T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Stephon. » October 28th, 2011, 8:17 am

scotty_buttons wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Just an FYI, I was in Curepe today on a busy street, a man driving a Tucson (new model - white PCP) was driving through the street. Now I hope I explain this properly.

There were cars coming from the other direction which stopped the vehicle in it's tracks, he was forced to reverse, but I was behind him so I reversed too. Instead of reversing, he kept driving forward almost hitting the vehicle in front of him, his hazard lights then came on solid, ie not flashing. He emerged from the vehicle and came up to me and told me that his reverse isn't working, so I would have to find another route. When I was about to reverse out of the street, his reverse started back to work, he then was unable to put it in drive. After that he had to take off the vehicle and put it back on for it to get into the drive gear. I wonder if this is a common problem with these Tucson vehicles now.

When I got to my destination in Curepe, and told my cool story, someone said "What do you expect, it's Hyundai" :lol:

Same thing I was waiting to hear..people rel bigging up hyundai and Kia..rel features blah blah but durability and reliability needed to be confirmed before I was converted.

Then again... they just don't make vehicles like they used to.
For instance the alternator in my 2006 rav4 (new model) just gave way last week! N it was bought from the firm less than 5yrs ago!
Needless to say, Toyota had ridiculous prices for the alternator. (9000 for alternator ALONE)

Ended up fixing it at an auto electrical place in aranguez for less than 2000 (great guy!)
The rectifier was bad apparently.

But what the heck cud cause the alternator to go bad so soon?!
That rel turn me off from toyota dred..
We had a PAJ ke70 corolla for about 30yrs, bought from the firm for 20 gran before selling it a couple years back and not once that thing gave any major trouble like this. Never changed a part in it! (except for filters and usual maintenance stuff)

Lmfao wtf. 9000 dollars? Epic rape, I feel bad for the students in my class with their new corollas and yaris vehicles. They complain about how expensive Toyota is compared to what they've been told in the past. One even told me that the sales rep told his parents that the services would be one price, yet whenever he goes in for a service, it's more than double what he was told. He's probably going to sell soon, he loves his vehicle but he just doesn't like Toyota the company anymore :lol: his exact words were "I feel betrayed and horned" :lol: :lol:

Habit7 wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Just an FYI, I was in Curepe today on a busy street, a man driving a Tucson (new model - white PCP) was driving through the street. Now I hope I explain this properly.

There were cars coming from the other direction which stopped the vehicle in it's tracks, he was forced to reverse, but I was behind him so I reversed too. Instead of reversing, he kept driving forward almost hitting the vehicle in front of him, his hazard lights then came on solid, ie not flashing. He emerged from the vehicle and came up to me and told me that his reverse isn't working, so I would have to find another route. When I was about to reverse out of the street, his reverse started back to work, he then was unable to put it in drive. After that he had to take off the vehicle and put it back on for it to get into the drive gear. I wonder if this is a common problem with these Tucson vehicles now.

When I got to my destination in Curepe, and told my cool story, someone said "What do you expect, it's Hyundai" :lol:

I wonder if it is because novices who can't operate switchable 4x4 vehicles and have been driving Hi gear 4x4 for like a month.
explain.

Postby Stephon. » October 28th, 2011, 8:39 am

Stephon. wrote:Toyota treated us very well when we went, I'll tell you the name of the sales rep when if I find his card later, he seemed like he was begging me to buy the vehicle (in a good way) he was really convincing too.

I overheard one of the ladies from Toyota telling a couple that they should just get the Toyota Yaris basic model because they shouldn't force themselves to buy something they cant afford (The Corolla fully loaded, which they were looking at when she made the statement). In my mind I was thinking, damn that was a messed up statement :lol:

I found his card, his name is Anil Dookeran. Very good marketing representative IMO.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 28th, 2011, 8:44 am

Stephon, I wonder if Anil Dookeran sold the camry that shut down to Winston Dookeran.....any relation btw?

Postby Stephon. » October 28th, 2011, 9:01 am

acesinghit wrote:Stephon, I wonder if Anil Dookeran sold the camry that shut down to Winston Dookeran.....any relation btw?

LMFAO, not sure if related.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 28th, 2011, 9:06 am

As if the situation couldn't get any worse:

Thai flooding halts car production by all 9 Japanese automakers

Business Oct. 21, 2011 - 12:00PM JST

TOKYO — Flooding in Thailand has forced all nine Japanese automakers to halt manufacturing, cutting production by a total of 6,000 units a day, an industry leader said Friday.

Toshiyuki Shiga, chairman of the Japan Automobile Manufacturers Association, said all nine Japanese automakers operating in Thailand had halted production after the floods.

“As a whole, production of 6,000 units has been affected on a daily basis,” he told a news conference.

“Of the nine companies, which have halted plants, eight have done so because they could not procure parts sufficiently.”

Toyota, Honda, Nissan and Mitsubishi are among the Japanese companies which have stopped production in Thailand.

Shiga, who is also Nissan’s chief operating officer, said the parts makers were considering moving production elsewhere or shipping them in from other countries, including Japan.

According to his association, Japanese motor companies produced about 1.6 million units in Thailand last year.

http://www.japantoday.com

Postby Dizzy28 » October 28th, 2011, 9:12 am

acesinghit wrote:Stephon, I wonder if Anil Dookeran sold the camry that shut down to Winston Dookeran.....any relation btw?

They are.

Postby Stephon. » October 28th, 2011, 9:14 am

I predict suv prices today, will be car prices of tomorrow.
Let me hurry up and buy my Mazda 3 yes :lol:

Won't be surprised they raised the price again just because they got another excuse to ride on.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 28th, 2011, 4:45 pm

Stephon. wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Toyota treated us very well when we went, I'll tell you the name of the sales rep when if I find his card later, he seemed like he was begging me to buy the vehicle (in a good way) he was really convincing too.

I overheard one of the ladies from Toyota telling a couple that they should just get the Toyota Yaris basic model because they shouldn't force themselves to buy something they cant afford (The Corolla fully loaded, which they were looking at when she made the statement). In my mind I was thinking, damn that was a messed up statement :lol:

I found his card, his name is Anil Dookeran. Very good marketing representative IMO.

^ Anil is a good guy to deal with.
There's a woman that works there, A class beyotch...still waiting on my quote :lol: :lol:
Last edited by crazychinee on October 28th, 2011, 9:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Habit7 » October 28th, 2011, 8:11 pm

Stephon. wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

I wonder if it is because novices who can't operate switchable 4x4 vehicles and have been driving Hi gear 4x4 for like a month.
explain.

For most part time 4x4's it is not advisable to drive on Hi gear above 80km/h and Lo above 40km/h. It is meant for driving on slippery or low traction roads, manufacturers advise against it as it can cause binding issues & cause premature wear or damage.

dsaint

Postby dsaint » November 5th, 2011, 3:33 pm

New Honda Civic coming in January 2012. Spoke to a sales lady there and she said the 1.6 fully loaded is going to be $240,000. I thought I heard wrong so I asked "did you say 1.6? or 1.8?" She confirmed 1.6!

Looks like I'll be buying a Zabocar. :-s

nes123

Postby nes123 » November 5th, 2011, 5:43 pm

240k :shock: :shock: ....for a shitvic?STUEPS!!!!dem getting really rediculous with prices now yes....should have some board regulating new car prices locally to prevent dem so from raping the citizenry of Trinidad and Tobago :?

Postby S_2NR » November 5th, 2011, 5:50 pm

just dont buy.... trinis does act like that impossible.. :roll:

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » November 5th, 2011, 6:22 pm

240 for a civic is madness , madness...will never buy a local jap car again, the price to messed up by greedy dealers

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » November 5th, 2011, 6:32 pm

dsaint wrote:New Honda Civic coming in January 2012. Spoke to a sales lady there and she said the 1.6 fully loaded is going to be $240,000. I thought I heard wrong so I asked "did you say 1.6? or 1.8?" She confirmed 1.6!

Looks like I'll be buying a Zabocar. :-s

say wa?!?..

so anybody know how to go about starting a automotive dealership? :lol:

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » November 5th, 2011, 9:51 pm

S_2NR wrote:just dont buy.... trinis does act like that impossible.. :roll:

amen to that. we dont realize how much power we have as consumers, just stop buying the thing if it too expensive and ull see how the prices will come down. i know once God spare meh life and meh money lol my next vehicle will not be japanese or even korean. I honestly hate the new elantra and accent they look like spaceships and the octavia and jetta just keep looking better and better...

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » November 5th, 2011, 9:51 pm

S_2NR wrote:just dont buy.... trinis does act like that impossible.. :roll:

amen to that. we dont realize how much power we have as consumers, just stop buying the thing if it too expensive and ull see how the prices will come down. i know once God spare meh life and meh money lol my next vehicle will not be japanese or even korean. I honestly hate the new elantra and accent they look like spaceships and the octavia and jetta just keep looking better and better...

Postby Stephon. » November 5th, 2011, 10:53 pm

LMFAO @ price, not to mention if you hit a butterfly on the road with the Fail-vic the car will crumple like paper. Keep that!

Better I buy a CR-V for 100k more.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 6th, 2011, 10:12 am

Stephon. wrote:LMFAO @ price, not to mention if you hit a butterfly on the road with the Fail-vic the car will crumple like paper. Keep that!...

:| You shoot down cars that don't have a gazillion airbags. But it is those crumple zones which absorb the energy in an impact that will save your life over any amount of airbags. Look at how manufacturers describe airbags, they call it a Supplemental Restraint System. The primary means of securing yourself in your vehicle is with the seatbelt. That prevents you from being thrown about in the cabin.

But you are right about the price. Hondas in T&T are way overpriced. Even when you take economies of scale into account, a Honda in the USA is not priced much higher than the other competitive brands. Only in T&T is a Honda considered a "luxury" brand and priced as such. But people continue to buy them at that price and that is why Classic Motors can continue to price them so extravagantly.

Postby noshownogo » November 6th, 2011, 10:36 am

I'd advise against buying the 2012 Honda Civic from Classic amid reports that a refresh is coming sooner than expected with all the poor reviews the 2012 received. Don't take my word, see for yourself:

http://www.autoguide.com/auto-news/2011 ... yling.html

http://www.auto123.com/en/news/car-news ... tid=137220

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » November 6th, 2011, 1:46 pm

what will happen AGAIN is that when the 240k 1.6 2 airbag 16" wheel civic comes out in january 2012 with a dated 5-speed auto tranny it will be purchased by "rich" people so much so that it will replace the older vics found in the upper-class neighbourhoods and likely become an "entry level" luxury car. People still purchased the current exi vic between 199 and 205k so for the all-new sheit they won't mind paying 240k. To these buyers a 35k increase in price is nothing to talk about, after all its a rich people car.

If you can't afford that then the alternative is a basic corolla 1.5 sporting an ancient 4-speed auto tranny, 1 airbag, wheel covers/hub caps, black door handles and a manual climate control system for 190+k.

This is why I am upset that this kakahole govt approved the importation of used roro cars to 6yrs when the dealers will keep increasing their prices to be somewhat in proportion to the new car price equivalent. We have 2007 Tiida Latio's for $105k watch and see these same 2006/2007 Tiida, Wingroad, Axela and Axio's gonna hit the $140-$150k range now.

It seems you have be making a minimum of 20k a month with no other debts in order to afford a brand new civic 1.6 in sweet tnt when college kids in the US rolling around in the 1.8 equivalent with 6 airbags for just about 16k US.

Our GDP at PPP per capita is $19,473 vs $46,860 for the US yet a state trooper can earn as much as 33.3% the cost of a brand new civic in 1 month (US price) whereas a local trinidad inspector of police makes 7% the cost of a new local civic?

What is our govt really doing and inflation is set to rise again much higher for 2012. Soon we would have to make 20k a month to buy a new chevy aveo and 40k a month to buy a basic accord 2.0

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 6th, 2011, 2:31 pm

acesinghit wrote:kakahole govt

agent007

Postby agent007 » November 6th, 2011, 3:26 pm

This new post might cause a heart-attack, anyway here goes:
I went back in the archives and I pulled the below..

1994 Price:

Audi 80 - $235,000. Vat inclusive

1995 Prices:

Honda civic 1.5 manual - $135,895.30 vat inclusive
Honda civic 1.5 manual sunroof - $139,895. Vat inclusive
Honda civic 1.5 auto - $139,895. Vat inclusive
Honda civic 1.5 auto sunroof - $144,895.20 vat inclusive
Honda civic 1.6 auto 3-door - $154,000.90 vat inclusive
Honda civic 1.6 auto - $176,032.60 vat inclusive
Honda civic 1.6 auto sunroof - $180,763.70 vat inclusive
Honda accord 2.0 - $219,001.39 vat inclusive
Honda prelude 2.2 - $299,001.05 vat inclusive
Toyota corolla gli 1.6 - $135,099.07 vat inclusive
Hyundai elantra 1.6 - $107,707. Plus vat
Hyundai scoupe 1.5 - $101,232. Plus vat
Hyundai scoupe 1.5 turbo - $104,066. Plus vat
Hyundai excel 1.5 ls - $75,017. Plus vat
Hyundai excel 1.5 gls - $87,436. Plus vat

2000 Prices:

Opel astra 1.6 - $120,000. Plus vat
Opel vectra 1.6 - $148,000. Plus vat
Opel omega 2.2 - $265,000. Plus vat
Hyundai accent 1.3 gl - $57,443. Plus vat
Hyundai accent 1.5 gls - $75,443. Plus vat
Hyundai sonata 2.0 - $142,670. Plus vat
Hyundai Coupe 2.0 - $146,897. Plus vat
Hyundai elantra 1.6 wagon - $88,468. Plus vat
Hyundai elantra 1.6 sedan - $82,468. Plus vat
Hyundai h100 truck - $74,165. Plus vat
Hyundai h100 van - $91,426. Plus vat
Skoda Felicia h/b - $54,750. Plus vat
Skoda combi wagon - $59,999. Plus vat
Skoda Octavia 1.6 sedan - $126,500. Vat inclusive
Skoda Octavia 1.6 wagon - $116,000. Plus vat
Rover 216si 3-door - $74,618.48 plus vat
Rover 216si 5-door - $78,326.09 plus vat
Rover 200vi 3-door - $99,565.22 plus vat
Ford mondeo ghia wagon 2.5 - $186,000. Plus vat
Mercedes benz 140 panel van - $115,073. Vat inclusive
Mercedes benz c180 - $210,000. Plus vat
Mercedes benz E200 - $290,000. Plus vat
Peugeot 306 1.6 auto - $111,000. Plus vat
Peugeot 306 1.6 h/b - $109,000. Plus vat
Peugeot 306 1.6 wagon – $113,000. Plus vat
Suzuki baleno 1.3 manual - $68,929. Plus vat
Suzuki baleno 1.3 auto - $79,779. Plus vat
Suzuki baleno 1.6 manual - $80,779. Plus vat
Suzuki baleno 1.6 wagon - $97,479. Plus vat
Renault scenic 1.6 - $141,591. Plus vat
Subaru legacy 2.0 - $198,228. Plus vat
Subaru legacy 2.0 wagon - $205,185. Plus vat
Subaru impreza 2.0 turbo - $215,652. Plus vat
Subaru forester 2.0 turbo - $256,522. Plus vat
Bmw 520i - $277,324. Plus vat
Bmw 318i - $199,372. Plus vat
Nissan almera 1.3 sg - $89,682. Plus vat
Seat cordoba 1.6 - $103,870. Plus vat
Seat Toledo 1.6 - $108,298. Plus vat
Seat Toledo 1.8 - $140,298. Plus vat
Peugeot 406 2.0 - $182,000. Plus vat

2001 Prices:

Hyundai elantra 1.6 gls - $110,000. Vat inclusive
Ford Focus 1.6 sedan - $113,850. Vat inclusive
Mercedes benz e240 - $365,700. Vat inclusive
Jeep grand Cherokee limited 4.7 v8 - $657,962.25 vat inclusive

2002 Price:

Mazda 6 2.0 - $205,000. Vat inclusive

2003 Prices:

Nissan almera 1.3sg - $92,505. Vat inclusive
Nissan almera 1.6sg - $106,000. Vat inclusive
Nissan almera 1.6sgl - $130,005. Vat inclusive
Nissan almera 1.6sgl sunroof - $136,005. Vat inclusive
Nissan almera 1.6sgl sunroof, rear spoiler - $141,005. Vat inclusive

2004 Prices:

Nissan cefiro 2.0 - $230,076. Vat inclusive
Nissan cefiro 2.0 leather - $245,141. Vat inclusive
Nissan cefiro 2.3 - $300,005. Vat inclusive
Nissan cefiro 3.5 - $420,505. Vat inclusive

2005 Prices:

Hyundai sonata 2.0 gls - $254,500. Vat inclusive
Hyundai sonata 2.4 gls - $291,000. Vat inclusive

2006 Prices:

Jeep grand Cherokee limited 3.0 turbo diesel - $304,120. Plus vat
Mazda 3 1.6 sunroof - $155,000. Vat inclusive

2007 Prices:

Mitsubishi l200 sportero 2.5 manual 4x2 d/c gl - $140,105. Vat inclusive
Mitsubishi l200 sportero 2.5 manual 4x2 d/c glx - $152,105. Vat inclusive
Mitsubishi l200 sportero 2.5 manual d/c gl - $194,105. Vat inclusive
Mitsubishi l200 sportero 2.5 manual d/c glx - $205,105. Vat inclusive
Mitsubishi l200 sportero 2.5 manual d/c gls - $245,105. Vat inclusive
Mitsubishi l200 sportero 2.5 auto d/c gls - $267,105. Vat inclusive
Ford ranger 4x2 s/c 2.5 - $129,000. Vat inclusive
Ford ranger 4x2 d/c 2.5 std - $139,000. Vat inclusive
Ford ranger 4x2 d/c 2.5 xl - $149,000.01 vat inclusive
Ford ranger 4x2 d/c 2.5 auto - $195,000.01 vat inclusive
Ford ranger 4x4 d/c 2.5 std - $149,000.01 vat inclusive
Ford ranger 4x4 d/c 2.5 xl - $155,000. Vat inclusive
Ford ranger 4x4 d/c 2.5 xlt - $189,000. Vat inclusive
Ford ranger 4x4 d/c 2.5 auto - $215,000. Vat inclusive
Ford ranger 4x4 d/c 3.0 auto - $229,000. Vat inclusive
Ford ranger 4x4 d/c 3.0 manual - $210,000. Vat inclusive
Hyundai h100 2.5 manual - $108,500. Vat inclusive

Postby Stephon. » November 6th, 2011, 6:16 pm

"Mazda 6 2.0 - $205,000. Vat inclusive"

:lol: Now the Mazda 6 is near 300k. My friend working at Mazda told me it is set to be over 300k from next year.

Postby Habit7 » November 6th, 2011, 8:49 pm

global inflation

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » November 7th, 2011, 9:08 am

Is something wrong with the hyundia prices? Take a look at the 1995 and the 2000 prices. The 2000 prices are lower than the 1995 ones.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 7th, 2011, 10:46 am

acesinghit wrote:what will happen AGAIN is that when the 240k 1.6 2 airbag 16" wheel civic comes out in january 2012 with a dated 5-speed auto tranny it will be purchased by "rich" people so much so that it will replace the older vics found in the upper-class neighbourhoods and likely become an "entry level" luxury car. People still purchased the current exi vic between 199 and 205k so for the all-new sheit they won't mind paying 240k. To these buyers a 35k increase in price is nothing to talk about, after all its a rich people car.

If you can't afford that then the alternative is a basic corolla 1.5 sporting an ancient 4-speed auto tranny, 1 airbag, wheel covers/hub caps, black door handles and a manual climate control system for 190+k.

This is why I am upset that this kakahole govt approved the importation of used roro cars to 6yrs when the dealers will keep increasing their prices to be somewhat in proportion to the new car price equivalent. We have 2007 Tiida Latio's for $105k watch and see these same 2006/2007 Tiida, Wingroad, Axela and Axio's gonna hit the $140-$150k range now.

It seems you have be making a minimum of 20k a month with no other debts in order to afford a brand new civic 1.6 in sweet tnt when college kids in the US rolling around in the 1.8 equivalent with 6 airbags for just about 16k US.

Our GDP at PPP per capita is $19,473 vs $46,860 for the US yet a state trooper can earn as much as 33.3% the cost of a brand new civic in 1 month (US price) whereas a local trinidad inspector of police makes 7% the cost of a new local civic?

What is our govt really doing and inflation is set to rise again much higher for 2012. Soon we would have to make 20k a month to buy a new chevy aveo and 40k a month to buy a basic accord 2.0

Two things basically -
1. Your comparison on GDP and salaries too simplistic and
2. A car is not a basic right

If you think cars cheap in the US you welcome to move there

Postby crazybalhead » November 7th, 2011, 10:57 am

An interesting counterpoint is to look at Norway, consistently rated one of the best countries to live in. This country has hydrocarbon resource, and cars are taxed to insane level, same for fuel.

Postby Habit7 » November 7th, 2011, 11:29 am

but they have efficient mass transit and cool weather allowing cycling as a alternative form of transport. I not going to reach to work sweaty but we need a new transit system. Jack Warner says that as he sees it, we will never have a rapid rail in his lifetime

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 7th, 2011, 11:34 am

Aye Habit7, a rep in Diamond now tel me the price of the 'fulled loaded' CS3 is $180,000.00TTD WTH??!! For that?!

The basic (fully unloaded) CS3 was $165K and is on special for $150K.

Diamond even stopped the tint and alarm that they were once famous for. Yuh still getting the generic mats though!

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » November 7th, 2011, 11:48 am

And yesterday coming onto the highway .... R35 GT-R cruises by, reach in town ... Jaguar XF at traffic lights and brand new BMW M5 and an AMG badged S500 in MovieTowne. Who say Trini cyah afford car :mrgreen: