T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

carluva

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby carluva » September 6th, 2020, 9:05 pm

4WD or AWD?
MDtuner70 wrote:
agent007 wrote:Well toyota owns a portion of subaru and massy has the STi for $700k or you can get the CTR for $550k and Honda is just as big in the dance like Toyota.

I have a prado under by belt already, which means my budget for the the pocket rocket very tight. Hence I looking at the GR Yaris.

What else is there on the market that is 4wd, carrying over 250hp, holds resale value, is reliable and not too expensive to maintain ? And carrying an average price tag of around $300-$350k?

MDtuner70

Postby MDtuner70 » September 6th, 2020, 11:23 pm

carluva wrote:4WD or AWD?
MDtuner70 wrote:
agent007 wrote:Well toyota owns a portion of subaru and massy has the STi for $700k or you can get the CTR for $550k and Honda is just as big in the dance like Toyota.

I have a prado under by belt already, which means my budget for the the pocket rocket very tight. Hence I looking at the GR Yaris.

What else is there on the market that is 4wd, carrying over 250hp, holds resale value, is reliable and not too expensive to maintain ? And carrying an average price tag of around $300-$350k?

AWD, my bad.

MDtuner70

Postby MDtuner70 » September 6th, 2020, 11:33 pm

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 7th, 2020, 7:56 am

Hard luck dey bruh but the closest you can get is a WRX for $500k.

A172, you realize there is a gap between the SSS and the WRX? That's a full $300k in between those 2. So grey market dealers should plug that gap, but the question is with what?

Maybe BRZs, Miata's, the new Mazda3 turbo, Civic Si's, Golf GTi's and one of those N-Line Hyundais like the i30 N or Veloster N. Europe has the Renault Megane GT, Peugeot 308 GTI and the Ford Focus ST. Pocket rockets galore!

Most not available here sadly.
MDtuner70 wrote:

Capleton

Postby Capleton » September 7th, 2020, 11:20 am

MDtuner70 wrote:

In short, nothing new out of the showroom. If you want turbocharged AWD goodness then go with a used EVO or an STi. You can probably get a good one for approx $100K, then spend another $100K on repairs and mods (i'm being very prudent with pricing, in reality it may be a whole lot cheaper) :roll: you will still be under ur initial budget of $300-$350k.

Or if you want to stay within the Toyota brand, buy a GT86 and throw a 2JZ in it lolz....

MDtuner70

Postby MDtuner70 » September 7th, 2020, 4:49 pm

Capleton wrote:
MDtuner70 wrote:

In short, nothing new out of the showroom. If you want turbocharged AWD goodness then go with a used EVO or an STi. You can probably get a good one for approx $100K, then spend another $100K on repairs and mods (i'm being very prudent with pricing, in reality it may be a whole lot cheaper) :roll: you will still be under ur initial budget of $300-$350k.

Or if you want to stay within the Toyota brand, buy a GT86 and throw a 2JZ in it lolz....

I have looked at some of these options already, the problem on my end is that I want something stock and non molested. It's really hard to find this locally and at a decent price. Almost every performance car I have viewed locally always has some issue: "car in best condition, but x,y and z not working, small thing to fix man" lol. Tired hear this. To some, these issues may be minor, but I dont have the time to fix this and that to get a car up to par. Peace of mind and fun is the ratio.

There is a lovely 4wd Levin based on a caldina with 3sgte engine for sale locally, however the fuel cell is tiny and its somewhat a Frankenstein. Only reason I considering this is because it's a Toyota (yes I'm ridiculously bias to Toyota) and I'm familiar with the Levin and 3sgte engine. I'm not really the modding type, I like out of the box performance, simply to maintain reliability and resale value amongst other things. I know it's somewhat boring in the scheme of things but that's just my taste and approach. The most I may do is wheels/tyres and music.

I'm going to dig into the GR yaris. Once I get more info regarding costs, varying models etc I'll post here. I saw people from the UK already started pre ordering them. Seems the UK/europe will be the first market after Japan to receive them.

Still appreciate all the advice and guidance fellas!

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 11th, 2020, 4:55 pm

3.6 V6 - $580k

I can't sleep now.
FB_IMG_1599857550015.jpeg
FB_IMG_1599857545251.jpeg
FB_IMG_1599857541404.jpeg
FB_IMG_1599857543363.jpeg
FB_IMG_1599857539269.jpeg
Last edited by agent007 on September 11th, 2020, 4:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rebound

Postby rebound » September 11th, 2020, 5:00 pm

Yuh meant 580k right?

Postby Gladiator » September 11th, 2020, 10:29 pm

agent007 wrote:3.6 V6 - $580m

I can't sleep now.FB_IMG_1599857539269.jpegFB_IMG_1599857543363.jpegFB_IMG_1599857541404.jpegFB_IMG_1599857545251.jpegFB_IMG_1599857550015.jpeg

Nice vehicle.... but anytime I see it I keep picturing a Mahindra ...LOL

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 11th, 2020, 11:58 pm

580k sorry.

Mahindra? hmmm yuh have a point there!

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 12th, 2020, 1:36 pm

Guys, i just received word from a couple of sales reps from 3 different dealers that they are expecting an adjustment on MVT and duty for budget 2020. So if some of you all are contemplating buying a new ride, you may want to do so now.

Fearmongering tactic or seems legit?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 12th, 2020, 10:34 pm

agent007 wrote:Guys, i just received word from a couple of sales reps from 3 different dealers that they are expecting an adjustment on MVT and duty for budget 2020. So if some of you all are contemplating buying a new ride, you may want to do so now.

Every Budget since 2015 they have been scaring potential buyers with this ....

The only thing i expect may be adjustment to the TAX free spree on hybrids.

Hearing no devaluation in this budget so breathe easy.

ALady4ALady

Postby ALady4ALady » September 13th, 2020, 5:20 am

Can anyone confirm the HP and Nm of these vehicles?

They seem similar to the Vitara 2x4, but I suspect they don't come close to the performance.

They are the:
1. Kia Seltos (South American / Indian / whatever and only version they sent us in Trinidad)

2. Base range Subaru XV

3. Mid Range XV

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 13th, 2020, 7:06 am

Noted drchaos. How have you been? Not seeing you at all.

Alady, the Seltos is not from South Korea so the build quality would not be like a Sorento. The one we get is the third world version, that is, much different to the north american spec. It only has 2 airbags and its 2wd only. In terms of engine output, you're looking at around 121hp and 151Nm of peak torque. This is a GDi engine which would cloud up the intake valves faster as it ages. Current price increased from $210k to $219k

The XV base model comes from Japan. It has 7 standard airbags and standard awd. The body is stiffer than 2 seltoses combined lol. Engine specs for the 1.6 is around 113hp and 150Nm of peak torque (if you want more power, there are the 2.0 models that take you way up into the 300s category). The 1.6 is a regular port injected/multipoint fuel injected setup which would not build carbon on the intake valves as fast as a GDi engine. Its going to be slow especially since your engine is working hard to continuously power 2 axles. Prices are $229k for the entry, it used to be around $225k. The mid range is really a fully loaded without the EyeSight safety package. That model is now $275k but it was once $265k for a brief period. If you want EyeSight then be prepared to part ways with $299k. I wont put a Seltos next to a Japan built Subaru with the world's best awd system. That third world Kia is a joke. Keep in mind, Kia's get gremlins as they age, watch how many new ones have blown bulbs already which speaks volumes to electrical problems. People generally buy Kia's because the cars are decently equipped and have relatively good prices compared to other offerings in the market, but you pay for what you get.

The Vitara is also really nice, its built in Hungary and It boasts a 1.6 port injected motor with 118hp and 156Nm peak torque. You also have the AllGrip option which is fair to say that it ain't bad at all. It's no Subaru but its competent enough. I'll take the Vitara or the XV over that Kia or any Kia for that matter, anyday and here's the bonus part, a Vitara starts from $200k and goes all the way up to $265k so it does cater for a wide range of people too and it boasts the best warranty of all, 5 years or 100,000kms. The other 2 is 3 years or 100,000kms.

rebound

Postby rebound » September 13th, 2020, 9:10 pm

Ya. I not feeling it...the wheels look disconnected from the vehicle...
Gladiator wrote:

I can't sleep now.FB_IMG_1599857539269.jpegFB_IMG_1599857543363.jpegFB_IMG_1599857541404.jpegFB_IMG_1599857545251.jpegFB_IMG_1599857550015.jpeg

Capleton

Postby Capleton » September 14th, 2020, 3:33 pm

rebound wrote:Ya. I not feeling it...the wheels look disconnected from the vehicle...
Gladiator wrote:

I think the starting price for the Sport is $530K and not $580k, the Rubicon version starts at $660K

CloudBoi

Postby CloudBoi » September 15th, 2020, 5:28 pm

drchaos wrote:
agent007 wrote:Guys, i just received word from a couple of sales reps from 3 different dealers that they are expecting an adjustment on MVT and duty for budget 2020. So if some of you all are contemplating buying a new ride, you may want to do so now.

Every Budget since 2015 they have been scaring potential buyers with this ....

The only thing i expect may be adjustment to the TAX free spree on hybrids.

Hearing no devaluation in this budget so breathe easy.

Lol I wasn't aware of this. I was actually contacted by a dealer today who conveniently brought up the uncertainty in the air wrt the budget. I rather walk the 20 miles to work than lose my job in these trying times and be stuck with that loan.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 15th, 2020, 9:29 pm

agent007 wrote:Noted drchaos. How have you been? Not seeing you at all.

Good man! Burnt out ... Working without a break.

Hardly anytime to study new cars these days ... investing while there is blood in the water.

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » September 15th, 2020, 10:58 pm

Dont know how to feel about the exterior as yet would reserve judgement until I see it on the road. Will be very polarizing. The interior is nice. Basically the same power trains as before with the addition of hybrid and plug in hybrid using the same 1.6 turbo engine found in the latest Sorento and Santa Fe. Would be Interesting to see if Massy decides to bring the Hybrid versions.

rebound

Postby rebound » September 16th, 2020, 11:08 am

^^^I like the side profile, muscular.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 16th, 2020, 9:13 pm

The new tucson looks cool ... But as a whole its ugly.
The Design language is not Uniform ... Feminine and Curved at the front and Angular and masculine at the sides.
I hate it when car companies do this ... The car stops looking "nice" once the newness factor is gone.

THe interior is interesting ... The gear shifter is stolen from Honda hybrids.

The acceleration is gonna be amazing on the hybrid. With an electric motor and a turbo charger once tuned properly is gonna be mouth watering.

Postby Gladiator » September 16th, 2020, 10:16 pm

Capleton wrote:
rebound wrote:Ya. I not feeling it...the wheels look disconnected from the vehicle...
Gladiator wrote:

I think the starting price for the Sport is $530K and not $580k, the Rubicon version starts at $660K

Whats the main differences with the sport and the rubicon?

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 17th, 2020, 1:50 am

Agreed with chaos. I noticed that the Tucson also stole the squared off fenders from the RAV4.

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » September 17th, 2020, 9:11 am

Yup looks very Rav 4ish especially around the fenders for me. Hyundai Took a big risk with this one especially it being their best selling SUV.

Postby aaron17 » September 19th, 2020, 10:30 am

Overbusy sides like toyota chr?

Postby aaron17 » September 19th, 2020, 10:34 am

Hope it don't burn up as well.

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 27th, 2020, 7:09 pm

Soon...
IMG_2475.JPG

agent007

T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby agent007 » September 28th, 2020, 1:22 am

WHAT IS WRONG WITH OUR DOLLAR???

These are prices for Toyota RAV4 and HiLux in T&T, and comparative prices for the RAV4 in the United States and for the HiLux in Australia.

Many people want to play the conversion game, so let's start there.

WHY would a vehicle that costs 25,500 US have to sell here for 345,000 TT?

Converted at seven to one, 25,500 US is 178,500 TT, yet here it is being sold for a whopping TWICE that.

Meaning you are LITERALLY paying for two cars to get one.

WHY?

Shipping a car CANNOT cost 178,500, and the duty and the VAT does not add up to that, so why the ridiculous price?

Or WHY would an imported vehicle that sells for 21,000 in Australia sell here for 200,000 TT?

It does not add up.

But let's move on from the con-version game and have the 'VALUE OF OUR MONEY IN RELATION TO UNITS OF WORK' conversation.

For those of you joining late, the underlying premise is a unit of work in America or Australia should be worth the same as a unit of work in T&T, and what is commonly referred to as 'CURRENCY VALUE' translates to 'what can i get for my unit of work.'

We have used milk prices and pizza prices.

Let's talk cars.

The minimum wage in T&T is: 15 dollars per hour
The minimum wage in Australia is: 18 dollars per hour
The minimum wage in the United States is: (on average) 10. per hour (some states pay as high as 15. per hour)

That means that if you were employed in the US digging holes you would be paid 10 an hour, in Australia you would be paid 18. and in T&T you would be paid fifteen.

Same work, same shovel, same hole.

So the expectation should be that the VALUE of what you get for digging that hole should be the same or similar, but yet, in every single comparison, Trinbagonians pay MORE for less, even for things we manufacture here and export to other countries.

To buy a RAV4 in America, a hole digger would have to work twenty five hundred hours or three hundred eight hour days.

To buy that same vehicle, the Trini hole digger would have to work 23 THOUSAND hours, or two thousand eight hundred and seventy five 8 hour days, or SEVEN YEARS.

WHY IS THE MONEY WE RECEIVE FOR WORK SO VALUELESS COMPARED TO OTHER COUNTRIES?

An Australian digging the SAME holes with the SAME shovel could buy a HiLux with one thousand one hundred hours of work, or just around 145 eight hour days.

Why should a person in the third wealthiest nation in the western hemisphere digging the same hole with the same shovel have to work 13,133 hours or sixteen hundred and forty one days to buy the same van with the same shipping costs to Australia as it is to T&T?

WHY?

Why would the Aussie own his HiLux in half a year, but his Trini counterpart has to work for four and a half years for the same purchase?

WHY is our dollar so weak?

THIS is the conversation we HAVE to have.

WHAT impacts on our dollar that values our work in relation for what we get in exchange so low?

And WHY have we not addressed ALL of it to rightsize our dollar and ensure that our people, even or maybe ESPECIALLY those working for minimum wage could have a chance at a real life, and not bare minimum sustenance and squalor?

WHY?

By Phillip Edward Alexander, taken from Facebook.

Postby aaron17 » September 28th, 2020, 6:57 am

agent007 wrote:Soon...
IMG_2475.JPG
Eww..current one still looks bad at rear.

Capleton

Postby Capleton » September 28th, 2020, 12:02 pm

Just saw LSM has added a new lower spec Vitara to their line up. It's a GL version, which is lower than the current GL+ (entry level model). Currently priced around $185K. Key differences are:

- No chrome on the outside (black out grille, door handles, wing mirrors)
- No fogs and DRL's
- No clock on the dash (between a/c vents)
- Manual wind up rear windows
- Urethane steering wheel
- No cruise control and speed limiter
- 16" alloys (other models come with 17" alloys)
- Manual climate control
- No touchscreen infotainment (normal CD, bluetooth, AUX).

Apart from these differences the GL version does keep some good stuff:

- 7 airbags
- Paddle shifters
- Steering wheel controls (audio & bluetooth)
- 4 wheel disc brakes
- Same 2WD drivetrain (engine & tranny)

Do you think the wind up rear windows are a deal breaker?