T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

drchaos

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby drchaos » February 16th, 2020, 11:32 am

agent007 wrote:For half mil, what vehicle can mimick the performance of a WRX? Civic Type R comes to mind but what else? Not even a 320i, A4 2.0t or C180 can come close. Reaching 100kmph in around 5s and covering the 1320 in 14s are some quick figures. The STi is actually faster by 0.5 of a second for $200k more. I would say it's a good deal.

I disagree ... Massy is trying to shaft us ...

Bring it in foreign new and you can save enough money to buy a new kidney!

Postby Dave » February 16th, 2020, 11:45 am

Couldn't that be said about all new vehicles? The convenience and warranty factor still appeal to a larger segment of the population.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 16th, 2020, 12:09 pm

It's done because we allow it to be done to us

If people were to refuse to buy when what is effectively price gouging taking place the local dealers will drop their prices.

The present government encouraged this when they dropped the age of FU from 6 years to 4 years making these vehicles much more expensive

An example of gouging is the Accord whose price difference is small compared to the civic yet the difference is huge in trinidad

Yet we the stupid consumers instead of calling a spade a spade saying the deals are good

Dave wrote:Couldn't that be said about all new vehicles? The convenience and warranty factor still appeal to a larger segment of the population.

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » February 16th, 2020, 2:02 pm

Don't forget the diabolical and unnecessary removal of tax concession for hybrid vehicles with an engine size ranging between 1599 cc and 1999 cc. They had no right to do it and then use "foreign exchange" as an excuse and then say the purpose of the tax concession was not to buy luxury vehicles.

boxy

Postby boxy » February 16th, 2020, 5:36 pm

I had no issue with this men abuse the system with hybrid x5's etc comming in if u could afford a BMW pay yuh damn tax. Unfortunately their is no way to charge mvt other than using engine size and not vehicle brand.
Shalom Vanamson wrote:Don't forget the diabolical and unnecessary removal of tax concession for hybrid vehicles with an engine size ranging between 1599 cc and 1999 cc. They had no right to do it and then use "foreign exchange" as an excuse and then say the purpose of the tax concession was not to buy luxury vehicles.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 16th, 2020, 7:20 pm

boxy wrote:I had no issue with this men abuse the system with hybrid x5's etc comming in if u could afford a BMW pay yuh damn tax. Unfortunately their is no way to charge mvt other than using engine size and not vehicle brand.
Shalom Vanamson wrote:Don't forget the diabolical and unnecessary removal of tax concession for hybrid vehicles with an engine size ranging between 1599 cc and 1999 cc. They had no right to do it and then use "foreign exchange" as an excuse and then say the purpose of the tax concession was not to buy luxury vehicles.

Its quite dumb actually ... the X5 issue was quite small.
They blocked you from buying thee best selling hybrid of all time the Prius so they could dump a CNG city with no trunk space on you for the same price the non CNG city.

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » February 16th, 2020, 8:30 pm

Lets see how long they can keep that CNG rubbish up for. Something is literally twisted with their mentality on hybrid vehicles compared to CNG equipped vehicles. I dont see the X5 as being an issue either because the government's initial purpose when introducing the tax concession on hybrid vehicles under 1999 cc was to encourage people to buy eco friendly vehicles. Having a problem with persons buying BMWs even though they are hybrid shows that their level of thinking isnt too right.

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 16th, 2020, 8:51 pm

All valid points!

Concerning Massy and Subaru, as we all know, manufacturers that lack a small displacement engine and or with a turbo attached will be placed at an unfair disadvantage.

Subaru vehicles are priced a bit steep I agree because the WRX/STi, BRZ, XV and Forester all have 2.0L displacements. Subaru always posted dismal sales numbers for T&T because Massy had a huge markup on each unit. Look at the last Impreza 1.6 they sold for $255k? See why they failed in the market previously?

But something strange happened, unprecedented for the Massy and Subaru combo. The XV is now brought in as a 1.6 which was $225k (now $229k) in base trim (6 trims overall). They are selling like hot hops. Massy decided to price said XV’s a bit better this time and overall, they’re moving both the 1.6 and 2.0 versions across the 6 trim levels. The Forester is also selling out as well. Never before have we shifted to Subaru the way we are doing right at this time where shipments are sold out long before it’s arrival.

So I won’t say Massy considers Subaru a luxury brand per say but considering a fully loaded Xtrail is $454k and the highest trim Forester is $459k I would say the pricing is on par with Nissan. Besides, to compare an Xtrail to a Forester is like stacking a Sportage to a CX5. In other words, don’t be a moron to compare the 2 as that Xtrail is outclassed in every single conceivable measure. For a $5k difference? I’ll take the Forester any day of the week and twice on weekends.

Look at the Nissan Livina aka Mitsubishi Xpander 1.5 with fake leather and 16” rims for $249k vs said Subaru XV 1.6 awd for $229k. I know, one is a micro minivan and the other a small crossover but the Mitsubishi posing as a Nissan has a 4AT transmission, rear drum brakes and 2 airbags. The back seat is fit for infants. The 5 star rated 7 airbag awd 8.7” ground clearance equipped Subaru is priced $20k cheaper. XV is from Japan and Livina is from Thailand. Massy is making more profit on each Livina sold vs said XV.

But as Dave mentioned, in the grand scheme of things, all new vehicles in T&T are expensive and overpriced. Because there exist a gap between new and roro, the real winners are the roro importers. A new Corolla is sold for $249k, so a Singapore imported built in a Thailand 2015 Altis is $155k. Them roro boys making a lot of profit on such cars. If TTTL increases the Corolla to $299k, a roro Altis will now become $199k.

The whole implementation and revised taxation on hybrid vehicles above 1.6 was to benefit 2 dealers who went cry baby to the short man. The CNG City is a huge hoax - a retrofitted car masquerading as something that came directly from Honda Motor Co. Japan as a bona fide CNG. The power of the puppet masters is at play right before our eyes as this govt places more emphasis on ancient outdated CNG as our future but stifled EVs and HEVs lol.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 16th, 2020, 10:23 pm

Like how the agent sounding !

Not giving anyone a free pass !

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » February 17th, 2020, 12:47 am

boxy wrote:I had no issue with this men abuse the system with hybrid x5's etc comming in if u could afford a BMW pay yuh damn tax. Unfortunately their is no way to charge mvt other than using engine size and not vehicle brand.
Isn't the xtrail hybrid 2.0 as well? Should one pay tax simply because one can afford it when we have men buying three porsche in five years tax free?

carluva

Postby carluva » February 17th, 2020, 7:26 am

You know I always thought as much.

It's so convenient that increased taxes were imposed on 1999cc and above and soon after there was a flood of under 1999cc and not to mention 1.5t engines.

These dealers clearly knew about the vehicles that would be introduced into our market and lobbied for legislation to change so that they could benefit.

And what do us trinis say? Yeah man a 400k car is well priced despite the possibility that dealers surely making 100% profit on our head. Or, a Subaru or Sorrento or Santa Fe all of a sudden is "luxury" vehicle. And TTTL just jump on the bandwagon and start to dig out the other eye.

This is ridiculous, but as a wise and esteemed minister of finance once said, "what they go do? Protest?"... Although that comment was geared towards something else, it's very relevant to us as a society because we just lie down and take it...

Smh

PS - that was a Monday morning rant. Lol

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » February 17th, 2020, 8:42 am

Definitely more attractive and more handsome than the Santa Fe. Interior is in another dimension from previous gen although the air vents under the screen looks a bit funky. Surely would be over half a million.

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 17th, 2020, 9:49 am

At this point, it looks like you may be right. The 2021 Sorento may have 2 options for RHD:

2.2T CRDi with 8DCT 2WD and AWD
2.5 MPi with 6AT 2WD

Given the above, prepare yourself for something closer to current Santa Fe pricing.

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » February 17th, 2020, 12:00 pm

Indeed Mr 007. Although Ive been seeing speculations of a 1.6T hybrid. But I guess we will have to wait till Geneva to see if that powertrain is a reality and if it would be available in RHD or for our market.
Last edited by Shalom Vanamson on February 19th, 2020, 12:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 18th, 2020, 6:56 am

https://www.autoindustriya.com/auto-ind ... ation.html

I guess we can expect ah lil more than the gt86 now

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » February 18th, 2020, 9:39 pm

This has got to be the most illiterate thing I've heard in quite some time. Wow. I'm stupefied. I was studying and took a break to chook up in 2NR for a bit, and I think I'll just and sleep instead.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » February 19th, 2020, 10:04 am

Correct.
Ppl acting like the X5 Hybrids were ordered in droves; they were a very small percentage of imports. The biggest on the road was the X-Trail hybrid which I "assume" was the reason for the removal of the subsidy as new car dealers were losing out on hundreds of thousands of dollars in revenue per import.
I guess by that logic the Hybrid X1 with a 1.5l engine will cause the removal of the hybrid subsidy completely.
But say what ppl need something to blame to save face...

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 19th, 2020, 2:01 pm

Issue is that the government said that they would scale back taxes on hybrids to offset the increase in gas price

This pacified alot of people

To change that policy after it was implemented is a bait and switch issue

Which to me is extremely disgusting

Postby A172 » February 19th, 2020, 4:07 pm

doh forget all hybrid exemptions expiring dec 31st this year so get it while it hot

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » February 19th, 2020, 4:58 pm

A172 wrote:doh forget all hybrid exemptions expiring dec 31st this year so get it while it hot

If this is true we would see Hybrids in all flavors. From Audi A7s, Q5s and A8s to Range Rovers, Sports, Velars, and even the new Defenders, Volvos and the government's favorite brand BMW :lol:

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 19th, 2020, 5:07 pm

We have an Xtrail Hybrid purchased brand new from a grey market dealer for $250k 3 years ago. The Nissan sales reps at Massy bad talk them so much saying things like it have less features, it slower and will give more trouble. Granted both have inferior Renault and Jatco engineering within but that applies to most Nissans today anyway. 176hp vs what 143hp thereabouts? We also have a T31 2.5 purchased from Massy back in 2009 and the XH will blow its doors off. No contest and 0 issues to-date. Even a 2.4 CRV (very rare) and 2.5 RAV4 (also very rare) cannot hold a candle to the XH.

So they went all cry baby to the Minister but it back fired on them. Right now the Qashqai and especially that Xtrail is dead. They ketching dey tail to sell some basic Xtrails, let alone the awd ones. They should thank God for GG who give them a recent order.

Massy depending on Hyundai and Subaru to get some much needed profits but say what, they going through restructuring so let’s see where this takes the company.

Meanwhile, we just got another vehicle from them only because we wanted Subaru and not necessarily to patronize Massy. It was hard for us, believe me but I prefer to not let Massy and their dotishness ruin our love for a particular brand/vehicle.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 20th, 2020, 5:58 am

Awaiting the 2020 sentra...bmw feels...lolll

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 20th, 2020, 5:14 pm

So my d40 navara is going next week most likely.

Vehicle budget right now is 220 give or take max sadly.. part of me telling me just go back with a pick-up, but I'm curious. What else is there available with decent ground clearance and good suspension??? I do regular matelot trips etc so
I'm curious of what's y'all views with dealership offerings??

Dip in the grey market suv?
Local used pickup? (This scares me with the way individuals maintain their diesels)
Or just hold a strain until I can get back a new van?

Vehicle must have that 8-10 year longevity too.

Advise the I man.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 20th, 2020, 6:48 pm

nick639v2 wrote:So my d40 navara is going next week most likely.

Vehicle budget right now is 220 give or take max sadly.. part of me telling me just go back with a pick-up, but I'm curious. What else is there available with decent ground clearance and good suspension??? I do regular matelot trips etc so

Local used pickup? (This scares me with the way individuals maintain their diesels)

Advise the I man.

Miata Is Always The Answer.

Postby Country_Bookie » February 20th, 2020, 8:41 pm

Is there anyone here either bought or knows someone who bought a Honda with the 1.5 turbo engine? Interested in hearing if anyone locally has had the oil dilution issue?

carluva

Postby carluva » February 20th, 2020, 9:46 pm

At that budget, I am sure you could get a new Nissan Navara, perhaps even a ranger or bt50. Not sure about a Hilux as that's exotic. -face palm-

However unless you have realistic expectations, vans at that price range will be basic features so if that's you, well go strong. For sure you could get a 4x2 van or a lo-lux, but again I'm not sure of your preferences or expectations.

While I am not a fan, I'm sure 007 will recommend a Rush.

An there's no need to be sad with a budget of 220k. That's plenty if you temper your expectations in a van. Other than that, you're probably in car territory or maybe those small Hyundai like the Creta or the other new lil one they have (name is slipping me). If 10 year longevity is a requirement, I am not sure of the Hyundai..

Of course there's also second hand and you can surely snag a deal there if you're patient and prudent.

Advise the I man.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 21st, 2020, 1:27 am

You can get manual 4x2 lo-rider double cab new. When last I priced them the cost was:

Mazda 177k (245k for an auto 4x4 but still a bit weary of the dealer)
Toyota 206k
Ford 215k

Larger tyres will raise them but they will still be just short of a 4x4 hi-rider.

Haven't priced Nissan, and Mitsubishi is still trying to sell off old stock.

Used market is always a gamble... Unless you know the vehicle since it was purchased.

Advise the I man.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 21st, 2020, 5:10 am

Advise the I man.

was in toyota recently, saw the hilux starting at 205 or there about..I didn't inquire more though :oops:

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 21st, 2020, 5:57 am

Good stuff. I did consider the Toyota rush in fact but I don't know of anyone with one to get hands on feedback.

And it seems every week prices are being adjusted at the firms, so a vehicle search actually requires regular in person checks.
If only that darn Jimny was readily available I would've bought it.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 21st, 2020, 6:24 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Advise the I man.

was in toyota recently, saw the hilux starting at 205 or there about..I didn't inquire more though :oops:

I know two people with the rush and to them it's the "best" thing toyota ever built...apart from being a bit long and thin with them thin tires, they find it comfortable to use especially with them extra seats