speedway, “I think you might be able to say Kyle has an argument. But she’s out there running competitively and running strong on several accounts. I think that she has got a good opportunity and a rightful position in the sport to keep competing and she just might surprise even Kyle Petty.”

brickman

Postby brickman » June 29th, 2013, 7:55 pm

Rain better calm its a$$ down for the rest of the night!

brickman

Postby brickman » June 30th, 2013, 12:38 pm

Its on today with a caution almost every lap so far.

brickman

Postby brickman » June 30th, 2013, 3:33 pm

Kenseth again.Stream feeds was playing de a$$ today,had to atch tnt west feed with potato quality but say wha.Time for top gear.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 30th, 2013, 3:35 pm

Thought it was just me. The NASCAR app alerted me of the win with 16 laps to go.
9 as I watch now. :S

Oh well. Still gonna watch to the end, assuming TNT doesn't stick a commercial in between.

Postby MG Man » July 2nd, 2013, 3:00 pm

a few pics from the weekend
nas18.jpg
nas19.jpg
nas20.jpg
nas21.jpg
nas22.jpg
nas23.jpg
nas24.jpg
Rain on Saturday
nas1.jpg

Postby MG Man » July 2nd, 2013, 3:05 pm

some more
nas10.jpg
nas11.jpg
nas12.jpg
nas13.jpg
nas14.jpg
nas15.jpg
nas16.jpg
nas17.jpg

Postby MG Man » July 2nd, 2013, 3:10 pm

too lazy to sort out Friday from Saturday
nas1.jpg
nas2.jpg
nas3.jpg
nas4.jpg
nas7.jpg
nas8.jpg
nas9.jpg

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 2nd, 2013, 7:25 pm

Nice. Hopefully I could do the same one day.

Postby MG Man » July 2nd, 2013, 7:40 pm

To be honest, I had more fun wandering the pits than watching the Nationwide race. That noise is freaking unbelievable tho!!!!! From outside the suite, up top the stands, it was deafening as 40 cars thunder past!!!!!
I can't imagine how fans survive trackside. Got to meet Casey Mears and Ricky Steinhouse too :)

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 2nd, 2013, 8:05 pm

Sweet.

brickman

Postby brickman » July 6th, 2013, 7:24 pm

Coke zero 400 tonight & streams working nicely after last weekends mess.
http://strmbwl.blogspot.com/p/12_6.html

P.S i hate yew MG Man. :(

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 6th, 2013, 8:24 pm

Guess its going to look like someone's blowing up on the front stretch for a couple of laps

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 6th, 2013, 9:29 pm

I've never been critical of TNT and commercials since the analysis shows they have the same end result of 50-60 mins of commercials through the broadcast but the last couple of minutes were ridiculous.

Missed the wreck, commercial
Missed pit stops, commercial

Have to wonder if they would miss the restart and then 3 laps later, you guessed it commercial.

brickman

Postby brickman » July 6th, 2013, 10:17 pm

Lawd!!!!Gordon caught up in a wreck near the end again,hamlin & a.j got hit hard boi!.

brickman

Postby brickman » July 6th, 2013, 10:53 pm

Johnson takes the win,think if it was 5 to go smoke wouldve taken it.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 6th, 2013, 10:54 pm

Points standings. Damn the streams were close to unwatchable in those last 10 laps
ImageUploadedByTapatalk 21373165654.645020.jpg

brickman

Postby brickman » July 14th, 2013, 1:33 pm

NEWMAN LEAVING STEWART HAAS IN 2014

LOUDON, N.H.
Ryan Newman will bid farewell to Stewart-Haas Racing at the end of 2013.

RYAN NEWMAN'S SMILE
Ryan Newman teams up with Oral B and their Built in the USA tour at Daytona Check out miles of smiles.
As part of the Kevin Harvick move to SHR, team owner Tony Stewart confirmed Friday that Newman will not be involved with the organization next season. At this time, Stewart doesn’t believe it’s in the company’s best interest to field more than three cars. Along with Stewart, Danica Patrick joined SHR last season.

“I truly wish we were able to facilitate four teams at this time,” Stewart said. “We’re just not able to do that. Down the road, I’m sure if that becomes a possibility, he will definitely be on the list to fill the fourth seat again.”

Newman, 35, has been part of SHR since the company’s inception in 2009 and is 16th in this season’s points standings. Newman started his NASCAR career in 2000 with Penske Racing and has 16 career Sprint Cup wins — including three since joining SHR. He ranks third among active drivers for most pole awards with 49.

Newman isn’t sure what the ideal situation would be for him next season. Although he’s spent this season putting together a solid audition, Newman realizes he has some “homework to do” to figure out what seats might be available and best suited for him.

“To me, I first and foremost want to be wanted for my ability,” Newman said. “Ability behind the wheel as well as what I can do for the sponsors. That is the most important part. It’s not easy out there with the economy and what it takes to run one of these race teams financially. It’s not easy. Sponsorship is not at its peak in NASCAR.

“There are a lot of things to be considered, but I was sincere when I said I want to be someplace where I’m wanted. I want to be wanted for my abilities and the desires that we have as common goals to win a championship. Every driver out there wants to win a championship. Every driver out there wants to win races. It’s the desire that you have to fight through all the things I think that make and separate the men from the boys, I guess you could say.”

Newman has been mentioned as a possible 2014 candidate for Richard Childress Racing or Furniture Row Racing should Kurt Busch opt to drive for Richard Childress. Another scenario might include the team currently known as Phoenix Racing, as potential buyer Harry Scott purchases James Finch's operation and adds a second team.
Although Newman’s contract with SHR ended last season, he earned a one-year reprieve as the organization ramped up for Harvick’s arrival next year.

Still, Stewart says he’ll continue to support Newman and believes in the driver of the No. 39 Chevy.

“Unfortunately, this will be the last year that we have Ryan with us,” Stewart said Friday. “That’s probably what’s made this a bittersweet day. I’m bringing in one of my friends to the organization knowing that I’m losing a friend at the end of the year.

“The number one thing when Ryan and I spoke was our friendship will not change. This was a business decision that was Gene’s (Haas) as well as mine. It was a hard decision. There’s a personal side, and there’s a business side, and for Ryan and I, we had to put the personal bit aside to work through the business part of it. But I’ll do everything I can to help Ryan moving forward to help his effort to find another team next year.”

Wish him well meanwhile on to todays race.....

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 14th, 2013, 1:54 pm

Have to say for the complaint I made about the commercial-fest that was TNT last week the collective time of them ended up being less than the usual 50-60 mins.

On a side note I wonder which of the cable providers would pick up the slack for providing the channels for NASCAR so it wouldn't be a stream-fest past the first 13?

brickman

Postby brickman » July 14th, 2013, 2:00 pm

I prefer the premiere/sky sports feed which used the commercial free direct tv feed to tnt but streamers cant be choosers lol.

brickman

Postby brickman » July 14th, 2013, 4:46 pm

Vickers wins hopefully taking the wheel of the arrons 55 permanently,smoke out of fuel on the last lap which sucked.

brickman

Postby brickman » July 16th, 2013, 3:05 pm

NEWMAN VS BUSCH
Responds to Busch's comments after Sunday's race

A day after being described as “the biggest stupid idiot out here,” by fellow driver Kyle Busch, Stewart-Haas Racing driver Ryan Newman made light of the comments during a Monday segment on SiriusXM NASCAR Radio.

“We know he’s not very bright,” Newman told Sirius Speedway. “He’s a heck of a talent, but he’s not very bright and I’ll leave it at that.”

Following Sunday’s Camping World RV Sales 301 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, Busch blamed Newman for an incident involving Kurt Busch, Kyle’s older brother, Newman and Matt Kenseth.

Kurt Busch led three times for 102 laps. “I felt like he had the best car here today,” Kyle Busch said. “He was definitely good."
"He’s a heck of a talent, but he’s not very bright and I’ll leave it at that."

-- Ryan Newman on Kyle Busch
“...Ryan Newman’s the biggest stupid idiot out here and he’s a big ogre and can do whatever he wants ‘cause he can probably kick anybody’s butts. No sense in getting in a fight with him. But glad he’s out of a job.”

Tony Stewart, co-owner of Newman’s SHR team, had said two days prior to the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race that Newman would not return to the organization in 2014.

Kyle Busch finished second, behind race winner Brian Vickers. Newman’s car was too severely damaged in the Lap-225 incident to continue, leaving him with a 39th-place finish.

“I’m just afraid if I re-arranged his face, I might fix it,” Newman said when asked about Kyle’s comments. “He’s frustrated finishing third, or whatever he was, after hitting me first and then getting a little rub down the straightaway… imagine how I feel.”

Newman said he thought the accident that knocked him out of the race “was strictly a racing incident."

“I admit to ‘dooring’ Kyle down the straightaway after he blasted me in the corner. … I didn’t crash him; he didn’t crash me. I don’t know what he’s got to be mad about. Evidently he’s got a bone to pick … for some reason.

“(It) seems like after his comments about me not having a ride and all that stuff, seems like he’s got way more to lose than I do. I think he might check his track there before he gets too far ahead of himself.”

Newman didn’t promise retaliation, but left the door open for the possibility.

“I never said that, I just said he’s got to watch his back,” he said. “I mean, if he’s going to run his mouth, he better be able to back up running his mouth.

“I really don’t care about his opinion.”

brickman

Postby brickman » July 23rd, 2013, 3:21 pm

NASCAR, NBC Sports Group reach landmark deal

July 23, 2013, Holly Cain, NASCAR.com

Pins

NASCAR_NBC_922x520

Ten-year agreement begins in 2015, covers Sprint Cup, Nationwide, Home Tracks and more

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. -- NASCAR announced Tuesday an expansive 10-year media partnership with NBC Sports Group that will begin in 2015. It will be highlighted by multiple network broadcasts, including the season-ending NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship event, which will be on network television for the first time since 2009.

Per the agreement -- whose financial terms have not been disclosed – NBCUniversal has the exclusive rights to the final 20 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races and the final 19 Nationwide Series events through 2024.

The new deal also includes broadcast rights to the NASCAR Hall of Fame ceremony and season-ending banquets as well as rights to certain NASCAR K&N Series, NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour and NASCAR Toyota (Mexico) events and Spanish-language broadcast rights on Telemundo and Mun2 for national series events and the Toyota (Mexico) Series races.

KEY SUMMARY: 2015-2024

• NASCAR Sprint Cup Series: Final 20 races (7 on NBC, 13 on NBC Sports Network)
• NASCAR Nationwide Series: Final 19 races (4 on NBC, 15 on NBC Sports Network)
• NASCAR K&N Series and NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour events
• NASCAR Toyota (Mexico) Series events
• ‘TV Everywhere’ live-streaming rights for NASCAR Sprint Cup Series and NASCAR Nationwide Series
• Spanish-language broadcast rights on Telemundo and Mun2 for national series events and NASCAR Toyota (Mexico) Series

“With NBC, you’re joining a family at NBC Sports where you’ll be surrounded by incredible championship-type programming,’’ said Steve Herbst, NASCAR’s Vice President of Broadcasting and Production.

“Their football package on Sunday night is the number one show on television, and along with the Kentucky Derby and the Triple Crown, of course the NHL and the Stanley Cup playoffs, the French Open, they are the home to championship programming and we’ll be promoted and marketed and shown alongside those top tier events is a great day for NASCAR.

“We’re going to have the opportunity as we get into the fall season and the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup to be on Sunday afternoons leading into NFL football, and that’s an exciting opportunity for us, given the obvious power of the NFL. We still have a ways to go to figure out what races and when, but it will be select races that go into Sunday Night Football.’’

NASCAR Chairman Brian France was equally excited about both the potential this partnership will have long-term for NASCAR and what it says about the health of the sport.

“NBC is known for being an exceptional partner and delivering outstanding production quality and presentation of live sports, as well as its broad portfolio of broadcast and digital properties so we are thrilled with the commitment they have made to NASCAR and its future,” said NASCAR Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Brian France.

“We know this partnership will yield great value to our entire industry, provide a premium experience to our most important stakeholders, the fans, and help us achieve a number of strategic growth objectives. Our new partnership with NBC and the recent extension by FOX validate the strength of our fan base and the many bold steps we have taken the last several years to provide fans with better, more accessible racing.”

NBC does have a rich history with NASCAR. It broadcast the second half of the Cup and Nationwide seasons from 2001-2006 in conjunction with Turner Sports. And it aired the Daytona 500 in 2002, 2004 and 2006 as well as the season finales in 1999 and 2000.

“Having worked on and off with NASCAR since 1990, I’ve seen this company evolve through the years, and the current management team under Brian France has a unique expertise for where it needs to go at this point in time,’’ said Chairman, NBC Sports Group, Mark Lazurus, who was president of Turner Sports when the network and NBC acquired earlier NASCAR broadcast rights in 1999.

“We’re excited about the prospect of building this sport together, as many of our employees have experience working on NASCAR, as well as a passion for the sport.

“NBC Sports has great deal experience in motorsports and NASCAR, specifically. We look forward to bringing our own skills to partner with all those involved with the circuit, from teams to tracks to drivers to owners. Finally, we look forward to interacting with NASCAR’s legendary, passionate fan base at tracks that have their own unique styles and reputations.”

The NBC partnership takes over for ESPN, which currently airs the final 17 Cup races -- beginning Sunday with the Brickyard 400 at Indianapolis -- as well as the entire Nationwide Series schedule through 2014. Likewise, Turner Sports has the broadcast rights through next year for a six-race summer stretch.

Both NASCAR Chairman Brian France and Herbst were quick to praise the longstanding relationship with ESPN and Turner.

“We have enjoyed very strong partnerships with both Turner and ESPN over the years,’’ France said. “We are committed to being great partners to them throughout the 2014 season and continuing the many friendships that we have with both companies for years to come.

“They are both first-class organizations that have brought their very best to NASCAR over the years and we have every expectation we’ll all work together closely to ensure this and the 2014 season is a great success and a great experience for the fans.”

Added Herbst, “We’ve had a terrific run with ESPN and Turner; they could not be better partners that are going to be with us through 2014. We’ve been very fortunate to have them in the mix for many years and it’s a little bittersweet but the good news is, those guys will be around through next year.’’

Under France’s guidance, NASCAR also recently announced an estimated $2.4 billion, eight-year extension with FOX Sports to continue airing the first half of the NASCAR Sprint Cup season.

“With that announcement (with FOX) and today, the puzzle is almost complete,’’ Herbst said. “We still have first-half Nationwide and some Cup races to place and we expect them to be placed very soon. Talks around that part of the package are going very well.’’

For its part, NBC considers NASCAR a prime platform in its ever-expanding and evolving opportunities with both its established traditional network and the newer NBC Sports Network.

“Acquiring the rights and bringing NASCAR back to NBC comes at an important point in time for NBC Sports Network, NBC, and all of our distributors and affiliates,” Lazarus said. “We look forward to working with Brian and his management team, who have brought a renewed focus to NASCAR's intersection of sports and technology.”

Herbst acknowledged the announcement and completion of the deal is well ahead of schedule considering another year still left on current contracts, but was complimentary of his dealings with NBC and specifically Lazurus, who does have a long history with the sport.

“When given the opportunity to speak to Mark Lazurus and his team about the opportunity to get with NBC things began to move quickly, and we were able to put the deal together. Mark is one of the true pros in this business, and we were just real happy it was able to come together.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 23rd, 2013, 3:40 pm

Damn. Was now going to post that.

Looks like the Stream Cup Series for me ends in 2015. Surprised that ESPN got the boot. Thought they did a great job, except for putting most of the Chase races on ESPN for whatever reason rather than leaving them on ABC. Hopefully most of their on air talent would make the jump to NBC Sports. Don't see people like Leigh Diffey (think I spelled that right), etc calling NASCAR races as well as having people like Dale and Rusty effectively cutting their broadcast careers short.
TNT on the other hand not too surprised. Thought it didn't make much sense them having 6 races a year. Wonder what would happen to their on-air talent?

Hell I'll post what I was anyway. May have some different perspectives though it seems to be the same thing for the most part.

------

NBC Acquires NASCAR Rights, ESPN/TNT Out UPDATE: ESPN and Turner Sports will be out of the NASCAR business after next season, ending associations with the sport that go back three decades. NASCAR plans to announce this afternoon a new rights deal with NBC for the second half of the Sprint Cup and Nationwide Series seasons -- a package that previously had been held by ESPN. Beginning in 2015, NBC will share NASCAR coverage with Fox, which signed an extension with NASCAR last year. Financial terms of NBC's deal were not available, but sources familiar with it said it was as much as a 50% increase from what ESPN paid for the Sprint Cup series and half of the Nationwide Series. Turner's package of six Sprint Cup races, as well as the first half of the Nationwide Series, remain available, according to sources. Fox is considered a likely bidder for both those packages. Turner and ESPN, which are in the seventh year of eight-year agreements valued at $2.74B overall, had an exclusive negotiating window with NASCAR that ended July 14. When they did not finalize extensions, NASCAR turned to NBC. ESPN and Turner both were interested in keeping the rights, but were not willing to pay as much as NBC was offering, sources said. (full story at the Sports Business Daily)
UPDATE - announcement: NASCAR and NBC Sports Group announced today they have reached a comprehensive agreement that grants NBCUniversal exclusive rights to the final 20 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races, final 19 NASCAR Nationwide Series events, select NASCAR Regional & Touring Series events and other live content beginning in 2015. Financial terms of the agreement, which runs through the 2024 season, were not disclosed.
With this partnership, NBCs 20 Sprint Cup race schedule includes becoming the exclusive home to the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup, NASCARs final 10 races of the season, including its season-ending championship event which will return to network television in 2015 for the first time since 2009. Of NBC Sports Groups 20 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series events, seven will be carried on NBC annually, with 13 airing on NBC Sports Network (NBCSN). Four of NBC Sports Groups 19 NASCAR Nationwide Series races will air on NBC, with 15 airing on NBCSN.
In addition to rights to NASCAR Sprint Cup and NASCAR Nationwide Series races, NBC has also obtained exclusive rights to practice and qualifying sessions for NBCs national series events during their portion of the season, as well as rights to broadcast the NASCAR K&N Series, NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, NASCAR Toyota (Mexico) Series, the NASCAR Hall of Fame induction ceremony and NASCARs season-ending banquets. Further, NBC has been granted Spanish-language rights, certain video-on-demand rights and exclusive TV Everywhere rights for its NASCAR Sprint Cup Series and NASCAR Nationwide Series events.
Summary of key NBC Sports Group Exclusive Rights  2015-2024:
· Final 20 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races (7 on NBC, 13 on NBCSN)
· Final 19 NASCAR Nationwide Series races (4 on NBC, 15 on NBCSN)
· NASCAR K&N Series and NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour events
· NASCAR Toyota (Mexico) Series events
· NASCAR Hall of Fame induction ceremony and season-ending banquets
· TV Everywhere live-streaming rights for NASCAR Sprint Cup Series and NASCAR Nationwide Series
· Spanish-language broadcast rights on Telemundo and Mun2 for national series events and NASCAR Toyota (Mexico) Series.(NASCAR)(7-23-2013)

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 24th, 2013, 9:44 pm

NASCAR on dirt!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2

brickman

Postby brickman » July 28th, 2013, 1:02 pm

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 28th, 2013, 3:20 pm

4 years ago & today

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 28th, 2013, 4:02 pm

Nice win for Ryan. Kyle must be pissed (though I think he would keep that to himself). Now won 2 of the big races in the NSCS.

And 2 side notes
-nice top 10 for Jeff Gordon. May have had it if the race sequenced a different way.
-Chevrolet extends its Brickyard 400 streak to 11.