Offer your VR4 project build tips here...

vans

Re: Offer your VR4 project build tips here...

Postby vans » July 22nd, 2010, 12:36 pm

question does the 6a13tt come with a bov stock . i dont have one installed but when i let the boost build i hear a slight noise sounding like air releasing.?? so just wanted 2 know . and if so where is it and can it be adjusted?

Postby Monk BANzai » July 22nd, 2010, 3:35 pm

vans wrote:question does the 6a13tt come with a bov stock . i dont have one installed but when i let the boost build i hear a slight noise sounding like air releasing.?? so just wanted 2 know . and if so where is it and can it be adjusted?

Theres a recirculating valve to the bottom (front) piping. just under the air-box. Its part of the stock intercooler piping and made of plastic.

vans

Postby vans » July 22nd, 2010, 5:55 pm

or ok . but it can't be adjusted?nd when i'm ready to put in a bov is that the best place to take it run it from

ralliartvr47

Postby ralliartvr47 » July 22nd, 2010, 7:40 pm

fellas i have a few problems but i will go into jus 1 for now...when i riding d clutch i gettin a fairly loud whirring sound comin frm in frnt and a more vibration on d pedal dan normal. i put in an exedy stage 1 street and strip clutch disc and pressure plate and an NTN release bearing. i drivin d car for abt a mnth now so in sure d clutch disc break in. also when i mash d clutch pedal i getting i light knocking sound but it doesnt happn all d time.

keep in mind dat i wasnt there wen d mech actually put in d new clutch kit, but what u guys think cud cause this if it did have d new clutch kit.
:shock: i wonda if he leave d alignment tool in d gearbox :shock:

i will post up d rest of problems later..

Postby Monk BANzai » July 22nd, 2010, 7:53 pm

vans wrote:or ok . but it can't be adjusted?nd when i'm ready to put in a BOV is that the best place to take it run it from

best thing to do is to redo the piping....thereby eliminating that recirc vavle...i actually blew the recir valve on my second shot (80 shot) of Nawz...was most scurred as i swore i blew the engine....lol or remove it and put a bung.....most ppl put the BOV on the intake just after the MAF....

RalliartV y you need to check that..it cud be that one or more of your engine mounts are damaged and the engine is now in a "listing" position, putting more pressure on that side of the set up....that cud damage ur T-Case as well..

Look at that ASAP...

tripplediamond

Postby tripplediamond » July 22nd, 2010, 8:06 pm

^^ you should never "ride" your clutch! esp with a performance clutch. I have noticed a whirring sound from a twin disc evo 3 exedy clutch disc + 2nd stage pplate though. Careful not to do unwanted damage to your clutch man... Check me i will show you how i manage my copper with ease, it will take some practice, esp if you are a former automatic driver, dont worry man.

ralliartvr47

Postby ralliartvr47 » July 22nd, 2010, 8:39 pm

banzai-i will check d engine mounts..but when i installed d engine, d mounts were in real good condition. i was surprised to see dat. if d mounts r bad i will go with d polyurethane one time.
u kno wat... i gonna check d mounts now. will reply as soon as i done.

tripplediamond- i wont ride d clutch too much anymore but if i pullin off on a hill i cyar really help dat. i will still come and check u a day and we go see wat goin on.
now i dnt kno if it different with nissan cars but a guy i kno wit an SR20 turbo with d ACT stage 1 kit never got dat problem.

ralliartvr47

Postby ralliartvr47 » July 22nd, 2010, 9:08 pm

ok so i jus made a quick check on d engine mounts and d results are...
big one on d side of engine -very good condition
d one in d back by d firewall -very good condition
d one under d intake box -lookin a little squeezed in and pushed out on sides but not too too bad
d one by d radiator -cant see it

well i will definitly recheck it weekend and kno for sure and update u guys on d situation.

thanks again for d help and info fellas.

Postby Monk BANzai » July 27th, 2010, 12:30 am

seats installed...

does anyone know if the Evo VII steering can work uip? or do i have to get a Super VR4 Momo steering?

Evo steering wheel:

Super VR4 steerign wheel:

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 27th, 2010, 12:45 am

That wheel looks awful lot like the GSR evo 4-6 models...

Postby Monk BANzai » July 27th, 2010, 1:44 am

yeah it does doesn't it?.....

ralliartvr47

Postby ralliartvr47 » July 27th, 2010, 7:02 am

banzai d car lookin real sweet hoss. u kno ting!!!
i was gonna buy d evo 8 fully black steering wheel also.
will have to do some research on d steering because d evo steering is takata and well i not sure wat brand d original galant steering is.
dat go look real dread.

Postby Monk BANzai » July 27th, 2010, 12:34 pm

Original Galant is Nardi...wood/leather combination.

scientist

Postby scientist » July 28th, 2010, 12:42 am

Carlos's VR4 type V has the Recaro seat, Momo wheel (All black similar to the Evo 5 and Super VR4) and Wide fender.

the Evo 7+ steering wheels can fit with some mods, it Uses a different clamping method. Instead of the Nut it has a Clamp. You'll have to open it up and modify it to use the NUT

Postby Monk BANzai » July 28th, 2010, 11:58 am

^^ thanks man....what about the SRS? would the Airbag work?

ralliartvr47

Postby ralliartvr47 » July 29th, 2010, 7:38 pm

ok fellas i run d car on d highway yesterday and today and it wukin sweet!!!i hadda jus change 2 bushings and i good to go. gas goin fass too.

this morning i was goin thru woodland and i "forgot to slow down for a speed bump" so wen i saw d bump i mash a hard brakes )D ORIGINAL VR-4 BRAKES IS NOT ENUFF FOR DAT CAR) and i ran over d hump at abt 30kmh...and well i have tein shocks and lowering springs so i drag d bumper and wen d wheel went over half ah d exhaust drag too....i cudda cry...but d funny ting was d way how my right side foglight pitch out
now i kno i not supposed to be laffin at dat but it look real funny. i mean, it was abt half 5 this morning.

BUT D MAIN TING IS, D CAR WUKIN BESS ON D HIGHWAY!!!

wen i was comin down d highway i saw a black vr-4 parked off d highway close to monroe road flyover. d car eh have no front bumper, big stink intercooler. it look real sweet. d car look like it jus mean business.

anyone own dat car in this forum?big up to u hoss, it look mean.

scientist

Postby scientist » August 4th, 2010, 10:10 am

Get some new pads (Not OEM) and Change to DOT4 brake fluid

scientist

Postby scientist » August 4th, 2010, 10:14 am

So i will be documenting the manual conversion of a project VR4 type S. We will also be going to Single turbo on this car. It may take a few months as importing things into dominica is expensive as hell.

But thanks to banzai, we already begun the manual transformation.

Since the car is a 2001 type S
it has AYC, Stability Control, Recaro Seats, Momo wheel, fender flares, facelift bumper and 7203F ecu.

We considering an Evo RS rear diff or reflashing the AYC ecu in the mean time.

ralliartvr47

Postby ralliartvr47 » August 4th, 2010, 4:24 pm

ok kool thanks...
thas d super vr4 u have dey.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » August 4th, 2010, 4:58 pm

wen i was comin down d highway i saw a black vr-4 parked off d highway close to monroe road flyover. d car eh have no front bumper, big stink intercooler. it look real sweet. d car look like it jus mean business.

I saw this same car in Chaguanas a month or two ago.. Yes it looks like it can bite you back very hard!

Postby Monk BANzai » August 4th, 2010, 7:36 pm

anyone have two coil packs to spare?>...trying to identify a missfire im getting all of a sudden....

scientist

Postby scientist » August 5th, 2010, 12:14 am

no its not a super VR4. Super VR4s aren't avail in facelifts. also super VR4 has accents in red

ralliartvr47

Postby ralliartvr47 » August 5th, 2010, 3:56 am

scientist wrote:no its not a super VR4. Super VR4s aren't avail in facelifts. also super VR4 has accents in red

or hor...kool

Postby Monk BANzai » August 5th, 2010, 8:47 am

so nobody have extra coil packs?

ralliartvr47

Postby ralliartvr47 » August 5th, 2010, 4:35 pm

nope no extra coil packs...

ralliartvr47

Postby ralliartvr47 » August 10th, 2010, 6:46 am

wat is d best oil to use on d vr4 engine 6A13?
and
how much km allyuh does make on a full tank of gas wit d vr4 engine?

Postby Monk BANzai » August 10th, 2010, 7:54 am

right now i using Eneos 5W.....but i not really comfortable with its burn off....great oil, the engine works well...but i've had to add 1 gallon in jsut over a month (1000km driving) to compensate for blow-by. I might switch to AMSoil next oil change.

Milage?....wow.....staying out of boost i'd get close to 300K....in boost (hard driving) it drops to jsut under 200K for me.....not teh leanest of cars around...

scientist

Postby scientist » August 10th, 2010, 6:02 pm

You should try disabling closed loop and keep things leaner in low load areas to get mileage up. I'll see if i can get it to work on the VR4 ECUs so it only forced it to use the open loop target maps and get low load to hit 15.5-16.5 AFR

Postby Monk BANzai » August 10th, 2010, 6:14 pm

^^ sounds like fun..i'll let Karl know of your findings so he can implement them as well....

Postby Monk BANzai » August 10th, 2010, 6:35 pm

weekend gorne made an attempt at lwoering that car on the coil overs i have....

measurin d height b4 adjsuting..was looking for 1 inch in the back and 1.5 in the front..

Tool ah de trade...

got the front down nicely...

adjsutment distance for the rear..

started doing the rear left side...which went well

but the rear right side....that bugger....spring rate adjustment refused to budge....had to take th shock off and hit it some hammer....no luck...

put it on the vice...use air tools on it...no luck....

evn gave it some acetylene flame..it budge halfa turn...

ended up..after 2 hours...putting the coil over back on..and raising back the other 3 sides to its original height.....