NISSCORT

Re: my escort project

Postby Rooki3 » May 24th, 2010, 5:14 pm

since we going down the "swap" road, SR20DET & you'll be eating V8's in no time!!!!!

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » May 24th, 2010, 5:39 pm

[quote="nigie"]Forget that drivetrain..... pull it out ...... put in a v8 and you are welcomed to join the Trinidad and Tobago V8 Car club ...770 7791.. :mrgreen:

d man have carb trouble already, how u tink he gonna make out with with a 4 barrel Holley that can mumford a small child? :lol: :lol: :lol:

speed

Postby speed » May 24th, 2010, 5:48 pm

nah i nun cross breedin as yet...........lol

speed

Postby speed » May 24th, 2010, 6:46 pm

nigie

Postby nigie » May 24th, 2010, 10:36 pm

speed u dont find that engine bay looking real spacey....

this looking more Aesthetically acceptable

star369

Postby star369 » May 25th, 2010, 11:26 am

best advice yet!:)

Postby MG Man » May 25th, 2010, 11:28 am

and totally ruin the handling

nigie

Postby nigie » May 25th, 2010, 11:42 am

and increase the torque tremendously!!!!! giving the car that stump pulling appeal...ah yes u could just see it now..........

star369

Postby star369 » May 25th, 2010, 11:53 am

real drivers could handle it stick a SR if u no u cant

Postby MG Man » May 25th, 2010, 11:58 am

nigie wrote:and increase the torque tremendously!!!!! giving the car that stump pulling appeal...ah yes u could just see it now..........

the car will be prone to heavy understeer, followed by snap oversteer............the handling will be very unpredictable..............braking stability will also be compromised
you sure you know what you advising the man to do?

nigie

Postby nigie » May 25th, 2010, 12:51 pm

yep me real sure...drive slower while u enjoy the rumble of the eight dogs barking....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kOVskFA5T2M

Postby MG Man » May 25th, 2010, 1:02 pm

so basically u telling the man to install stump pulling power so he can lower his fuel economy and drive slow...............
dude wtf
u ever think b4 posting?

Postby tr1ad » May 25th, 2010, 1:04 pm

bazinga

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » May 25th, 2010, 2:24 pm

MG Man wrote:so basically u telling the man to install stump pulling power so he can lower his fuel economy and drive slow...............
dude wtf
u ever think b4 posting?

rofl :lol: :lol: :lol: seriously ... telling d young man to put a v8 in the escort is jus dotish advice

Postby MG Man » May 25th, 2010, 2:41 pm

ok Speed, before you get even more confused, here't eh plan:
1) Learn some automechanical basics, howstuffworks.com will give you some basics
As I said before, get some good books, either from gt4tified; his site is http://www.scienceofspeed.net/
http://www.scienceofspeed.net/Products.php
or amazon.com and learn for yourself

2) do some research and keep your plans simple. First thing, make your car reliable before you even begin to consider modifications. Why? Because good mods on a poorly running car gives bad results and can make things worse, and make you waste good money diagnosing bad tuning.

3) Once your engine, wiring and cooling are all up to standard, make sure your suspension is in proper order, ie replace those worn bushes and ends, replace old brake and clutch seals, etc

4) Upgrades...........first thing's first: no single mod will give you better performance. Having said that, your first plan shold be to make your engine inhale and exhale better, so maybe a single downdraught weber and tubular exhaust manifold (extractors) Later on you can upgrade to twin side draughts, and MSD electronic ignition. Good stock suspension will be enough to handle the extra gains as long as your tyres are good

5) Don't expect huge power gains. No matter what all these old school fcuks tell you, there is a limit to what you can expect from a stock engine. Real power requires lots of money and work, so don't get your hopes up to high.

Take the car as an opportunity to learn the basics and develop your tuning skills. And read a lot because all the 'old school ford men' for the most part, talk a load ofshit, and their years of 'experience' is based on guessing, trial and error and seat-of-pants feelings...........all of which is kaka.............

nigie

Postby nigie » May 25th, 2010, 3:07 pm

well for one Midnite...of course i prethink b4 i give advice...plus i dont give advice i dont take myself....in my 20s i put v8s in a number of small cars that me...and my friends had....and secondly after my suggestion i have posted pics/videos of those who have taken up the challenge and have gone this way and.. r actually enjoying the spoils from their efforts. ... I .have also given the projectee the number for the v8 club of T&T ...so there is also a support base at his disposal....yeah in d earlies the man said he is not cross breeding ...so a lil ford 302 v8 is still ford ....but seriously.... if u kinfolk of the other worlds dont like the advice ..and prefer to take up the challege of putting back a stock or modified ford origo engine in a escort and thats the "BIG" project....well...what can i say ....There are some like us who prefer to transgress to another level..in any case ....he has options d 4 his project....so now md hope u out of the box...so check this out :mrgreen:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 25th, 2010, 4:15 pm

2.0 pinto engine - 400lbs with gearbox
SR20DET - 149 kg or 328 lbs (with gearbox ~500lbs)
302 Ford V8 - 475lbs (~600 with gearbox)
Rover v8 ~400lbs with gearbox

the difference would be like driving with a passenger sitting on the front rad panel

the difference in weight can be accounted for my changing the corner balance of the car and height, using adjustable suspension height to distribute the weight effectively.

it can be done, and be done right, there are smaller lighter V8's (from ford too) and even very sexy v6's from the explorer and others..

but i would recommend getting a Burton Power catalog, they are free from burtons website and a MUST have for a ford owner - http://burton-power.co.uk

they have great engine write ups and any/every engine/suspensions and driveline part you could ever want, i would give you mine, but its so useful, even for other makes of cars..

Postby MG Man » May 25th, 2010, 4:25 pm

the biggest drawback to burton tho, is that their stuff not cheap :-(
But WOW! My mech had a Burton head on his 2.0 pinto, along with Janspeed exhaust, twin Webers, MSD, the full works, and that thing was FAST!!!!!

nigie

Postby nigie » May 25th, 2010, 4:40 pm

Allyuh leave out d rover and d sr20 the man say he not crossbreeding....

$$$$$burton$$$$$$$...punny engine.....bah humbug... :mrgreen:
Last edited by nigie on May 25th, 2010, 4:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MG Man » May 25th, 2010, 4:50 pm

smallpenismuch?

Postby Rooki3 » May 25th, 2010, 5:02 pm

out of the 4 engines Bezman posted, which is more "bang" for "buck"?

Postby MG Man » May 25th, 2010, 5:04 pm

I'd say SR20 but I'd go n/a rather than boosted

minipresident

Postby minipresident » May 25th, 2010, 5:30 pm

my dear friends......allyuh see the condition of the car right?
stop confusing mih boy with all kinda fancy fantasies, that car needs to be made road-worthy first!
i mean, for pete sake it doesn't even have good brakes yet

Postby MG Man » May 25th, 2010, 5:49 pm

hence my list a few posts above...but ppl doh read.......

gready123456

Re:

Postby gready123456 » May 25th, 2010, 6:18 pm

Midnight_Demon wrote:Damien, if u serious ... i MIGHT be able to link u either a mk1 2 door or a 616 .. both in decent condition

616 from where how much what exactly is decent condition u can pm me the info if u are willing to let me kno

thanks

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » May 25th, 2010, 8:00 pm

^ both are sold already

nigie

Postby nigie » May 25th, 2010, 8:40 pm

of bezman 4 engines the 302 is the best bang for the buck a 95 usd camshaft change and u on your way to 400hp d other engines iz big money thing

Postby Rooki3 » May 25th, 2010, 8:41 pm

how much you paying for the engine???

Bezman

Re: Re:

Postby Bezman » May 25th, 2010, 10:21 pm

gready123456 wrote:
Midnight_Demon wrote:Damien, if u serious ... i MIGHT be able to link u either a mk1 2 door or a 616 .. both in decent condition

616 from where how much what exactly is decent condition u can pm me the info if u are willing to let me kno

thanks

you still pretending you buying a rx?? :lol: :lol:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 25th, 2010, 10:26 pm

and what is more valuable in the catalouge are the part numbers, so when a man tell ya i have a 2.0 ford cam, you can check and see what it really is ;)

plus get the part number for suspension bits from koni and bilstein etc :)