TriniTuner v3.0

evil_gdi

Postby evil_gdi » December 26th, 2009, 8:49 pm

I want to second this one as it would be a big help for ppl looking to buy used cars and they need to get a really good idea of what they might be getting into.. makes for more informed buyers possibly..

skylinechild wrote:how about a stock forum for cars that comes stock or a stock thread for each vehicle maker for all the vehicles that they make and the configuration they come with?....for ppl who want to know what they getting from the factory or the foreign used dealer.....

also an upgrade thread again for each manufacturer of vehicles that has all their vehicles listed there with what upgrades / conversions will work in which cars and again the engine room pic thread will come in handy here....

as well as the tuning adivce forum can also be integrated here .....

evil_gdi

Rating system

Postby evil_gdi » December 26th, 2009, 8:56 pm

I saw earlier in the posts that the next version will try to incorporate a star rating system for feedback without the use of comments.

You should check out Newegg.com, they also have a star rating system (but helped out by comments) that gives a breakdown of the overall rating so you get - 3 x "5 Star" rating + 4 x "3 Star" rating = avg 3.5 stars.

Hopefully this can inform ppl choosing to do business with this person if they are consistent in their dealings as opposed to mebbe only some customers get real lucky!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 27th, 2009, 9:22 am

^ please read through this entire thread
as mentioned before we can have star ratings but no comments.
Unlike newegg we do not profit on each sale and so cannot get involved in each sale. Negative comments can involve slander.

with regards to IT threads and engine pic threads etc users are free to make their own threads :|
we don't need new forums for the things mentioned by skylinechild

evil_gdi

Postby evil_gdi » December 27th, 2009, 11:07 am

Not trying to get you to add a comments section, saw your reasoning in earlier posts...

Just saying that for the star ratings, you can give a breakdown of how many 5 Star ratings vs 4 Star ratings vs 3 Star.... yada yada yada which then works out to an average rating.

Hopefully they will give an indicator of the consistency of the person yuh dealing with.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 27th, 2009, 11:19 am

^ what ever we use it would have to be something that cannot be manipulated by caveats such as voter padding etc

evil_gdi

Postby evil_gdi » December 27th, 2009, 12:13 pm

yeh, wuz thinkin of that.. when you consider all the downsides like ppl not using a rating system properly or not understanding what the ratings mean or just bein mean and givin a bad rating out of spite.. makes yuh want to not even go that route...

but the pluses are huge for the well intentioned and/or average site user...

Postby buzz » December 27th, 2009, 12:56 pm

TRDcorolla wrote:make TRDcorolla a mod just for ah day....ill clean up the toyota forum good :lol: :lol:

i share the same enthusiasm :|

i HATE all the FS and WTB posts in teh toyota forum :x

or can mishi come over to toyota pleassssssssssseeeeeeee? :oops:

Postby foss » December 27th, 2009, 4:05 pm

i think there should also be a rating system for the tuners that sell miscellaneous items once in a while.. the buyer of an item can have an option to drop some feedback on his or her dealings with said tuner... so other people can see (so you can see for yourself whether or not they are good people to do business with)

also... what about a user control panel? like the one i posted.. and i know the search thing was mentioned. but one should be able to search for post he created AND post he commented on. So all that can be in the control panel (see all post created by user) or (see all post user commented on)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 27th, 2009, 9:06 pm

foss wrote:i think there should also be a rating system for the tuners that sell miscellaneous items once in a while.. the buyer of an item can have an option to drop some feedback on his or her dealings with said tuner... so other people can see (so you can see for yourself whether or not they are good people to do business with)

also... what about a user control panel? like the one i posted.. and i know the search thing was mentioned. but one should be able to search for post he created AND post he commented on. So all that can be in the control panel (see all post created by user) or (see all post user commented on)

any user that sells enough items via the classifieds to warrant their own ranking would need powerseller status.

the user control panel will be work in progress - we will try to match the functionality of your example

Postby foss » December 27th, 2009, 9:38 pm

thanks.

but even people who sell items once in a while should have a rating system i think. so people will get an idea of the person they are doing business with.

just something for the users who go out of their way for others with a sale etc. they will have something to show

Postby buzz » December 28th, 2009, 7:37 am

also wrt forms (dunno if it was mentioned earlier)

can there be a required field for when ppl post stuff up for sale

i think it would help reduce the FS and WTB threads in the tech forums, so when you want eg. nissan parts you can simply search for nissan parts? :|

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 28th, 2009, 8:16 am

^ yeah that was mentioned already

Chipz

Postby Chipz » December 28th, 2009, 10:49 pm

Trinituner For BlackBerry :D

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 29th, 2009, 12:55 am

^ get a phone with a proper browser :lol:

Chipz

Postby Chipz » December 29th, 2009, 2:09 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ get a phone with a proper browser :lol:

what about an IT Support Room?
since so many technical questions are being asked on the ole talk forum.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 29th, 2009, 10:03 pm

^ people ask those questions in the Ole Talk forum because there are alot of users there and their question will be answered quickly

Postby Rooki3 » December 29th, 2009, 10:08 pm

I've noticed on some forums, when a user is banned, their's an "X" over their username & under their username says "banned", i know it's jus cosmetics, but it seems really cool :mrgreen:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 29th, 2009, 10:12 pm

Rooki3 wrote:I've noticed on some forums, when a user is banned, their's an "X" over their username & under their username says "banned", i know it's jus cosmetics, but it seems really cool :mrgreen:

it can be arranged for you if you wish

trvs

Postby trvs » December 29th, 2009, 10:24 pm

Rooki3 wrote:I've noticed on some forums, when a user is banned, their's an "X" over their username & under their username says "banned", i know it's jus cosmetics, but it seems really cool :mrgreen:

^^^ hahaha

Postby Rooki3 » December 29th, 2009, 10:31 pm

8-)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 29th, 2009, 10:44 pm

:D :D :D

Altec55

Postby Altec55 » December 30th, 2009, 8:31 am

hey duane, will you all ever delete off old posts? like say removing all posts where the last reply was Dec 31, 2006 and before?

it would help to decrease your database size, ensure tuner stays efficient (less load on the server) and prevent people from bumping old posts

Postby wagonrunner » December 30th, 2009, 8:33 am

Altec55 wrote:hey duane, will you all ever delete off old posts? like say removing all posts where the last reply was Dec 31, 2006 and before?

it would help to decrease your database size, ensure tuner stays efficient (less load on the server) and prevent people from bumping old posts

and if someone wants information, that they know was already posted?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 30th, 2009, 8:42 am

thanks wagonrunner,

Altec55

Postby Altec55 » December 30th, 2009, 10:34 am

sorry, i should have specified....

Not for the technical posts. for the ole talk and classified section.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 30th, 2009, 1:33 pm

Altec55 wrote:sorry, i should have specified....

Not for the technical posts. for the ole talk and classified section.

ole talk no, as users like to get sentimental and bring back up pertinent issues from years gone by. It would be impossible to manually prune posts that we no longer need from 1.3million threads

classifieds yes, prune all WTB and FS posts older than 3 months, that is one of the points stated in the first post of this thread

Postby noshownogo » December 30th, 2009, 1:42 pm

i propose a change in site colour, simple but i kinda find the blue looking a bit dated. Although a nice neutral green could be perceived as brand marketing for a certain mobile provider, likewise red :? ahh forget it...

Postby wagonrunner » December 30th, 2009, 3:27 pm

noshownogo wrote:i propose a change in site colour, simple but i kinda find the blue looking a bit dated. Although a nice neutral green could be perceived as brand marketing for a certain mobile provider, likewise red :? ahh forget it...

the official color of this site is yellow eh.
dhal power. blends well with both cornbread & pholourie.

Postby wagonrunner » December 31st, 2009, 5:21 pm

eh sure if this was said before, it owuld be nice if the tech forums were better monitored.
to have some of the nonfactual, irrelevant, misinformation removed on a regular basis.

Postby foss » January 1st, 2010, 5:05 am